We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Repeat Visitors to the Elk Mountain Ranch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Mountain Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buena Vista
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Mountain Ranch
13000 CR 185B, Buena Vista, CO 81211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save $300 per adult
qhcowboy
1 review
“Repeat Visitors to the Elk Mountain Ranch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2008

All we can really say is that the Elk Mountain Ranch is a wonderful place to spend your vacation. Not only is the staff well trained, but the staff goes beyond the normal expectations of a five star hotel. We went to the ranch on our honeymoon in May of 1999, and went back in 2004 for our 5 year anniversary, and plan to go back on our 10 year anniversary in 2009. We cannot begin to describe how relaxing as well as exciting this place was, except to say that we love the entire Murphy Family, and I know that we both gained 10lbs from the amazing home cooking we had. We Highly Recommend visiting the Elk Mountain Ranch if you are seeking a truly stress-free, but exciting vacation!!!

Jason and Carol Campbell
Villa Ridge, Missouri

  • Liked — The setting, food, staff, horseback riding, Murphy family, oh did I say the food!!!
  • Disliked — We only had 1 week to stay there; it went by too fast and we would have stayed a month if we could have!!!
  • Stayed May 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Radnor, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2007

On arriving at the Elk Mountain Ranch, Tom Murphy thanked his guests for allowing the opportunity to take responsibility for our special vacation time. Tom and Sue clearly take this responsibility seriously and it shows from start to finish. My wife and I and our two boys (ages 9 and 12) can safely say that this was one of our best vacations ever (if not the best). The Murphys have succeeded in creating a very special place in one of the most beautiful parts of the country. We will undoubtedly return soon!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshiore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2007

We had an amazing time at Elk Mountain. From the time we arrived, we were treated like members of the family by the owners, Tom and Sue and all of the extremely professional, hardworking and friendly staff. The ranch is in set in amazingly beautiful scenery in the Rockies, 9 miles down a dirt track. We stayed in a rustic log cabin which was spotlessly clean and the food was as good as any restaurant. Our horses were very well trained and looked after. There is a full program of activities daily and you are encouraged to do as much or as little as you want. We only sat down to eat!
Riding is on the schedule every day, either a morning and afternoon ride from the ranch, or brunch cookouts, or for the brave an overnight camping trip, If you want a break, or for non riders, there are other trips such as white water rafting, fly fishing, trips to a hot springs and Aspen. In the evening there are hayrides, square dancing, volleyball and visiting entertainment. The week we were at the ranch, we went to the local rodeo. All activities are included in the price.

The electricity is by generator and we found our mobile phone chargers and battery chargers didnt work, nor could we get a reception on our mobile phones (although some people could), so it is worth bearing this in mind and preparing for this prior to your stay.

Nothing was too much trouble to make your stay comfortable, with Sue even going into town to get a replacement watch battery for me, when my watch gave up on the second day!

Being out of civilization for a week was the most relaxing experience ever and we really did not want to leave.

If you are looking for a dude ranch holiday, either as friends, a couple or a family, dont hesitate to book Elk Mountain! - There is loads to do for everyone, and we all had a whale of a time.

  • Liked — The whole experience
  • Disliked — Nothing - it was perfect
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

Elk Mountain Ranch is without a doubt the best possible dude ranch experience in Colorado. The price includes everything - horse-back riding every day, wonderful food, an overnight camping trip in the mountains, a day of white-water rafting and a bunch of other stuff. I took my 12 year old son and we both had a great time and will definately try to return in a year or two. The osnwer Sue and Tom run a great ranch with staff who know your name and greet you with smiles as soon as you arrive - pretty unbelieveable. The property is well taken care of, clean and all the staff take A+ care of you. It is a vacation that you will never forget and almost make you want to move to the ranch!

  • Liked — The cabins and scenery were great
  • Disliked — liked it all
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2006

My 12 yr old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our time at Elk Mountain Ranch. The staff is superb. The accommodations are not fancy but very, very comfortable and clean. The food is very good -- just like home. I really liked the size of this ranch. Big enough to meet folks from all over, but not so big that you feel like you're just a number. The horses are well-trained and perfectly matched to each rider. (I had NO previous experience and had a blast.) Tom and Sue's dedication to their horses and the environment are clearly evident, and that is important to me. There is never a dull moment around there, unless you just want it that way. This really is the perfect vacation for families, single parents traveling with children, couples or even a retreat for friends to get away together. There truly is something for everyone. I love Colorado and Elk Mountain Ranch is just another reason added to the list.

  • Liked — Staff and activities
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't be intimidated if you've never ridden before. Horses are well-trained. Wranglers are too.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

5 star service at 3 star prices!
We just returned from a week at Elk Mountain Ranch, and I must say we had the best time of any vacation we ever went on. The service was 5 star, the food was amazing, the staff treated us as family. Everybody knew our names. Very impressive!
The owners, Tom and Sue, along with their children, are the finest people you ever will want to meet. They run the ranch with a loving hand and will bend over backward to accomadate any need or concern. We can't say enough about this place. All activities were great, safe, and fun.
On the week we were there, there were also many repeat vacationers, which can only mean that it is testamony to the great vacation had by all.
We highly recommend Elk Mountain Ranch for anyone wanting to experience a little western fun. By the way, we had never gone horseback riding before this, and now we are hooked.
Paul and Arlene
Palm Beach Gardens, FL

Stayed May 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

Visited the Elk Mountain Ranch with my son age 8 the week of July 31-August 7th and I can't say enough good things about the great time we had. This was our first time going to a dude ranch so we really had no idea what to expect other then a week of riding horses. By the end of the week we realized that the horses were only a small part of the experience we enjoyed. It starts with Sue and Tom the owners of the ranch, and follows down through the rest of their staff. I have had the opportunity to stay at some 5 star hotels and can without question say that this staff compared favorably to any of them (which is not what I would have expected at a dude ranch). We were always greeted by name and with a warm smile. They are in constant motion and can't do enough for you. The food was excellent! The sights were breathtaking! They have a kids program for kids that are too young to ride (under 8) as well as kids that just don't feel like going on the trail ride that day. We went white water rafting down the Arkansas river through the Red Rock canyons which was awesome! They took us on a day trip to Cripple Creek, which included taking an elevator ride 1000 feet into the ground to visit a working gold mine, an experience we won't soon forget.

We had a blast and can't wait to go back. If you ever wanted to try this type of vacation then the Elk Mountain Ranch is the place to visit. We truly had the best vacation we have ever been on.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Ranch

Address: 13000 CR 185B, Buena Vista, CO 81211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty lodging in Buena Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorado's highest guest ranch at 9600 feet. Weekly package includes meals, lodging and activities - horseback riding, white water rafting, shooting sports, van trip to Aspen, fishing, hiking, mountain biking, hayride, square dance, childrens' program and more. Massage and overnight pack trip extra. 35 pampered guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Ranch Hotel Buena Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Mountain Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Elk Mountain Ranch to your Saves list