We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So you wanna ride? You can't do better than Elk Mountain Ranch!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Mountain Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buena Vista
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Mountain Ranch
13000 CR 185B, Buena Vista, CO 81211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save $300 per adult
Jay, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So you wanna ride? You can't do better than Elk Mountain Ranch!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Yep, Elk Mountain is a Ranch. Rustic, yet very comfortable. It is not a resort with a riding appendage. It is a ranch that lets a few (~35 at full tilt) lucky guests stay there. Owners Tom & Sue have imbued the staff with a helpful, cheery attitude. Together, they couldn't do more to make your stay more pleasant. Always thoughtful, looking for ways to take the burden off you and let you enjoy the day, the ride, the song, the hot tub, your book. I'd give it 5 stars, but, hey, you're sleeping in summer log cabins (not the Ritz Carleton) and it is rustic. The electric generator and hence the lights go off at ~11PM, back on at ~6AM - no problem. Lousy cell phone coverage - perfect! It is exactly what my daughter and I hoped for. The food was delicious and plentiful. No one could be hungry or thirsty. New friends, a love for riding high up in the mountains, and a new appreciation for what it means to be a wrangler. The location is spectacular with views of the Collegiate Peaks everywhere. The extra-curricular stuff was there if you wanted it - skeet/trap, fishing, rafting, hiking - but my daughter and I became fans of riding and watching the scenery roll by from the back of a nice horse, so we took advantage of *every* opportunity to ride. Never pass up a chance to ride! Can't wait to be able to share this place with the rest of my family someday soon. Can you tell, I'm a big fan of this place now?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This was our first experience at any ranch and I don't know how any other could compare. We were part of a family reunion and drove to the ranch. My wife, 15 month old daughter and I were made to feel like we were part of a bigger family by Sue, Tom, the staff and all the guests. Every activity was flexible, fun and memorable. The food was outstanding, the horses were perfect, the rafting was wet, and the skeets were flying. Thank you so much EMR for making our trip so memorable and perfect. (Our daughter misses the sitters and the petting zoo!)

Room Tip: We stayed at the Beaver Cabin, and it was right next to the hot tub and dining area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My first experience at EMR was in 1988 when Tom & Sue were wranglers. We have been on quite a few vacations, but I have to say this was the most memorable. Tom & Sue care about each and every guest and that is evident in their staff. The personal attention goes above and beyond. You will not regret spending your vacation at EMR. If you want to go on every ride offered (like my daughter), you can. If you want to spend the day reading on the porch, walking up to the corral to visit the horses, white-water rafting, trying your hand at target practice, archery, fishing or trap-shooting, you can. Tom told us this was our vacation to do as much or as little as we wanted. The food is wonderful, whether cooked in the kitchen or over an open fire on a trail ride. One of my favorite things about the ranch is no tv or phone in our cabins! Who has time to watch tv when you can chat around a fire with new friends or watch the kids play a rousing game of spoons with some of the staff? You meet at the beginning of the week as strangers, but you leave as friends & family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

I highly recommend this ranch as a wonderful family vacation. It far exceeded our expectations. Sue and Tom and their staff took wonderful care of our group of 10. The food was excellent, the accommodations rustic and comfortable, and the activities kept us so busy we were exhausted every night! There were many fun, family oriented activities for everyone. The horses are well trained and Tom and the wranglers work hard to make sure everyone is safe and comfortable with the trail riding (the hot tub is quite an asset at the end of the day!) We had a chance to white water raft, try archery, fishing, trap-shooting - in the evening we tried square dancing and had a fun-filled hayride into the country to cook s'mores around a campfire. As a result, our family had a wonderful bonding experience. Not to mention that the breathtaking mountains and sunsets. Thank-you to Sue and Tom!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This was our second family trip to Elk Mountain Ranch. Again they treated us to a wonderful family vacation in a beautiful setting. Sue and Tom are great hosts and they take care to hire a fantastic staff. We love the trail rides with experienced wranglers, the white water rafting, and the home-cooked meals. Where else can you get your teenage kids to smile while they square dance and forget the X-Box for a whole week?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This isn't a hotel, this is an experience. The horses are the stars or was it the beautiful vistas they carried us to? You can be as busy or as not busy as you want to be. The wrnglers keep you safe and you feel safe. The accomadations were perfect, the food was maybe a little too good. Wait, I know what the stars here are...the people. You lack for nothing here at 9,000+ feet.

Room Tip: No swimming pool but there are thye hot springs, no fitness center but jeez - the trail rides, rafti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Wonderful ranch with so much to do with such friendly staff and hosts! They go the extra mile to meet all your expectations. Cozy cabins, great food, caring staff, well- trained horses and wranglers made our week memorable. Highly recommend this ranch to all- we had never ridden horses but had a great time! The scenery is amazing! White water rafting was a highlight too. Give it a try, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Ranch

Address: 13000 CR 185B, Buena Vista, CO 81211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty lodging in Buena Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorado's highest guest ranch at 9600 feet. Weekly package includes meals, lodging and activities - horseback riding, white water rafting, shooting sports, van trip to Aspen, fishing, hiking, mountain biking, hayride, square dance, childrens' program and more. Massage and overnight pack trip extra. 35 pampered guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Ranch Hotel Buena Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Mountain Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Elk Mountain Ranch to your Saves list