We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FUN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Mountain Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buena Vista
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Elk Mountain Ranch
13000 CR 185B, Buena Vista, CO 81211   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save $300 per adult
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“GREAT FUN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Excellent location. great scenery, good food, wonderful companionship with the other guests ; but the over-riding impression for me was the warm welcome, constant smiles and terrific support from all the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    98
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
61
23
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Have been here multiple times and every one has been a great experience. Top priority of the owners and employees is to make your week as enjoyable as possible. The horses are well cared for, the food is delicious and the scenery is awesome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

This is our 5th Time in 5 Years and booked again for next year. No words can explain how AWESOME this place is and I recommend everyone, young or old should experience Elk Mountain Ranch. The place, The owners Tom and Sue, The hand picked Staff, THE FOOD!! (wow) and the Horses (especially Romeo and Quigley) are all second to none. It is a Beautiful place and the scenery is to die for. (A little piece of Heaven)
If you go - you will not want to leave!

Room Tip: We always stay in the Vista Cabin which has beautiful views of the Mountains. But every cabin has it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Our visit to Elk Mountain Ranch was certainly our holiday of a lifetime. The ranch is home to Tom and Sue and their carefully selected group of wranglers, chefs and help. The minute that you arrive at the ranch you will very quickly feel as though it is your home too and Tom, Sue and the gang will feel like extended family before long.

We chose to drive from Denver in a rental car though the ranch does have a van that will pick up guests from the airport if you co-ordinate flight times accordingly. Next time I’m sure we’ll take this option since it makes for 3 hours of entertainment with either Tom or a wrangler. However, the drive is not at all challenging and is a bit of an adventure.

We were greeted with the warmest of welcome and shown to our cabin. Tom and Sue put so much effort into making everyone feel at home and we were so touched by our little personalized welcome gifts, I even managed to restrain myself from eating the horsey treats. We were shown all of the amenities of the ranch, but just the lodge with its open fire, the hot tub, and the surrounding beautiful landscape were all so inviting that we weren’t sure what to do first. Luckily everything is so perfectly planned that there is very little need for thinking and before we knew it it was our first of many delicious meals at the ranch. Let there be no mistake there will be no going hungry at Elk Mountain Ranch with simply amazing meals served up back at the lodge for dinner, out in the forest for lunch or packed up in your saddle bag for a picnic. We couldn’t have asked for more, I just wish that I had had more room for desserts! Every mealtime was such a joy to talk with the other guests and get to know the wranglers and Tom and Sue better.


To say that Tom and Sue are experienced would be an understatement. Tom’s horsemanship expertise gives even a well-seasoned rider the opportunity to learn a lot and their horses are all lovely. They have around 50 beautiful steads to suit all ages and abilities. Tom carefully matches each rider with a horse with whom they will get to spend the week and get to know. It was funny that somehow you could see an element of each of us in the horses that he chose and I don’t mean that you are quite as ‘windy’ as Billy in case you read this Brittany ;) I certainly miss lil’ Daisy!

The wranglers lead exciting and unique trails each day with the opportunity for other activities such as shooting and fishing. All great fun and like everything, very well organized such that all we ever needed to do was enjoy. While we experienced the adult only week, it is not hard to see how children would have a ball at the ranch. We indulged our inner child with a few games of air hockey and I discovered that as a child I was probably better at it (as was the case with billiards and basketball). Likewise the wranglers talk about taking kids out for trail rides with great enthusiasm and it is clear that the ranch would be the perfect place for a family break.

In summary, what can we say about our week at Elk Mountain Ranch;

The PRO’s – having a holiday of a lifetime

The CON’s – LEAVING!

We simply cannot wait to be back at Elk Mountain Ranch, so keep our saddles warm guys, we’ll see you again soon!

Liz and Alessia

Room Tip: All of the cabins are uniquely cosy and delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

The spectacular views, and the beautiful horses were just the beginning of this dream like vacation. From the moment we were picked up at our hotel in Denver until we were dropped off at the airport 7 days later, was the most unbelievable, relaxing, and momentous time we've ever spent away from home. The food, lodging and riding was A++. We really were impressed with the wranglers, cooking and serving staff. They were experienced, professional, and really took such good care of us. We could do as much or as little as we wanted to. Even though we are close to retirement age, we had a ball riding through the Aspens. Tom and Sue did everything they could to make us comfortable and relaxed. The others vacationing there with us are now our friends. Two thumbs up to EMR. Judie and Bill

Room Tip: the cabins are different sizes depending on your party. Ours had 2 br, 1 bath, and a sitting room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

The ranch was great and the people who worked at the ranch were extremely nice. Be prepared for a fun day of horseback riding, relaxing, and great food with other activity options as well. The ranch is kid friendly plus has a kids program to where younger kids can play and have fun as well during the day while the older kids and adults have some time to relax. No moment is boring because there is always something to do. I would recommend it and if I could go back I would.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This matched all our expectations and more. Fantastic family run ranch, excellent staff, delicious food and the comfiest bed I've ever slept in. The views when riding through the Rockies were outstanding. Our 12 year old son had the time of his life, as did we. Dont buy cowboy boots if budgeting as the ranch had quite alot they lent out for free. They also lent out slickers in case it rained.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk Mountain Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Ranch

Address: 13000 CR 185B, Buena Vista, CO 81211
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Buena Vista
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty lodging in Buena Vista
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colorado's highest guest ranch at 9600 feet. Weekly package includes meals, lodging and activities - horseback riding, white water rafting, shooting sports, van trip to Aspen, fishing, hiking, mountain biking, hayride, square dance, childrens' program and more. Massage and overnight pack trip extra. 35 pampered guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Ranch Hotel Buena Vista

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Mountain Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Elk Mountain Ranch to your Saves list