We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Food and GREAT Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Paraiso Family Mexican Restaurant

El Paraiso Family Mexican Restaurant
314 Charles St., Buena Vista, CO 81211
(719) 395-1783
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 36 Restaurants in Buena Vista
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food and GREAT Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Let me just start by saying WOW.

I live and Denver and make the short drive to BV fairly frequently during the summer to camp & hike. After a day of shenanigans on Antero my boyfriend and I went to the Green Parrot for drinks, then decided to head to the Mexican restaurant across Main Street to try it out -- I didn't remember El Paraiso being there last year, but it looked nice on the outside, and hey, who can pass up Mexican food on a summery afternoon??

The service was great - we never had to wait for someone to come by and fill up our glasses and they were prompt and friendly. This place is family owned and you can tell they take great pride in their work and service.

He ordered a couple of beef tacos and I went for the Pollo Chipolte - both dishes were FANTASTIC!!! I don't think I've ever had better Mexican anywhere...including Mexico.

The prices and portions are also very reasonable.

Bottom line - visit this place if you're ready for a great lunch or dinner. This is likely the best food in the area.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Real Deal:-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

Aaahhhh, now that's some authentic Mexican food! Don't bother going anywhere else because the delectable savory meals are so wonderful. Viva la playa
But if you can't afford a vacation in Mexico, come here for dinner:-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
“Loved the fresh salsa and margaritas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I dined at this restaurant three times over the course of two short stays in Buena Vista... We'd planned on dining at Casa de Sol, but they're closed on Mondays and Tuesdays, so all the better for us. If they'd been open, we might never have stumbled upon El Paraiso.

My spouse proclaimed El Paraiso's salsa the best he's ever had...fresh, spicy, excellent. The chips were very good too, barely salted (if at all) which is exactly how we like them.

On each visit I had the cheese enchiladas with green sauce, which were cheesy and tasty. On one occasion, they were not heated as well as I'd have liked, but otherwise, no complaints.

We found the service helpful and friendly,although during the quiet late afternoon hours, the staff do tend to gather along the stairwell and chat and laugh loudly amongst themselves, which struck me as a bit unprofessional. However, we barely noticed the noise after a couple of killer margaritas :)

Speaking Spanish absolutely isn't necessary as mentioned by another poster, but a bit of Spanish certainly adds to the ambiance of a Mexican Restaurant, don't you think?

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Vista
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“better speak spanish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

as a local it's ok, a little pricey for mushy food but it does have some flavor.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A Lovely Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit to El Paraiso Family Restaurant in Buena Vista, CO.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Paraiso Family Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Paraiso Family Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Paraiso Family Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.