We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most low grade mexican food ever...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Los Girasoles

Los Girasoles
708 US Hwy 24 North, Buena Vista, CO
(719) 395-9998
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 36 Restaurants in Buena Vista
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The most low grade mexican food ever...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2014

We hate to write a bad review, but felt compelled to save anyone else who is actually looking for good food some trouble!

First off... place was busy, we thought that was a good sign. Also run by Mexicans. Yet another good sign right? Well... not so much. One of us made a comment at the table about the fact that the staff seemed so somber. Now after eating the food we have our suspicions as to why... this is absolutely the worst "mexican" food ever.

Absolutely the most bland flavorless low grade mexican food we have ever had. Taco bell would be a step up. We think the reason everyone is so somber there is because they have to know they are selling food they would never eat. Nothing for them as Mexicans to be proud of, that is for sure.

This appears to be more of a case where they have a contract with some low cost provider where they have a pre printed menu and food items that they just heat in the back. I would be surprised to find out if they are actually making any of this.

There is sincerely nothing positive we can say about any of our experience other than it provided a few laughs at just how bad a restaurant can be and still pack the place full. Poor tourists passing by to be severely disappointed!

  • Visited September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    10
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“OK food service was bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

The food is good but not the best. The service was will, not so good. The attitude of the waiter was so bad we will not go back. It turned a ok meal into a bad experience. The inside of the building is almost a turn off, but good food can come out of dives. The ceiling around one of the ceiling fans is black, yuck. Maybe the guy doesn't usually wait tables, but he should at least act like he wants your business.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

My husband and I stopped here for a quick dinner before heading to the drivein. Delicious and reasonably priced food! Awesome service!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Mild and unexciting (usually get takeout and use a lot of salsa) but a reasonable choice if you want Mexican in BV. Enchiladas verdes not very verdes. Service can be slow but takeout works well.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMMERCE
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“No Mas, No Mas!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Well everybody has a bad day, maybe it was their turn. A Sunday afternoon lunch seem to stretch on forever. There were only two people working the front end, seating, serving, bussing, and acting as cashier. While we were seated rather quickly and served chips & salsa, it was over twenty minutes before coming back to take our order. The food arrived soon, but was disappointing. The plate was hotter than the food, which was just warm. The wait for the check was as long as the order taking, so we finally went to the register, where we waited some more. Finally we were able to pay and leave. OK, everything wasn't bad. The food although only warm was flavorful and the salsa was fresh and very good. I think I'll try one of the other Mexican restaurants next time.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Girasoles also viewed

 

Been to Los Girasoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Girasoles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.