We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Breckenridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Breckenridge to your Saves list
The Lodge at Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Overlook Dr, Mailing: PO Box 1078, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kanssas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a lovely lodge in an amazing location....views were spectacular. Sitting on deck or in hot tub in late afternoon was great. Room was big and had great kitchenette area. Bathroom small but functional. Only about 5 minutes out of downtown so easy to get to and nice to get away from crowds. Breakfast buffet was average good....coffee, juice, bread/bagels, cereal, waffles....some fresh whole fruit. No bar or restaurant on site so bring your own! Lovely get away lodge.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay here at The Lodge! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Sincerely, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    151
    51
    42
    26
See reviews for
97
213
23
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed a couple days w/ my 6mo-old puppy and appreciate the friendly & responsive staff. I called around to a few places that allowed pets and Lodge/Spa was cheapest and yet still a very nice hotel. It was nice to have an area to walk my dog w/o alot of traffic. Would def stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
...And your little puppy was just the cutest! Thank you so much for your kind words. We can't wait to welcome you back!


All the Best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I like this hotel, a good 10 minutes drive from the centre of Breckenridge on the South East hill, but the views in the morning and evening are worth it. Lovely entrance, reception and lounge area, with an open fire (presumably in the winter). Decent room, mine had a balcony, although in need of some maintenance in places. OK breakfast on decent plates and cutlery, although some plastic mugs and forks beginning to contaminate the experience. At some time in the past, the hotel has invested in a Spa/gym facility, and although I did not use it I did walk around to see whether it was worth it. Generally poor quality, my home equivalent in the UK is an order of magnitude better and they missed the benefit of placing the Gym/Spa overlooking the spectacular view to motivate people. Hot tubs, but no pool. No bar. It was sad to see this place, the hotel and grounds are in generally good shape, with so much potential, but it needs someone with vision (and a few million) to invest in the place to realise it’s full potential. There must be better places in Breckenridge.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz M, Director of Sales at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so very much for taking some time to offer your feedback. It is with great pleasure that we announce, that effective Monday, July 15, we are under new ownership! We are so excited to welcome our new owners and managers to Breckenridge and to breathe new life into the Lodge and Spa at Breckenridge! In the coming months we will be undergoing a tremendous renovation to bring the Lodge back to it's former glory. We look forward to welcoming you back to show off our new look.


All the Best!
Liz M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Great View, Family friendly, Great service, It was clean and in a nice secluded area. I've stayed there twice now, both times the experience was top notch. Highly Recommend to anyone who loves a good view especially. The complimentary breakfast was also fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay! We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Sincerely, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We were on our first visit to Colorado and doing a 7 day road trip making Breckenridge one of our stops. We found The Lodge and Spa at Breckenridge through Hotels.com and the pics and reviews helped us choose this hotel for one of our overnights. We were so happy to find upon our arrival that we booked a beautiful lodge/hotel in a mountain setting with beautiful views of the mountains. We found it to be very clean and with a courteous staff. Our room was nice and comfortable and clean. Only wished there was a mirror in the room other than the small bathroom mirror (such as a full length or mirror over the dresser). We wanted to start the fireplace and when we couldn't get it to work we called the front desk and was told if it didn't work it was just there for looks. However, my husband checked and said it would work if the pilot light was on. So we did not bother with it. We took several pics during our stay as our room had a beautiful view of the mountains. The breakfast buffet was nice and kept replenished (we prefer hotels that offer "breakfast included" keeps us from trying to find a restaurant on the run. Even the dining area offered a view too! If we are ever in the area again, we would probably choose The Lodge again. We liked the price too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit with us. All of our Mountain Views with a King bed and our Suites have working fireplaces. There are 2 Forest Views with a King that have a fireplace in the room, however it is not a working fireplace. These rooms are sold as our Forest Views since they are forest view. Please call us directly to ensure you are getting the room that fits your lodging needs.
Sincerely, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Pros: located just outside and above Breckenridge proper, so not as noisy and if you can get a mountain view room, the view out over the valley is exceptional. Staff was friendly and informative, and there is a stop for the free town shuttle located conveniently at the end of their drive.
Cons: room was showing its age, and the carpet was pretty dreadful. Room has no fridge or microwave. Fan barely moved the air, and with no air conditioning, the only way to cool the room was by opening a door, which had no screen.
I didn't get to try the complimentary breakfast since we left quite early, but previous reviewers have not been impressed, which doesn't surprise me.
For a short visit, The Lodge and Spa works, but if I was going to be staying for any longer, I'd look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Must have a mountain view, and I'd choose the top floor to avoid overhead noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
The Lodge offers multiple room type options. Only in our Mountain View Suites do we have a microwave, mini-fridge & countertop with sink. If you book a Forest View or Mountain View you would just have regular hotel room. We are reviewing he carpet and replacing what needs to be replaced. The Lodge does not have AC (like every other hotel in Breckenridge). We offer great customer service and are willing to help any guest out that might have a special need or would like a different room, we just need to know your concerns so we can resolve them during your stay!
Sincerely, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We made reservations (and paid in advance) because this resort allowed pets (in our case, a Brittany) to stay with us in our room. What a disappointing hotel! This at one have time may have been a good place to stay----not now. Let's see-----no air conditioning (granted, this is not uncommon in this ski resort town)----huge rips in the room carpet-----holes in the ceiling drywall-----broken towel bars and smashed tile in the bathroom----sagging, lumpy beds-----etc., etc. On the flip-side, the sheets and towels were clean and the front desk service was acceptable----but gosh, what a disappointment! My advice is to try some other place----don't stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
We are sorry to hear about this guests recent stay. It is very important to us that our guests receive a clean, comfortable and maintenance free room. The Lodge (like every other place in Breckenridge) does not have AC. We are reviewing the issues listed and resolving these immediately.
Sincerely, Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Breckenridge

Address: 112 Overlook Dr, Mailing: PO Box 1078, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Breckenridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Lodge at Breckenridge, your resort for magnificent Rocky Mountain adventures. Located 90 miles west of Denver, 5 minutes from historic downtown Breckenridge and minutes away from some of the best skiing in the Rocky Mountains. Situated on a forested cliff at 10,200 feet, The Lodge overlooks Boreas Pass, Breckenridge Ski Resort and the Ten Mile Range. Here guests will find all the comfort and services they would expect from a world-class ski resort in a charming boutique hotel -- perfect for a romantic getaway, family vacation, mountain wedding or corporate retreat. Winner of The Knot's 2015 Best of Weddings. The on-site Meridian Spa offers massages, spa treatments, and signature packages perfect for pampering yourself. Traverse Restaurant & Bar serves up innovative fresh, local and seasonal culinary creations. Whether you're coming for a vacation, corporate meeting, wedding, special event or ski trip The Lodge at Breckenridge is the perfect place to start planning your Rocky Mountain getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge And Spa At Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Breckenridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.