We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lodge at Breckenridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Lodge at Breckenridge to your Saves list
The Lodge at Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   112 Overlook Dr, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
Fort Carson, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“AMAZING!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Being a military family my husband and I have traveled to many states and stayed in many hotels over the past 10 years. The Lodge and Spa at Breckenridge is by far one of the most astounding places we have ever been! Every chance we get to make it to Breckenridge we go and there is no other place we will stay. Each room is custom with the most amazing cabin furniture, comfortable beds, quite atmosphere, and breath taking views. Not to mention the hot tubs outside looking over the mountains. They are even more incredible when the snow is falling down! We have also utilized the spas services available at the lodge, such a perfect touch to an already perfect stay. My husband and I are going to be enjoying our 11 year anniversary their next month and we are always looking for reason to go back!!! The Lodge and Spa at Breckenridge is marvelous and if you’re in the Breckenridge area this place is a MUST for your stay.

Room Tip: Every room we have ever stayed in at the lodge has been great, but the Mtn View rooms have wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    140
    49
    38
    26
See reviews for
88
203
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

I would bet it is the best value in town. Yes, the bathrooms are a little dated and small but more than adequate to meed my needs. The room itself was very spacious which I appreciated. I'd much rather have it "as is" for the price than pay a lot more for upgrades. Breakfast was just okay, but it was an unexpected surprise to me that it was included at all.

I liked that it was close to town but far away from the night life. I do wish I knew about the great views - I would have upgraded. Gorgeous. Very warm, cozy feeling. Liked the design. Its a large place but never feels that way inside. Room was too warm but we just opened the door on the balcony.

And we got exceptionally good service from the front desk. Both morning and night staff were friendly and very helpful. If price stays in the same range, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. I think it is great to have an affordable place to stay in an otherwise pricey town.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

One of the few places I can recommend paying for the upgrade to a mountain view room. views are fantastic! The room was awesome, too! Log post and beam beds, a gas fireplace, giant windows facing the mountains, comfortable sitting chairs...this is an all-around winner. i could have moved into my room permanently.

Be sure to bring your own food or pay high delivery costs. There is no where to eat on site. i ordered pizza and it was not cheap.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade for rooms with views!!! It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Very nice rustic looking but well equipped lodge. Exercise room especially well equipped with many more weights/machines than I expected to find. Great view, nice indoor fireplace to sit by. Breakfast was very good. Only negative I found was the hot tubs were so cold I tried to get in and immediately got out. Neither of the 2 were working well, too cold. But other than that snafu this nice place to stay and we'd stay again.
If you want a large room though, this isn't it. Rooms fairly small, but find for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff, wales
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

A hotel without a bar or restaurant is rather unusual - especially half way up a mountain - so as long as you can live with driving (or bussing) to get a meal then this is a really good choice. The included breakfast was OK but my focus was on enjoying the views - outstanding. Room was nice enough for the price, although I can see why no a/c would be an issue (fortunately not required when we stayed). Slight air of needing a refurb in general. But overall at the right price this is a good option, especially for one night. I can see why they are busy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed at the lodge for 2 nights, it had a mountain lodge feeling with big wood beams and fireplaces, and the previous reviews were correct about the views, they are excellent. A couple of miles from the town of Breckenridge, it sits on the top of a hill, views of the town, ski hill, and fall aspens were great. If you don't mind driving a few minutes into town and like a quieter place to stay, this would be a good choice.

We did not use the spa, so we can't comment.

What we liked: Nice homey feeling, they are family friendly and were happy to have our dog stay, too. We had a king mountain view suite on the 2nd floor, which had the great views mentioned above; room was large and nicely furnished, very tasteful, big wood beams in ceiling, four poster bed, muted colors. Small kitchen area with coffee maker/microwave/refrigerator/sink (no stovetop), some utensils and plates were provided and appreciated. Carpet and tile on the floors, both seemed clean enough, you didn't get that creepy carpet feeling you sometimes get from hotels. Bathroom was mostly clean, shower curtain pretty new, not icky at all. Bed was soft, linens and bedspread were clean, towels were provided in shape of peacocks, very cute. Toiletries provided actually smelled good, especially the soap. All of the employees were friendly and helpful, this place deserves an A+ for customer service. And the rates were very reasonable, we stayed off season and enjoyed the color of the aspens in lieu of the ski hills.

What we didn't: Bathrooms were small and older, they obviously were updated at some point with sinks/toilets/tubs but still show their wear, bathroom sink cracked, some caulking was needed around the tub, and they have a nice wooden shelf for toiletries--but an odd choice, as it doesn't really clean up and there are lots of toothpaste stains from past guests. The bathroom vent fan was VERY loud, made a banging sound when turned on, I felt bad for the neighbors. It was mostly clean, but the walls were a bit dirty. The rooms seemed new in comparison to the bathroom, but had a few minor maintenance issues, like shutter slats being broken and the couch visibly dipping in the middle (fine if it's one person sitting there who doesn't mind dipping in th emiddle). I never thought I'd hear these words coming out of my mouth, but La Quinta breakfast was better. If you like bread items (toast, bagels, cereal, danish, waffles) this is the breakfast for you. I think there were packets of oatmeal, otherwise there was nothing healthy or substantial to eat. There was a small selection of fruit, my husband grabbed an orange and it was brown and rotten when he peeled it. If you are a yogurt/eggs/fruit/whole wheat toast person, make other plans.

I'm not sure if the lodge is going for an upscale spa experience (since I didn't visit the spa) or a homey mountain lodge feel...if it's homey mountain lodge, then they've got it about right. It's not fancy, although at one time might have been, looks like it was built with love and taken care of, there's just some dust and dirt in the corners. I don't think we'd pay full price during ski season, but we definitely got what we paid for with the off season rates.

Room Tip: 2nd floor will be quieter; mountain view is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rooroo1, General Manager at The Lodge at Breckenridge, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Previous Guest,
Thank you for your kind words about our lodge. We appreciate all our guests’ feedback, both good and bad! Yes, our views do set do set us aside from many other properties in the area. Guest service is very important to us and from your comments it seems we are keeping up to our standards there.
New management took over The Lodge in 2009 and we are working through things to increase the overall look and value of The Lodge. We have started off with major updates to the internal parts of the hotel and are working our way from there. We have updated beds, some furniture, bedding and carpeting in rooms and working on more updates monthly. We are now working on focus on our bathrooms this Fall with new caulking, sinks, shelving, mirrors, vent fans, etc to spruce up the overall look of the bathrooms.
We do offer a Continental Breakfast to our guests and that is a basic continental breakfast. We are one of 2 hotels in Breckenridge that offer any type of “free” breakfast. This breakfast is a jump to get you started but is not a full hot breakfast.
We are continually proceeding with updates year round, with a focus on the most important as we see fit to ensure a valued guest experience.
Sincerely, Rhonda Profaizer / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011 via mobile

An absolutely beautiful place.away from the hustle and bustle of a ski resort town! The rooms are unique and charming, beautifully restored to retain the feel of an old mountain lodge. The views are spectacular!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lodge at Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lodge at Breckenridge

Address: 112 Overlook Dr, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#10 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Lodge at Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RENOVATIONS BEGIN MARCH 2014 - The Lodge at Breckenridge is a boutique hotel located cliff-side above the world-famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. Surrounded by breathtaking mountain views, The Lodge is a quaint setting for your next Rocky Mountain adventure. Whether you are joining us for a family vacation, a retreat or a wedding celebration, our staff is here to assist you with gracious hospitality. Located just minutes from town, you will enjoy the proximity of year-round activities and events, and then return to your warm, cozy home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lodge at Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lodge And Spa At Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lodge at Breckenridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.