We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location at the base of Quicksilver lift” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Columbine Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 22 hotels in Breckenridge
loomis ca
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Nice location at the base of Quicksilver lift”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bdr+ alcove with trundle bed and 2 baths. What we liked?
Marriotts always produce a consistent product. Clean, helpful staff with extra towels, cookware, salt and pepper, and an amenity card at the end of our stay so we could ski, then shower and use the hot tub in the pool area. We could also leave our car there at the end of our stay.
What we didn't like? The kitchen was tiny, and virtually no counter space and the dishwasher in a very awkward position. More than one person in the kitchen area made it feel quite crowded.
We liked the ski storage, but the boot warmers did not appear to be working. Many times we kept our boots in our room next to the heater.
While listed as ski in and out, one has to walk over the bridge to get to the lift. But on the return you can ski directly to the ski storage door, providing there is enough snow.
There are 4 hot tubs, welcome after bitter cold days skiiing. Evidently the Marriott shares the hot tubs with a hotel next door. Sometimes they were quite crowded. A little unusual entry to the pool hot tub area walking outside and through the parking garage, but overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    117
    39
    15
    11
See reviews for
98
109
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Marriott Mountain Valley Lodge in Breckenridge from Feb 6-9. It's a nice location and there is a ski rental places (Charter Sports) in the basement that will store skis and boots for guests. All very convenient.

However, the place needs some work. It's perfectly fine as far as construction (nothing is falling down), but it seems out-dated and it is not as nice as other options in the Marriott Vacation Club network. The garage feels extremely tight especially considering almost everyone during the winter drives and SUV.

However, I commend the staff on being friendly and extremely helpful. We had to move rooms because of an odd smell that crept up and they were very quick to act and rectify the situation. They tried identifying the smell and when they couldn't they didn't hesitate to move us to a new unit. That kind of pro-active behavior goes a long way, in my opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We just returned from a first time ski trip to Breckenridge and Marriott Mountain Valley Lodge.

Pros: Ski equipment rental at your hotel, short walk to ski, ski right to the door, clean and well kept, friendly staff, close proximity to ski lift and restaurants, family friendly, spacious suite with a full kitchen was great for quick breakfasts and lunches in the room.

Cons: Pool/hot tub setup has a HORRIBLE setup. It's nice and warm in the pool, and the hot tubs are great. However, to get back to our room we had to walk up 2 flights of stairs and go through the lobby or walk a ways out in the cold and then through the parking garage. I highly recommend that this hotel at least enclose the area. The hotel is very clean, but it is a little run down.

Overall, our stay was great. I would definitely stay again using Marriott miles, but I do not think I would pay the price they are charging for these rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I booked the Marriott Mountain Valley Lodge on an exchange through Interval International without reading any reviews. After booking, I looked on tripadvisor and was concerned. However, our experience was quite positive and we were pleasantly surprised.

We had a studio in the Angler building with easy accessibility to the ski storage and the slopes. The room had been updated in the last few years with tasteful, comfortable furnishings. We had no problems with the appliances, decor, or the temperature control.

I'm not sure why every review seems to mention the tight parking. We had a full size SUV and had no trouble parking it in the parking spaces. It seemed like every other vehicle in the garage was a large SUV and they all fit fine.

My only concern with our stay was the housekeeping. Our room was not ready when we arrived because housekeeping was still working. When we got to the room there were towels hanging behind the bathroom door, obviously left by the previous guests.

I would definitely stay at the Marriott Mountain Lodge in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great for family vacation. Organized activities daily,kids friendly. Walking distance to the lift. The only downside is the parking, you have to walk outside on the cold and snow to get to your car. But over-all, our stay was great.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms on the highest floor at the Eagle Bldg, mountain and ski run view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Loved this place! Located at the end of the "main" street of Breckenridge (everything is within walking distance), at the bottom of the mountain and on a nice lake. It was very nice and cozy. Power went out in town (common in the mountains) while we were there and we were supplied with more blankets and a lantern right away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

this marriott vacation club is not of the same standard as the other Marriott vacation club resorts. It is old, needs renovating, new furniture and especially heating. The heating in the appartments is bad, couldn't get the temperature in the room above 65-67F without using the oven as a heater.
Furniture is worn, beds are still comfortable. 1 BR is fine for 2, extra sofa for another person but that is it, 2 bathrooms could use update as well.
Lodge is very convienient located, very short walk to chairlift and easy to get to village. Friendly staff.
Recommend Relish as a good restaurant but Ember is disappointing.

Room Tip: the higher the better the view is
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge

Also Known As:
Marriott`s Mountain Valley Lodge At Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Marriott`s Mountain Valley Lodge At Breckenridge Hotel
Marriott Vacation Club Breckenridge
Marriott Breckenridge
Marriotts Mountain Valley Hotel Breckenridge
Breckenridge Marriott
Address: 655 Columbine Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.