We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Columbine Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Breckenridge
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ski vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great for family vacation. Organized activities daily,kids friendly. Walking distance to the lift. The only downside is the parking, you have to walk outside on the cold and snow to get to your car. But over-all, our stay was great.

Room Tip: Pick the rooms on the highest floor at the Eagle Bldg, mountain and ski run view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    124
    40
    16
    11
See reviews for
105
120
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Loved this place! Located at the end of the "main" street of Breckenridge (everything is within walking distance), at the bottom of the mountain and on a nice lake. It was very nice and cozy. Power went out in town (common in the mountains) while we were there and we were supplied with more blankets and a lantern right away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

this marriott vacation club is not of the same standard as the other Marriott vacation club resorts. It is old, needs renovating, new furniture and especially heating. The heating in the appartments is bad, couldn't get the temperature in the room above 65-67F without using the oven as a heater.
Furniture is worn, beds are still comfortable. 1 BR is fine for 2, extra sofa for another person but that is it, 2 bathrooms could use update as well.
Lodge is very convienient located, very short walk to chairlift and easy to get to village. Friendly staff.
Recommend Relish as a good restaurant but Ember is disappointing.

Room Tip: the higher the better the view is
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The one thing this resort has going for it is the proximity to the ski slopes. In that respect, it was very convenient. The slopes were right there, and you could walk to them, though the lift tickets are more expensive there than other areas in town. However, the accommodations were quite INFERIOR compared to your typical Marriott Resort timeshare property. It appeared that the building used to be another hotel, and Marriott did not put much money (if any) into updating or refurbishing it. The living space was small, dark and dingy. The kitchen was super tiny. The halls were dark and dingy, as was the lobby.

The garage had limited parking, and the spaces are very small so it's quite a struggle to even park there (I scraped the side of our rental car doing so). One night during our stay, the parking garage was full and we had to park at a faraway lot where our gated ticket (given to us by the front desk) did not work, so we had to make two trips back to the hotel in an effort to get one that worked. It took over 45 minutes to park that night, and we had to take a shuttle bus back to the hotel. This was terribly inconvenient, especially on a night where the temperature was about zero degrees. Luckily, our kids were old enough to drop off at the hotel and leave alone in the room, as we would not have wanted to subject them to this on such a cold night. We had gotten take-out for dinner and by the time we got back to the room, our food was completely cold. I expected so much more from Marriott!!! This was the WORST MARRIOTT timeshare that we have ever stayed in, and we have stayed at many. I would go back to Breckenridge, but would NOT stay at this Marriott again. It was more like a 3-Star resort than a 5-Star one.

Having said all that, the rooms were clean. If you plan to ski for most of the day and don't care too much about your room as long as it's clean, then this might work out for you. But if you plan to spend time hanging out in your room, then think twice about going there. This resort would benefit from a huge multi million dollar makeover. It is certainly not as nice as most other Marriott Timeshare properties.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I got a fairly good deal on this hotel. They gave us a taller room on the highest floor, which was nice. It is a great location to walk down Main Street and there are some good breakfast places across the street. When I was here there was only one lift open, so we did have to drive down to that but it was only a 5 minute drive or so. I also enjoyed swimming in the pool to the outside and jumping into the hot tub.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed at the Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge from December 17-21. Had a wonderful time in Breckenridge. We were walking distance from Main Street and did that once or twice a day for shopping and meals. There is such a huge variety of places and we really enjoyed Michael's Italian, Northside Pizza, and others. Blue Moose Cafe was very close and great for breakfast (bring cash.) Back to the hotel. No real complaints. We stayed on the 3rd floor of the Creekside building. Our bed was great and we had a spacious room with a full kitchen. We had a view on Maggie's Pond. The shower had a slightly low water pressure but not too bad. The front desk provided us with a great magazine that detailed all the restaurants to help us choose where to eat! On Wednesday morning they had $5 all you can eat Belgium waffles with a great assortment of toppings. There were a bunch of activities listed each day in the elevator and also a page slipped under our door nightly. Our room got extremely cold even when we had the heater on and they brought us a small space heater that helped. We got our snowboard rentals right at the hotel with the rental place right in the garage. I highly recommend getting the $3 a day insurance for rentals! The staff there was friendly and helpful. You could walk right out of the rental place and hotel to The Maggie and the Quicksilver Super Chair on Peak 9. Great location and highly recommended. We will stay here again next time we come back to Breck!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel is a property which was recently bought over by Marriott and used as part of their vacation club. Though the property is not as nice as some of the high class Marriott properties, it is still a good overall value. Great location at the top of the town with a convenient walk to downtown shops and restaurants. Many rooms have nice views of the surrounding mountains. Rooms are a bit undersized, but nicely laid out and well equipped with all you need for convenient breakfasts and meals at home. One of the first changeovers was to put in an excellent workout facility similar to other high scale Marriotts. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: Beware of the altitude sun...even in fall, your room will bake if you don't pull the heavy curta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge

Address: 655 Columbine Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#9 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Mountain Valley Lodge At Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Marriott Vacation Club Breckenridge
Marriott Breckenridge
Marriotts Mountain Valley Hotel Breckenridge
Breckenridge Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.