We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improving Property, Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge to your Saves list
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Columbine Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Breckenridge
Chicago
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Improving Property, Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel is a property which was recently bought over by Marriott and used as part of their vacation club. Though the property is not as nice as some of the high class Marriott properties, it is still a good overall value. Great location at the top of the town with a convenient walk to downtown shops and restaurants. Many rooms have nice views of the surrounding mountains. Rooms are a bit undersized, but nicely laid out and well equipped with all you need for convenient breakfasts and meals at home. One of the first changeovers was to put in an excellent workout facility similar to other high scale Marriotts. Overall a very good experience.

Room Tip: Beware of the altitude sun...even in fall, your room will bake if you don't pull the heavy curta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    132
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
112
131
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My family went to Breckenridge for a Thanksgiving holiday get away. We had never done this before and did not know what to expect.
We found the Marriott Mountain Valley Lodge a very nice spot for our 5 day stay. While the hotel is in need of some renovations (we were told this was coming very soon), it was still a clean and in fairly good shape.
The staff was excellent and Bethany was especially good.
We stayed in a one bedroom suite. It was a little tight for my family, but we were not "hangin out" in the room.We stayed in the Eagle building, so our view was somewhat obstructed. However, the hot tub and pool offer a great view of the mountains.
We were truly walking distance to Peak 9 and that was great.
It is also a short walk into the town, so we had access to all of the food and shopping.
Even though there were only a few slopes open (due to the lack of snow), this hotel was a fine place for us and we would recommend it to other (but not for larger families).

Room Tip: Ask for room that faces the mountain, if you are getting a one bedroom. Otherwise, ask for higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I must say, this was not what I expected. My stay was short so I really didn't get to enjoy the property as a whole but my impression of the room was not that great. The bed was ok and I am a big bed stickler as far as comfort goes--if I had not been so tired, I don't think that I would have slept very well here. The bathroom was an accessible bath and I didn't expect that as that was not what my reservation was for, but otherwise it was fine. I did enter the hallway for my room directly from the parking garage on the lowest level so that was odd too. The room did have a good view of the frozen pond.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed in a studio room through a timeshare trade. While the view was awesome and the staff was excellent, the bed and couch were the most uncomfortable, worn out pieces of furniture ever. We have stayed at places all over the U.S. and Europe and are not especially fussy. But our inability to get a good night's rest on these broken down springs and mattresses almost ruined our trip. We never expected this from a Marriott.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We loved the location, easy to get into town, everything within walking distance. Our first room was a good size, however the refrigerator was broken and they couldn't fix it. We were relocated to another room which was fine. The bathroom layout is a bit odd and cramped for our family of four. The staff was helpful and well informed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pond.The upper floor has vaulted ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenson Ranch, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Spent the week of Oct.14-21, had a studio room in the Creekside building which had plenty of room for 2 adults. You could probably add a small child or two but not another adult comfortably. The location is great, the back door to our building is right across the walkway from the back door to the main reception and activity center which made is very convenient to get around when is was snowing. The view from the jacuzzis is amazing. The parking is very simply marked, I'm not sure why other people had a problem. There are plenty of great places to eat and drink within walking distances. We found a coupon for a 60 min massage in the local paper for $54 at Simply Massage, which is a 2 minute walk away. It was a decent massage, especially since the place the hotel uses was $99. The kitchen comes pretty well equipped...wine opener, tupperware if you're cooking, etc, the only thing I wish we had bought at the store was cooking spray because everything stuck to the old pans. And don't forget salt and pepper or other seasonings that you like. The only negative thing I could say is that there was not a washer/dryer in our unit like I expected. We had to pay $1.50 per wash, $1.50 per dry, $1 for laundry soap....not to mention we couldn't leave our unit while we were doing wash..bummer. Overall, I really enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: really liked the location of Creekside, easy to get to town, the jacuzzi, front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We are owners and I am a travel agent. We have owned our unit since the opened in 1995 and this is the first time I have written a review. You can beat the location and the staff at this timeshare. The staff goes out of their way to be helpful and make sure that everything is great for your trip. This past trip went to the owner's meeting and met the general manager and we were very impressed with everything he and the board are doing for this property.

The location of this timeshare is great in that you can virtually ski in but you do have to take a short walk to get to the lift. You need to cross a bridge and walk up a small hill. You can easily walk to down town and they have an awesome pool.

The units are always clean and in great shape. We prefer the units that overlook the hill or Maggies pond. We own 2 one bedroom units and they are limited so we don't have a lot of options.

If you have younger kids they offer great activities. My only issue is that sometime they overlap if your kids are taking ski lessons. If they could start them a little later that would be great.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge

Address: 655 Columbine Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#8 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Mountain Valley Lodge At Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Marriott Vacation Club Breckenridge
Marriott Breckenridge
Marriotts Mountain Valley Hotel Breckenridge
Breckenridge Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.