We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for skiing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Columbine Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Breckenridge
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent base for skiing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We had a studio room on the top floor of the Downhill building facing the mountains - excellent view!Studio was really well kitted out - cooker looked barely used! Had everything we needed. Location to slopes was excellent - 200m walk and very convenient being able to store kit at Charter sports for free for the whole trip. The room was really nice - more than adequate with lots of room for two people.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    124
    40
    16
    11
See reviews for
105
119
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This hotel has very lovely and adequate rooms -- 1980's decor, but the rooms are quite comfortable. The common areas could be improved upon significantly -- elevator areas and main lobby, not very attractive.

Location: If you plan to ski at Breckenridge, you can easily access the beginner chair, Quicksilver, or ski the black diamond Falcon chair.

Transportation is one of the biggest negatives for this hotel. The hotel really needs a courtesy shuttle, particularly for the winter months. If you can drive in snow, a rental car is good to have. My opinion: the taxis are awful. I would not use a taxi in this town again. The shuttle stop is not that close when you are carrying ski gear. Too much time is wasted on figuring out bus schedules and connecting with buses at the transit center.

Grocery stores: You need transportation to get to the grocery store, City Market. It is good, but a mile and a half away. There is a smaller grocery store that is closer to this hotel, but based on what I saw there, I could not recommend it.

The staff at this hotel gets top marks.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

We just returned from a week stay at this lodge and loved it. We traded our Tahoe timeshare ath the last minute through interval and got a lovely 1 br/2ba place here for President's Week. We were on the 5th floor and had amazing views of the the mountain from our bedroom and peak 9 from the family room. I read other reviews before we went and listened to what people said and found a lot of the reviews to be true. In the end, this place was perfect for us-a family of 5 who wanted a ski in/out place within walking distance to town and enough room plus a full kitchen. Yes the place was a bit run down-elevators, lobby, hallways but you can't beat this location and the room was very spacious. We want to come back every year for the same week. Lots of things for kids-game room with video games, a rec room with a pool table and big screen tv for large gatherings. There are 4 outdoor jacuzzis and an outdoor pool-wish they were indoor. The underground parking was great. My family owns 2 other marriott timeshares in Maui and Vail and we've been to many other marriott timeshares. This isn't necessarily up to the normal Marriott Timeshares or brand because it is older so it's not a place for people who want a five star hotel. Remember it's a timeshare. The only thing I'd work on is the front desk staff. We needed a conscierge to recommend restaurants, a sledding area etc. and a couple of times the person at the front desk didn't speak english nor really knew the hotel/area. Other times, the information was great. The only real bad experience we had was when we were checking out at 5 pm the person at the front desk didn't know how to check anyone out so we couldn't get a receipt/printout. The person at the front desk should always be knowledgeable about everything to do with the lodge. The staff was all very friendly. The normal rates for our place this time of year is anywhere from $300-500 a night and I don't know that $500 a night is the best value for this place. It all depends on your priorities.

Room Tip: I'm assuming that any rooms above the lobby on 3 have great views of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newnan, Georgia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

So, first the disclaimer that we spent only 14 hours in the property - coming in very late from Denver and checking out early to head over to Crystal Peak Lodge where we are staying for the next 5 night but couldn't get a reservation the first night.

I wasn't expecting too much but honestly struggled to believe this was a Marriott Vacation Club property. I am Marriott Platinum Premier and Lifetime Platinum so always stay at Marriott affiliated hotels if staying at a chain. I'm not the biggest fan of MCVI properties but found the Tahoe and Hilton Head Properties pretty nice. This is not in the same league.

First, from the outside, the building appears to have been built in the 80s if the 70s which isn't its fault per se but is the reality. When we arrived at 11:00 PM, it was cold and snowy and then had to get the front desk clerk to open the doors. He was professional enough but certainly not particularly welcoming. Found it hilarious that for one of the first time since a few Motel 6 stays in college 20 years ago that I had to give the license plate of my rental car so had to go back outside, brush off the license plate that was covered in snow, have him reopen the front doors that had locked again, and give him the license plate #. All of this for parking in an underground garage that you had to have a key card to get into to.

Our 1 bedroom condo was large enough - but literally had 7 or so foot ceilings and besides the kitchen had little improvements from the 80s. It seemed clean enough and the beds weren't too bad but it was the kind of place that you get up early from and can't wait to get out the door in the next morning.

Haven't done this once in 10 years but will be sending Marriott customer service an email suggesting they really make sure that this property is open to the caliber of what Mr. Marriott believe is need.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

This is a timeshare property that's showing its wear, at least in the older section. The studio suite was smaller than I expected, although the kitchen was well-equipped, the queen bed was comfortable and the bathroom was large. I echo what others have said about the garage, it's cramped and hard to park in even with a compact car. The elevators in the building are fast, though, and take you up and down between floors and to the garage very quickly.

Since it is a timeshare property, there's not a real lobby to enjoy. It's very cramped and sparse at check-in, and the counter set-up isn't conducive to checking in people when there's a line, as there seemed to be each day around check-in time. The check-in/-out staff was really nice, though. There is a common room further in back that has a big fireplace, but it's not a very warm or cozy room. It's didn't feel like a place I wanted to hang out and people watch.

In all, it wasn't bad, but the photos of the studio room on the website far surpassed my actual experience with the room they provided. It also didn’t help that my 2nd floor room was at roof level and my tiny balcony overlooked tar and roofing material and the hotel chillers. If it had had a decent view, it might have added to a more favorable experience.

I liked the location on the south end of Main St., and found it nice to go for walks to and from the hotel. Breckenridge is still my favorite of all the I-70 ski towns.

Room Tip: I'm not sure what the newer, lower profile buildings were like, but the standard "mid-rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Depends what you want. Wish they had been more clear it is a time share, aparment like place from teh 70s complete with popcorn ceilings. This was so different than the Marriott Costa Rica near the airport (that was great). This was a big disappointment as we were looking for a romantic one night away from the kids. The towells and toiletries were substandard for a nearly $280 night place. No king beds! If you want a step back in time and need a kitchen and are with kids, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I had an opportunity to ski for a day prior to a business meeting in the Denver area. I selected this hotel based on 1) it being a Marriott and 2) distance from Denver International Airport. It turned out to be a great choice. Certainly the room shows some wear as all resort hotels do, but the location was great. There is a ski rental company in the parking garage and it's only about a 50 yard walk to the ski lift! The room was a studio with full kitchen (which I did not use). I used Marriott "points" to stay here - otherwise the > $300/night would've turned me away. Also very short walk (<1/4 mile) to Breckenridge village.

Room Tip: Be a Gold Marriott member (or higher)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
Free Parking, M...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#1 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 377 reviews
Luxury, Free Pa...
Show More
1.1 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.8 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#7 of 23 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Valdoro Mountain Lodge by Hilton Grand Vacations Suites
Pool, Restauran...
Show More
0.2 mi away
The Village Hotel
The Village Hotel
#14 of 23 in Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Bar/Lounge, Mid...
Show More
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge

Address: 655 Columbine Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#9 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Mountain Valley Lodge At Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Marriott Vacation Club Breckenridge
Marriott Breckenridge
Marriotts Mountain Valley Hotel Breckenridge
Breckenridge Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.