We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MARRIOTT SHOULD BE ASHAMED!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge

Save Saved
You added Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   655 Columbine Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rewards Members Save 25%
Ranked #10 of 24 Hotels in Breckenridge
Plainview, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“MARRIOTT SHOULD BE ASHAMED!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge the second week of January in a studio unit. We have been Marriott timeshare owners for several years and this was our first time to visit this property. The property was far from luxurious and did not have any activities for adults. The fireplace in the one small common area was not working. A unit on a high floor with a mountain view was specifically requested at the time of booking. The unit we were given was on the first floor facing a public walkway making it impossible to leave the drapes open for lack of privacy. The next morning after arrival we complained to the front desk, but were told nothing else was available. We continued to discuss how unhappy we were with the accommodations offering to pay an up charge for a different unit. We were told Interval (Marriott owners must use Interval to exchange even for other Marriott properties) purchases a block of rooms and that was not an option. We were finally offered another first floor unit with an obstructed view. We agreed to change units and were told there would be a $40 fee to do so. The second unit turned out to be a handicap unit which not the type of accommodation we wanted. Shortly after relocating we discovered the toilet did not flush. Calling the front desk a maintenance man was dispatched to the unit. He used the plunger and said that he would send someone to snake it. No one ever came. Within a couple of hours it was stopped up again. Calling the front desk a second time a different maintenance man was sent. He told me to come use the plunger. I asked why did I have to do it? and said I didn't go on vacation to plumbing. I used the plunger while he watched. Afterwards he used a short snake and said the problem was fixed. He made a huge mess on the bathroom floor splashing water everywhere and left without attempting to clean it. Within a short while the toilet was stopped up again. I called the front desk and was told to use the plunger. The next morning (third day) I ran into the first maintenance man and he asked if the toilet problem was fixed and I told him it was not. He told me he would check into it. At this point we were contemplating packing and leaving to find other accommodations. We left for the day and upon returning late in the day noticed wet towels were piled in the bathroom floor and deduced there had been some work done on the toilet and it seemed to be working.

As stated earlier the unit and property was far from luxurious as advertised. The kitchen floor was sticky and the sofa and chair were heavily soiled ad worn, as well as being uncomfortable. The wooden tables were scratched and gouged. The shower did not have the appearance of being scrubbed anytime recently. The sliding glass door opening to the small balcony would not open. The overall appearance was of that of a low cost chain motel.
The common hallway carpeting was heavily soiled and had an overall unkept appearance.
As Marriott owners, even though we don't own at this property, we expected to be treated better and for the accommodations to be at level somewhat higher than we encountered. We did leave before the week ended and told the front desk the reason was because we didn't like the accommodations. We will never stay at this property again and we will not recommend it to anyone else.

We have completed a review of our stay with Marriott and I have waited over two weeks to post this review thinking I would at least hear from them. It is very clear that Marriott Vacation Club is not interested in keeping their owners happy since we have not even received an email acknowledging our concerns in the three weeks since our stay.

The ONLY positive thing for this property is the location. If you are going to Breck and want this location stay at Hyatt Mainstreet Station - we have stayed there at least four times and it is a wonderful property that is maintained in a manner that makes you believe it is brand new.

Avoid Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge if you want decent place to stay and if you expect reasonable customer service.

Room Tip: Based on the two different rooms stayed in there are not any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    130
    42
    17
    11
See reviews for
110
129
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

We have vacationed at many marriott properties and have always been very pleased, we booked this hotel expecting the same.....shame on us for not looking at the reviews....this place is a dump, the lobby and amenities where sub par at best, the rooms have popcorn ceilings, and are small and outdated, house keeping was a disgrace, had to have them come back and redo our room....location was great, service from the front desk was great...don't believe the pictures from the website, miss leading. If you expect a marriott property and experiece, this is not the one.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

Spent a week here over New Years - we are time share owners in Orlando. My husband and son are avid skiers so we wanted to see Breckenridge. The resort was very nice. Our one bedroom condo had a full kitchen, living room with a trundel bed where our son slept. He had his own bathroom with tub/shower. The master bedroom had a wonderfully comfortable king sized bed and we too had our own bathroom with whirlpool tub. Walk-in closet was large enough to hold a party. There was a safe in the closet which is always nice. Too cold to enjoy the balcony but there was a balcony off both rooms. We overlooked the pool and hot tubs.

There was a game room which you could get Wii games from the front desk. Also had a ping-pong table, air hockey table, a few video games that took tokens but the best thing my son liked was the iTunes DJ table (seats made out of snowboards) - it was hooked up to a computer and you could pick your music and remix or scratch the songs - he loved it (11 years old).

Walking distance to all the shops on Main Street but the best was the ski rental on premises and short walk out the door to the slopes! Great location - will be back to see Breckenridge in the summer this year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We had a great time at Mountain Valley Lodge. The accommodations were very clean and comfortable for four people. We, however, had six in our group. We did bring along air mattresses. Good thing. The couch pull out bed had a lot of springs! Having two full baths were great. The maid service was nice to have also. It was very convenient to have Charter Sports located on site, where we could rent our ski equipment.

Room Tip: When making reservations, Marriott was very accommodating as to what floor, types of pillows, etc th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We have been using this Hotel for more than 10 years and can thoroughly recommend it. Location is perfect both for the mountains, and the town. Located right on the base of Peak 9, its less than 3 mins walk from the Ski storage in the basement to the Quicksilver lift and with snow you can ski back right to the door. The Town is a very short walk (5 mins) to the heart of Main street.
Hotel is apartment based and as some people have mentioned the buildings are a little older than some in town but the apartments themselves are extremely spacious and well appointed with a fully equipped kitchen and (we have a 1 bed unit) 2 bathrooms and sleeps 6 people comfortably, 2 LCD Tvs, DVD player, Jacuzzi, Free WiFi.
Services offered by the Hotel are also good, especially for kids, with a games centre (ping-Pong, Wii, Fussball etc) and daily craft lessons (free or v small charge), Video nights, free popcorn etc,,,, Staff are all friendly and very helpful.
Special mention for the Charter Sports team in the basement of the building, whilst probably not the cheapest rental place in town the location is so convenient that you'd be missing a trick not to use them, they also store all of your kit for you so that works well too.
Will be booking again for next year.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a room over looking Maggie pond towards the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed in an efficiency unit at the Marriott during the summer. It was a great room for a family of 4 (2 small children). The kitchen was great for an efficiency unit! Only complaint would be the balcony. It was very small and a little dangerous for small children. We wouldn't let our children go out on it unless one of us were with them. The resort was beautiful and within walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This is such a great location - you just walk over to the lifts! Charter Sports is on the bottom floor of the hotel - so we just rented our gear there and went - and they were really friendly and helpful. There were lots of activities for our 11 year old son and nice social events - like a wine and cheese happy hour one night. The staff was very hospitable and friendly. The heated pool with hot tubs was perfect for after skiing. And for dinner, there were plenty of restaurants to walk over too.

Parking is very tight in the garage - but once we parked, we never left. And while the decor is a little dated, it's still very clean and our villa was well stocked with all the ammenities we would need.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge

Address: 655 Columbine Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#8 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Mountain Valley Lodge At Breckenridge Hotel Breckenridge
Marriott Vacation Club Breckenridge
Marriott Breckenridge
Marriotts Mountain Valley Hotel Breckenridge
Breckenridge Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.