We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in the ruff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skiway Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Skiway Lodge to your Saves list
Skiway Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A diamond in the ruff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

My husband and I spent our 26th wedding anniversary at Skiway Lodge. This lodge is wonderful!! It is very clean and the rooms are exactly as the pictures portray them. We stayed in room #3 and loved it. What we liked,is the rooms felt more warm and comfortable than a regular hotel room. All the amenities are as their website states,including plush robes for the hot tub. The breakfast was good with a variety of juices,coffee,toast,bagels and cereal. Best of all-THE PRICE!!!!! We checked out a number of places and felt like this was a great deal compared to other lodges and their prices. You definitely get more for your money and the hospitality is outstanding. Also they have great security especially if you'll be in and out all day as we were. We will definitely be back and this will be our 1st choice for a place to kick back and relax!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    41
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
9
70
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

I found Skiway to be perfect. I went there for 3 nights to do some skiing prior to a business meeting starting in Denver in Jan 2009. The Lodge was a tremendous value at $110/night. Tom the owner was definitely much more around that the other posts seemed to indicate. The ski in after a long day and the ski out to the gonodola with a 2 minuet walk to the Gonolda at the end of the train was convenient. The 5 minuet walk to town very convenient.. The Hot tub was excellent-- they have 2 which were very powerful and were great..... The breakfast was perfectly fine before skiing.. If you are looking for a down home B and B with all the frills and large open fireplace with wood etc.. this is not the place. But--- for the kind of money I spent- in a very large room- with a big Flat screen and a great lounge area with a computer- this place rocks.. I think you could go with older kids- mine were not with me-- as long as they were older- 12 and above- and rent 2 rooms and it would be perfectly fine. Convenience- Great Price-- Nice Host- Comfortable Rooms- Not sure what else you could ask for.. BV

  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

As the other reviews have stated, this hotel changed owners at some point. Actually it's now called the Skiway Lodge, but I couldn't find a listing for that. What you get now is a small boutique hotel with very hands-off management. The rooms are nice. We had a king size bed with no less than 30 pillows on it. Robes and sandals are provided for a trip out to the two hot tubs. The room was clean, towels plush, very comfortable. Like I said management is very hands off. You won't see them at all. Your keys and information are put in a manila envelope and taped to the outer door. Seems risky but it must be working okay for them. Breakfast is a small selection continental. Juice, coffee, tea, bagels, toast and cereal. It takes the edge off until you are ready to go into town and have a nice breakfast elsewhere.

Definitely worth it in the off season months, as you get what you pay for. During ski season it seems a bit pricy.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SkiWayFrontDesk, General Manager at Skiway Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thanks for staying with us! We appreciate your feedback. You're correct, SkiWay Lodge has not been a B&B for the past 6 years. We do not offer breakfast, but we do provide complimentary hot tea, cider, hot chocolate, and oatmeal available any time. Hope you think of us next time you visit Breck, cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2007

We stayed at the Hunt Placer Inn in 2006 and we throughly enjoyed our stay. The hosts were warm and welcoming and the gourmet breakfasts were very different to the norm, but just what was required before a day on the slopes.

So in 2007 we decided to return to the same accommodation. Whilst the decor had been updated and the rooms on the surface were more luxurious, there a lot of small things that had not been finished off. Skirting boards in the ski room had not been replaced and plug sockets hung of the wall.

The hotel had been taken over and was under new ownership and the people who were running the hotel on a daily basis were not as warm and as helpful as the previous manager. We only saw the new manager twice and the hotel host did not know the area and was not able to help in terms of where the best places to ski were or where to go for dinner. The previous manager and host were on hand all day and would book extra activities or restaurants for you.

The wonderful breakfasts had also disappeared and have been replaced with a cold continental style breakfast, with the bread still left in it's wrapper........the presentation could have been a lot better and then we would not feel as though we had been short changed. We also missed the 4 O'clock cookies and cakes and some one to great you off the slopes each day. The breakfast and the afternoon tea were a great way of meeting the rest of the guests, but this time we did not meet anyone else at all as everyone came and went in their own time.

Overall the hotel is not so good, it felt empty and cold and we will not be going back.....the personal touch that was so nice before has been totally lost, which is a shame.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2007

The Hunt Placer is a beautiful inn, & we relied on Trip Advisor prior ratings when selecting this B&B. However, between the time we booked and the time of the trip, there was a change in ownership. We were made aware of this change but decided to keep the reservation and see how it was.

The Inn was apparently redone and is beautiful. Rooms are good sized and well appointed. One thing noted was that guests seem to be somewhat on 'auto-pilot' in that there is no on-site innkeeper/owner in site. There is friendly staff presence in the morning to assist with the continental breakfast layout, however frankly that was the only consistent presence at the inn. In the late afternoon/early evening there is someone in the office, but that person is usually gone by 730pm, and if additional guests have not arrived & are expected, an envelope is taped to the door with the guest's name on it (potentially a security issue since I assume the entrance keys were inside)

When present, staff were friendly & helpful however unfortunately not overly familiar with the area and therefore unable to give detailed assistance with restaurant suggestions, directions, etc., other than to provide brochures.

There is a full kitchen but under the new ownership there was a management decision to serve only a continental breakfast which consisted of bagels/english muffins/cereal/fruit/yogurt. For the small amount of time and effort required to create a hot breakfast (many can be made the night before and baked in the a.m.), to me it is a shame not to offer it. Additionally there is no apres ski to speak of; some appetizers and a glass of wine would be a welcome addition at little extra cost.

This B&B is a wonderful place in a good location, hopefully the owner will make time to take a personal interest in this new investment and can make the few necessary changes that can make this place one of the best places to stay in the town. Having stayed at many B&B's, it is those small things that keep people coming back again & again, for the personal touches. Without them, you might just as well stay in a hotel or condo.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2006

Fantastic hidden secret in Breckenridge, Colorado - great location, very cosy indeed, recommended for couples. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a superb time and we will definately be going back there very soon.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2006

We stayed at the Hunt Placer Inn for a weekend ski getaway and it was fabulous! The on-site manager is very helpful, the room was comfortable and cosy, and the homemade breakfasts each morning were delicious. It's in a great location too: only steps away from the shuttle that takes you up to the slopes for a day of skiing, and only a couple of minutes walk away from the little downtown area of Breckenridge. Would recommend this B&B highly - can't wait to visit it again!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
0.1 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#3 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#8 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 stars 542 reviews
0.8 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
0.5 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#15 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skiway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiway Lodge

Address: 275 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skiway Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SkiWay Lodge is an elegant ten suite mountain retreat located 2 blocks from Main Street in the historic gold-mining town of Breckenridge, Colorado. The lodge has ski-in and ski-out access, an ideal location for dining, nightlife, shopping, hiking, biking, and sightseeing any month of the year. You'll love the privacy of SkiWay Lodge while still staying downtown! General Information: Two Outdoor Hot Tubs, Ski to the back door on 'SkyWay SkiWay' off 'Four O'Clock Run' from Peak 8 - Easy, Free Ride Bus Stop less than a block away, Close to Main Street and Park Ave shops, restaurants, activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Skiway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skiway Hotel Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skiway Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.