We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skiway Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Skiway Lodge to your Saves list
Skiway Lodge
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   275 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
Seabrook, Texas
1 review
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

Receptionist was super helping us out during the 4 nights we were there. We had a great time and booked a couple of excursions with Good Times for snowmobiling and sleigh riding. I wish the bus pickup would have been just a bit closer.

Room Tip: Go with the second floor if you do not want to carry luggage up to the third floor via steps. For u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    37
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
62
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

We visited in late October in the "shoulder season" during our first anniversary and we had the place to ourselves. We stayed in room 10, which was on the back side of the property and on the level with the hot tub (right outside of the door). The location is great, within a ten minute walk to the grocery store and downtown. The complimentary popcorn and cookies were such a treat relaxing in the evening, and we were treated to a visit from the local fox at our door both nights.
Room 10 is a suite with the bedroom on the front side; we didn't find it very noisy, though early one morning there seemed to be some big trucks amping up to make it up the hill. Otherwise it was not an issue. The king size bed was very comfortable bed and the fireplace in the sitting room made it very cozy.
Outside our room seems to be a small foyer like space that's ski storage (and the door that leads to the hot tub); I'm assuming for the whole floor. If it's really busy and there's a rowdy group, it may be an annoyance; but since it backs up to the sitting room and not the bedroom it may not be too bad. There's a large common area in the middle of the second floor, with comfortable couches and several dining tables. There's hot water 24/7, mugs and complimentary cocoa, tea an apple cider, which was a great treat with the snowy weather we had.
There's also lots of dishes (plates, bowls, mugs) in the common area, which we used to eat food we purchased at the grocery store/deli (mostly deserts).
We never got to meet our hosts, but all of our needs were met, our expectations exceeded. Though it was just us, I'd definitely bring our teen kids as well. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a very good experience at Skiway Lodge. Kylee was very helpful in the planning stage, and recommended Suite 4- King- 3rd floor, which was quiet & spacious. It is on the backside of building, away from street. Nice little balcony facing the mountainside/ski way trail.
Enjoyed the tea/coffee/hot water/instant hot cereal station....jar of cookies in the common living room area.
We did not have a problem with self service, as it is not manned 24/7, or, what appeared to us, much of the time (one of the reasons it is so affordable!) We arrived late evening, and an envelope with key/instructions was taped to the front door.
The next day as we were heading out, a couple arrived, and would have checked in had someone been there to assist.
There are so many choices in accommodations, but Skiway Lodge was very convenient to town (easy walk), & extremely affordable for Breck. We would certainly give it a thumbs up.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee's Summit, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We enjoyed our Stay! The room was nice and very convenient for the ski slopes. I was a little concerned about a parking space but we always had one. I have stayed in the summer and winter and enjoyed both occasions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The only problem ; when I was there the the outside temperature was in single digits, the hotel heat seemed to be uneven ( to hot in the gathering room and room thermostat did not work )
and most importantly the air was TO DRY. plenty of heat but couldn't sleep well with the DRY AIR felt like I was going to jump out of my skin . This can happen anywhere with very cold temps.
Outside of that, this lodge was close to ski bus, town, very independently run,no babying,
small and more intimate , good value

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

I loved how charming this "boutique" hotel was. They told us a close by shuttle service would take us to one of the lifts and you can ski in right next to the hotel....which we did. Rooms and lobby areas were clean and nice! I would have to describe this as sort of a "self service" hotel, as there is not someone at the front desk at all times, so plan to ask them when they will be in the hotel and how can you get a hold of someone if you need more towels....etc. Kaylee (SP?) at the front desk was very helpful and accommodating! Hot tubs outside were also clean and "hot". So nice when it is cold outside. Things to mention: 1.) A little too hot in the whole place as mentioned in another comment inside the hotel (we checked in Dec.) Easily solved with an open window in your bedroom and we were very comfortable sleeping 2.) If you can not climb stairs well, ask for 1st or 2nd floor as there is no elevator to third floor.

We will be back and want to thank everyone for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, ask for 1st or 2nd floor only, as there is no elevator on the 3rd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our room was quaint and cozy with plenty of room to spread out our things after a long day of skiing. Location was great-- it was a quick walk to Main St. Only minor issue was we couldn't control our thermostat so we were roasting in the 85 degree room. This was solved by opening a window at night, which made the temperature perfect!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Skiway Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skiway Lodge

Address: 275 Ski Hill Road, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Skiway Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SkiWay Lodge is an elegant ten suite mountain retreat located 2 blocks from Main Street in the historic gold-mining town of Breckenridge, Colorado. The lodge has ski-in and ski-out access, an ideal location for dining, nightlife, shopping, hiking, biking, and sightseeing any month of the year. You'll love the privacy of SkiWay Lodge while still staying downtown! General Information: Two Outdoor Hot Tubs, Ski to the back door on 'SkyWay SkiWay' off 'Four O'Clock Run' from Peak 8 - Easy, Free Ride Bus Stop less than a block away, Close to Main Street and Park Ave shops, restaurants, activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Skiway Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skiway Hotel Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skiway Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.