We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Fresh Fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Flying Fish

Mountain Flying Fish
500 South Main Street, Breckenridge, CO 80424
(970) 453-1502
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 126 restaurants in Breckenridge
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
West Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Amazing Fresh Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

This restaurant serves great fresh sushi and sashimi and has a variety of food that's really surprising in this Rockies venue. Sashimi was full of flavor and the highest quality.
The monk fish liver was a pleasant surprise and the uni sushi had plump fresh uni atop. Outside of big cities you won't find better sushi/sashimi. The nabeyake udon was missing the traditional egg and fish cakes but had copious amount of chicken and beautifully fried tempura. Just loves it must return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    52
    23
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Apollo Beach, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Sushi and The Green Curry will light you up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

If you have been to Breckenridge you know the altitude can get to you. However this doesn't seem to be a consideration for this great restaurant located on the third floor of this Main St location. The place always has plenty of patrons who come for the great sushi and Japanese food. I love the sushi and my wife loves their Green Curry. The dish is spicy and delicious. The staff is very friendly and seem to really enjoy explaining the dishes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Artistic Dragon Roll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had dinner here after a good day of skiing. We ordered a variety of sashimi, sushi, and appetizers. The service was prompt and efficient. The rolls were nicely constructed with a minimum layer of rice and maximum amount of seafood. When the Dragon roll came out the table was highly impressed by the "painting" on the plate and design of the roll.
The place was packed, so it is best to get there early! They do not take reservations.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fantastic sushi in the middle of the mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had an excellent sushi dinner. We usually order multiple specialty rolls when we eat sushi. This was no different. The rolls were excellent especially the house special. There were delicious sauces and very fresh tasting fish. The prices were very reasonable. The waiters were exceedingly friendly, fun and knowledgable. It's nice to see people in the service industry who really provide service. The restaurant is small. We we lucky that we didn't wait long because they do not take reservations. We went slightly later. The food came remarkable quickly.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Cannot believe that there is such a great sushi place on the mountain. The quality of food was great. The sushi plate was quite an art. I went with a Japanese and he loved it. That says a lot about this place!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Flying Fish also viewed

 

Been to Mountain Flying Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Flying Fish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.