We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What You Need! Great Bargain!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breck Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Breck Inn to your Saves list
Breck Inn
11078 N. CO Highway 9, P.O. Box 568, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Staten Island, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just What You Need! Great Bargain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I recently travelled from NYC to Breckenridge, CO with my friends for a nice ski weekend. The Breck Inn was the perfect hotel for our weekend. It is located just minutes from the Ski Resort and Main Street. The room itself has everything you need, including a mini fridge. The room looked recently updated and was very cozy and clean. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the flat screen TV was perfect for relaxing after a long day on the slopes. It was exactly what we needed for our weekend without the inflated cost. I was surprised at the bargain we got in such a popular ski town. The hotel also offers many promotional deals.
One of the best features was the free shuttle service to certain areas in the town. With a simple phone call, we were able to get to and from Main Street and restaurants without having to worry about driving or parking. It was very convenient.
If you are looking for a comfortable/clean hotel to stay in that is reasonably priced and close to the ski resort, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the location of the Breck Inn and the hotel it’s self. As you can see, we have made many changes and many upgrades to the hotel itself and with the new management we have running our valued property we are very happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Breck Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    38
    7
    9
    10
See reviews for
39
37
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

My friends and I pulled together a last minute trip to Breckenridge, of course this meant that hotel rates for one night were OUTRAGEOUS. So, we checked out the Breck Inn and couldn't believe how inexpensive a one night stay was. We did see previous negative reviews, however, our experience was entirely different. We checked in around 5pm on Friday night by a lovely young lady (I believe her name is Cesia) and were welcomed by a nice spread of wine and cheese. I believe the management staff held true to their promise of making drastic changes, and they have exceeded that promise. For the incredible value, our room was beyond our expectations. The room was spotless, the beds and bedding are brand new (and so cozy!), a flat screen TV, and plenty of toiletries in case you forgot the basics. Plus, there's a courtesy on call door-to-door shuttle that can take you anywhere in town—so convenient! The continental breakfast is pretty standard and had a decent selection. There is the added bonus of a waffle machine, which seemed to be a hit with the kids.

Overall, I think it's totally worth it. The staff is fantastic and the hotel is clean and comfortable. Considering the incredible value, the Breck Inn is definitely an underrated, hidden gem.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy you had a good experience at the Breck Inn while visiting Breckenridge. We appreciate the pictures you took and the feedback regarding the new shuttle we now have for our guests. We also have included a waffle maker for breakfast to improve the breakfast selection. I will let Cesiah know you enjoyed her presence at the front desk. Above all, thank you again for taking the time to give us your feedback about the Breck Inn and the new management running the hotel! We hope you choose the Breck Inn to stay at the next time you in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

A colleague/friend and I headed up to Breck for a business meeting earlier in the day, and were able to get some ski runs in for the second 1/2 of the day.
By the time we had some dinner, it was snowing in Breck, and also back down the mountain in the front range.
Not wanting to make the drive back with the roads, we decided to find a place in town. We decided on the Breck Inn. SUCH a great value for the $. Clean, very friendly staff, and GREAT night sleep after our long day.
I'll definitely be checking back whenever we decide to do a weekend or another "spontaneous overnight"!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Valued Guest, we are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your day on the mountain and had a safe comfortable place to stay while you were in Breckenridge. We have recently replaced the bedding and appreciate the feedback that you found it clean and comfortable. Our staff has been diligently training and we have replaced the Manager of the Breck Inn and I’m so pleased to see it is really paying off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Close to the slopes and downtown. Convenient to find from traveling into town. Was easy to get back to and the staff was amazing. Very helpful on telling us where to go out at.

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, February 9, 2011
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your review and the kind words regarding the Breck Inn. As you can see we have been striving to make this experience the best we possibly can for everyone involved. We have had a change of staff and I’m happy to see that it is paying off! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

We signed up for a timeshare presentation and this is where they put us. It's a short drive to the slopes. They don't have any shuttle service but there's a bus stop across a very busy road. Overall the Breck Inn was fine. Clean rooms, nice shower. The complimentary breakfast was pretty marginal but they had good donuts and a hot chocolate/coffee machine. There's a hot tub/jacuzzi but it's outdoors.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your stay at the Breck Inn!! We use all the feedback we get to improve the guest experience for everyone and appreciate your time very much. We are also working to improve our breakfast presentation and have ordered the materials for that. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Breck Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

My wife and I recently stayed at the Breck Inn. After reading the previous reviews, especially the 2010 reviews, we have to conclude that management has made good on their promise to upgrade the service and facility. When we arrived at 8:00 at night, the customer service representative greeted us in a friendly, helpful manner and efficiently executed the check in process. Our room was very clean, warm and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the pillow top bed, new linens, the flat screen TV and the hot tub. The Breck Inn is also centrally located; having the mountain and main street just a short drive away. I recommend taking advantage of the complimentary breakfast; it was easy and convenient to have a quick meal right before we participated in winter activities for the weekend. We paid only $99 for a two night stay during peak season. This was a great way to save some money for the other activities Breckenridge has to offer, such as skiing, dining and shopping. I travel quite frequently and would equate this hotel to a Comfort Inn or Holiday Inn Express in terms of cleanliness, room amenities, and complimentary breakfast. We received a fantastic deal considering the location and season. We recommend the Breck Inn.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

On behalf of Breckenridge Grand Vacations, we would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to post feedback about your recent stay at The Breck Inn. We are extremely happy that you and your wife have found your stay with us valuable and pleasing. Our team has been extremely attentive to addressing the issues of our past guests and are delighted to hear that our aggressive changes are happily received. We are excited to report that due to the diligence work of our team, all of the changes we have promised, have been implemented. Also, we are currently moving forward with several new and innovative improvements to further enhance our guest experiences. Lastly, we are just incredibly thrilled and hopeful about the future and have put in place fresh policies to absolutely ensure prior issues never arise again. I have talked to the new Front Desk manager and they are in the process of improving the breakfast display, the lighting of the hotel it’s self, and other multiple improvements.

We thank all of our guests for their feedback while we continually learn and grow, and to always provide the best experience and a grand vacation to each and every guest. Thank you again for your feedback, we hoped you enjoyed your time here in Breckenridge, any additional feedback is genuinely valued and welcomed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

Like many others on TripAdvisor, we were booked into this 'hotel' for a package weekend to look at a time share for a new property. We were looking forward to a nice, relaxing few days away from the Springs and to be able and explore the area more in addition to doing some outdoor activities. We arrived at the 'hotel' shortly after 10pm and a 3 hours after leaving our home, where we missed the single driveway entrance because there was no marking for it. Absolutely nothing to help you in the dark. After passing by the only driveway in and out, we made a U-turn and headed back. It was about 8*F outside, and we were looking forward to a warm room. At the front desk, there were many of the now famed envelopes for "late" arrivals...anything after 5pm. We found ours in the stack, and headed down the hall to our room. We had been placed in a room on the end corner of the building, and while my husband was getting the key, I took a peek outside the door to look for the hot tub. After a minute of looking, I saw it off to my right where it looked empty....no cover, no visible water and certainly no steam that you would expect. We then entered our room which was like walking into a freezer. We had 3 large windows and the venetian blinds had been pulled all the way up, therefore letting in additional cold air. My husband immediately turned on the heater, which never really warmed the room at all, and place his alarm clock with a thermometer in it on the dresser. The room registered a balmy 40 degrees! Ridiculous. With our bags on the floor and pillows on top of them, our 8 year old went to climb on the bed. I told her not to touch anything! Alarms were going off in my head about how clean the room was. The lighting was poor, so at first glance it looked okay. However, being a former Innkeeper at an exclusive B&B, I knew exactly where to look and what to look for. I started off with the bed closest to the outside wall, as this was where our daughter was going to sleep. I first pulled back the comforter {knowing its lucky if they get washed quarterly, let alone weekly} to see what surprises awaited us. Voila! Old, dried blood stains. Next, I pulled back the sheets slowly only to be met with lots of short, dark, wiry hair and crumbs on the sheets. No one was going to sleep in that bed. Time for the second bed. The same process was used, comforter first to which we saw what looked to be fresh blood stained on it. I'm a little bit torqued by now, and this is only with the beds. Again, sheets were pulled back, and in addition to more crumbs and hair, there was also some sort of a black mark on the bottom sheet. It looked as though someone had taken the bottom of their shoe and brushed it off on the bed. Not sleeping here either. Next was the bathroom area. On the counter there was dried soap and hair on the sink as well hair on the white towels on the towel rack. The bath area itself was horrid as well. The shower/tub had not been cleaned, as there was hair on the bottom of the tub, on the sides and curtains. When brushing a finger down the side of the tub, white residue stuck to my finger pad. The toilet also had hair on it and looked as though it may have been wiped somewhat to remove most of the urine drops on the rim. Still, not clean or disinfected. The floor had hair and debris all over and a pile of dirt had been swept into the corner behind the door. Unacceptable. At this point, I left the room to use the house phone at the front desk to call the manager. She was already on her way in, so I assume we weren't the only one's having room issues, but wouldn't be there for awhile. I listed all the unacceptable deficiencies in the room and told her it needed a full turn. She offered fresh sheets for us when she arrived, then asked if we would be staying up much longer. DUH! After what I told her about the beds, did she really think we were going to sleep in them?? I went back to the room, to wait, but it was still freezing cold, we were up to about 45*F by that time. We were all tired, but were not about to stay in a place as filthy as this one. We decided to just leave and take it up with the timeshare people in the morning, as we weren't about to pay for or get charged for something we couldn't even use! We packed back up and left the hotel. We went up a few buildings to the 7-11 convenience store to get some coffee, coke, a snack and bathroom break before heading back home for another 3 hour drive. In the ladies room, my 8 year old daughter looked around and then at me and said, "Mom, this bathroom is cleaner than the one at the hotel!" Now what does that say about the condition of the Breck Inn? Our highlight of the trip, was while we were at the 7-11 and getting ready to make our purchase, we were near the back of the store near the ATM where all 3 of us had the pleasure of witnessing an exchange of money for drugs. So much for a relaxing weekend. The structure of the Breck Inn was suitable, but needs some energy upgrades to say the least. As far as the owner, management and staff go...they should all be fired! There are not that many rooms in this hotel, so there is absolutely NO excuse for management to not inspect the rooms and ensure that they are cleaned to the level and quality that a guest would expect when staying in a resort town such as Breckenridge. Save yourself the hassle and don't bother lodging at the Breck Inn.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
We are shocked by the images and stories shared recently on Trip Advisor about the Breck Inn. We appreciate the feedback as it has forced our company to take a long, hard look in the mirror and make the changes needed to provide the best possible customer experience at the hotel.

We apologize for the delayed response to these posts. We have been in the process of making dramatic changes within our organization and the Management of the Breck Inn and needed to have those ironed out before we reported back.

Here is what we are doing to ensure these types of issues are never experienced by another guest.

1) We have replaced the Management of the hotel.
2) We let the housekeeper in charge of that room of the Breck Inn go and will be replacing them as soon as we find a candidate we believe will keep the Hotel up to the standards we expect.
3) We are adding additional housekeeping staff on site and changing our inspection process to make sure we have clean rooms.
4) We are adding maintenance staff so that we can be sure our rooms and hot tub are in working order.
5) We have streamlined the communications within the company so any issues are elevated immediately to the highest levels.
6) We are adding staffing at the Front Desk to provide coverage until 10pm Sun-Thurs and until Midnight on Friday and Saturday nights. After that time, the Resident Manger will be on call to handle any late-night arrivals.

We sincerely apologize to any of our past guests who have experienced less than excellent service due to our lack of consistency. We believe that the changes mentioned above will drastically improve the experience at the Breck Inn and we look forward to seeing positive reviews about people’s stays at the hotel moving forward.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breck Inn

Address: 11078 N. CO Highway 9, P.O. Box 568, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#9 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#10 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breck Inn features 35 fully renovated hotel rooms. Cozy and congenial, warm and friendly, the Breck Inn offers a free continental breakfast, free parking and an outdoor hot tub. Shuttle/bus service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Breck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breck Hotel Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.