We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable - Forget the Tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Breck Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Breck Inn to your Saves list
Breck Inn
11078 N. CO Highway 9, P.O. Box 568, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Collins, CO
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable - Forget the Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

We were here on a promotion that did NOT include the required sales tour, thank goodness. The room was very comfortable, parking great, darn good "continental breakfast", plenty of towels, and the bus to Breckenridge ski area was directly across the street. We couldn't have asked for more for the great price we got. However, if we'd paid full price, we would have been a bit disappointed. Oversized hot tub in undersized area.

  • Liked — Uncrowded.
  • Disliked — Hot tub location.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    38
    7
    9
    10
See reviews for
39
37
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
denver
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

My husband and I were invited to attend a time share presentation in Breckenridge, Colorado. After several phone calls and letters from their salesperson, we decided it would be worth taking a look at. We thought at the time of booking that we would be staying at the Grand Timbers Lodge Resort. Two nights for $49.00 in a first class resort. Sounds good, right?
Well, after we received our promotional information, we found out that we would be staying at the Breck Inn. First of all, if they want me to buy a timeshare for several thousand dollars ,wouldn't you think they would treat potentiel buyers as their guests? The Breck Inn was not what we expected. The room was noisy, the TV was not only small, but it did not work properly, and the room had a bad odor. There were graham crackers on the floor and hair in the shower and on the bath rug. The continental breakfast was OK. We checked out the hot tub that was located outside under a metal awning. Not quite sure why they would put it there. Needless to say, we were unimpressed by the whole experience and left a day early. I've made phone calls to the management, but they seem to be avoiding my call.

  • Liked — orange juice
  • Disliked — The smell and the noise.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtimber, Marketing Department at Breck Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2008
I would like to address many of these previous postings; I would like to respond on behalf of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 in Breckenridge. We took notice of the feedback from our prior Breck Inn guests and because of that feedback management has decided to spend over $100,000 in renovations throughout this last year. This renovation included the addition of new furniture, pillow-top queen beds, and flat screen TVs in each room.

In response to comments about staying at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7, it is a strict company policy at the time of booking a guest they are informed that they will not be staying at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 or at Grand Timber Lodge but that they will be staying at our quaint Victorian style Breck Inn. The Grand Lodge on Peak 7 is currently under construction and will not be open for business until at least May of 2009.

If a guest is interested in staying in a resort or condo during their visit we offer many upgrading options at different properties throughout Breckenridge, each with different amenities. We also inform guests of the 90-120 minute preview tour they take as part of their promotional package, explaining to them it could be shorter or longer depending on their level of interest. We also send an email confirmation confirming the tour time as well as a confirmation packet with the necessary Participation and Eligibility Requirements. We have had 10,070 tour guests year to date, and many come to us from referring owners and previous guests. The Grand Lodge on Peak 7 boasts a fantastic family environment, and therefore the preview tour is not high-pressure. We would like guests to tour whether or not they are interested in purchasing, in hopes that the quality of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 and our customer service will make a lasting positive impression that will spread by word of mouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

The hotel was decent and the beds were very comfortable, but the service was not so great. Housekeeping took all the bath towels out of
our room after the first night and never replaced them and never came in to clean the room. We couldn't get a hold of anyone at the front desk or housekeeping to get us new towels so we had to use hand towels
to dry off after showering. Sunday night no one was even working at the front desk and guests were having to check themselves in to their own rooms. The next morning the lady at the front desk was very rude and unapologetic and said that she quit working after 4 because she was getting too many phone calls!!!

Good value for the money, but don't expect any service.

  • Liked — The beds were very comfortable and the hotel was very easy to get to.
  • Disliked — The service received from the staff.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

We ended up with a "free" two night stay via a discount coupon program. Stupidly, we thought the Breck Inn was on-property with the Grand Timber Lodge (which is a timeshare resort). How wrong we were! We had expected a lovely short stay at a quality timeshare resort. Instead, the Breck Inn is on a busy highway outside of town with no pool, just a small hot tub tucked into a shed-like structure next to the parking lot. We checked in and sat in the room for about 10 minutes, just stunned at the lack of amenities. Because we'd gone to Breckenridge to be at a nice resort, we decided to bite the bullet called other hotels in the area. We lucked out and found a decent rate on a beautiful one-bedroom condo in the heart of Breckenridge which had the heated pool and hot tub we'd been expecting as well as all the other amenities we'd been looking forward to experiencing. If we'd been forewarned about what kind of hotel we were really staying in, we wouldn't have been so disappointed (although we never would have stayed there in any event!); but we feel we were duped into believing that we were staying at a timeshare resort. If you want to stay at a low-budget highway motel, then the Breck Inn fits the bill. It wasn't dirty or hideous, just extremely disappointing when we'd been lead to believe we'd be at a fairly luxurious hotel. I felt foolish for having fallen for the old bait and switch and was happy we hadn't actually paid money for the room that we abandoned. If we'd known what type of hotel we were staying at, I'd give the motel 2 stars instead of one.

  • Liked — The room was clean
  • Disliked — The motel was very basic
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtimber, marketing department at Breck Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2008
I would like to address many of these previous postings; I would like to respond on behalf of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 in Breckenridge. We took notice of the feedback from our prior Breck Inn guests and because of that feedback management has decided to spend over $100,000 in renovations throughout this last year. This renovation included the addition of new furniture, pillow-top queen beds, and flat screen TVs in each room.

In response to comments about staying at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7, it is a strict company policy at the time of booking a guest they are informed that they will not be staying at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 or at Grand Timber Lodge but that they will be staying at our quaint Victorian style Breck Inn. The Grand Lodge on Peak 7 is currently under construction and will not be open for business until at least May of 2009.

If a guest is interested in staying in a resort or condo during their visit we offer many upgrading options at different properties throughout Breckenridge, each with different amenities. We also inform guests of the 90-120 minute preview tour they take as part of their promotional package, explaining to them it could be shorter or longer depending on their level of interest. We also send an email confirmation confirming the tour time as well as a confirmation packet with the necessary Participation and Eligibility Requirements. We have had 10,070 tour guests year to date, and many come to us from referring owners and previous guests. The Grand Lodge on Peak 7 boasts a fantastic family environment, and therefore the preview tour is not high-pressure. We would like guests to tour whether or not they are interested in purchasing, in hopes that the quality of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 and our customer service will make a lasting positive impression that will spread by word of mouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Breck Inn as part of a time share promotion. It was a deal where we paid 49$ for the weekend (Fri and Sat night at Breck Inn), under the condition that we would attend a 90 minute timeshare sales presentation. After attending the presentation we were refunded our 49$.

*********************************************************************
Breck Inn review
*********************************************************************
***The Bad***
-- The service was very poor. The front desk lady was rude when we checked in Friday night, and that was the only time we saw her because Saturday night there was no front desk, or anybody working at the hotel as far as we could tell.
-- The Hot tub was luke warm and located directly next to the busy rear entrance with a highway/parking lot view.
-- Housekeeping did a poor job cleaning the room while we were there.
-- The continental consisted mainly of stale donuts and whole milk.

***The Good***
-- IT WAS FREE!
-- The rooms were not that bad. Not nice, but about what you would expect from an cheap hotel.

********************************************************************
The timeshare presentation
********************************************************************
The timeshare was located at the Grand Timber Lodge which is slopeside at the ski resort. We attended the timeshare presentation which we were curious to do because we had read so many horror stories about "high pressure" timeshare sales presentations. It really was kind of fun. The lady who showed us around was funny and the presentation only ran over the 90 minutes by about 15 minutes. Here's some observations on how to handle the presentation.
They will tell you that this is not for everyone, and will give you these childish "tests" to make sure it is a good fit for you before starting the presentation. Well, as it turns out, of course its a good fit! In their world the only people it wouldn't be a good fit for is the dead... and maybe even them.
They'll tell you that it doesn't matter if you buy today, and they could care less if you say no. Haha... they really really really want you to buy.
The best way to handle the sales person is to be very agreeable (but don't sign anything) and do not argue with them. Appear to be very naive. Don't say "No" early in the presentation. Don't say yes either.
Thats the way we handled it, and everything went fine. At some point late in the presentation (as she was showing around the property) I think she started to get the feeling that we might not buy, so she started to ask "Give me one reason why you wouldn't buy today" and I would say "I can't think of one" so she'd say "So that means you're going to buy?" and I'd either say "I didn't say that." or I'd change the subject by asking her a question about something else. In this way I did not give her something to attack, or argue. I figured she'd been trained to counter almost any reason why a person would not buy, until they were out of reasons. So I didn't give her a reason, and didn't tell them "NO" until the end of the presentation. When I did say No, at the end, they then sent in a different sales guy, "the heavy hitter", and he wanted know "Why don't you want to buy". At that time I told him that the gym at the hotel didn't have squat rack, and that's the reason. So he asked me "Does every hotel you stay at have a squat rack?" And I said "Well, no, but I've never bought my hotel room.. If I'm gonna do that, then the gym better have a squat rack" He wasn't happy about that, and he just kinda frowned and sent us to the front desk which refunded our 49$ :)
Here's my review:

  • Liked — It was Free!
  • Disliked — The Service was terrible
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtimber, marketing department at Breck Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2008
I would like to address many of these previous postings; I would like to respond on behalf of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 in Breckenridge. We took notice of the feedback from our prior Breck Inn guests and because of that feedback management has decided to spend over $100,000 in renovations throughout this last year. This renovation included the addition of new furniture, pillow-top queen beds, and flat screen TVs in each room.

In response to comments about staying at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7, it is a strict company policy at the time of booking a guest they are informed that they will not be staying at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 or at Grand Timber Lodge but that they will be staying at our quaint Victorian style Breck Inn. The Grand Lodge on Peak 7 is currently under construction and will not be open for business until at least May of 2009.

If a guest is interested in staying in a resort or condo during their visit we offer many upgrading options at different properties throughout Breckenridge, each with different amenities. We also inform guests of the 90-120 minute preview tour they take as part of their promotional package, explaining to them it could be shorter or longer depending on their level of interest. We also send an email confirmation confirming the tour time as well as a confirmation packet with the necessary Participation and Eligibility Requirements. We have had 10,070 tour guests year to date, and many come to us from referring owners and previous guests. The Grand Lodge on Peak 7 boasts a fantastic family environment, and therefore the preview tour is not high-pressure. We would like guests to tour whether or not they are interested in purchasing, in hopes that the quality of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 and our customer service will make a lasting positive impression that will spread by word of mouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Breck Inn during the week and enjoyed it very much. The woman at the Front Desk was very helpful and knowledgeable about what kind of things were going on in town, where to eat, where our children could also enjoy themselves. Our room was a standard hotel room with a clean King size bed. The accommodations were exactly what we paid for.

Stayed July 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
broomfield, colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

We stayed at the Breck Inn for 2 nights. The bathroom was clean and the king size bed was decent. However, the room had really bad ventilation. It was very stuffy and both my husband and I had sinus problems only when we were in the room. The Inn sits right along HWY 9 so you hear all the traffic...therefore opening a window is probably not your first choice. The staff was very pleasant. Overall, the room is not anything fancy. We probably will not stay here again, but at least we know for next time.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gtimber, marketing department at Breck Inn, responded to this review, December 4, 2008
I would like to address many of these previous postings; I would like to respond on behalf of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 in Breckenridge. We took notice of the feedback from our prior Breck Inn guests and because of that feedback management has decided to spend over $100,000 in renovations throughout this last year. This renovation included the addition of new furniture, pillow-top queen beds, and flat screen TVs in each room.

In response to comments about staying at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7, it is a strict company policy at the time of booking a guest they are informed that they will not be staying at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 or at Grand Timber Lodge but that they will be staying at our quaint Victorian style Breck Inn. The Grand Lodge on Peak 7 is currently under construction and will not be open for business until at least May of 2009.

If a guest is interested in staying in a resort or condo during their visit we offer many upgrading options at different properties throughout Breckenridge, each with different amenities. We also inform guests of the 90-120 minute preview tour they take as part of their promotional package, explaining to them it could be shorter or longer depending on their level of interest. We also send an email confirmation confirming the tour time as well as a confirmation packet with the necessary Participation and Eligibility Requirements. We have had 10,070 tour guests year to date, and many come to us from referring owners and previous guests. The Grand Lodge on Peak 7 boasts a fantastic family environment, and therefore the preview tour is not high-pressure. We would like guests to tour whether or not they are interested in purchasing, in hopes that the quality of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 and our customer service will make a lasting positive impression that will spread by word of mouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breck Inn

Address: 11078 N. CO Highway 9, P.O. Box 568, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#9 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#10 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breck Inn features 35 fully renovated hotel rooms. Cozy and congenial, warm and friendly, the Breck Inn offers a free continental breakfast, free parking and an outdoor hot tub. Shuttle/bus service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Breck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breck Hotel Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.