We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accommodation in the moderate price range” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Breck Inn

Save Saved
You added Breck Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Breck Inn
11078 N. CO Highway 9, P.O. Box 568, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 23 hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Galveston
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Decent accommodation in the moderate price range”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

No need to repeat what others have said, but a word to the wise: Ask for a room with a king instead of two queens. The rooms are adequate, but with two beds it's a bit cramped. With the king room, one gets a sofa. Bath and lavatory areas are small for this sort of accommodation. The staff from the front desk to the cleaning crews were all pleasant and helpful. There's a decent free breakfast. There's also a nice hot tub just outside the back door.

Room Tip: Ask for a king and try to get a room on the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, General Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We appreciate the tremendous contributions you have made to the TripAdvisor community and the feedback you are able to provide us.

Though the number of king rooms we are able to offer is quite limited, we are happy to hear that the alternate furniture layout is appreciated. We recognize that our rooms, especially the queen rooms, are on the small side. As such, we have worked diligently to enhance the guest lounge, lobby, and our loft so we can provide more areas for a family to spread out.

As previously mentioned, we are continuously working to improve our breakfast selection. While we hope that we are able to provide an option for everyone, we recognize that there are better options yet to be discovered and always will listen to any suggestions.

We appreciate the kind comment about our hot tub. Our engineering staff is continuously working to make certain the hot tub is at its best. Although it is under a roof, there is little better on a cool, mountain evening than a soak in an outdoor hot tub.

Above all else, we seek to provide the best possible service to everyone who stays with us. If this means directions to a local hiking trail or accommodating a request for a king room, we strive to make your stay the best it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    35
    7
    8
    10
See reviews for
36
34
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Having read the recent reviews of The Breck in I didn't expect a Marriott, but turns out we still had a great experience. Like many others we stayed here as part of the Lodge at Peak 7's timeshare sales incentive. Our parents own at The Lodge and we were excited to check it out and have a getaway as a family. When we arrived at The Breck Inn (after 13 hours of travel) we were exhausted. The hotel is conveniently located at the entrance to town, very easy to find. The gal at the check in was very kind, knowledgeable and accommodating. She even offered to upgrade us to a 1 bedroom suite for our stay (very helpful of her given we were traveling with our 2 1/2 year old son). The room was very accommodating - full kitchen, plenty of towels, king size bed, pull out queen sofa sleeper. Both beds were VERY comfortable with plenty of bedding and pillows. Everything was very clean and the recent updates are attractive. Breakfast is what all the other reviews suggested - continental breakfast (waffles, hard boiled eggs, doughnuts, muffins, cereal, yogurt, juice, etc.) I don't have any complaints. It was nice to have juice, coffee, hot chocolate, granola bars, and fruit available all day and night. A very nice touch. We enjoyed the use of the hot tub and forgive the lack of swimming pool given that the community rec center is just across the street. There is no AC in the room but a fan was in our closet - we put that in the window and it cooled things off perfectly. Given the price of this hotel, we would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: Front Rooms Have Shared Balcony and View but May have more Traffic Noise During the Day. Might be wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, General Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your review for the Breck Inn. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed a nice little get away.

We are glad that you appreciated the extra space we were able to offer in one of our studio units. The full kitchen and additional space is a huge plus for any person traveling and we wish we could offer this type of unit to everyone. Alas, we only have 2 studios that we are able to offer, so they are typically given on a first come, first serve basis so we can ensure they are used to their full potential.

Interestingly enough, the studio units are the only rooms in the Breck Inn without air conditioning. All of our standard hotel rooms are equipped with individually controlled air conditioning and heat to keep the unit comfortable during all times of the year. In our high altitude environment though, we find that a fan blowing in some fresh air is just as nice as air conditioning.

While we acknowledge that our breakfast is just a continental breakfast, we are always open to new ideas that will make it better. Included in this, is making apples, oranges, granola bars, coffee and hot chocolate available all day. From time to time, everyone needs a midday snack and we are happy to provide a small bite to hold you over.

Again, thank you for taking the time to create this review. We truly do appreciate the feedback and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Like many others, we stayed here as a comp to viewing the Grand Lodge of Peak 7. Interesting that the Grand Lodge people put us up here to try and sell their place which is significantly higher end.

Nonetheless, we felt the room was a bit tight, but reasonable. The biggest issue is the A/C unit which sits about 2 feet away from one of the beds. All night it just blasted into me ~ so much that i had to build a pillow wall to keep from freezing all night. Turning the unit off just heat up the room too much with four bodies inside and the road noise outside was too great to leave the balcony door open.

Nevertheless, for ski season, this motel is probably a good setup. It is reasonably close to the lifts and on the bus line. The comp breakfast was actually decent and not just coffee and donuts (they had muffins and cereal too).

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have a great view of Breckenridge but come with road noise. The other side is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, General Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We do appreciate this information and will use it to help make our property better.

While we recognize that our rooms are small, we have always considered air conditioning to be one of our greatest assets here at the Breck Inn. Unfortunately, we had never made the connection that the small rooms would place the bed too near the air conditioning unit. We apologize for the discomfort this caused during your stay and have begun researching solutions to this dilemma. Currently, we are looking into a different type of vent that will direct the air up and away from the bed.

We are glad to hear that you did enjoy our continental breakfast. We hope that we are able to provide a choice for everyone who stays with us, including those with allergies to gluten and lactose.

Once more, thank you for sharing your review with the community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holdrege, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here at discount for taking tour of Grand Lodge on Peak 7. Room was nice though small. Would have been nice to have an easy chair, but there is no room. Getting in and out was a little complicated as it is on a divided highway and you cannot exit out to go both ways, depending on direction you going you need to make a U turn at the corner. Too much bedding for room temperature that you control. Ours was set at 63 and it was still too warm.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, General Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts after your recent stay with us! We are also glad that you shared the information regarding the divided highway and the need to make a U-turn to get to us. While we wish we could change the road configuration, we have determined that our best option at this point is to share this information as freely as possible ahead of time.

We are thrilled that you found our room to be nice and we agree that our rooms are not large. We did explore the option of putting in a lounge chair, but came to the same conclusion that it would cramp the room even further. Instead, we have been putting our efforts into improving our common spaces and making them more enjoyable, comfortable, and usable. Our guest lounge, lobby, and loft have all seen new furniture and amenities, including a new guest computer in the loft, which we hope encourage the spaces to be used to their fullest potential.

As we enter our spring season, we are torn between leaving the units set with the heat or the air conditioning when they are unoccupied. During the night and early morning, the heat is necessary to keep the units warm, but the afternoon sun quickly heats the units to raise the need for air conditioning. At this point of the season, we continue leaving the units set with the heat at 63, but can easily turn on the air conditioning should the need arise. Furthermore, we will be conducting a thorough inspection of each air conditioning unit during our upcoming remodel. This will help us catch any problems and allow the units to operate with maximum efficiency.

Again, thank you for sharing your review with the Trip Advisor community. We hope you are able to stay with us again in the future to enjoy our upcoming improvements and a beautiful Breckenridge summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The Breck Inn comes with a catch; we had to take a 90 minute tour of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. The hotel was modest and very clean with an average continental breakfast, comfortable bed, and large hot tub. It is located within a mile of the town gondola to access Shock Hill, Peak 7, and Peak 8. Parking was $10, but since we had four in our car, the carpool rate of $5 applied. Assistance at the hotel is always available; however, the person, only one person I do believe, working the front desk area accessible to guests is also doing many other duties around the property, so though he is available, he or she is pulled in several directions much of the time. All in all, it was well worth the roughly $200 I paid to stay for four nights and the discounted lift tickets. By the way, we also purchased a time share at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. We enjoyed it for a short time before we left, but we are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, General Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with us at the Breck Inn. We are thrilled that you have decided to become a part of the Breckenridge Grand Vacations family and hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon.

While we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our continental breakfast, comfortable beds, and large hot tub, we are sorry that our presence at the front desk has not been sufficient. We have noticed a sizable increase in business and have felt ourselves being pulled in multiple directions as you noted. As we hope to continue this trend, we are evaluating our staffing levels to ensure that we can continue to provide exceptional service.

Though we are able to provide parking for no charge at the Breck Inn, the ski resort does charge a fee for parking at the base areas during the ski season. For this reason, we have been operating our shuttle on a limited schedule to provide an alternative for our guests.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with us. We hope that you will be able to stay with us soon so you can enjoy our upcoming renovations that will be completed in May of 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The Breck Inn is under new management. The place is clean, comfortable, convenient and welcoming. The beds and pillows are top notch. The staff is unmatched in their friendliness and enthusiasm for service. This is an older, refurbished place. It is not elegant, it is not fancy, but the toiletries ands towels are better than you find in even high end brand name hotels. The location at first seems a little one sided in that you have to go around a median when arriving from the north and when traveling south to get to Breckenridge, but as it turns out, it's very easy to do, with lights at either end and a turn lane. About one mile north of the hustle and bustle of town, parking is easy and getting to all the important places, whether for skiing or apres ski, is a breeze.

The hotel itself is an older, two story, hallway style inn with a cheerful entry that includes a large screen TV, a glorious fireplace and comfortable couches. At first glance, a traveler accustomed to staying in newer condo style accommodations might be wary of the "homey," cozy, non-franchised stylings of the entrance, then the "college dorm" look of the main hallway, but don't judge this book by its simple cover. Rooms are comfortable, noise is not a problem, there is a mini fridge in every room and a very new, Samsung flatscreen. The entire inn is wi-fi'd and there is a free computer for 24-hour guest use, situated on a lovely lofted landing at the end of the main staircase, complete with spacious desk and table lamp.

Lest you think that the Breck in is "just another bumpy, beaten up bed in a ski town," the best, in my opinion is yet to come: yes, the rooms, beds, towels, toiletries and location are great: the value is unsurpassed. In addition to free wi-fi, free mini fridge, free parking, access to free town bus, free hotel shuttle on weekends, there is free breakfast in the Breck Inn's 24/7 access lounge where you can get free coffee, capuccino, hot chocolate, tea, juice and fruit. Breakfast is continental--hard boiled eggs, make-yourself fresh waffles, yogurt, gluten free muffins, cereals, granola bars, the coffee thing, and fruit. It may not be the ideal hot breakfast, but it's enough to get you through to a 1 p.m. lunch stop after the crowds on the slope. There are family style tables in the lounge, a large widescreen, and a microwave for guest use. You have no idea what a boon this is until you've had the opportunity to cruise down to the first floor and get either a hot or cold refreshment any time you want it while you stay here. We weren't able to cook in our room, but the City Market is very close; we bought meals to go there, and prepped exactly what we liked back at the lounge at the Inn.

Not least is the staff. As I said, the Breck is under new management and the staff has taken the mission of re-creating the hotel to heart. Anything you want, any question you have, is eagerly pursued for you. They are proud to be part of a dedicated, stable team that runs this terrific little place to stay, and it shows.

The improvements I'd like to see in this surprisingly affordable and accommodating hotel are: better lighting in the guest rooms (one more lamp on the table or a wall sconce would be nice), scrambled eggs or hot egg patties at breakfast, and more shuttle service. None of these are deal breakers--just suggestions. I would stay at the Breck Inn again any time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, General Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share this review! We do appreciate this information and are always working to make ourselves better.

We completely agree that our location is a little more difficult to access with the divided highway. Over the past year we have repainted the building and installed a brand new sign to help make ourselves more visible, though I am afraid there is little we can do about the U-turns.

I am glad that you were able to enjoy our revamped public spaces. In our 2nd floor loft, we have installed a new desk with a computer and printer for our guests to use. This has completed the space and is now a comfortable area to enjoy a book from our bookshelf. In our lobby, we have updated our furniture to make it more comfortable. In the lobby and guest lounge we will be continuing our improvements this spring! The same can be said for our plain hallways, which will also receive a designer’s touch with new carpet and a beautiful paint scheme.

We do appreciate your suggestions as well. We have already placed an order for new lighting in the rooms. This will not only replace the existing lighting, but will also add another small lamp on the desk to provide additional light. We expect this order to be delivered sometime this spring, though our request to install outlets in the lamp bases has added to the delivery time. As for adding another type of protein to our breakfast, we have explored and sampled a variety of products but have found the quality to be disappointing. Never the less, we are always looking for new items to add to our breakfast to make it more filling and more nutritious.

Again, thank you for sharing your review. We hope that you will be able to stay with us in the coming months to enjoy our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Brecks Inn for 4 days. We were looking for budget accommodations, so our expectations were very low from the get go. We stayed there as part of a Timeshare Vacation Package which included a mandatory sales presentation/tour. I don’t usually provide feedback on TripAdvisor, but I felt the need to for this “hotel” (Inn) in order to hopefully help out others who might be as hesitant as we were to stay here due to older reviews on this place. I will be as honest as possible and provide a summarized list of both the pros/cons at the end of this review for those that don’t want to read all the details. IMPORTANT TO NOTE, this is a “budget” hotel, so I will review and rate it as such.

Special Request and Check-in: I had made my reservations over a month and a half in advance for the Breck Inn. I requested a particular room on the second floor as far away as possible from the hustle/bustle of other guests. I was told that they could not guarantee any special requests, but they would do their best. I called several times in advance making sure they had my request on file. The night before my visit, I called one last time to confirm, only to be told that the particular room I requested was already taken and wouldn’t be available until two days into our stay. How disappointing that was. Upon check-in the next day, I had already gotten over not having my requested room so I was not as frustrated as I would have been. Michelle, the Front Desk Clerk, was patient enough to personally show me the two different rooms they did have available: one room was on the second floor with two queen beds and a balcony, and the other available room was on the first floor with a King size bed and a couch/no balcony. The room on the first floor was literally only 20 feet away from the front desk and right across from the dining room. No doubt this was going to be the noisiest room in the house, but since it was just my wife and I, we thought it would be nice to have the King Size bed, and besides, we were told that we could switch to our requested room when it became available. To make a long story short, this room totally fit our needs and it actually turned out to be very convenient being so close to the dining room and our car. I was actually quite amazed at how quiet it was, even though the location appeared to be terrible. Sure, there were times when we could hear people at the front desk talking, but for whatever reason, we were never awoken at night or early in the morning. In fact, we stayed in this room the entire visit, not having any regrets at all at the end of our stay. Check-in was a bit slow as there was only one front desk clerk working and several people checking in at the same time.

Hotel and the Accomodations. Keep in mind, this place is actually called an “Inn” and not a hotel. I would consider the Breck Inn more of a quaint motel, but with the rooms accessed from the inside rather than the outside like your typical motel. It was tastefully painted on both the outside and the inside and because of that it did indeed give it an appearance of a quaint and cozy little “Inn”. The lobby was small, but once again, perfect for our needs and was comfortably decorated with couches/TV/and a fireplace as I recall… simple, but adequate. The rooms were also a bit on the small side, but by no means too small. I can honestly say that they were extremely clean and no maintenance problems or any major wear/tear. Bathrooms had room for just a toilet and a full size shower, but remember, this isn’t a Hyatt, so what more do you need. The water pressure was adequate and the water was always hot when you needed it. The tub was clean and the shower heads were fully functional and actually quite nice. I liked the fact that the sink was outside the bathroom..much more convenient and made the bathroom not feel so small. The carpets were a bit worn, but not dirty (I hear that they will be remodeling in April 2012 with also new carpets being installed). As far as I’m concerned, the walls were not too thin, as we NEVER heard any guests thru the walls on either side of us. I was told that it was a full house that weekend, so those rooms must have been occupied. The door was a bit on the thin side and we could hear the lobby noise at times, but even being right across from the dining room, there just wasn’t a lot of irritating noise for some reason. The lighting in the rooms could have been better, but it wasn’t unbearable. Rooms had a nice flat screen TV mounted on the walls, a table with two chairs, and even a small refrigerator. Overall, a totally decent room.

The Location: The Breck Inn is more or less the first establishment you come to as you drive into town. It’s actually right on Main St, but on the very edge of all the activity. The walk to town is a bit far during winter conditions in my opinion, but it is possible. We had a rental car, but during the day, we never had to use it. To our surprise, the Breck Inn had a large private shuttle bus that was available all day until 6 pm. There were no scheduled times to go to different locations, which was the best part about it. You actually just call the driver’s cell phone and he comes and picks you up and takes you pretty much wherever you want to go in town, within reason of course. The driver’s name was Tsetso and was such a nice, young fellow. He was friendly and polite at all times, and provided us with a wealth of information about the area, hotel, etc. Tsetso also doubled as front desk clerk when not on the road, and always asked us if there was anything we needed. He was kind of like the Breck Inn’s Concierge guy. As a side note, the longest time we ever had to wait to be picked up somewhere was no more than 10 minutes. Our rental car definitely came in handy for our evening trips into town, but once again, I was totally satisfied with the location overall. The Breck Inn is a very close walk to the Gondola, which will get you to the ski lifts. But with Tsetso, and the shuttle at your “Breck In Call” who needs the Gondola to get you to the slopes. Just call Tsetso’s cell phone and he will drive you right to the base of the peak just steps away from the lift. For me, this was an economical ski-in/ski-out scenario. I even wore my ski boots out of my room.

Staff: The staff was the main reason we rated the Breck Inn as high as we do. The girls at the front desk (Michelle and Cesiah) were always so nice and helpful. They were professional, courteous, knowledgeable and pleasant. What more could you want. We felt totally at home with them. I think the small size of the Breck Inn was actually an advantage in some ways. The staff was multi-tasking and jumped in whenever/wherever they needed to be, whether that was keeping the lobby clean, stocking the dining room refreshments, acting as a concierge, etc.

Bonuses: OK, so the price we paid for the room was so reasonable as compared to other places in Breckenridge, who ever thought there would be any “freebies”. But there was. The Dining Room had a free (that’s right, FREE) breakfast. No, nothing extravagant, but come on, what more could you ask for in a place like this. You can make yourself a fresh waffle, in addition to: donuts, granola bars, cereal, bagels, muffins, hard-boiled eggs, apples, fruit juices, etc. Best of all, they had a FREE coffee/Hot Chocolate machine available ALL day/night. This was one of the benefits of having our room right across from the Dining Room (Room #2 in case you are curious). Each evening we open our door, wander 20 feet across the hall, and serve ourselves a nice steaming hot chocolate to take back to bed. Don’t forget, other bonuses included in the price of the room are the free shuttle, hot tub (we never used it), free wireless internet, and a great staff!

Last but not least..the Presentation: As I mentioned earlier, a Timeshare Presentation and a tour of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 was necessary as part of our package. Honestly, having done a few timeshare presentations in the past, we were not exactly looking forward to this. But let me assure you, whether you are interested in becoming a Member or not, it was nowhere as stressful as we thought it would be. In fact, it turned out to be a pleasurable experience…yes, I did say pleasurable. I can assure you, there were no pressure tactics here, and in fact, our Sales Agent Drew turned out to be a very nice gentleman. He was knowledgeable about what he had to offer, explained it clearly, but at no times did he push us to a point where we felt uncomfortable. Even after we decided not to become a member, he left us professionally with a handshake, a smile, and some great recommendations which gave us an awesome ending to our trip to Colorado. Also worth mentioning, it was nice to see the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. It was quite an impressive place! Beautiful accommodations, views and you can literally walk right out the door to the ski lift! Nice!

So, in summary:

Cons:
1. Our requested room was not available upon check-in, although they made every effort to accommodate us later in the stay when it did become available. I suggest you call 2 to 3 days in advanced if you do have any special requests. Our mistake was calling one week in advance.
2. The Breck Inn only has a handful of rooms with King sized beds, and those rooms are only located on the first floor with no balcony. The second floor rooms with two queen size beds have balcony’s that are not really private. The balcony doesn’t have any privacy divider from the one beside it.
3. If you’re expecting accommodations similar to a Marriott or Hyatt, this place is definitely not for you.
4. Location is on the outskirts of town. Still walkable though when the weather isn’t bad. Quick 5 minute drive with car.

Pros:
1. Awesome, friendly, helpful staff! Being a smaller place, you will see the same staff every day. They jump in and help wherever/whenever needed.
2. Cozy/quaint accommodations.
3. Free wireless internet, breakfast and shuttle. The shuttle was almost like having your own taxi on standby for you. Coffee/hot chocolate/juices available 24x7. WOW!
4. Wine & Cheese reception on Friday evening. Seriously!
5. If you stay at the Breck Inn as part of the Timeshare Vacation Package, don’t expect a high pressure presentation. They were even flexible on which day you want to attend.
6. New Management really turned this place around as compared to older reviews you might have read.
7. Budget friendly, but by no means a dive!
8. Did I mention an awesome staff (Tsetso, Michelle, Cesiah)
9. Refrigerator in room. A Microwave oven is available in Dining area 24x7
10. Nice views of distant mountains/peaks.
11. Quick walk to Gondola.
12. Ski rental shop right next door to hotel. Great ski rental prices!
13. The bed was quite comfortable in my opinion.
14. If you stay as part of the Vacation Package, you can include ski lift tickets into the price for an excellent value.

Room Tip: Room #2 on first floor close to Lobby, the Exit and most importantly, the Dining Room for free break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, General Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share this extremely extensive review! You have indeed been very thorough and we are extremely grateful for your kind comments.

We must first apologize that we were not able to accommodate your initial request for your room. Though we cannot ever guarantee a particular room, we will always do our best to meet any requests that are made. I am glad that Michelle was able to show you a couple of options to ensure that we found you the best possible room for you. It is no trouble on our part to make certain you are comfortable for the duration of your stay.

We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of our new shuttle service. We admit that we are still working out some kinks in the system, but we are pleased to be offering the service. Though we are only able to offer a limited schedule, Friday through Monday, we find that it certainly helps to reduce the stress of parking in Breckenridge. We will be evaluating the success of the program at the end of this ski season, with the hope that we will be able to continue the shuttle service year round.

As for our rooms, we work endlessly to ensure that they are clean and well maintained. We have replaced various pieces of furniture that were showing their wear and are always looking for something to clean. As you mentioned, we will be continuing our upgrades this coming spring. This will include new paint, carpet, and lighting throughout the building as we hope to address some of the concerns that have been identified. When all is said and done, nearly every surface of the Breck Inn will have been touched in some way.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share this review. We do truly appreciate any feedback that we receive and we are excited to continue our improvements of the Breck Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Breck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breck Inn

Address: 11078 N. CO Highway 9, P.O. Box 568, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#7 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breck Inn features 35 fully renovated hotel rooms. Cozy and congenial, warm and friendly, the Breck Inn offers a free continental breakfast, free parking and an outdoor hot tub. Shuttle/bus service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Breck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breck Hotel Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.