We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Breck Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Breck Inn to your Saves list
Breck Inn
11078 N. CO Highway 9, P.O. Box 568, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersBronze level
Superior, Colorado
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Okay hotel room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Like many others, we stayed here as a comp to viewing the Grand Lodge of Peak 7. Interesting that the Grand Lodge people put us up here to try and sell their place which is significantly higher end.

Nonetheless, we felt the room was a bit tight, but reasonable. The biggest issue is the A/C unit which sits about 2 feet away from one of the beds. All night it just blasted into me ~ so much that i had to build a pillow wall to keep from freezing all night. Turning the unit off just heat up the room too much with four bodies inside and the road noise outside was too great to leave the balcony door open.

Nevertheless, for ski season, this motel is probably a good setup. It is reasonably close to the lifts and on the bus line. The comp breakfast was actually decent and not just coffee and donuts (they had muffins and cereal too).

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have a great view of Breckenridge but come with road noise. The other side is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, General Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review. We do appreciate this information and will use it to help make our property better.

While we recognize that our rooms are small, we have always considered air conditioning to be one of our greatest assets here at the Breck Inn. Unfortunately, we had never made the connection that the small rooms would place the bed too near the air conditioning unit. We apologize for the discomfort this caused during your stay and have begun researching solutions to this dilemma. Currently, we are looking into a different type of vent that will direct the air up and away from the bed.

We are glad to hear that you did enjoy our continental breakfast. We hope that we are able to provide a choice for everyone who stays with us, including those with allergies to gluten and lactose.

Once more, thank you for sharing your review with the community.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    51
    11
    9
    10
See reviews for
49
47
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Holdrege, Nebraska
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed here at discount for taking tour of Grand Lodge on Peak 7. Room was nice though small. Would have been nice to have an easy chair, but there is no room. Getting in and out was a little complicated as it is on a divided highway and you cannot exit out to go both ways, depending on direction you going you need to make a U turn at the corner. Too much bedding for room temperature that you control. Ours was set at 63 and it was still too warm.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, General Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts after your recent stay with us! We are also glad that you shared the information regarding the divided highway and the need to make a U-turn to get to us. While we wish we could change the road configuration, we have determined that our best option at this point is to share this information as freely as possible ahead of time.

We are thrilled that you found our room to be nice and we agree that our rooms are not large. We did explore the option of putting in a lounge chair, but came to the same conclusion that it would cramp the room even further. Instead, we have been putting our efforts into improving our common spaces and making them more enjoyable, comfortable, and usable. Our guest lounge, lobby, and loft have all seen new furniture and amenities, including a new guest computer in the loft, which we hope encourage the spaces to be used to their fullest potential.

As we enter our spring season, we are torn between leaving the units set with the heat or the air conditioning when they are unoccupied. During the night and early morning, the heat is necessary to keep the units warm, but the afternoon sun quickly heats the units to raise the need for air conditioning. At this point of the season, we continue leaving the units set with the heat at 63, but can easily turn on the air conditioning should the need arise. Furthermore, we will be conducting a thorough inspection of each air conditioning unit during our upcoming remodel. This will help us catch any problems and allow the units to operate with maximum efficiency.

Again, thank you for sharing your review with the Trip Advisor community. We hope you are able to stay with us again in the future to enjoy our upcoming improvements and a beautiful Breckenridge summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

The Breck Inn comes with a catch; we had to take a 90 minute tour of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. The hotel was modest and very clean with an average continental breakfast, comfortable bed, and large hot tub. It is located within a mile of the town gondola to access Shock Hill, Peak 7, and Peak 8. Parking was $10, but since we had four in our car, the carpool rate of $5 applied. Assistance at the hotel is always available; however, the person, only one person I do believe, working the front desk area accessible to guests is also doing many other duties around the property, so though he is available, he or she is pulled in several directions much of the time. All in all, it was well worth the roughly $200 I paid to stay for four nights and the discounted lift tickets. By the way, we also purchased a time share at the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. We enjoyed it for a short time before we left, but we are looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, General Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with us at the Breck Inn. We are thrilled that you have decided to become a part of the Breckenridge Grand Vacations family and hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon.

While we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our continental breakfast, comfortable beds, and large hot tub, we are sorry that our presence at the front desk has not been sufficient. We have noticed a sizable increase in business and have felt ourselves being pulled in multiple directions as you noted. As we hope to continue this trend, we are evaluating our staffing levels to ensure that we can continue to provide exceptional service.

Though we are able to provide parking for no charge at the Breck Inn, the ski resort does charge a fee for parking at the base areas during the ski season. For this reason, we have been operating our shuttle on a limited schedule to provide an alternative for our guests.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with us. We hope that you will be able to stay with us soon so you can enjoy our upcoming renovations that will be completed in May of 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

The Breck Inn is under new management. The place is clean, comfortable, convenient and welcoming. The beds and pillows are top notch. The staff is unmatched in their friendliness and enthusiasm for service. This is an older, refurbished place. It is not elegant, it is not fancy, but the toiletries ands towels are better than you find in even high end brand name hotels. The location at first seems a little one sided in that you have to go around a median when arriving from the north and when traveling south to get to Breckenridge, but as it turns out, it's very easy to do, with lights at either end and a turn lane. About one mile north of the hustle and bustle of town, parking is easy and getting to all the important places, whether for skiing or apres ski, is a breeze.

The hotel itself is an older, two story, hallway style inn with a cheerful entry that includes a large screen TV, a glorious fireplace and comfortable couches. At first glance, a traveler accustomed to staying in newer condo style accommodations might be wary of the "homey," cozy, non-franchised stylings of the entrance, then the "college dorm" look of the main hallway, but don't judge this book by its simple cover. Rooms are comfortable, noise is not a problem, there is a mini fridge in every room and a very new, Samsung flatscreen. The entire inn is wi-fi'd and there is a free computer for 24-hour guest use, situated on a lovely lofted landing at the end of the main staircase, complete with spacious desk and table lamp.

Lest you think that the Breck in is "just another bumpy, beaten up bed in a ski town," the best, in my opinion is yet to come: yes, the rooms, beds, towels, toiletries and location are great: the value is unsurpassed. In addition to free wi-fi, free mini fridge, free parking, access to free town bus, free hotel shuttle on weekends, there is free breakfast in the Breck Inn's 24/7 access lounge where you can get free coffee, capuccino, hot chocolate, tea, juice and fruit. Breakfast is continental--hard boiled eggs, make-yourself fresh waffles, yogurt, gluten free muffins, cereals, granola bars, the coffee thing, and fruit. It may not be the ideal hot breakfast, but it's enough to get you through to a 1 p.m. lunch stop after the crowds on the slope. There are family style tables in the lounge, a large widescreen, and a microwave for guest use. You have no idea what a boon this is until you've had the opportunity to cruise down to the first floor and get either a hot or cold refreshment any time you want it while you stay here. We weren't able to cook in our room, but the City Market is very close; we bought meals to go there, and prepped exactly what we liked back at the lounge at the Inn.

Not least is the staff. As I said, the Breck is under new management and the staff has taken the mission of re-creating the hotel to heart. Anything you want, any question you have, is eagerly pursued for you. They are proud to be part of a dedicated, stable team that runs this terrific little place to stay, and it shows.

The improvements I'd like to see in this surprisingly affordable and accommodating hotel are: better lighting in the guest rooms (one more lamp on the table or a wall sconce would be nice), scrambled eggs or hot egg patties at breakfast, and more shuttle service. None of these are deal breakers--just suggestions. I would stay at the Breck Inn again any time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, General Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share this review! We do appreciate this information and are always working to make ourselves better.

We completely agree that our location is a little more difficult to access with the divided highway. Over the past year we have repainted the building and installed a brand new sign to help make ourselves more visible, though I am afraid there is little we can do about the U-turns.

I am glad that you were able to enjoy our revamped public spaces. In our 2nd floor loft, we have installed a new desk with a computer and printer for our guests to use. This has completed the space and is now a comfortable area to enjoy a book from our bookshelf. In our lobby, we have updated our furniture to make it more comfortable. In the lobby and guest lounge we will be continuing our improvements this spring! The same can be said for our plain hallways, which will also receive a designer’s touch with new carpet and a beautiful paint scheme.

We do appreciate your suggestions as well. We have already placed an order for new lighting in the rooms. This will not only replace the existing lighting, but will also add another small lamp on the desk to provide additional light. We expect this order to be delivered sometime this spring, though our request to install outlets in the lamp bases has added to the delivery time. As for adding another type of protein to our breakfast, we have explored and sampled a variety of products but have found the quality to be disappointing. Never the less, we are always looking for new items to add to our breakfast to make it more filling and more nutritious.

Again, thank you for sharing your review. We hope that you will be able to stay with us in the coming months to enjoy our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Brecks Inn for 4 days. We were looking for budget accommodations, so our expectations were very low from the get go. We stayed there as part of a Timeshare Vacation Package which included a mandatory sales presentation/tour. I don’t usually provide feedback on TripAdvisor, but I felt the need to for this “hotel” (Inn) in order to hopefully help out others who might be as hesitant as we were to stay here due to older reviews on this place. I will be as honest as possible and provide a summarized list of both the pros/cons at the end of this review for those that don’t want to read all the details. IMPORTANT TO NOTE, this is a “budget” hotel, so I will review and rate it as such.

Special Request and Check-in: I had made my reservations over a month and a half in advance for the Breck Inn. I requested a particular room on the second floor as far away as possible from the hustle/bustle of other guests. I was told that they could not guarantee any special requests, but they would do their best. I called several times in advance making sure they had my request on file. The night before my visit, I called one last time to confirm, only to be told that the particular room I requested was already taken and wouldn’t be available until two days into our stay. How disappointing that was. Upon check-in the next day, I had already gotten over not having my requested room so I was not as frustrated as I would have been. Michelle, the Front Desk Clerk, was patient enough to personally show me the two different rooms they did have available: one room was on the second floor with two queen beds and a balcony, and the other available room was on the first floor with a King size bed and a couch/no balcony. The room on the first floor was literally only 20 feet away from the front desk and right across from the dining room. No doubt this was going to be the noisiest room in the house, but since it was just my wife and I, we thought it would be nice to have the King Size bed, and besides, we were told that we could switch to our requested room when it became available. To make a long story short, this room totally fit our needs and it actually turned out to be very convenient being so close to the dining room and our car. I was actually quite amazed at how quiet it was, even though the location appeared to be terrible. Sure, there were times when we could hear people at the front desk talking, but for whatever reason, we were never awoken at night or early in the morning. In fact, we stayed in this room the entire visit, not having any regrets at all at the end of our stay. Check-in was a bit slow as there was only one front desk clerk working and several people checking in at the same time.

Hotel and the Accomodations. Keep in mind, this place is actually called an “Inn” and not a hotel. I would consider the Breck Inn more of a quaint motel, but with the rooms accessed from the inside rather than the outside like your typical motel. It was tastefully painted on both the outside and the inside and because of that it did indeed give it an appearance of a quaint and cozy little “Inn”. The lobby was small, but once again, perfect for our needs and was comfortably decorated with couches/TV/and a fireplace as I recall… simple, but adequate. The rooms were also a bit on the small side, but by no means too small. I can honestly say that they were extremely clean and no maintenance problems or any major wear/tear. Bathrooms had room for just a toilet and a full size shower, but remember, this isn’t a Hyatt, so what more do you need. The water pressure was adequate and the water was always hot when you needed it. The tub was clean and the shower heads were fully functional and actually quite nice. I liked the fact that the sink was outside the bathroom..much more convenient and made the bathroom not feel so small. The carpets were a bit worn, but not dirty (I hear that they will be remodeling in April 2012 with also new carpets being installed). As far as I’m concerned, the walls were not too thin, as we NEVER heard any guests thru the walls on either side of us. I was told that it was a full house that weekend, so those rooms must have been occupied. The door was a bit on the thin side and we could hear the lobby noise at times, but even being right across from the dining room, there just wasn’t a lot of irritating noise for some reason. The lighting in the rooms could have been better, but it wasn’t unbearable. Rooms had a nice flat screen TV mounted on the walls, a table with two chairs, and even a small refrigerator. Overall, a totally decent room.

The Location: The Breck Inn is more or less the first establishment you come to as you drive into town. It’s actually right on Main St, but on the very edge of all the activity. The walk to town is a bit far during winter conditions in my opinion, but it is possible. We had a rental car, but during the day, we never had to use it. To our surprise, the Breck Inn had a large private shuttle bus that was available all day until 6 pm. There were no scheduled times to go to different locations, which was the best part about it. You actually just call the driver’s cell phone and he comes and picks you up and takes you pretty much wherever you want to go in town, within reason of course. The driver’s name was Tsetso and was such a nice, young fellow. He was friendly and polite at all times, and provided us with a wealth of information about the area, hotel, etc. Tsetso also doubled as front desk clerk when not on the road, and always asked us if there was anything we needed. He was kind of like the Breck Inn’s Concierge guy. As a side note, the longest time we ever had to wait to be picked up somewhere was no more than 10 minutes. Our rental car definitely came in handy for our evening trips into town, but once again, I was totally satisfied with the location overall. The Breck Inn is a very close walk to the Gondola, which will get you to the ski lifts. But with Tsetso, and the shuttle at your “Breck In Call” who needs the Gondola to get you to the slopes. Just call Tsetso’s cell phone and he will drive you right to the base of the peak just steps away from the lift. For me, this was an economical ski-in/ski-out scenario. I even wore my ski boots out of my room.

Staff: The staff was the main reason we rated the Breck Inn as high as we do. The girls at the front desk (Michelle and Cesiah) were always so nice and helpful. They were professional, courteous, knowledgeable and pleasant. What more could you want. We felt totally at home with them. I think the small size of the Breck Inn was actually an advantage in some ways. The staff was multi-tasking and jumped in whenever/wherever they needed to be, whether that was keeping the lobby clean, stocking the dining room refreshments, acting as a concierge, etc.

Bonuses: OK, so the price we paid for the room was so reasonable as compared to other places in Breckenridge, who ever thought there would be any “freebies”. But there was. The Dining Room had a free (that’s right, FREE) breakfast. No, nothing extravagant, but come on, what more could you ask for in a place like this. You can make yourself a fresh waffle, in addition to: donuts, granola bars, cereal, bagels, muffins, hard-boiled eggs, apples, fruit juices, etc. Best of all, they had a FREE coffee/Hot Chocolate machine available ALL day/night. This was one of the benefits of having our room right across from the Dining Room (Room #2 in case you are curious). Each evening we open our door, wander 20 feet across the hall, and serve ourselves a nice steaming hot chocolate to take back to bed. Don’t forget, other bonuses included in the price of the room are the free shuttle, hot tub (we never used it), free wireless internet, and a great staff!

Last but not least..the Presentation: As I mentioned earlier, a Timeshare Presentation and a tour of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 was necessary as part of our package. Honestly, having done a few timeshare presentations in the past, we were not exactly looking forward to this. But let me assure you, whether you are interested in becoming a Member or not, it was nowhere as stressful as we thought it would be. In fact, it turned out to be a pleasurable experience…yes, I did say pleasurable. I can assure you, there were no pressure tactics here, and in fact, our Sales Agent Drew turned out to be a very nice gentleman. He was knowledgeable about what he had to offer, explained it clearly, but at no times did he push us to a point where we felt uncomfortable. Even after we decided not to become a member, he left us professionally with a handshake, a smile, and some great recommendations which gave us an awesome ending to our trip to Colorado. Also worth mentioning, it was nice to see the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. It was quite an impressive place! Beautiful accommodations, views and you can literally walk right out the door to the ski lift! Nice!

So, in summary:

Cons:
1. Our requested room was not available upon check-in, although they made every effort to accommodate us later in the stay when it did become available. I suggest you call 2 to 3 days in advanced if you do have any special requests. Our mistake was calling one week in advance.
2. The Breck Inn only has a handful of rooms with King sized beds, and those rooms are only located on the first floor with no balcony. The second floor rooms with two queen size beds have balcony’s that are not really private. The balcony doesn’t have any privacy divider from the one beside it.
3. If you’re expecting accommodations similar to a Marriott or Hyatt, this place is definitely not for you.
4. Location is on the outskirts of town. Still walkable though when the weather isn’t bad. Quick 5 minute drive with car.

Pros:
1. Awesome, friendly, helpful staff! Being a smaller place, you will see the same staff every day. They jump in and help wherever/whenever needed.
2. Cozy/quaint accommodations.
3. Free wireless internet, breakfast and shuttle. The shuttle was almost like having your own taxi on standby for you. Coffee/hot chocolate/juices available 24x7. WOW!
4. Wine & Cheese reception on Friday evening. Seriously!
5. If you stay at the Breck Inn as part of the Timeshare Vacation Package, don’t expect a high pressure presentation. They were even flexible on which day you want to attend.
6. New Management really turned this place around as compared to older reviews you might have read.
7. Budget friendly, but by no means a dive!
8. Did I mention an awesome staff (Tsetso, Michelle, Cesiah)
9. Refrigerator in room. A Microwave oven is available in Dining area 24x7
10. Nice views of distant mountains/peaks.
11. Quick walk to Gondola.
12. Ski rental shop right next door to hotel. Great ski rental prices!
13. The bed was quite comfortable in my opinion.
14. If you stay as part of the Vacation Package, you can include ski lift tickets into the price for an excellent value.

Room Tip: Room #2 on first floor close to Lobby, the Exit and most importantly, the Dining Room for free break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, General Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share this extremely extensive review! You have indeed been very thorough and we are extremely grateful for your kind comments.

We must first apologize that we were not able to accommodate your initial request for your room. Though we cannot ever guarantee a particular room, we will always do our best to meet any requests that are made. I am glad that Michelle was able to show you a couple of options to ensure that we found you the best possible room for you. It is no trouble on our part to make certain you are comfortable for the duration of your stay.

We are glad that you enjoyed the convenience of our new shuttle service. We admit that we are still working out some kinks in the system, but we are pleased to be offering the service. Though we are only able to offer a limited schedule, Friday through Monday, we find that it certainly helps to reduce the stress of parking in Breckenridge. We will be evaluating the success of the program at the end of this ski season, with the hope that we will be able to continue the shuttle service year round.

As for our rooms, we work endlessly to ensure that they are clean and well maintained. We have replaced various pieces of furniture that were showing their wear and are always looking for something to clean. As you mentioned, we will be continuing our upgrades this coming spring. This will include new paint, carpet, and lighting throughout the building as we hope to address some of the concerns that have been identified. When all is said and done, nearly every surface of the Breck Inn will have been touched in some way.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share this review. We do truly appreciate any feedback that we receive and we are excited to continue our improvements of the Breck Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

I stayed here with my wife and her mom and step-dad as part of one of those deals for a "property management" for the new Grand Lodge at Peak 7. I say this because I think a large portion of the people staying here were specifically there on similar business. But as far as this place goes, it was a good hotel with nice decor, very friendly staff, a great shuttle, and free continental breakfast.

The rooms were spacious enough for the 2 queen beds, and the furnishing were contemporary and new. Everything was comfortable, and the views from the balcony (we were on the 2nd floor of the 2 story building) were amazing! We could see the mountains and ski slopes in a near panoramic view to the West. We went skiing for two of the days, and they let us check-in early which made it a great base-camp with their shuttle to the slopes rather than having to find parking. Breakfast was good, with waffles and the usual assortment of continental fare. Additionally, there was a good, large hot tub as well as a nice lobby area complete with fireplace and several couches & chairs.

The best part was how friendly the staff was. They were very helpful in all regards, but particularly Tsotsey (spelling?) who worked the front desk and shuttle bus.

The only thing that kept me from rating this higher is that the insulation out the patio doors to the balcony was not really too sound proof. I could hear road traffic and any of the people getting in and out of their cars in the evening way too much. But this was a minor inconvenience, not a major one.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, General Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share about your experience with the Breck Inn! We are always working to ensure that the Breck Inn is a place where anyone can enjoy a nice, relaxing get away.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Breckenridge. We will always try to accommodate a guest as soon as they arrive, though our standard check in time is not until 4:00. Even if a room is not yet ready, we are happy to store any vehicles and luggage so you can get your vacation started as soon as possible, even if it is just sinking into a chair in front of the fireplace.

We are glad you enjoyed the beautiful view from your room and we do acknowledge that the great view is offset to some degree by the highway and parking lot noise. The front desk is trained to make everyone aware of the noise and offer the backside of the building as an alternative. Fortunately, our backside does not look over a dumpster, but onto a nice wooded hillside. We are also looking to address the noise during our upcoming improvements by using a heavier drape. While our original intent is to provide a better light barrier, a heavy drape will also provide improved sound insulation as well. Our hope is this will allow a better night sleep, while maintaining the panoramic view.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback. We are thrilled that we were able to provide a great experience for you and hope that you will be back to stay with us again in the future so you can enjoy our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

We had signed up for the timeshare presentation at Grand Lodge Peak 7. I have gone several times to timeshare presentations, and have in fact purchased a couple. One of them is in Breckenridge, as a matter of fact and is a truly nice place that gives us great joy every year. Each time, we've stayed in the place we're buying and it's usually the stay itself that motivates us to buy. I didn't even think to tripadvisor the Breck Inn after signing up because I assumed it would be nice. However, when I told a couple of my friends where we were going, they were amused. I quickly did look then and the reviews looked okay. I hoped the reviewers were right and my friends were wrong.

Boy, were my friends right!

We arrived late in the evening from Denver (where we live) and if it would have been a couple hours earlier, we would have turned around left. There was a heater/air conditioning unit in the room and it made the most remarkable noises! It kept us up all night even though fairly early on, we turned it off. The walls were literally so thin that we could hear people talking in normal voices to one another. Imagine the sound of kids shouting in the hallways! It was like they were in our room.

Our room was European hotel room tiny without the European hotel room charm. There was not one iota of charm to be had anywhere. There was a single small window. The bathroom was tiny, barely enough room for a single person to negotiate comfortably. The beds were super comfortable, but the heater racket canceled out the goodness. The "amenities" included a hot tub that was broken and a breakfast that lasted my teenage sons about one hour before they were hungry again.

When we woke up in the morning, I was in a mood most foul and I called the Grand Lodge people to inform them we would not be attending their timeshare meeting. In my present state of mind, I would not have purchased a bottle of water from them if I was dying of thirst. I ate the cost of the room for two nights and checked out. Interestingly, my sons were not dismayed at the idea they would not stay through Sunday. They were far more dismayed at the prospect of staying another night at the Breck Inn.

I think if you are on a budget and don't expect much, the Breck Inn would be fine. If you spent the entire time out of the room and would only use it for sleeping, this might be your place. However, if you were expecting a place to wind down from skiing/boarding, you will be greatly disappointed. There are much nicer places in town where you can enjoy a fire and a drink or use hot tubs. None of those things are present at the Breck Inn.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, General Manager at Breck Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Breck Inn. Though we are sorry to hear we were unable to meet your expectations, we do still appreciate this information so we can continue to improve.

Our engineering staff does inspect each unit prior to an arrival for any deficiencies. From light switches to hair dryers, the staff does a thorough inspection to ensure that everything is in proper working order. While inspecting the heaters, we ensure that the room is at a comfortable temperature and seems to be working while we are in the room. I regret that we have not been as vigilant looking for disruptive noises coming from the heater. Moving forward, I will ask our staff to turn the heater on and listen for any unusually noises during their pre-arrival inspections.

We have noted some confusion regarding our hot tub and the use of our cover. We keep the cover on the hot tub to help retain the heat, which has led some to believe that the tub is not working or is closed. We have altered our policies to better explain this at check in with the hopes that everyone is able to enjoy the hot tub. We were able to complete some extensive repairs to the hot tub during our offseason and have been enjoying a season free of mechanical problems.

While we have worked hard over the past year to improve our rooms, we agree that they still lack the traditional charm that is expected in a resort town such as Breckenridge. For the past several months we have been working with a tremendously talented designer to help us overcome this. With her help, we will be completing an extensive remodel of the Inn this coming spring. While we are still finalizing the finer details, new paint and carpet will grace the Inn this spring. We are confident that these improvements will bring the charm to the Breck Inn and guests will be able to relax in front of the fireplace in our redecorated lobby.

Again, we are sorry for the trouble that you experienced while staying with us. We are always working to improve ourselves and strive to address any problems immediately. We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy your full vacation with us, but hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so you can enjoy the ongoing improvements we are making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Breckenridge hotels
1.7 mi away
The Lodge at Breckenridge
The Lodge at Breckenridge
#9 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 stars 544 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Breckenridge
0.9 mi away
Mountain Thunder Lodge
Mountain Thunder Lodge
#3 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.5 of 5 stars 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marriott's Mountain Valley Lodge at Breckenridge
1.4 mi away
Main Street Station
Main Street Station
#15 of 21 in Breckenridge
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
1.6 mi away
One Ski Hill Place, A RockResort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breck Inn

Address: 11078 N. CO Highway 9, P.O. Box 568, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#8 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Breck Inn features 35 fully renovated hotel rooms. Cozy and congenial, warm and friendly, the Breck Inn offers a free continental breakfast, free parking and an outdoor hot tub. Shuttle/bus service is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Breck Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breck Hotel Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breck Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.