We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Point Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gold Point Resort to your Saves list
Gold Point Resort
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   53 View Lane, PO Box 568, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Ski and Ride Package!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
De Pere
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice and Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We arrived late, and used the access code provided by the office to enter the lobby and obtain our key. We checked in later the next morning greeted by a staff eager to share the attractions. We booked through Interval International, and the only drawback was that it did not indicate it was "Pet Friendly" on the Interval website. Our son has allergies to dogs, so we immediately had to go out and get some antihistamines. Other than that, it was a nice and relaxing week. I definitely recommend getting the free passes to the Brek Rec Center. It is a first class fitness center only 5 minutes away.

Room Tip: Make sure to pack antihistamines if you are allergic to dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Gold Point Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Hi Willtravel1006,

Thank you for reviewing Gold Point Resort. Our resort offers spacious, fully stocked units with incredible views. We are glad you enjoyed the location and the proximity to the town of Breckenridge. The town bus also has a very convenient stop right by the entrance to the resort.
Gold Point Resort is pet friendly for our owners and we apologize that was not made clear prior to your stay.

Again thank you for taking the time to review Gold Point Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    20
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
31
15
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
CO
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Gold Pont Condos are at the top of Breckenridge. Sitting at an elevation of 10,600 ft. you are looking directly across the valley at the top of the ski area. Gold Point is a sister resort to Grand Lodge Peak 7, and Grand Timber Lodge. Although Gold Point is the oldest property of the Grand Vacation group it is still in good shape. Condos are kept clean and the 3 bed room penthouse units have a ton of room with 3 baths and room for 10 to sleep. Be prepared to drive up Boreas Pass Road about 2 miles above Breck. Most units have a 1 car garage available for your use. Small units are less elaborate and do not have balconies.
Although the furniture is slightly outdated, the kitchen is well supplied and big. Our unit had 4 flat screen TV’s with a DVD on at least one. We spent a weekend and had a great time. The shuttle bus comes right by the units which will save you driving because the complex is not in town. A very nice trip for a few nights or a week timeshare.

Room Tip: The three bedroom penthouse units have killer views any time of the year off the huge balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Gold Point Resort, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi Birdatman,

Thank you for your recent review! The staff at Gold Point Resort is always very pleased when our guests’ expectations are exceeded. It is always a primary goal to strive to create a comfortable environment where our guests can feel at home while on vacation here in beautiful Breckenridge!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the high alpine location and spacious units. Gold Point is a wonderful resort for larger groups as it is made up of mostly 3 bedroom units. The peaceful atmosphere is also ideal for sitting back and enjoying the breathtaking views of the Ten Mile Range.

We are so glad to hear the property met your expectations and we look forward to having you as our guest for many years to come. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Gold Point Condominiums, it’s much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We spent two nights in a studio unit (7ES) with four people - parents and two adult children. I felt lucky that our unit had two queen beds rather than one bed plus a pullout sofa. However, this meant that our studio totally lacked any "furniture" except for the small kitchen table and two chairs. I was OK with the compromise. My husband thought our bed was too soft, but I thought it was fine, and boys were fine with theirs also. The unit was spotlessly clean and well-maintained. We didn't use the building's hot tub but we looked at it and it seemed quite clean and inviting.

The listing of amenities on the website is accurate but I want to make sure you notice that in the studios there is no cooktop. In my past experience, usually studio units do have at least a cooktop, and I didn't read the description well enough to realize that the only cooking I could do would be in the toaster oven or microwave. We ate out more instead (which was fine because we had a few favorite places we wanted to visit).

We frequently heard the activities of the family in the unit above us: heavy footfalls, setting the table, washing dishes, moving the kitchen table and chairs around (?), talking (not the words themselves, just the sound of voices). I don't know whether they were particularly loud or if the insulation between the floors was inadequate, but that was our experience anyway.

Although the 5-minute or so drive from downtown might bother some people, we thought it was great to be on the hillside above Breck, looking down on it and across at the ski resort. And the STARS at night - spectacular!

I would probably avoid staying in a studio unit again but would definitely be fine with a larger unit.

Room Tip: No cooktop in studios, five minutes from town, beautiful view of town and ski resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Gold Point Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi Emilyg28,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Gold Point Resort. All rooms [except the studios] have full kitchens and decks. Our apologies that you planned for a full kitchen - we can certainly understand the inconvenience. It does sound like you fully took advantage of all the wonderful restaurants that Breckenridge and the surrounding areas have to offer. :) We are also sincerely sorry that you were disturbed by the guests in the neighboring apartment. Gold Point encourages guests who are experiencing any type of issue (maintenance, noise, housekeeping etc…) to notify our staff so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. It is always a primary goal to strive to create a comfortable environment where our guests can feel at home while on vacation here in beautiful Breckenridge! Thank you again for reviewing Gold Point Resort, we appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had such a great time here at Gold Point that we decided to do a repeat. Even though it is an older resort, you still can' t find a better view of the beautiful mountains. . . Any season is just breathtaking. The beds could use an up-grade, but overall the rooms are well maintained. My family loved the new CD rental machine! For just 10 bucks you can rent as many CDs you want, and there was a nice selection of fairly new movies. We had a maintenance issue with a clogged dishwasher, and we called maintenance after 6:00 pm, and the maintenance man, Vince, showed up within the hour. Vince fixed the problem and was very apologetic about the inconvenience while on our vacation. We give Vince kuddos for being so helpful and polite!

Room Tip: You can get passes for the Breckenridge Rec Center, and highly recommend the facility. Even better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Gold Point Resort, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review! We greatly appreciate your recognition of our staff and have passed on your appreciation to Vince. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and the amenities on site. The new rental machines are quite convenient and we are happy to know that they are getting good use. We hope to see you again in the future and help you enjoy even more of the wonderful sights Breckenridge as to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Very spacious, excellenent views, staff could be a little friendlier. This resort is not a skiin ski.out like you might expect, but if you walk 1/4 mile a bus will pick you up every half hour....semi convenient. The beds left me with ailing backs pains upon completion of my stay at Gold Point. Keep in mind that internet use can be an issue for large groups, only two users can use the internet at once per every room. The garage is very small as well....you can not pull a van in easily; it must be cautiously backed in. My stay was excellent...mountain views, cool climate, snoin, perfect skiing weather.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark G, Guest Relations Manager at Gold Point Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review of Gold Point. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the views, weather and skiing conditions. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the staff very friendly. We would like you to know that we will use your feedback and apply it to our operations so we may improve the vacation and ownership experiences at the lodge. We offer our deepest apologies that you did not enjoy our bed. It is extremely important to us that our guests have a comfortable night’s rest, so we do offer complimentary memory foam toppers or pillow toppers at a guest’s request. Thank you again for your review, and we are truly looking forward to having you vacation with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
1,443 reviews 1,443 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 218 cities Reviews in 218 cities
2,839 helpful votes 2,839 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Gold Pointe Resort is very special resort. The newer penthouse suites are extremely nice. A lack of on-site swimming pool is a big plus (no kid noise). The views are fantastic. We visit during the ski season, summer, and fall.

The penthouse condo is pure luxury. Gold Point provides a much needed vacation experience. A gourmet kitchen is available in the Penthouse. Hiking and ski trails abound. The Penthouse will sleep ten; there are 4 bedrooms and three baths. The view of the Nine Mile range is amazing.

We find summer/winter vacations at Gold Pointe to be an absolute delight. While a little snow is present, there is an abundance of hiking trails, mountain biking, cultural activities, natural beauty, art galleries,…. My very favorite day’s end activity is going to the private front deck of the condo, cracking open a nice Cabernet sauvignon and simply enjoying the pure insouciance of the enrapturement of the ardent mountain beauty.

Use caution in exchange or purchase at Gold Pointe; several of the older units are definitely not five star, but the newer penthouse units afford terrific views of the mountains, have at least 4 bedrooms, a huge well equipped kitchen, and a large dining room and deserves a five star rating.

Gold Point Resort is an extremely desirable holiday property. If you are ready for an upscale holiday in the Rockies, this is THE Place! Gold Point Resort is a perfect holiday retreat for families and for couples. We always take delight in seeing multi-generations using several condo units to holiday. Our advice is to reserve a two bedroom or at least a one-bedroom property. Please do not “settle” for a studio unit.

We observe that many guests of Gold Point Resort are either “timeshare” owners or owners of other branded timeshares. Other guests may have “booked” Gold Point Resort, and may not quite be certain of the difference between Gold Point Resort and a hotel or Resort Hotel

Hotels offers “resort hotel” amenities such as daily maid service, numerous on-property dining areas, and general “hotel” features. Gold Point Resort does not provide free daily maid service, and on property dining is very limited. This is not a negative because there are 200+ “restaurants” within minutes.

Ok: the primary difference is that many guests in Gold Point Resort have purchased a deeded timeshare week. However, one might simply book Gold Point Resort as one reserves any hotel property.

My wife and I have been “timesharers” for 30+ years, and timesharing with all of it’s advantages and disadvantages is a lifestyle choice. We purchased Gold Point Resort while on Holiday at Gold Point Resort. We now own six Marriott Resorts and six additional non-Marriott resorts for our holidays.

In general folks who elect to purchase vacation properties enjoy independent navigation, and like the advantages of condo ocean front holidays at a premium resort that is “first class.” In addition to the purchase price, we pay an annual maintenance fee of about $1,100.00 per week of ownership. We exchange our Gold Point Resort through Interval International (please Goggle the terms) to many other “Timeshares” throughout the U.S. and the world. We have holidayed in all over the U.S., Canada, Mexico, and Europe.

We understand that an automobile is essential, and we fly into Colorado Springs, select a car rental, and holiday. We cherish the nearby supermarket for morning breakfast preparation, take breakfast and coffee on our private decks, and either dine out at the many area restaurants or prepare lunches and dinners at our condos. All condos are equipped with washers and dryers. I might be happy to enjoy the mountains all week and never leave the property; however, my wife is a list maker, and she determines if we are going shopping, visiting upscale consignment shops, taking day trips t, and selecting the restaurants.

We always rent GM OnStar vehicles, and we seem to “know Breckenridge” fairly well. Gold Point Resort offers a much-needed carefree luxury holiday. We shall return again and again. We typically arrive a day early and depart a day late; we elect a Colorado Marriot Hotel in order to add two days to our holiday.

Room Tip: Trade into the Penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Gold Point Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We truly appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed description of your vacation experiences at Gold Point. It is wonderful to hear from owners who truly love their ownership and continue to come back throughout all seasons! It is an honor to read the great compliments you give our resort. We do agree - the views of the mountains from the private decks are simply amazing. Again, thank you for writing this review; we are certainly looking forward to making great vacations for you for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We owned first at Grand Timber; which is great for ski in and out, but for views.... You cannot beat Gold Point. We traded in to Gold Point several times before becoming owners.

The employees are friendly. They love dogs, a bonus in our view. Our stay is always great. It is very quiet and peaceful. The morning views of the slopes are spectacular. We have stayed all 4 seasons... each one has its perks, but fall as the trees turn is our favorite. Especially if we get some snow caps.

The rooms have everything you need to spread out and enjoy your stay. The grills are an added bonus to grill up some thick steaks for a night on the deck.

It is just a bummer it won't be til next summer before we return.... we are counting the days.

Room Tip: All the 1+ bedrooms have decks that overlook the slopes for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Gold Point Resort, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Gold Point Resort – we truly appreciate your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the views, and that you found your stay to be as quiet and as peaceful as your previous experiences! We’re also happy to hear that the staff was friendly, your room was spacious, and that you were able to take advantage of the outdoor grills.

Thank you again for your wonderful review, and we are truly looking forward to having you vacation with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Point Resort

Address: 53 View Lane, PO Box 568, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Breckenridge
Hotel Class:4 star — Gold Point Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The spacious condominiums at Gold Point Resort are located 1,000 vertical feet above Breckenridge, CO. The spectacular views overlook the town, the Breckenridge Ski Resort, and the entire Ten Mile Range. Each full size unit offers vaulted ceilings, a gas fireplace, a large private deck, garage parking, a private ski locker, a fully equipped kitchen and much more! As a Gold Point guest, you will have access to the pool, spa and exercise facilities at the Breckenridge Recreation Center. You will also take pleasure relaxing in the on-site hot tubs after a long day experiencing all that the Rocky Mountains have to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Gold Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gold Point Hotel Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Point Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.