We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Mexican Restaurant with a view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Casa Mexican Restaurant

Mi Casa Mexican Restaurant
600 S. Park Ave, Breckenridge, CO 80424
+1 970-453-2071
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mi Casa Mexican Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 130 Restaurants in Breckenridge
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Come enjoy the authentic flavors of Mexico at Mi Casa Mexican Restaurant & Cantina, located in the center of beautiful Breckenridge, Colorado. A local's favorite for lunch, dinner and happy hour since 1981. Stop by for lunch and enjoy one of our hand-filled Rellenos or famous Fish Tacos. Visit apres ski to unwind with a margarita shaken with fresh lime juice and one of our 100+ tequilas. Stay for dinner to experience our award winning Mango Duck Quesadillas, Fajitas or housemade Tres Leches. Our friendly staff is always on-hand and looks forward to making you feel right at home in our cozy hacienda.
Wichita, Kansas
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican Restaurant with a view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a nice Mexican restaurant with a business casual atmosphere and a nice view over the small pond the Dredge sits in. Both my wife and I had the create your own dinner with two ground beef tacos, a side of rice and side of beans for $11.95. My wife added a cup of soup to her meal.

Overall the food was good but nothing to write home about. I throught the prices were reasonable for the meal served, atmosphere and views. Overall it was a nice meal, just nothing outstanding. it is a restaurant we would return too.

Of note the coffee, if you're a coffee drinker at a Mexican restaurant, is a cinnamon flavored coffee that I enjoyed quite a bit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    181
    68
    26
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fresh Food and Great Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What we loved upon first impression of this place was the view. We were seated by the window overlooking the small rive and riverboat in Breckenridge. It didn't hurt that the sun was setting at the time, too.

The service was friendly and our server was very helpful with the expansive menu. We started with chip and salsa of course, which is standard at most restaurants, but Mi Casa served their chips with THREE salsas. The hot was my personal favorite but our table enjoyed the sweet salsa. My husband ordered the server's recommendation of Chorizo Stuffed Chicken Breast - which he couldn't stop raving about. I ordered the two taco plate served with beans and rice. I think you can tell a lot about a Mexican restaurants by their chips and salsa and their tacos. If they can do the simple classics right, then they are golden. And they definitely did. My soft tacos (beef + chicken) were incredibly fresh and the chicken was super tender and juicy. Beans were great as well. A must-stop for our next trip to Breckenridge.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good food, good service, a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We'd do it again and maybe it's just the mountain town price the quality was great but a little steep for what we received. Service was solid, food was good and the atmosphere was good.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Happy Hour equals fun time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

We were told to visit Mi Casa on our stay in Breckenridge and we are glad we did. We went for happy hour and enjoyed the free chips & nachos, but found the $1 tacos to be excellent. Drink prices were reasonable for happy hours. Another fun thing Mi Casa offered was $1000 to the person who could predict Sunday night football game. We decided to do it since it was free and despite not winning it was fun cheering for the 3 people who did win.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“You can do better in Breckenridge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went to Mi Casa on a Saturday evening in October. We had called ahead as the restaurant suggested and were seated prompted upon arriving. After that, it was downhill. Our server was attempted to handle two large parties of ten or more people. We waited more than ten minutes before another server took our order for guacamole and brought us some chip. Eventually, the server made it to the table and took our drink order. It was another ten minutes before our drinks arrived and no guacamole. By the time the wait staff came and made our guacamole, our meals had arrived. We had order entrees with beef, but they were mostly beans and rice. One of our children had ordered tacos and the cheese on the tacos was so stale it actually snapped in half. We sat for at least fifteen minutes with dirty dishes in front of us and another server came and cleared the table. After asking yet another server for the bill, it took another ten minutes for us to recieve the bill. I am usually very tolerate of bad service having waited tables for several years, but the service at Mi Casa was exceptionally bad and the food was certainly not good. Try somewhere else - Breckenridge has plenty of restaurants.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Casa Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mi Casa Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Casa Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.