We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sawmill Creek # 206” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sawmill Creek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sawmill Creek to your Saves list
Burnsville, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Sawmill Creek # 206”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Just got back from a fun weekend at Breck and Keystone. Stayed with 4 other women at Sawmill, #206. It was just fine for our accomodations. The kitchen could use a complete overhaul, but the rest of the place was quite clean, well-stocked (towels, blankets, etc) and cozy. For the price, I have no real objections! It was great to have the Steam Shower as the Mountain air is VERY dry! Also great, was the washer/dryer as we were able to dry our gloves, swimsuits, etc. Wish the hottubs were outside tho! The Four 'o Clock run spilled out in the parking lot and made it very easy at the end of the day.

I would definitely stay here again, for budget accomodations. If I wanted to upgrade, I'd head to Keystone Condos. We got to visit those and they were quite a bit nicer.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Have just returned from a stay in #405, Sawmill Creek. As others have said, the location is ideal for skiers and just a short wallk from the amenities on Main Street.
Our condo was on the top floor, so can't comment on the squeaky floorboards overhead as other reviewers have done.
I have only praise for #405. Very well appointed, with fully equipped kitchen, washer/dryer, and good quality furnishings in good condition. It has two bedrooms on the main floor, one with queen bed, other with queen bed and set of bunkbeds. Both have their own bathroom. The upstairs loft has two queen beds and bathroom.
Two indoor hot tubs available for communal use. We would have liked one of them to be outdoors.
I would happily stay there again and would not hesitate to recommend this condo.

At the same time our friends stayed in #401. This is a HUGE condo, with masses of living space and (I think) 4 bedrooms, but only two bathrooms. This could be an issue if lots of people are staying there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

I stayed in Unit 111 (accommodates ~10ppl) as part of a group trip in February. While the accommodations are a bit dated and are not 'luxury', this is a great value stay (don't expect hotel service as these are professionally managed condos). The check-in/out process was smooth and the room was clean and stocked with all the normal condo items upon are arrival. Further they have 2 indoor hot tubs that are a nice break after a day on the mountain. The location is also quite good. For skiing, It is a 10-15 minute walk to the main lift at Breckenridge, where you can rent skis and get on the mountain. At the end of the day, the 4-O'Cock run feeds out right next to the hotel, so no need to make the walk on the way back. For dinner and spending time in Breckenridge, it is a 5-minute walk to main street where you can find all the food and retail options you want.

While the property may not blow you away, it is a great option if you are on a budget and want to stay in the heart of Breckenridge

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Stayed in Unit 316 (Sawmill Creek), Dec. 25-30, 2011...and was disappointed. This place looks nothing like the pictures; as it is very dated and run down..basically a run down/over priced (~$550/night for 2 bedroom) dirty motel. Where to start...carpet is deeply soiled and thread-bare in many spots; the baseboard heating system did not work in several of the rooms, as the controls where not operable; therefore it was very cold...1 bedroom has a very complicated shower; almost impossible for someone taller than 5'6" to get in/out of and the nozzle cannot accomodate anyone taller...it was awful. The hot water tank, would not allow 2 brief showers in a row. The couch/love seats in the living room, very rundown and dirty. The towels were in poor shape. The dryer door was broken. Think twice before staying in this unit or any Sawmill Creek...I heard the same from other guests :(

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StayInBreck, Manager at Sawmill Creek, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear RJJ –

Thank you for your review! We always like to hear from our guests and we have forwarded the information on to not only the Owner of Sawmill Creek #316, but also the Maintenance and Housekeeping Departments for attention to the items mentioned.

The owner has been informed of the information about the living room furniture, the carpet, as well as about the shower situation. Maintenance has inspected the baseboard heaters and hot water tank to ensure everything is all working properly and the dryer door is all fixed. Housekeeping has changed out all the towels with newer one, so guests are all set now!

Thank you again for the information on Sawmill Creek #316 and please let me know if there is anything I can assist with!


Sincerely,

V. Peyton Rogers
Director of Sales
Great Western Lodging
Peyton@gwlodging.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

Stayed at Sawmill Creek Condos unit#316 with my two teenage sons, one of their friends and my wife during Spring Break. This particular unit is a good value. There was plenty of space and the unit had been updated in the past decade. Some of the units at Sawmill Creek are very old and outdated. You want to make sure you see pictures of any unit you are staying in and make sure they've been updated before you sign up. The King bed in the master is very comfortable as well as the two Queen beds in the other room. The sofa bed is old and not something you want to sleep on. It's more comfortable to leave it as a couch and sleep on it that way. There is a bar under the sofa sleeper that is killer on the back! this unit has a good location as well. There is nobody on top of you and it's located on a corner so there isn't anyone on one side of you either. I found it to be very quiet. There is some street noise because it's located so close to Park and Ski Hill Road but it wasn't anything that was annoying. You can ski right into this complex off the Four O'Clock run too which is great. You have to catch the bus to get to the lifts but the first stop is the Snowflake Lift and the buses run pretty often. The longest we had to wait to get out in the morning was maybe 10 minutes. Sawmill creek is within walking distance of main street too! We walked to Eric's pizza one night. All in all, this is a great value. The accomodations were adequate and we had lots of space which we need with teenagers. The kichen is also very large with a long bar. It made it easy to have everyong around the bar to snack. We had friends in another unit of Sawmill Creek and their unit was horrrible. But unit#316 is good and is a great value!! I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

The entire unit needs to be updated, furnishings were very worn, appliances outdated and almost unusable for cooking. It was once a nice place....in the 1980's. The floors above were squeaky..very annoying. That said, the location cannot be beat. Walk a few steps to the ski shuttle and ski back to the unit on the 4 o clock run. Walk to restaurants and shopping, easy. No place to park in town anyway during the holidays. Despite the unit setbacks, we enjoyed ourselves. Each teen had a queen bed to themselves. Great Western was responsive to complaints but they cant do much about a run down place. I probably would not book there again though.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

We had another great summer vacation week in Breckenridge. We have stayed in several different condo units in the Sawmill Creek complex over the past 10 years and have always been completely satisfied. The condos are always very clean and in good order. The location, a block from Main Street and the Riverwalk Center can't be beat. If you come to Breckenridge in the summer, be sure to attend concerts at the Riverwalk Center of the National Repertory Orchestra and the Breckenridge Music Festival for some of the finest concert and chamber musicians in the country. The views of the mountains are spectacular. We have never had noise or experienced rowdy people. We typically pay less than $100 a night for a 2BR, a rate far superior to any hotel chain anywhere in the country. Great Western is an excellent rental agent and very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sawmill Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sawmill Creek

Address: 105 South Park Avenue, 322 B N. Main St (just off Main Street), Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sawmill Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sawmill Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sawmill Creek Hotel Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sawmill Creek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.