We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful terrain - - but the lines will leave you very disappointed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Breckenridge Ski Resort

Breckenridge Ski Resort
Highway 9, 1599 Summit County Road #3, Breckenridge, CO 80424
970-453-5000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Expedia
Book a Tour
Ranked #7 of 66 Activities in Breckenridge
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing, Nightlife, Snowboarding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Four huge peaks, five terrain parks, three half-pipes, two high-speed six passenger SuperChairs, a top-notch Ski & Ride School, the highest chairlift in North America, unparalleled grooming, exciting events, and a historic mining town with endless shopping, dining and nightlife!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Troy, MI
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful terrain - - but the lines will leave you very disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

First, Breckenridge is beautiful and the terrain was very nice - at least what was open. We skied 3 days there over the Holidays, sure its the busiest time of year, but they do not handle crowds well. The Peak 7 lift, Independence, was closed for most of 2 days we were there, making all of 7 and Peak 6 inaccessible.. and making Peak 8 lifts run 30 - 45 minute lines each. Then to turn around and close the Peak 10 lift on the same day was too much!

City is nice, but if you don't eat early, you won't eat. Make reservations any night you plan to eat out otherwise waits from 1-3 hours will be all that's available.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    149
    43
    15
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“lifts on peak 7”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

rug up when going on any of the lifts in breck, really annoyed me that we were stuck on the lifts on 7 and 8 for 25 mins. esp[ecially when the wind are 30 mile an hour with a wind chill on minus 10-20.
so bloody unacceptable ,even more so when no one will tell you why or even offer up an excuse.

hey breck you need to realize that there are plenty of other places to ski!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan B, Public Relations Manager at Breckenridge Ski Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Hello Steve-
Thanks for the comment. We definitely know there are other places to ski and we appreciate that you've chosen Breck before. As with any outdoor operation, there can be difficulties and issues that come up in operating our lifts. A lot of the time, the reason lifts close at any time can be for weather, but other times it is due to a small malfunction in operations. We'd be happy to explain the issues to you if you can email us at brecksocial@vailresorts.com and be clear with the days you were here.
If you do come back to Breckenridge, please let us know as we'd like to try to elevate your experience.
Thanks!
Morgan Bast
Senior Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great for kids but expect to wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I have skied Vail, Aspen, and the entire northeast and I will say that for kids, Breckenridge is our favorite. We were there from Christmas to New Years so it was insanely busy and the lift lines at the base were loooong. But we had fresh powder for 3 of the days and the kids (7 and 10) loved ski school and their instructors. We stayed at a ski in, ski out, which was expensive but worth it. Everyone was friendly, but I will tell you there is the prevailing west coast attitude. We heard "its all good" and "no worries" a lot, even though Christy Sports gave me ski boots 2 sizes too small and told me to wait in line, which 45 minutes later was no picture. And prepare to wait for an hour for dinner everwhere in town. However, we did go during the most busy week of the year and if you take it as a given that you will have to wait in lines, patience pays off! We will be back.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome ski resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Might sound crazy, but i found Breck even better than Vail! Great slopes, fantastic views. And not to posh. It is real over here. Perfect parking lot down at the gondola at peak 8, great connections. Good for all levels of skiers or boarders.
Visited Peak 6 - 7 - 8 - 9! Awesome snowrides.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metropolis, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Skiing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Peak 6 was great, blue trails from the top of the mountain, gave a bowl experience with the ease of blue trails

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Breckenridge Ski Resort also viewed

 

Been to Breckenridge Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Breckenridge Ski Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.