We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breckenridge 2014” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Der Steirmark Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Der Steirmark Condominiums to your Saves list
Der Steirmark Condominiums
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   600 South Park Ave, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel amenities
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Breckenridge 2014”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We booked this room based on location and price through Travelocity.com. The hot water heater was plentiful, but the water pressure is weak.
After booking it and then reading the reviews, we were a little worried. The reviews of Room 109 were pretty much spot on. The smell of the Mexican food (from 9:30 p.m. until we left for skiing each day) was overwhelming. Not too much noise from the restaurant. Never ate at Mi Casa due to the long wait (and having to smell Mexican food when in the room.

This room is managed by a company called Ski Country Resorts. The check-in process was rather arduous, as we had to check in at the management company location several blocks away. The two young men at the Ski Country check-in desk were extremely helpful; however, the Ski Country shuttle which was supposed to pick us up at the management company office and transport us to the room never arrived. We called the shuttle and the driver, Heather, told us she would be there in 14-20 minutes. After waiting 1/2 hour, we called Heather back and she lied to us telling us that she had been by the office several times and nobody was there. Very disappointing. The gentlemen at the desk were appalled with Heather's behavior and arranged for one of the owners to take us to our room in her personal car. The owner became rather defensive when we expressed our displeasure about being lied to by the shuttle driver, which of course led me to question the overall attitude of the company. However, we have nothing but the highest praise for the two gentlemen at the desk, who went above and beyond to make sure our experience was favorable.

Room Tip: Find out where your room is located. Make sure you don't mind the smell of Mexican food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent three nights over President's weekend in unit 106 and booked it through Expedia. The price is what enticed us and the proximity to the Peak 9 chair. The location was ideal and our studio unit was right next to the stairs to access the main street and Village area. In our unit we didn't hear the Mexican restaurant noise that others have mentioned. Besides location, there is nothing to brag about this place. The walls are crumbling, the room is terribly dated, the closets are filled with junk (old TVs, vacuum, water heaters). I could live with that given the price we paid on the prime weekend, however the room was also filthy. Lots of hair still in the bathroom and all over the towels, also every dish we took out of the cabinet had not been cleaned. Disgusting!! I don't think it was worth it even given the price. Next time we will spend a little more to have better amenities and a clean room.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We booked a stay for 3 nights, we were promised a king bed we get to the room and it was a queen. We called and they told us there was nothing they could do. The Mexican restaurant down stairs is so loud all you hear is pots and pans and Mexican music from 5am to 11pm. The decor in the room was horrible. Unit #109 we payed $400 a night for a hole in the wall. We will not be returning ever agin.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at unit 119,The Pros : the location is just fabulous, just across the lift and in the middle of town. The price is very affordable which brings us to the cons: Kind of nosy at night, very old unit,the closet was full of junk and the water heater did not work very well, it took for ever to heat water between showers, if your party is large like ours (4) then plan for a 1.30 hour shower time...
The building it self is old as well, the garage is in the basement and unless you are driving a 4x4 you will not be able to take it out during freeze or snow. The manager over at wyndham resorts "Chad" was awesomein dealing with our complains, they sent out a maintenance guy and offered an explanation on the source of the problem. Please notice this condo does not offer wifi, some websites list it as a feature, as we discovered , they do not have it.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by our stay at Der Steirmark. We booked it because we got a great deal on travelocity and being from the area I knew the location was hard to beat, but it turned out to exceed our expectations. It was nothing fancy, but very comfortable with a small private patio with a killer view where we could sit and enjoy a bottle of wine after hiking all day. Close to ski lifts and happy hours and hiking, good for any season. I know there are multiple units, but our personal experience was great!

Room Tip: Since not all rooms are the same, you might chat with someone about what you would like when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Cheaper than the rest but still great quality. Hot tub was nice out in the snow. Just a couple of feet from base of peak 9. It was perfect. Also perfect location I Main Street. The people in breck are sooooo nice. Der steirmark also had a very good Mexican restaurant and ski shop downstairs.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The location is fantastic, right near the Peak 9 base and lifts, but the condos are old with dated furniture. During our stay, there was a leak from a storm drain and we had workers walking through our unit to fix the roof because our balcony was the easiest access to the leaking roof (couldn't they have climbed up an exterior ladder??) Our room had an air bed that leaked air and a pull out couch that was all but unusable. We didn't even have sheets for the pull out bed. We looked all over the condo for the sheets for the pull out couch and then called the management company and asked for sheets. Several hours later, while we were skiing, we got a call from the management company saying that the unit has sheets and asked if we had looked all over because they didn't want to "waste their time" coming over to bring sheets if they were already there. I assured them we looked ALL OVER and they finally brought over the sheets. Interesting that they didn't mind wasting MY time having repair people in the room and calling me while skiing, but they made darn sure that their time didn't get wasted. The hot water tank for the unit was micro-sized and lasted for only one hot shower.

The rest of the facility was nice. They had a garage, large woodpile for the fireplace, and a great restaurant and ski and rental shop right in the building. The hot tub was working and very pleasant after a day of skiing. Overall, although the location was fabulous, I probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Der Steirmark Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Steirmark Condominiums

Address: 600 South Park Ave, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Der Steirmark Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From studios to two-bedroom units with lofts, Der Steiermark has a long tradition of providing great value and an excellent location. Peak 9 chairlifts, including the new Quicksilver Super6 chairlift, are directly across the street, providing easy access to the slopes. Main Street Breckenridge is half a block away, and close to Riverwalk Center with tons of shops and restaurants. Enjoy the hot tub after a day on the slopes. Each unit has a balcony, fully equipped kitchens and are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Der Steirmark Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Der Steirmark Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.