We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Der Steirmark Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Der Steirmark Condominiums to your Saves list
Der Steirmark Condominiums
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   600 South Park Ave, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel amenities
Houston, Texas
1 review
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed at unit 119,The Pros : the location is just fabulous, just across the lift and in the middle of town. The price is very affordable which brings us to the cons: Kind of nosy at night, very old unit,the closet was full of junk and the water heater did not work very well, it took for ever to heat water between showers, if your party is large like ours (4) then plan for a 1.30 hour shower time...
The building it self is old as well, the garage is in the basement and unless you are driving a 4x4 you will not be able to take it out during freeze or snow. The manager over at wyndham resorts "Chad" was awesomein dealing with our complains, they sent out a maintenance guy and offered an explanation on the source of the problem. Please notice this condo does not offer wifi, some websites list it as a feature, as we discovered , they do not have it.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alaska
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised by our stay at Der Steirmark. We booked it because we got a great deal on travelocity and being from the area I knew the location was hard to beat, but it turned out to exceed our expectations. It was nothing fancy, but very comfortable with a small private patio with a killer view where we could sit and enjoy a bottle of wine after hiking all day. Close to ski lifts and happy hours and hiking, good for any season. I know there are multiple units, but our personal experience was great!

Room Tip: Since not all rooms are the same, you might chat with someone about what you would like when booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Cheaper than the rest but still great quality. Hot tub was nice out in the snow. Just a couple of feet from base of peak 9. It was perfect. Also perfect location I Main Street. The people in breck are sooooo nice. Der steirmark also had a very good Mexican restaurant and ski shop downstairs.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookline, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The location is fantastic, right near the Peak 9 base and lifts, but the condos are old with dated furniture. During our stay, there was a leak from a storm drain and we had workers walking through our unit to fix the roof because our balcony was the easiest access to the leaking roof (couldn't they have climbed up an exterior ladder??) Our room had an air bed that leaked air and a pull out couch that was all but unusable. We didn't even have sheets for the pull out bed. We looked all over the condo for the sheets for the pull out couch and then called the management company and asked for sheets. Several hours later, while we were skiing, we got a call from the management company saying that the unit has sheets and asked if we had looked all over because they didn't want to "waste their time" coming over to bring sheets if they were already there. I assured them we looked ALL OVER and they finally brought over the sheets. Interesting that they didn't mind wasting MY time having repair people in the room and calling me while skiing, but they made darn sure that their time didn't get wasted. The hot water tank for the unit was micro-sized and lasted for only one hot shower.

The rest of the facility was nice. They had a garage, large woodpile for the fireplace, and a great restaurant and ski and rental shop right in the building. The hot tub was working and very pleasant after a day of skiing. Overall, although the location was fabulous, I probably won't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed in unit #119,which was a studio with a king bed. The unit is older, but was very clean. The bed was very soft and probably needs to be replaced. It faces Park Ave, so it does get quite loud with the traffic of trucks and buses going by. I'd recommend getting a unit on the other side of the building. The hot tub was HOT - too hot for us to even get all the way in, which was disappointing. We didn't notice anyone else in there during our stay - but we were there during the week, so maybe it was slow. It was nice to have a place covered parking space in the garage under the building but the elevator has a mind of it's own (wouldn't change floors and just kept the door open) so we used the stairs the entire time.
The location is fantastic - you don't even need your car while you are in town. Plenty of restaurants and bars within walking distance. We didn't smell or hear any noise from the mexican restaurant on the lower level.

It was an alright place, but will probably try somewhere else next time...or maybe just an updated unit that doesn't face the street.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here late October 2010 for 2 nights. The check in was easy, once you found the hotel, and the hotel staff was GREAT. We received our key and continued to the condo. After passing it once, we went down the very steep driveway to the underground parking. There were only about 4 other vehicles in the garage and my boyfriend has a habit of parking in more than one space to "protect the car". Seeing as there were many more spaces we didn't see an issue, but the "owner" did and gave us a visit to tell us (rather rudely) to move because they were expecting more people (who never came). This was pretty late that night I believe. We made our way to our room which was pretty nice, but the heater wasn't working well (either freezing or burning). We then decided to go exploring in the car since it was snowing like crazy and a little chilly. WRONG! We couldn't get out of the driveway. It was completely frozen and after many tried to help we called the free shuttle service provided by the hotel. They sent a nice big pick-up truck and that lady tried to help us up the driveway too, but failed. We finally gave up (since we never received a shuttle and the lady in the pick-up didn't act like we were riding with her) and started to walk. Funny thing was, now that big 4 wheel drive pick-up was stuck too!! The next morning, very early (about 6am), there was a knock on the door. We didn't answer because we were still in bed. About an hour or so later another knock. I got up to see what it was, by this time already upset from getting woken up so early while on vacation. It was the "owner" and she let us know that they had put sand down on the driveway. We were able to get out that day and drive around. We were very hesitant about going back down the driveway for the night, but there was nowhere else to park. Also, there is a hot tub in the inner courtyard, but it was closed and covered with snow. That would have been nice after having to walk the first night.

It was a decent room for the price, but I think we will try some place different next time. I would rather pay a little more and not get woken early or stuck in a garage.

The condo is also located above a Mexican restaurant. If you like smelling food all the time then this isn't a big problem, but it did get a little annoying. The restaurant on the other hand was GREAT! We were wishing we would have eaten there the whole time. The Mango Duck Quesadilla and Chorizo Quesadilla were honestly the best we have ever had!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed at #204 which is a one bedroom condo with a loft. The loft can actually sleep 4 people (3 beds) so there is heaps of room. The decor isn't overly modern but it was fine and the place was clean.

The condo is on the shuttle route with the stop right outside and there is a mexican restaurant and ski hire in the building. The building is right opposite the entrance to the Peak 9 lift so you can walk to the lift.

The hot tub is great and was never too busy even though we were there during President's weekend.

We booked the condo direct from Nona at http://www.breckenridgecondos.net

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Der Steirmark Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Steirmark Condominiums

Address: 600 South Park Ave, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 76 Specialty Lodging in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Der Steirmark Condominiums 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From studios to two-bedroom units with lofts, Der Steiermark has a long tradition of providing great value and an excellent location. Peak 9 chairlifts, including the new Quicksilver Super6 chairlift, are directly across the street, providing easy access to the slopes. Main Street Breckenridge is half a block away, and close to Riverwalk Center with tons of shops and restaurants. Enjoy the hot tub after a day on the slopes. Each unit has a balcony, fully equipped kitchens and are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Der Steirmark Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Der Steirmark Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.