We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality, beautiful setting, great location. Best in Breckenridge!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Thunder Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Thunder Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Thunder Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 30%
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ames, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“High quality, beautiful setting, great location. Best in Breckenridge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

This was our second stay at Mountain Thunder Lodge in two years. We returned because of our wonderful first experience and were thrilled that this year's experience was even better. Our three bedroom unit was immaculate, updated, expansive and provided breathtaking views of the mountains. There were large flat screen TV's in each room with digital cable, a fully equipped kitchen and quality bath linens. Plus, this is literally just a couple of blocks walking distance from Main Street and downtown Breckenridge. There's also underground parking, swimming, hot tub and a nicely equipped workout room. All of this, plus reasonable pricing (considering the quality and location) and warm, friendly and enthusiastic front desk staff means we'll certainly be back and recommend this place to all our friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    77
    20
    13
    5
See reviews for
214
124
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burke, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

Followed Trip Advisor's ratings and booked a last-minute 2 bedroom condo here right after the 4th of July. It was exactly what we were looking for -- spacious accomodations at a great price, in a perfect location, and with staff and service that exceeded our expectations. We were especially happy with the location, which made walking to everywhere in town a breeze. Breckenridge is a great alternative to other shopper-focused resort choices.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We went with Mountain Thunder Lodge after a recommendation from the Breckenridge travel specialist Matt in the Trip Advisor Forums. We needed a 3 bedroom place within walking distance of town that was quiet and that had views. We didn’t quite get everything, but our stay was enjoyable.

RESERVATIONS

We reserved a 3 bedroom townhouse for just over $1000 for 3 nights which came out to around $80/person per night. There was a mix up on the credit card number, but it was resolved quickly. We requested a townhome for which we would not hear traffic noise and would prefer views. We were not granted either of those requests.

ARRIVAL

The property is just off Hwy 9 and guest services is promptly to the right after the entrance. The lobby was attractive and clean. We had a bit of a wait at the front desk while the hotel person complained to other guests about picky New York guests. It is bad practice to complain about customers no matter how accurate the complaints might be. Check-in was straightforward, but there wasn’t a lot of information provided. After given our keys we found our town home which backed to a tall set of condos. The road noise from Ski Hill Rd. was very noticeable.

LOCATION

Other than in summer, the location is very good. It is a 5 minute walk to town which is very convenient. However, we had wanted a nice place to sit outside and enjoy the views, but instead found a couple of chairs on the ground floor (no balcony) with views of the condos next door, and road noise (very uninviting). It looks like some town homes would not have this issue, so guess it’s the luck of the draw. To get to City Market (King Soopers), a large grocery store, turn left down the road and it is nearby on your right. The free Summit Shuttle (where you can go to Frisco, Copper Mountain etc.) is very close as well (to the left). Mountain Thunder Lodge has a shuttle service as well, but with town so close (and we weren’t skiing), we never used it. The fully paved Blue River Bikeway is also nearby. You can bike it, but we decided to run the 9 miles downhill (600 foot elevation drop) to Frisco and then catch the free Summit shuttle back. It was fabulous!

OUR TOWNHOME

Our 3 bedroom place inside was very clean and pleasant. We had vaulted ceilings in the living room and a nice fully equipped wide open kitchen (with granite), and a proper dining table. We really liked the décor. All 3 bedrooms had connecting bathrooms although the bedroom downstairs also served as a general bathroom (2 doors). Despite the floor plan on the web site suggesting otherwise, one of the bedrooms had bunk beds. Fortunately our 71 year old family friend didn’t mind, but a couple would. The full master suite bath was perfect, and everyone found the beds comfortable. As long as you didn’t open the windows, road noise wasn’t a problem. We found a few items that didn’t work, and note that the “2 car garage” can only fit medium size vehicles as the single doors are VERY narrow (there is other outside parking). The televisions had not been updated to flat screens yet, and there is no HD. Cable is provided, and we used WiFi for a few minutes (there was something about free for an hour, but then you pay - but not sure). iPhone AT&T coverage including 3G was very good so we didn’t need WiFi. The pool is small, and the multiple hot tubs were small but were actually hot.

SERVICE

We found the service perfunctory at best. There wasn’t the usual information provided in the townhome about hiking, biking, etc. In talking to the front desk we felt we were just being sold “guided” hikes and other paid activities. A library of books about hiking, biking and the area would have been much more useful. We went into town and bought a book on hikes.

RESTAURANTS

We cooked some of the time, but had some great meals out. We enjoyed the Breckenridge Brew Pub, we sat out on the balcony and enjoyed cold beers while looking at the mountains (the food was acceptable). We loved Le Petit Paris and Giampietro Pizzeria (see my reviews).

Overall, Mountain Thunder Lodge was quite convenient, really nice inside, and pretty good value for a large party. So even though the service wasn’t great, and the road noise was more than we would have liked (only when the windows were open), we would consider staying here again (in a different unit).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

After much searching we settled on the Mountain Thunder Lodge for our ski trip to Breckenridge with our four kids. It was a great choice. The property is located near the Breck Connect gondola. If you have your skis it might be just a little to far to walk (although we did several times) to the gondola but don't worry the lodge provides a shuttle that we never waited more than a few minutes for. I should also add the shuttle will take you anywhere in Breckenridge. At the end of the skiing day you can ski right back to the property on an easy run. The lodge has a great pool (outdoor, which the kids loved when it snowed one night) with two hot tubs and then several other hot tubs that surround the townhomes on the property. The staff is extremely helpful with advice on activities in the area and restaurants etc. I also have to say I felt the price was very reasonable for a two bedroom townhome during spring break. Bottom line: this is a great spot in Breckenridge and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

we stayed in a two bedroom town house with our family of 5. it was very comfortable with plenty of room to spread out. very nice furnishings which were comfortable and up to date. great kitchen. great bathrooms. washer and dryer were very handy. super efficient shuttle service to gondola and easy ski back to the resort. front desk help was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

My wife and I were looking for a nice place to stay while in Breckenridge for a few days. I looked at a lot of places from condo to hotels. I found the Mountain Thunder Lodge on the breckenridge.com website. Having never been to Breckenridge, I checked TripAdvisor for feedback from fellow members. Other TripAdvisor members had rating this lodge highly -- thanks everyone!!

Once I made reservation, the Mountain Thunder Lodge team provided us with updates on our arrival. We arrived the lodge on a Tuesday afternoon. We were warmly greeted by the staff and provided with information on the lodge and surrounding area.

We selected a studio condo for our stay. The studio was spotless and had all of the neccessites for a great stay; stove, microwave, dishwasher, cookware, etc. Everything was new and polished. The studio was decorated with lots of mountain-themed items, which added to the warm atmosphere. We had plenty of space to spread out and relax. Our studio had a great view of the mountain from the balcony and a fireplace to set the perfect mood.

The overall lodge was spotless as well. Every staff member was friendly and very customer-service oriented. We had great recommendation for restaurants and things to do. Coffee/tea/hot chocolate are available in the lobby each morning if you don't make your own in your kitchen.

The lodge offers an on-call shuttle service to everywhere in town, which we really appreciated on days when the snowstorms blew through town or when carrying ski equipment. Need to go shopping or go out for dinner? The shuttle was ready. Have lots of ski equipment to take to the ski lift? The shuttle was ready!

The lodge offers an outdoor heated swimming pool, plus has several outdoor got tubs located throughout the property. A great way to get the kinks out of a cold day of skiing or snowboarding.

Did I mention quiet? The lodge was very quiet and peaceful.

We look forward to visiting Breckenridge during the winter and summer. We will always stay at the Mountain Thunder Lodge!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kmod75
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

This complex really is top-notch. It has everything you need and is very close to Breckenridge's famed Main Street. We stayed in a 3 bedroom condo and it was perfect for 3 couples. All three rooms have either king/queens and their own bath/shower. (one of them is detached, but no big deal...we knew that going into it) The staff is extremely helpful and responds with literally no wait. Our TV was missing the remote and the staff had it replaced within 10 minutes. There was a fireplace, too, which adds to the ambience at night. Full size kitchen area makes it good for cooking in as well.

Our reason for going was to ski. I've read a few reviews regarding the ski in/ski out situation. It's true that this is not a ski-out resort. But the resort is literally half a block away from the Gondola.....5 minute walk TOPS. It's hardly an issue. Regarding the ski-in, no questions there...extremely convenient with 2 different entrances. And I should also say that Breckenridge skiing is great.

I look forward to visiting this resort and Breckenridge itself again soon!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Thunder Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.