We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mud Season Stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Thunder Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Thunder Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Thunder Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 30%
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Breckenridge
Lubbock, TX
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Mud Season Stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We purposely chose to stay at Mountain Thunder Lodge as a side trip while visiting family in the Denver area. I had never heard of the term "mud season", but now understand it is the time between winter ski season and summer in Breckenridge.

We very much enjoyed the accommodations in the 2-BR, 2-Bath townhome unit we had for our four night stay. The layout of the townhome was very nice and the unit we had provided a very nice view of the pool and hot tub area as well as the mountains. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Facilities were well maintained. Beds were comfortable. Nice to have an inside entry pull-in garage with automatic door as part of the unit. We enjoyed using the heated pool and one of four hot tubs on the property.

The lodge location is very close to old downtown, so walking is very doable. If you want to avoid using your own vehicle and finding parking that is somewhat limited in town, you have use of the resort's free shuttle service. We didn't use the shuttle since tourist activity was a bit slower while we were there.

There is no food or bar service at the resort, other than what is brought in for special events, but in the townhome you have a full kitchen with utensils.

If you are not going to be in Breckenridge during the ski or summer seasons, expect a number of restaurants and shops to be temporarily closed. That being said you can still find enough places to go and enjoy without the crowds.

As far as Mountain Thunder Lodge goes, this is where we would definitely stay were we to vacation again in Breckenridge.

Room Tip: There is really not a bad location on the property in our opinion. We preferred an interior townhom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    67
    15
    13
    4
See reviews for
177
110
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed at Mountain Thunder Lodge over Memorial Day weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was very clean and our condo was fabulous. Withing walking distance of Main Street with great amenities like free wifi and great pools/hot tubs. Will surely be back here on our next trip here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

A group of friends and myself stayed at the Mountain Thunder Lodge the week of March 25. It was awesome!

We took a rental car from Denver airport to the Frisco Transfer Center, then caught the complimentary summit bus from the transfer center right to the bus stop across from the Mt Thunder lodge. I would definitely recommend this, especially if traveling with a group, as it is way cheaper to split a rental car from the airport than taking the summit airport shuttles! Anyway...

We stayed in a three bedroom condo with 8 people, rotating each night so that at some point everyone had to sleep on the pull out couch in the living room. The bedrooms were large and comfortable.The kitchen was large and very nice. Our balcony overlooked the town of Breckenridge and it was beautiful to sit out there at night and see the snow covered buildings and also look up at the stars. There are a few hot tubs on the grounds and we utilized the one behind the main lobby, which overlooks the end of a ski run. Lots of fun! We utilized the ski run behind the lodge with sleds and practicing with snowboards and skis which was super fun and convenient as well.

The Peak 8 Gondola was a half mile walk from the lodge, but the complimentary Mountain Thunder Lodge bus would drop you off there as well. Super convenient!

Staff was super friendly and courteous at all times. Definitely would stay here again the next time we travel out west!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a great property. The staff is friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Plus, and most importantly, the units are beautifully maintained and spacious. We stayed here this past winter and have already booked our stay for next February, as well.

One thing to remember is it is easy to miss the turn off to your ski in/ski out section. If you do, that will put you at the end of 4 o'clock run which is nowhere near the condo, so make sure you don't miss the turn off!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have stayed here a few times over the years with my husbands family and really enjoyed our trips here. It's a very nice hotel with great rooms and its very convenient having the kitchen. It's a good location, just a few minutes away from the Main Street in Breckenridge. There's lots of things to do and restaurants nearby. Would definitely recommend this place as a weekend getaway!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

MTL is seriously the best value you could ask for in Breckenridge. Im going to keep this short and straight to the point because my day awaits me.
I have traveled to this town before staying at Wedgewood Lodge which is always rated highly alongside MTL. However, MTL is SOOO much better. Let me break it down for you - its a nicely adorned clean lodge that has a very welcoming spacious lobby. You arrive and you're pleased. Its a solid first impression. Then they tell you as you check in that there is a shuttle that will take you anywhere around town - it comes and goes constantly throughout the day well into the late evening and you can call it from your destination for pickups. Transportation - check. Convenience - check. Want more? The gondola is within walking distance - about several hundred yards. Its an easy walk. I choose ski-in, ski-outs for a reason people. I'm lazy until I get on the mountain. Also within walking distance - adorable little Main street. Now, I will be upfront and say that a few times I did call the shuttle to pick me up because I happened to be on the far side of Main street away from the lodge. There is no shame in asking for a little pick-me up right? For you plant-lovers out there the Breckenridge Cannibis Club is about midway down street, not far from the Crepe Company. That was planned like that right? And when you're ready for real food, there is a grocery store about 5min from MTL (5min drive that is). Hop on that little aforementioned shuttle and go yourself something of substance. You cannot eat crepes for the whole vacation. Skiing, snowboarding, shopping, smoking, free shuttles... this is where its at. Don't look any further. Cheers!
P.S. there is a free happy hour in the lobby on Fridays. But beware - you get what you pay for and if you don't pay anything... well then. It cant all be perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARRISON TOWNSHIP
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

What a great location. Close to slopes, town, groceries, etc. We rarely drove anywhere while in Brek. Our condo was well appointed and clean (most important), 2 bd 2 bath works great for us. Although we were close to everything we still took the shuttle a fair amount of times. The drivers were great, never waited more than 5-10 min. The pool and hot tubs hit the spot! We used them everyday. The kids always enjoy swimming in the cold weather.. We loved soaking our sore muscles.. We also went to one skill hill (sister property) to use the bowling alley, nice activity off the slopes. If we were to come back, I'd stay here again. Great family fun.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#1 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Thunder Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.