We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ski paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Thunder Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mountain Thunder Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mountain Thunder Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 30%
Ranked #1 of 23 hotels in Breckenridge
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“ski paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Wonderful ski vacation for our family. The condo was perfect for our family of 4 (my husband and I with our two boys - under the age of 10). It was marketed as ski in-ski out but it was actually a short walk to gondola that takes you to Peak 8. This is only an issue when helping your kids carry their things when you are super tired! You can take a trail all the way back to Mountain Thunder which is really nice. Also, the hot tub over looking that run is nice way to cap off the day! All others things considered this was a great place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    58
    13
    11
    4
See reviews for
165
94
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

It was wonderful. Our first time in Breckenridge and boy did the trip advisers not let us down. I t was the last full week of ski season so it was pretty quiet, seemed as we had the whole place to ourselves. Did not try the pool, but the hot tub was wonderful. The room had everything that one would need for a vacation. Used the shuttle only once and glad it was there. Very close to downtown so we did a lot of walking. Heated garage it great! Would stay again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed at MTL for our 3 day ski trip at Breckenridge, during spring break, and this place was way more than we had imagined. We picked Breckenridge over Vail because it is less touristy, and more affordable, and most importantly, not as crowded as Vail. And MTL's staff was super helpful and very friendly. Always offerred great restaurant suggestions, called the shuttle bus for us, etc. You wake up, gear up, eat breakfast in the room (we got some bagels, milk and eggs from the grocer store less than half a mile away), call for the shuttle, and within a couple of minutes, your're on the slopes! Our 6-year old daughter was equally thrilled and enjoyed just as much. Peak 7, Peak 8 are accessible by a gondola which is just a block away from this lodge. Snowboarders will find it easy to just walk it instead of geting on a shuttle bus. Peak 9's base is about a half a mile away. But free shuttle rides (you should consider tipping though) make the whole experience so easy. To top it off, you can take the 4 o' clock trail from Peak 8 at closing time, and ski straight back to the lodge! Unbeatable! We've been telling all our friends and family that

Room Tip: The one-bedroom suite is more than you can ask for, for a family of 3. Its spacious, clean, has a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful furnished home, every utensil you would need in the kitchen, very clean and we skied right up to the home! Hot tub was amazing . Only problem is that it closed to early :(
Located right in town , great convenient shuttle service !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed just one night at this property in Breckenridge for some Spring Break skiing. As only half our group was skiing, plan was to use town home and resort amenities for non-skiers. That plan didn't work as well as hoped, with only a 30-minute check-out time extension and the refusal of the front desk to secure a shuttle ride to related property at the base of Peak 8. The literature in the room and website encourage guests to enjoy the amenities at One Ski Hill Place, but then they won't take you there? That was a major let-down. Yes, they offered to shuttle us over to the gondola, but people afraid of heights do not want to ride the gondola.

Upon check-in, "upgraded" to a 3-bedroom condo instead of 2-room town home. Condos don't have their own washer/dryer, and the townhomes have private garage, but otherwise similar amenities. Condo was fairly clean and comfortable. If we had turned on the ceiling fan, would have been showered in dust. You might want the ceiling fan on to help with the overheating. You have no control over the room temp other than opening windows.

View of the mountains from balcony was spectacular. The fake plants/flowers in the condo mostly look tired and dated, but other decor fine. Free Wi-Fi worked fine for family with multiple laptops, smartphones, iPads all going at once. Allotted a ski locker in the lobby as they request no skis/bicycles to be stored in rooms. Nice rack of hooks by condo entrance for hanging coats, with bench for putting on footwear, very good idea to keep those muddy shoes corralled by the door.

Although you have to cross a fairly busy street (or hop on the ski-in trail, which has stairs to an under-street tunnel), it is an easy walk to the downtown area with lots of shopping and dining options. Dinner at Blue River Bistro was delicious, even tho sat in noisy bar area. Breckenridge is a charming town to visit, whether you ski or not.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The resort is in a great location. Walking distance to the gondola or town but shuttles always available if you don't want to walk. It was nice to be able to ski back to the room.

We reserved a 2 bedroom condo. The room was somewhat dated. Not enough drawers in the bedrooms instead there sat big armoires that once held big tvs. The tvs had been replaced with flat screens placed on top of the units. The old armoires stand in every room. These armoires should be replaced with furniture that had more drawers. The closets were small and cluttered with the condos storage. Closets should have been emptied of storage items. It housed Old pictures, equipment, boxes ect. Barely enough room to hold the luggage that were nested inside each other to fit. Closet fit one large bag in it comfortably. The bags could not fit under Beds as the beds were to low to the ground to slide luggage underneath. The 2 small closets were the only option to store luggage.
Only 3 drawers in the armoire were in each bedroom. We were on a week long ski vacation with 3 kids and 2 adults . We had a lot of stuff with use. 6 drawers were not NOT nearly enough space for all our winter clothing .

Also housekeeping seemed to come every other day and not always a full clean. Wished they did a full clean every day. Not sure if that's the policy.

Controlling the heat was miserable and impossible!!! The 1st two days we set the heat on the lowest setting and it was like a sauna. We then turned it off completely for the entire time. I'm not sure if it was because we were in the main building but it always felt like it was in the 90's .. Horribly hot! We would ski for the day and come back to condo to find an uncomfortable hotbox. It was like walking into a sweat lodge. We would need to open the balcony door and all the widows for about 15-20 minutes to cool it off. The condo was very well insulated from outside noise if the balcony door and windows were shut, however this was not possible. It was so hot in the unit we were forced to leave windows open every night which lead to very noisy evenings. We had the heat off and it was unbelievably hot!! NEVER felt anything like this!!

As we were skiing everyday and with small children we would have the kids in bed by 9pm. I realize this is early but kids need sleep. Noise wouldn't have been a problem if I could have shut the windows. The children were awakened almost every night at midnight 1 am or 2am by people walking and laughing outside.
Please note the laughing people didn't do anything wrong. If I didn't have 3 small children I would have been right there with them probably laughing the loudest at 2am but alias I was spending my nights trying to rock an overtired cranky 2 1/2 yr old back to sleep.

I think this property could be excellent if they updated the furniture and fixed the heating issue. They have the location and a wonderful friendly helpful staff they just need to make a few tweaks. If I knew they fixed the heating issues and added some drawers I would stay there again in a heartbeat. If not, I would try another location when traveling with children.

Hope this helps!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We took a family 5 there including 3 girls under 14. Overall I'd say it was "good". Not sure I'd stay there again but I MIGHT. The rooms were spacious....we had two bedrooms in the min lodge with a kitchen efficiency. First thing to know....we were on the 4th floor and our space stayed "smoking hot". No central air so we left the patio door and windows open all the time. This kept s cold a lot....but it was better than burning up.

Staff is amazing. They were highly responsive. 110%!

The shuttle was good, although we were left twice in situations where we called the shuttle and they no showed. I understand its possibly an isolated situation. But that was our experience.

I liked the ski in. I wish getting to a ski lift was easier. The shuttle to the gondola with kids is not easy....but we knew that. You can't really walk it with kids.

The hot tub and pools were great. Kids loved them.

Housekeeping was "sporadic". And we struggled with dirty towels and left wondering what their schedule was. I'd say the housekeeping was below average.

Overall.....I'd go again....but I wasn't won over to it being a return visit.

But not a waste either.

Room Tip: The Lowe the floor the less likely the rising heat will keep your room hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#1 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#4 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Thunder Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.