We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it with some minor concerns” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Thunder Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mountain Thunder Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Thunder Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 30%
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Breckenridge
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Worth it with some minor concerns”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We took a family 5 there including 3 girls under 14. Overall I'd say it was "good". Not sure I'd stay there again but I MIGHT. The rooms were spacious....we had two bedrooms in the min lodge with a kitchen efficiency. First thing to know....we were on the 4th floor and our space stayed "smoking hot". No central air so we left the patio door and windows open all the time. This kept s cold a lot....but it was better than burning up.

Staff is amazing. They were highly responsive. 110%!

The shuttle was good, although we were left twice in situations where we called the shuttle and they no showed. I understand its possibly an isolated situation. But that was our experience.

I liked the ski in. I wish getting to a ski lift was easier. The shuttle to the gondola with kids is not easy....but we knew that. You can't really walk it with kids.

The hot tub and pools were great. Kids loved them.

Housekeeping was "sporadic". And we struggled with dirty towels and left wondering what their schedule was. I'd say the housekeeping was below average.

Overall.....I'd go again....but I wasn't won over to it being a return visit.

But not a waste either.

Room Tip: The Lowe the floor the less likely the rising heat will keep your room hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    64
    15
    12
    4
See reviews for
176
107
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I have been meaning to write a review of Mountain Thunder Lodge after I had such an amazing experience there last September. I booked my family last minute for 3 nights. i wasn't sure what to expect. From the moment we drove up, we were in awe. The staff and property is breath taking. We had a 2 bedroom that was huge, clean and comfortable. I have traveled many places, but this was by far the best. I will be returning very soon. HIGHLY recommend. You can't beat the location. It's just a short walk into town. My husband found the best Cigar and novelties shop right down the street called Slopeside Cigars. We bought back some of the most unique gifts and my husband enjoyed fresh Cigars on our patio in the evening. Great place!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked this place because of high reviews and it didn't disappoint. It is the perfect location if you want easy access to gondola AND Main Street. The shuttle service picked us up within minutes and were always very friendly. We stayed in the townhomes which were great accommodations. Only disappointment was that our view could have been better- it was mostly of the other townhomes and garage. I would definitely read up on altitude sickness before you go to Breckenridge. We had 4 adults and 3 kids and all of us experienced trouble sleeping, headaches and queasiness. 2 of our kids were severely ill for most of the trip!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent 2 nights in a one bedroom suite. Booking was easy and very helpful. They got me my rental car and lift tickets as well. When we arrived early, they were able to accommodate us immediately and we got in a full day on the slopes. The room was large, comfortable and quiet. On site staff provided excellent service. We would book here again! Two small problems, the rooms are hot with no ability to control temperature except to open window. The sofa bed was un-sleepable. They were able to give us an extra mattress.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Awesome. Large apartment-style rooms. Full kitchen with all cooking equipment. Free use of communal washers/dryers. Convenient location close to town and BreckConnect gondola. No A/C which shouldn’t usually be an issue, but we happened to visit during record-breaking high temperatures (in June). Only a short walk to the centre of town. One downside is that there is a mandatory resort fee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis/St. Paul
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Mountain Thunder Lodge in February 2013. We had a one bedroom condo right at the base of Peak 8. From the moment we checked in, the service and quality surpassed our expectations. The room itself was spacious, modern, cozy and clean. The bathroom was huge and the kitchen, living room and fireplace felt very cozy and the decor fit the mountain theme perfectly. We had a fantastic view of the mountain and we were put in a corner unit, giving us a wrap around balcony that gave us great views in two directions.

We used the hot tub each day after skiing and they were great! The hot tub closest to the main lodge reception desk was hardly in use and much of the time we had it to ourselves. One of the best features of this resort is the shuttle transportation. You never had to wait for a shuttle and they were available 24/7. We used them to get to the gondola, to the village and restaurants. So convenient and the drivers very nice. We also had underground heated parking which was a plus.

I can't say enough about the staff and the conditions of the resort. I had somewhat high expectations given some disappointment we experienced at a different ski resort last year and this place exceeded my hopes. The price was very competitive and to ski in right to our condo was really nice at the end of the day. Note that from our location it is not a ski out. You do need to shuttle to one of the lifts or gondola to get started. However, the ski in made the final run of the day very convenient and relaxing. We came back to the condo for lunch on both days and enjoyed snacks and wine by the fire. The shuttles were so quick, we were back on the slopes in no time.

You can easily walk to town (maybe 2-3 blocks) and everything is very accessible. We would definitely recommend this resort to friends and family and will stay here again if we return to Breckenridge for another ski trip.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Lodge is located in center of Breck attractions, town/skiing. Room was as advertised and looked like reviewer added pics. Bring your swimming duds. The novelty of swimming and hot tub in the steam and snow is worth it! We didn't have any trouble with either. The heated covered parking is a nice touch. Free internet. Breck connect gondola is within walking distance. Parking at Breck connect is $12, so you may want to consider the shuttle if you have a problem with parking cost or walkig with ski boots .Get to goldola early as long lines form in late morning. Lodge reviews say town is within walking distance but I don't know if I'd want to do it in cold/snow, safety concern. We were able to find parking behind the shops on holiday weekend. Back to the lodge, complete kitchen with pots/pans, coffee maker, micro etc..fireplace with auto ignite and timmer. Bath is suffiecient but not elaborate. No lounge/resturant on site. Not a problem as town is only a minute away. Grocery is very close. Very easy to get to from DIA 70 west to 9 south..that's it!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Thunder Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.