We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ski in, Gondola to Peaks 7 or 8, 1/4 mile to Main St.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Thunder Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Thunder Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Thunder Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ski in, Gondola to Peaks 7 or 8, 1/4 mile to Main St.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I can't say enough about this place. The room, 1BR condo, was spacious, clean, and well equipped (comfy beds with nice linens, everything you need to cook meals or keep/heat up leftovers, watch movies [2 40" LCD TVs], and enjoy an evening in). Very easy access to the Gondola with access to Peaks 7 and 8 (walk across the street or there's always a shuttle standing by to take you). Ski in on easy trails for everyone (pop in for lunch then back on the slopes in 15 min and coast in at the end of the day). Ski lockers, friendly staff ready for anything, hot tub right on the slopes perfect after a long day carving some trails, and heated parking garage. Location is terrific; walk or short drive to Main Street for great food and night life. We'll be back and we're pretty tough to please.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    84
    21
    13
    5
See reviews for
229
128
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We have been coming to Breckenridge for 16 years, both winter and summer, and have stayed in condominiums each time. This is the best place we have stayed in. First service-wise. The front desk is ALWAYS available and staffed with amiable people who are on top of helping you. [e.g. Neither of our keys worked, it was 7:30 a.m. and we were not in the main building. We had someone at our door in less than 5 minutes.] The shuttle is available and fast. They were at our door to take us to lifts within 5 minutes of our calling. [We called and then started putting our boots on and they were there. We were under the impression we would have to wait longer...] They clean your rooms and would do dishes daily. We have stayed in condos where this is not the case, especially condos privately owned. We didn't need that done because we came prepared to "reuse" but did get towels once in our 4 days. The lobby has a drink station where you can buy juice and water; there is also complementary coffee. Right off of the lobby is also a fireplace and chairs.
Next, the place. We had a townhouse/condo, number 704. It is a 2-bedroom unit with a garage. Everything is upstairs except the garage and the door through which you enter the condo. Kitchen is stainless steel appliances with granite counters - not sure if they worked, we do not cook when on vacation. There is a great room with (kitchen) dining area and living room. Dining table seats 6 - nice table; living room has nice furniture with fireplace and flat screen TV with DVD player. High ceilings and ceiling fan finish room. Master suite in small but has all you need with comfortable queen bed, flat screen TV, DVD player and large bathroom with tub and separate large shower. Second bedroom has queen bed (didn't use so not sure how comfortable it is) and is connected to second bathroom that is open also to the great room. The great room opens to a small balcony with a couple of chairs.
this unit was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mammoth Lakes, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This was our first trip to Breckenridge. Everything about Mountain Thunder Lodge was top notch!
The manager, Jonathon Fillman, was very accommodating and professional. The front desk staff were extremely helpful, and the shuttle service was immediate with every driver courteous and at your service. We were very impressed! Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We are a family of 4 with 2 teens (1 boy and 1 girl). We rented a 2 bedroom condo and asked for a 2nd bedroom with 2 twins (I was told by reservations that 60% of the 2 bedroom condos had 2 king beds while 40% had 1 king and 2 twins). While checking in I was told that there is only 1 condo in all of Mountain Thunder like that. If that's what you need you'll want to ask for room 5301. That has a king in one bedroom and 2 twins in the other. It is very spacious. The condo is near the elevator but you can't hear it, it's 2 doors away from the laundry room but it's quiet. The area was very quiet and we stayed over a weekend. 5301 was in building 5. The location of the room couldn't have been better.

Pros of Mountain Thunder Lodge::
- The shuttle- USE IT! You call a number and they pick you up in front of the building and take you wherever you want to go. Call again and they'll pick you up. They come right away. We never waited more than 3-5 minutes.
- The laundry facilities are FREE. No need for quarters unless you need to buy Tide or Clorox 2.
- You can walk to the Gondola if you want. It's not far but I'd take the shuttle especially if you have kids.
- The front desk people were awesome. Bobby did a great job and was very kind.
- The grocery store (City Market) is diagonal from the lodge. It takes just a couple of minutes to get there.
- Underground, heated parking!
- Coffee supplies including Starbucks in it's own filter, sugar/sugar substitute
- Hot tubs and outdoor heated pool
- Cleaning people put away the dishes and ran the dishwasher each day.

Cons:
- No kitchen towels. I called the front desk to ask for towels but for some reason they said there weren't any. I didn't understand this and no one really explained to me if it was our condo or if it was the entire building.
- The toilet ran but the maintenance guy came right away and tried to fix it but he said he needed to change out the toilet and we never saw him again. We had to turn off the water to the toilet at night because it kept us up.

Overall this place was great. Beds were comfy, customer service was excellent. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a 2 bedroom condo with one king and 2 twins, ask for room 5301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Upon arriving our room appeared to be tidy and clean except for behind the bathroom door which was dusty with hairs on the floor. The bathroom counter also had a few stray hairs. I promptly wiped the counter clean. There was also a few bits of cereal under one of the legs of the couch where the vacuum couldn't reach. Everything else was clean and fresh. I know I'm being picky but it was what it was. I'm giving it a 4 because it was still cleaner than average. The staff always had our room clean with new towels, dishes clean in the dishwasher and the bed made. The gas fireplace was also a nice feature. The room was quiet with the exception of Friday evening (which you would expect) but was quiet by 10:30. There was also a humidifier in the closet which helps with the dry Breckinridge air.

There are 4 hot tubs on site. 2 are around the pool and the other 2 are towards the back of the property. We visited three during our stay. The first on the upper side of the pool was not hot and needed to be cleaned. The other tub near the pool was hot but had sand in the bottom. The third tub was towards the back was the cleanest and hottest of the bunch.

The location is good but not great. It's a 5 min walk to the breck connect gondola which is across the street with pedestrian access via an underground walkway (lots of steps). I recommend using the free shuttle and have it take you to the beaver run lift. The ski in however is fantastic and what you would expect. On Tuesday evening we got a call from the front desk staff asking us if we wanted first tracks at no extra charge! We jumped at the chance to get on the slopes an hour before the general public and carve up some fresh powder. It was definitely our best day in breck!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This place is amazing. We went with our 13 and 11 year old kids, and they each brought a friend. We had a 2 bedroom condo that was well equipped, ski in and the Gondola was just across the road a bit. The outdoor pool, which I was leery about, was a huge hit with the kids. It was fun to sit in the hot tub while the powder snow frosted our hair. We were also able to use the indoor pool at One Ski Hill place. The staff was amazing and the girl at the front desk was born for her position. I wish I remembered her name! It would be nice if there was a lounge or food on site. (I was our cook.) I dreaded going somewhere cold for break- I'm an ocean girl, and i will not hesitate to plan another trip here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This place was awesome. We got the one bedroom condo and it was perfect. We have a 3 and 6 year old who got the hide a bed and my husband and I had the bedroom. Full kitchen was great and on premise free laundry was awesome. So close to skiing. We entertained friends the place was so big. We had 10 at one point for pizza and still wasn't cramped. We used the bowling alley at the sister property and had a blast. Pool and hot tub was awesome. We were in building 5 and used underground parking. The only thing someone wrote that I would agree is the temp in the room. I just cracked the window and patio door so it wasn't bad, but it did get warm. We had enough snow for ski in so that was great.

Room Tip: I liked building 5
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Thunder Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.