We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Thunder Lodge

Save Saved
You added Mountain Thunder Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mountain Thunder Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 30%
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Breckenridge
Ft Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from Home!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We've been here about 4 years in a row! And we will continue to stay here. You can't beat the location! IT is at the end of 4 o'clock run and we love skiing right into the parking lot. The ONLY complaint we have ever had are the mattresses. Because they are privately owned condos sometimes the beds are not in the best shape and need replacing..

Room Tip: Stay in the main building or the one directly across with the parking garage. Both buildings are ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    61
    14
    12
    4
See reviews for
174
101
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here with my wife (we are late 30's) and this is my third time here. The location is absolutely perfect. It's a five minute walk into the town or you can take the property's shuttle. Regarding the rooms, they are "Colorado Condo" style with a tile entry way, full kitchen and bath. The living area has a gas fireplace.The bathroom is nice; however, the tub and shower are relatively modest (no tile or walk in). They have two hot tubs and a heated pool. There is no restaraunt; however, a five minute walk gets you to 50+ places to eat. Additionally, if you choose, there is a fully furnished kitchen and you can cook your own food. The staff at MTL is great. They are young, friendly, attentive and will help in any way possible. I have only stayed here during the summer months and cannot speak for ski season; however, they have free garage parking and what appears to be adequate storage for skis and boards. Their fitness room is above average for a resort of this type. I have never been disappointed.

Room Tip: Building 5 is located next to the heated pool and hot tubs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My family stayed here Columbus Day weekend in a two bedroom/two bath townhouse and we had a great time. The front desk staff was very helpful with suggestions for hikes and restaurants. They were also prompt in responding to any calls. We used the outdoor pool (a bit cool but the kids were happy) and the hot tubs. Additionally, we used the bowling alley at One Ski Hill which was included in our stay. The townhouse was clean and well furnished. We did have a surprise vistor to our patio - a fox came right up on the patio as I was sitting outside and tried to go into the unit! I am sure during the winter this hotel is busy, but off season it was quiet and a price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, KS
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here last Thanksgiving week and will return for Thanksgiving 2012. My kids were 4 and 10 last year and we enjoyed the pools, the hot tubs, the area for sledding. The lodge is very nice- we rented from an individual owner. Be sure to use the luxurious indoor pool at One Ski Hill Place, the sister property. Mountain Thunder is within walking distance of downtown and the gondola, but nestled into the woods. The shuttle system in Breck is easy to use. You don't really need a car here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. The most important thing about this place is Sean. The man at the front desk was exceptional. He was kind, very patient. I had a horrible time with booking.com, and he took the time to see that my needs were met. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Thanks, again Sean!! Beautiful place, clean, quiet, perfect!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed here during Labor Day weekend. I was surprised how great the rates were - as they go up to over $1,000 per night during ski season. We had a large corner unit condo with 2 bedrooms and 2 baths. The kitchen had stainless steel appliances and slab granite counters. Bathrooms were nicely upgraded as well. The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful - called the free shuttle for us and even suggested great restaurants for us to try out during our stay.

Room Tip: Corner unit facing mountains are quiet and larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Perfect for a girls' getaway weekend - friendly staff, convenient location, well appointed. Walked easily down to main drag for shopping and dining. And so close to so many lovely hiking trails. I'll bring my family & friends here again, and next time we'll rent bikes to use on the inviting trails.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Booking.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Thunder Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.