We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, great staff and you can ski back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountain Thunder Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mountain Thunder Lodge to your Saves list
Mountain Thunder Lodge
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 30%
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, great staff and you can ski back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We stayed start of Feb. It was very quiet on the slopes so a great time to go. It was not too cold either
The hotel was excellent and the staff very friendly and helpful.

The things I liked about the hotel were :

You could ski back to the hotel via the 4 o clock run
It had a heated car park with access to the room by lift which was very convenient for brining the shopping back to the room
It has a good size kitchen, with water and coffee provided free of charge each day. It has all the appliances you could want
It had a balcony & view of the mountains
A big comfortable queen size double bed
Safe in the room
Free lockers for your ski's
Maid service each day
The room was very large compared to what you get in European resorts in the Apls.

We stated in a room on 4th floor with a lovely view of mountains. It did not get any sun though. The rooms on front would have had sun, but view of the road.

We used the spa facilities at Ski One Hill Place which were excellent. They are situated at the base of Peak 8. These are wonderful outside hot tub, where you can look at the mountains & slopes, definitely worth a visit to relax those aching muscles.
The only downside was the hot hub that was the closest to our room was not working for 5 days. The staff apologised and it was fixed towards the end of our stay, but after discovering the spa at Ski One Hill Place we went there instead.

The shuttle bus would take you anywhere & was very convenient & the drivers very friendly. We used it to access peak 8 & 9.

The gondola was accessed under walkway from the back of the hotel & was just 5 mins walk away, or if you are lazy you could use the hotels courtesy shuttle bus, which is what we did !

Room Tip: We had a City Mart discount card on the keys from the rental company which save $$$ on shopping. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    69
    15
    13
    4
See reviews for
183
113
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

Stayed at the Thunder Mountain between 29th Feb and 9th March 2012. Primarily chose the Mountain Thunder Lodge because of the great reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. We stayed in a two bed apartment in the the main building. The apartment was great, fully equipped kitchen, comfy beds and plenty of living space. With four people it didn't feel cramped at all. Our rooms were serviced everyday including putting on the dishwasher on so that everything was ready when we got back form the slopes.

I really can't fault this place. The location is perfect, just outside of the centre but not far away enough that you can't walk to Main Street. This also means that it is quiet at night. During the day, the lodge is a few mins walk to a Gondola up to the slopes but the lodge has a free shuttle service that we used a lot. It will take you anywhere in Breckenridge and pick you up promptly with a single phone call to reception. Really efficient transportation.

The staff at the Mountain Thunder Lodge are brilliant too. Really friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel very welcome throughout our 10 day stay. I would definitely recommend this place.

Summary....pros
1. Friendly and attentive staff
2. Great apartments with daily service
3. Nice location with a free shuttle around Breckenridge
4. Lovely hot tub outside.....really hot and great after a ski!!
5. Convenient ski lockers

Cons......
1. None, if your thinking about Breckenridge then I couldn't recommend the Mountain Thunder Lodge enough.........

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Someone taught Bryce Keener, Manager of Mountain Thunder Lodge, a little bit about hiring nice people and customer service.
Without exaggeration, every single employee we met was glowing with happy attitudes. One of the staff even said "Our goal is to make your experience incredibly memorable."

The location is great. Rooms are wonderful. But by far the best part of this hotel--- is its people. They really go above and beyond to make you feel welcome and CARED about.

As an added tip, don't forget to utilize the Shuttle service.They take you anywhere (within reason), 7 am to midnight, and prompt as well. If you wait 5 minutes, it seems like a long time for them :). And all with a smile, and some good local information about the town.

Excellent Stay. Recommend it highly!
Tim S, Smile-Therapy.com

Room Tip: Drink lots of water--- dry at night due to high altitude.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Very comfortable, shuttle bus service so you don't even have to walk accross the road to the gondola with your skis!
All comforts of home, much nicer than a hotel
Gondola in, ski back

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Our 2 bed, 2 bath condo was very roomy and well-equipped. We loved the fireplace and spacious living/dining room. It is nice to be able to leave all the dishes after breakfast and the staff stacks and runs the dishwasher for you when the service the condo.

The central location is great, only a few minutes' walk from the main street. Our favourite restaurants were Hearthstone and Mountain Flying Fish - see my recent reviews.

The free shuttle service is super convenient and the drivers are so very helpful. Walking even short distances in ski boots is not pleasant, so it's great to be able to call the shuttle service and they pick you up within a few minutes.

This place really has a well-thought-out package. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We have stayed at Mountain Thunder Lodge for each of the past 5yrs we have skied in Breckenridge. The staff have always been super and our condo very well maintained and equipped.
We feel it is excellent value for money and beats any place we have stayed in Europe.
The shuttle bus is very flexible, taking you places anywhere in town. We always tip the driver a couple of dollars even if we are just going across the road to the gondola but it is not required or requested.
The more recent introduction of the ski to door is so very convenient too. It means we can ski the morning before we catch the flight back to London without any concerns that we won't make it home in time.
I have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world but MTL staff are always friendly and helpful and unlike some hotels they don't expect a tip for everything they do.

The rooms themselves are equipped with pretty much anything you need. You can cook or call out for takeaway or head into town to eat at an array of restaurants.

We will be going back next year.

Room Tip: They are all super
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

Probably like many of you, I surfed TA for some time to pick a hotel for Breck. Well, my wife and I just returned from our Feb 1-5 trip and staying at the MTL was the perfect decision.

Our main search criteria was location. We wanted equal access to town as the slopes and the MTL is just that. I have read reviews about the LONG walk to the gondola. Honestly, it is 5 minutes....if you don't like the stairs to the tunnel, then just cross the street and walk across a parking lot. I usually carried my snowboard and my wife's skis since walking in snowboard boots is much easier....absolutely a non-issue. As for skiing back, the 4 O;clock runs literally takes you to the back door of the resort. The town is about a 2 block walk, which we made every night.

We did not use the shuttle service at all since we had a rental car. I drove into town to bring back breakfast one morning and it took longer for the KAVA cafe (awesome!) to make our donuts, then the rest of the trip.

We booked a 1 bedroom condo (non-studio) and ended up in corner room 5109 which was 2 bed and 2 bath. The room was incredible! Honestly, I have no idea what could have been improved upon and since this resort was half the price of others, the decision was perfect. We could have literally lived in our condo long term. The kitchen was huge, large kitchen table, flat screen, fireplace and two massive bathrooms. There was also a smaller flatscreen in the master bedroom.

The staff was very helpful and friendly, but we honestly didn't ask for much assistance. Actually, after check-in I think I called them once for breakfast advise.

In the main pool area, there are two hot tubs with changing rooms and bathrooms which were very convenient.

All in all, we travel all over and this place was incredible. I will say that it is much more condo living than hotel living. There is not a restaurant or bar on site, but the town is very close with everything you can imagine.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountain Thunder Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Thunder Lodge

Address: 50 Mountain Thunder Drive, PO Box 8269, Breckenridge, CO 80124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Breckenridge
#1 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#2 Business Hotel in Breckenridge
#3 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mountain Thunder Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mountain Thunder Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Thunder Hotel Breckenridge
Mountain Thunder Lodge Breckenridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountain Thunder Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.