We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get enough of Breckenridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Timber Lodge
Save Saved
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off This Summer!
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Can't get enough of Breckenridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

We have been staying at Grand Timber Lodge in Breckenridge, Colorado for almost 12 years and never consider staying elsewhere. The entire staff, from the front desk to maintenance, are very friendly and efficient. They treat you like royality and do their best to meet whatever need you have. We highly recommend Grand Timber to anyone who wishes to experience a great vacation in Breckenridge, Colorado.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2011
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Timber! Our company’s main goal is to make all our guests feel like they are treasured guests in our home - great customer service is our company’s top priority. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Grand Timber Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    156
    131
    24
    31
    30
See reviews for
169
98
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We spent ten days in Colorado recently, seven of which we spent at Grand Timber Lodge, two at Vail Marriott and one at Steamboat Springs. Grand Timber Lodge, to say the least is in an excellent location.
PROS: If you are a skier, it is one of the perfect places to stay in Breckenridge for ski in/ski out. The check in was very good. Easy. The rooms were ready on time, etc. The staff is mostly younger people with a few middle aged persons sprinkled in but in general very friendly and helpful. We were only approached by timeshare business at sign in and never again which was nice. The grounds, at least the winter grounds, are very nice and everything is either plowed or kept clean by heated sidewalks and heated drives. The heated garages were excellent for after ski to get your gear off. They had nice sized, free (if you were lucky enough to get one) lockers for your gear as well, unfortunately there are nowhere near enough of them based on the number of units they have. In room bathrooms clean and nice. Public ones, eh. The town is near enough that you could walk if it wasn't too cold. There is a complimentary shuttle that will take you to all the local stops. There is also the Summit Stage that will take you to several other mountains as well. We rented a car as we like to move around and explore on our own but with Colorado Mountain Express that will take you to and from Denver for a fee, Summit Stage to get you to the other mountains and the GTL shuttle to get you around town you really don't need a car at all.
CONS:The rooms are quite tired or at least the two units we had were. The mattresses were old and had huge dips in them. The sofas were lumpy, oldish and the linens and pillows were very worn and thin. Towels in baths were clean and seemed newer.
THE DOWNSIDE: The only on site restaurant really was more of a bar and seemed to be a local hang out for 21-30ish year old's who were there to visit with their friends who were (on the clock) employees. We were there with similarly aged kids and they were actually really embarrassed by the drunken behaviors of the bar crowd. When we arrived one of the nights, they had obviously been there a while and it was still early, about 7:30-8pm. We had dinner. Our waiter was very preoccupied with his friends, which didn't really bother us too much, he was helpful and somewhat attentive, although we did have to ask him several times for utensils to eat with once we were served! Whatever, we were on vacation. When we left there was a trail of (albeit still packaged) condoms that lead out of the bar and down the hall. One of the guys was vomiting in the (carpeted) hallway, lots of kids coming and going in various states of inebriation and another had a ridiculously disgusting mouth. There were other families with small children there which was upsetting. Just not necessary. The management should be more present in and around if this is a family establishment.
Jeeezzz.....It was too bad. It is a pretty place and a great location with a lot of good going for it. Maybe GTL is not going for the family thing there? Maybe we missed something? If so, my fault.
This aside, all in all, we did enjoy the Grand Timber Lodge in every other aspect.

I would recommend GTL to others, I'd just stay out of the 'bar area' !!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Grand Timber Lodge. While the Lodgepole is located onsite at Grand Timber Lodge, it is not owned and run by Grand Timber. After following up with the manager of the Lodgepole, it seems like the night that you were eating there was actually “UllrFest” night, which is one of the biggest nights of the year in Breckenridge, so while the behavior you witnessed is inexcusable and inappropriate, it is not an often occurrence, especially at the Lodgepole. We do apologize for your experience there and wish to assure you that we strive to make the Grand Timber Lodge a very family-friendly resort, and are proud of that aspect.
Our property is in a truly prime location in Breckenridge, located between both the Snowflake Lift and the Beaver Run Superchair, as well as within walking distance to Main Street. If you don’t feel like walking, we do offer a free shuttle to take you wherever you’d like to go in downtown Breckenridge. We thank you again for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

I just stayed at the Grand Timber Lodge for a week. I have nothing negative to say about this place. We arrived to a clean, and very nice 2 bedroom condo. The apartment was very spacious, and was up to my standards of cleanliness. I usually bring my own sheets and clean my hotel/condo rooms because I have OCD about cleanliness. Nothing needed to be done at this resort! I could sleep without worry! I traveled with my 1 year old son, and didnt have to worry about anything he touched and played with. The staff was very helpful with our travel arrangements due to a snowstorm that came the day of our departure. The ammenities were great! The pool/hot tubs were very nice, as well as the underground heated garage. Also, the location couldn't be better. I could walk right out our porch and to the ski lift in less than 5 minutes. Can not express how great of an experience it was staying with Grand Timber Lodge. Will definitely visit again!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, December 31, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Grand Timber Lodge – we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us! It is our company’s policy to ensure that the highest standard of cleanliness is always guaranteed. We are very proud of the amenities that we offer at Grand Timber, including a number of hot tubs and heated pools, a full service day spa, the Lodgepole Bar and Grill, and underground heated parking for all of our guests. The location is ideal; Grand Timber is situated between the Snowflake Lift and the Beaver Run Superchair, as well as only a 5 minute walk or free shuttle ride into town. We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falcon, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

We visit here 2-3 times per year. This visit we stayed in a studio room. Upon entry to our room, we were surprised that our room was designed to accommodate wheelchairs. There was no tub, just a shower with a drop down bench. (So much for the bubble bath I brought along with us) Bed was very uncomfortable and pillows were very substandard. Extra pillows did not have cases. We asked for cases from the front desk and after 2 hours of waiting, we called down and asked again. They were brought up within 20 minutes. We really enjoyed the pools and hot tubs, especially since our room was lacking a tub. Room was very clean. New carpet and nice furnishings. We have stayed at this resort 4 times in the past and have never experienced uncomfortable beds. Must have been a fluke!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge. I apologize that your stay was not of the same caliber that you’re accustomed to when you stay with us. I passed your comments regarding the pillows along to our maintenance department and was pleased to discover that we recently placed an order for new pillows and per several owner complaints, we have upgraded the quality of pillows as well. We do have a small number of units that are handicapped accessible, and in the future, I encourage you to request a non-handicapped accessible unit so that you will have a unit with a bathtub. However, if for some reason you are given a room without a bathtub, we do have a number of hot tubs and pools for general use. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review – we truly appreciate the feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Stayed here with 3 couples. Each had their own bedroom and bathroom. Great kitchen. Easy access to everything. Walked to the alpine slide. Used the shuttle to go into town for dinner and shopping. Noticed the lift right outside our window, and plan to return for winter skiing. Very upscale furnishings and pool.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Grand Timber Lodge! Grand Timber is located in a prime spot in Breckenridge – next to the chairlift in the winter, surrounded by hiking trails in the summer, as well as a short walk or free shuttle ride to Main Street! The town of Breckenridge has so much to offer, by way of great shops, a variety of restaurants, along with all of the outdoors activities that you can partake in on your visit. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Grand Timber Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEBRASKA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed here through an interval international exchange. We loved it. The place is spotless and has great views. I am posting some pictures of the unit and of the views. We had a 2 bedroom which really is a one bedroom with a studio attached (kind of like adjoining rooms in a hotel). This is nice because it is a lock out so you could have your guest have privacy as well.

The studio had a small dishwasher, mini fridge, microwave and two burner stove. No oven. There are no balconies with the studios.

The main apartment had a huge living room with full kitchen which was well appointed and the master bedroom and bath were large and very comfortable. All of the furnishings were in excellent shape. The balcony was huge. Only had 2 plastic chairs and a small plastic table which was fine for us but if you have more than 2 people it would have been nice to have 4 chairs.

Staff was helpful and friendly. Can't complain about anything. It is truly a great resort. We did not try the restaurant on site but saw many people having snacks by the pool which looked good. The pools and spas are great and there is a small fitness center on site. Lots of trails around to hike or run.

The resort has several common areas with gas grills. They don't have auto lighters on them so bring some matches or a grill lighter. The front desk can also give you matches. They have an activities desk which was helpful in getting trail maps etc. You can book excursions with them but I didn't get a chance to do that.

The spa was fantastic. The regular price is a little pricy for me although it is very normal price for the area. The did have a special which was awesome. The facility is wonderful and very relaxing. I felt like a million bucks.

My husband and I went hiking a couple of days. We did a trail which was to take us to mohak lakes and to continental falls. It is just about 5 minutes outside of town and it is a hard and long hike but it is fantastic. The falls and the lakes are very pretty. Start early as it will take you a while. If you do the entire trail it is 3 miles there and 3 back and it is difficult at times. Take lots of water and a rain poncho and probably a snack or two. We truly enjoyed it.

The wifi is not free but you can get an unlimited package for $20 for the week. I had some troubles connecting with my machine because I have a vpn but my husband could use his without any issues.

There is underground covered parking which is very nice. You must have your keycard to your room to access it.

Lots of places to eat in town. Went to surrounding communities such as Vail.

Let me know if you have any questions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, November 9, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Grand Timber Lodge! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Grand Timber is truly the place to stay if you come to Breckenridge. The units are spacious and very well-equipped for the comfort of every guest. Onsite, there is a restaurant, spa, a Christy Sports store, as well as a number of hot tubs and pools. The Lodge is located in an ideal spot: it is ski-in, ski-out, surrounded by hiking and biking trails, as well as just a short walk to Main Street. We invite you to visit our website to see all that Grand Timber has to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

We had a room booked for Mon-Wed and when my wife arrived on Tuesday @ noon they would not let her check in till 4pm. When she asked why our paid for room was not available they could'nt give us a straight answer. When we asked about extending our stay for another night the front desk said we had to call reservations and reservations said they couldn't let us know till Wed AM. Seems strange that a property wouldn't know on Tuesday if they had rooms avaialbe on Wednesday. All this is occurring off season and we're owners there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Grand Timber Lodge. I apologize that you experienced a number of inconveniences. Without looking into your reservation file, I am unable to see why you wouldn’t be able to get into a room you already had booked until 4pm. The Reservations office is who you would need to speak to regarding extending a reservation and we have been unusually busy for an off-season time. I would encourage you to call into the Owner Relations office in order for us to try to remedy this situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.