We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Timber Lodge: majestic location, iffy staff, locker rooms need help” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Timber Lodge
Save
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pueblo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Grand Timber Lodge: majestic location, iffy staff, locker rooms need help”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

This was our fifth stay at Grand Timber Lodge in 6 years, trading Interval International or using bonus weeks. In general, the units are wonderful, spacious, well equipped, great views, quiet, and truly restful. We stayed in Building 7 this time, with a family of two adults, two kids.

Since we have had such a wonderful time over the years at GTL, we think it's important to ask the lodge to pay attention to some details in order to keep their high standards and their reputation as one of the best resorts in Breckenridge.

First, the quality of the staff is very changeable. This week, we had great experiences with polite, knowledgable staff at the front desk; and then an hour later, with someone else, a snooty "don't bother me, I'm reading a book" attitude; to someone unfriendly and rude. We prefer the first category!

Second, the standing water after many days of rain, by the elevator in the garage, was disturbing. The "wet floor" sign didn't cut it for us, since standing water at an elevator is dangerous.

Third, there seemed to be a lack of staff, perhaps because this is early in the summer season. That could explain the standing water. Using both the women's locker room and the family changing room by the large pool, was not pleasant. The floors were not clean, they were soaking wet, no one seemed to come in to mop them at any time during the day. The smell of a septic system was quite strong, and neither locker room was clean, though they were well stocked with every possible amenity

Fourth, the DVD players were difficult to use. It would have been great to have a manual of some sort.

Family movie night was lovely for our kids, and having free internet in the main building was very convenient. I'm sure we will stay here again, and would just like to see some improvement in the areas above.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2009
At Grand Timber Lodge we are happy to hear when guests return year after year - and their insight into how things may differ from year to year is helpful. We do take into account any problems or issues guests make us aware of, and do our best to address these things. We strive to create great vacations for all of our owners and guests, so we welcome the opportunity to improve.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    142
    25
    32
    30
See reviews for
182
111
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

The resort is far from a 5 star. The staff is not friendly nor do they make you feel welcome. The units and amenities are not what you would expect. When we lodged a complaint the person hung up on us. We asked to speak to the manager on staff and were told "if she had time she would call us back". We never received a call back.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, June 12, 2009
At Grand Timber Lodge, we train our staff extensively, and we apologize if any guests feels that their concerns were not taken seriously. We do use guest comments to find out what we can improve upon.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

This was too "child friendly" for us. It was noisy with partying into the early morning, and a lot of children running around all during the day. The pool and hot tub open too late in the morning for us.
Only recommend if you have children.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2009
Grand Timber Lodge is a family-friendly resort, so at times there may be more children and families on property. However there are rooms that face away from the pool areas for those that would like more peace and quiet; generally families with children prefer rooms overlooking the pool area.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

This was our second time at the Grand Timber Lodge and it was more than we could expect! This time, we stayed in the newer bldg 8 and it exceeded our expectations. I knew ahead of time that there is no room service for the week we stayed (except towel exchange) and that was fine with us. It gave us more privacy, plus we had a washer/dryer in our room. The staff was very accomodating, the rooms were beautiful, clean and comfortable! The kitchen had everything we need and we brought our own food and cooked a lazy breakfast each morning. The view was great and we loved our place. We don't ski, but took walks, day trips, and visited nearby towns/scenery. Love coming here!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2009
The One bedroom masters at Grand Timber Lodge have washers and dryers, which make it easier to travel - less to pack if you can do a quick load of laundry right in your own room! The full kitchen is also convenient for preparing meals if guests are too tired after a long day to go out to eat.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

My boyfriend's parents are owners at GTL, so we are able to book as immediate family members and pay a reduced rate. Since we live in Denver, we go at least twice each season (and sometimes far more) because we love skiing Breck. The pools and hot tubs are quite nice. We like the bar at the hotel because it is rarely crowded and not as expensive as the places downtown or by the lifts. I would definitely recommend booking a suite over a studio. We have stayed in both and the suites are much nicer- more amenities and more space.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, June 3, 2009
The Grand Timber Lodge is located a convenient distance from Denver - easy to get to but just far enough to feel like you are really getting away from the city, and good for week long trips or just a night or two on the weekend!

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

I traveled with my husband and 15-year-old daughter to Breckenridge for Spring Break and stayed at Grand Timber Lodge April 10-17, 2009. Our stay was absolutely perfect from the moment we checked in!!! After a very long day of travel from the East Coast, we arrived at Grand Timber about 2 p.m. Our check-in was quick and efficient. We exchanged through Interval International for a 2 bedroom unit and were assigned to 823 - 2nd floor in building 8. The underground parking in each building was very convenient. When we opened to door to our room we were impressed at the very spacious unit.
I ordered all our groceries for the week from Peak Provisions - www.peakprovisions.com Everything was delivered and our refrigerator was stocked with wonderful meals before we even arrived....no grocery shopping!!!!
We enjoyed all of Grand Timber's amenities....the pool and hot tub area , the Lodgepole Bar and Grill (Mr. Cheese is the best!!) , and the spa!!!
I was so happy to be returning to Grand Timber after our long days of skiing. I felt completely at home. I can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2009
Taking advantage of all the amenities at Grand Timber Lodge is a great way to make the most out of your vacation and your dollar! There are plenty, too - the Lodgepole Bar and Grill, the spa, game room, workout room, pools, hot tubs, business center, shuttle, and activities desk.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

I recently rented a 3 beedroom for the first week in April. I was in building 5 on the 2nd floor.

Good things. Plenty of space for a fair dollar. Bldg 5 is a good location. Unit was nice. 4 TVs, 3 Bathrooms. Nice kitchen and living area.

OK things, checking your skis in and out can be a pain, as there wasn't enough people to handle the process at peak times. They need to get the lockers fixed, to decrease the number of people storing skis inside. Some of the employees seemed a bit apathetic.

They shouldnt represent themselves as ski out. It is a very reasonable walk and ski to either the Snowflake lift or Beaver Run lift, which also depends on the building you are in. But really not ski out. You could always take the shuttle to the lift if you dont like the short walk. It is ski in. You just need to learn the best way for your unit and when to keep you speed up to avoid walking.

The restaurant was good. The pools and hot tubs were nice.

There are plenty of stairs, but there are a limited number of elevators, AND some sections are connected by ramps, which makes bringing stuff from your car on a cart very difficult, but this is just a minor annoyance.

I found the shuttle to be prompt and courteous and getting into and out of the garages with cars to be simple.

The 3 bedroom I had was a studio + a 2 bedroom and was nice, but I could see that if you just rented a studio with a pull out and a kitchenette, that it would seem small and dark and cramped.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, May 27, 2009
The three bedroom units at Grand Timber Lodge offer plenty of space for families - they sleep up to 10 people maximum.

The shuttle is a great amenity to have, whether guests have a car or not. You don't have to worry about knowing where you are going, parking, etc. Guests can just call the number on the back of their key card and the shuttle will pick them up!

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.