We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Timber is THE best in Breckenridge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Timber Lodge
Save
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Special!
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Grand Timber is THE best in Breckenridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2009

Here we are again, our fourth year visiting beautiful Breckenridge and staying at our favorite place on the planet; the Grand Timber Lodge.

As I am writing this review, my wife and I are sitting at the Lodgepole Restaurant located right at GTL.

We've spent the morning skiing in fresh white powder snow and are now relaxing and unwinding at the Lodgepole. As I look around the room, out of the large picture windows, I see snow covered trees and even more of the white stuff coming down. The fireplace is going with a few folks sitting in large comfortable couches sipping coffee drinks.

We just finished lunch, which was excellent as always and we are going to spend the rest of the day doing pretty much nothing. My wife is reading a book and I am writing this review (yes, they have wireless)

I am so happy with the decision my wife and I made to stay here in the first place, and then eventually become owners here. If you want to get away from it all, relax and have some down-time, this is THE place.

You will enjoy heated pools and hot tubs, clean and up-to-date rooms, friendly and helpful staff and a great time - even if you don't ski! GTL is a short Free shuttle bus ride from downtown Breck and within walking distance of several ski lifts.

I think one of the best things about GTL is the Lodgepole and the staff. The owner has created a comfortable lodge-type environment for guests to relax in. This is not a high-end dining experience - it's a relaxed casual place to unwind, with great food (thanks Mark!) and great drinks at a reasonable price.

My advice: Come to the Grand Timber Lodge - it will be an exceptional vacation, and who knows, you may fall in love with this place just like we did and become owners yourselves!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing - it's awesome all the way around
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2009
We at Grand Timber Lodge are glad to be a part of an owner, or guest's, great vacation! We encourage all owners and guests to take full advantage of the resort's amenities, from the Lodgepole Bar and Grill's food and drink, to the spa's services, the pools and hot tubs, and much more!

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    161
    32
    33
    30
See reviews for
196
126
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

Beautiful, modern and luxurious condo. The beds were comfy, the kitchen was new and had all the necessities for us to stay in and cook. Everything was spotless. Shower was great and soothing. Only downside was that the master bedroom was a little small and the fireplace was electronic vs. real wood, but it still served its purpose. Each unit seems to be different but this one was beautiful and super quiet. We never heard a peep from neighbors or outside. Being on the third floor was a plus.

Shuttle service was excellent and always fast. We weren't able to ski-in/ski-out, but the shuttle ride was only a couple minutes to the beaver run lift.

Hottubs and main lobby were excellent. Only downside is the restaurant is not open for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2009
Here at Grand Timber Lodge we want to be thought of as a "home away from home" in the mountains, so we strive to make all guests feel as comfortable and taken care of as we can.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keo, ar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2008

We took my entire family - yes even my en-laws, and it was great!! The location in regards to the slopes was excellent. I was nervous about ski in-out, but it is true. It was great. I highly recommend going to Lodgepole (happy hour is great after a long day).

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, May 5, 2009
The Grand Timber Lodge is conveniently located near both the ski slopes and Main Street Breckenridge. We are happy to hear when a guest has a great vacation with us!

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

we book our trip trough Interval International.We planned to ski and we were lucky to get 2 feet of snow and they were making more on the mountains.Our 2 bedroom appartment was great with 3 TVs,fireplace,big kitchen and small kitchen,jacuzzi plus 2 bathrooms.We also had washer and dryer .We bought some discount lift tickets in the office and in return we went to less then hour timesharring presentation with no push salesman.We loved the resort.Kids love the pools and the fact that they could swim outside too.We loved the jacuzzis outside,that was something.There was not much scheduled activities for kids.Mabe they didnt have enough kids,I am not sure.On Monday we had orientation breakfast,which was great.We ask for great view before we came to Timber lodge and we sure have it.Some appartments dont have it,ask for it.The mountains are maintained and all the lifts are connected so it is very easy to get on peak 7,8,9 from the lifts from Beaver run.We had a good time and Breckenridge is dooing good job.Have fun everybody and dont break Your leg.John

Stayed December 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2009
It always great to hear when an exchange guest is happy with their exchange! Grand Timber Lodge is a family resort, and there is always something to do both on property and in town for all members of the family. To find out more about activities, such as family movie nights or kids nights, or other things like sledding and snowmobiling, guests can inquire at the activities desk located in building six.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2008

We stayed at Grand Timber Lodger for very low early season price this November. The studio is tiny with efficient kitchen (the kind without much of a kitchen). Location wise, it could be ski-in but probably not ski-out. It is a bit uphill from the main road so it is somewhat inconvenient for taking the town bus. The lodge provide free shuttle to the gondola and other parts of the town, but it is not as reliable. The hot tub and pool are nice, the restaurant is reasonably priced, the business center has crappy internet connection.

  • Liked — The hot tub
  • Disliked — tiny room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2009
The studio units at Grand Timber Lodge are the size of a standard hotel room, and include a kitchenette. We do have larger suites available as well, ranging from one bedrooms to three bedrooms, with full kitchens and living areas. We also have wireless internet available in the rooms by the day or for the whole week, for a fee.

There is a free bus stop right down the street from Grand Timber Lodge, which is run by Breckenridge and goes into town. The Grand Timber Lodge shuttle is run by the lodge for owners and guests only. Owners and guests can call the GTL shuttle directly to be picked up or dropped off anywhere in town.

-Grand Timber Lodge Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2008

My spouse and I stayed at Grand Timber Lodge in September 2008 and we had a wonderful time. The weather was great and the nights were crisp enough to wear a jacket. We had a really nice experience at Grand Timber Lodge and do not understand what the other people are complaining about. They must me people who find fault in everything and can not find happiness. I do find that checking in an hour earlier or later then the time they state “check in” is seems to help anywhere we go.

The rooms are cozy and are well decorated. The units have a full kitchen with all the modern necessities including a washer and dryer (complementary laundry soap is given too). The granite counter tops add a nice touch too. They have a large Jacuzzi for two (maybe three) and we were lucky to get a shower with two “shower heads” nice for couples if you know what I mean. The beds are as comfortable as expected, but nothing beats home. The main room has a couch that is also a sleeper, great for families. The fireplace is gas operated, no wood, but it was still nice and gave a nice effect to the room. All the master rooms have balconies with chairs, but the studios do not have a balcony.

If you want to grill out side, they have BB-Q grills through out the resort and they are close to tables and chairs. When we were there the hot tubs were just fine and a little romantic at night. The pool was heated. They also have a full bathroom with showers and amenities like q-tips, cotton balls, mouth wash, sunscreen, and lotion. The women’s bathrooms have “other” items as well.

If you want to shoot pool, there are two places you can go. There is the main lobby for earlier hours and then there is the Bar and Grill that has a pool table. The bar and grill has good food and a nice happy hour. I do have to note that the bar and grill is only open certain days due to the off seasons. Right off to the bar is a bathrooms (not locked) that has all the amenities I mentioned earlier. They also have a small store to buy candy bars, soap, shavers, etc. It’s not a grocery store but it is handy to have available on site.

When you arrive you can park your car in the garage and just keep it there unless you plan to do some site seeing. Grand Timber offers a FREE shuttle to anywhere you want to go in Breckinridge. All you have to do is call the phone number on your “key” (card) and they will pick you up or bring you back any time you want up to 10:00pm. The shuttle is not as bad as people complain it to be and I think it is really handy to have considering it is a free service (tips are appreciated).

The town does offer a free shuttle bus that will pick you up and drop you off at designated point and you do have to go by their schedule.

You can also walk into town which is probably a little more than a mile from the resort – not far and it is all down him. Hint: Call the Grand Timber Shuttle when you are ready to go back home.

Places to eat are open. Depending on what you are looking for they have cheap to the expensive. I prefer to go to Eric’s – this place has pizza, hamburgers, sandwiches, soups, etc and a ton of beers to choose from.
Site seeing: Other than skiing, there is plenty other activities to do in Breckinridge. You can go hiking, water rafting, ride bikes (a lot of bike paths), and go see the gold mine. Not far out of Breckenridge is also a town called Fairfield or known as “South Park.” Fairfield has a really old ghost town that they have restored.

I hope this is helpfully.

  • Liked — The rooms are very nice and I love the jacuzzi
  • Disliked — No balconies come with the studios
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, March 11, 2009
At Grand Timber Lodge, we make every effort to create a "home away from home" environment for our owners and guests. Exploring the resort and trying out all that we have to offer will help our guests get the most out of their vacation!

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Booked with exchange through Interval International

We just returned from a stay at the Grand Timber Lodge in, Colorado. WARNING: Unless you are an owner at GTL, have connections or have really good luck, avoid this place. GTL is way over rated; I wish we would have read these reviews prior to booking. We exchanged our five star Marriott Timeshare and come to Colorado for the first time. Breckenridge is beautiful, however, the resort is not a five star and the staff was unhelpful and indifferent to any requests or concerns.

Our experience: We requested a two bedroom and received a dark dingy outdated room with no view. The carpet was so dirty and stiff we had to at least wear socks to keep from being creeped out. Despite the fact the resort didn’t appear full, staff said this was the best room they could provide. I asked for a manager and spoke with “Kelly” who was totally indifferent and told me rooms are assigned in the morning by housekeeping and there was nothing she could do…Really? So now we were stuck in this nasty room for our week long vacation.

Ok, let’s make the best of it…let’s go to the spa near building one, YUCK!! The spa was a cloudy yellow and had a strong chemical smell, no thanks. Ok, lets play pool in the grand room which is open until 11:00 p.m. At 10:00 p.m. staff locked the door leading to the restrooms. When I went the front counter and asked to use the restroom, the young man directed me to building 6 and only agreed to open the door to the restrooms when I expressed how unreasonable that was. Even then, he still acted like he was annoyed and let me know how put out he was…Really??

We took the resort shuttle to town once, that was enough. If you use this service, be careful. Their shuttle is an old rickety van and the entry step is broken and bent downward. Our friend slipped on the step and gaffed her ankle. Use the free public transportation; it is clean, easy to use and much safer.

We loved Breckenridge itself however, we travel extensively and this was by far the worst accommodation and staff experience we have ever had. This was a horrible timeshare exchange and made for a disappointing vacation.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Staff and view provided
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 7, 2009
Because Grand Timber Lodge is located on a mountain, not every unit will have the same views and natural light. Guests may request a certain type of unit upon booking, and we do our best to accommodate such requests. All of our units are updated and cleaned for two weeks each year, and problems such as worn out furnishings and damages are addressed in detail at that time.

We are sorry if any guest has felt our staff to be indifferent or uncaring - we train our staff extensively, and our commitment is to always create great vacations, for owners and guests alike.

-Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.