We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place overall- poor customer service at spa- you dont get what you are signed up for!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Timber Lodge
Save
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Special!
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Average place overall- poor customer service at spa- you dont get what you are signed up for!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A bit jaded. Lobby is unimpressive. We were in a studio- the bed was very uncomfortable- sunken mattress-did not sleep the first night. They responded well and changed the mattress-a bit better but still very soft. No nightstand on one side of the bed and limited space to get on to the bed on that side. The studio has no balcony. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful- especially Matt.
My experience at the Grand Victorian Spa was less than grand with respect to customer service- I signed up for a 75 minute facial for $150 at 15% discount (a special I was offered) but although the treatment was great (no complaints on the quality of the facial-it was actually quite good and I have had many a good facial), but it only lasted 60 minutes- worth only $120. The steam room did not work in the ladies area- they offered me the men;s room steam. The place was jaded and dilapidated looking. When I addressed what I felt was not what I had been signed up for-the spa manger, Heidi, was unhelpful to say the least, after I finally got hold of her and she refused to believe me - hey I had my phone on me and knew the time I went in and out of the treatment- why would I complain since I had good quality- it was just not what it was sold as wrt time.
The front desk manager on duty Brad was not able to help me- he and Heidi thought I should be satisfied with being charged at a full price 60 min facial rate- forget the customer service, forget that I signed up for a ":grand" facial for 75 min at 15% discount ! Brad told me to callsomeone else-on vacation waste more time- I don't think so! Really poor customer service but I guess when its such an average place you are at you should not except "grand" treatment even if the spa is called Grand Victoria! Its not the money- they overcharged me about $25 but just the principle of spoiling someone's experience and not honoring what you sell.
Anyway I would not return to this place or recommend it to anyone unless they want an average motel type experience- it does not deserve an interval gold rating. And I have had had 10 years of Interval exchange experience on which I base this statement.

Room Tip: Building 6 and 5 better. we were in 8. The studio is a bad experience. Beds are soft and uncomfortab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi R2D2Chicago,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge. Upon reading your feedback, I went ahead and spoke with both the General Manager of Grand Timber and the manager of Grand Victorian Day Spa.

After making contact with both employees, I was able to flesh out a few more details which may bring about some additional clarity. From what I gather when you called to book your spa treatment in August, at the time we were offering a 15% off discount for the Grand Victorian Ultimate facial. This special was only valid during the month of August for Thursday's and Friday's. Your appointment was booked for a Monday in September, however we agreed, at your request, to go ahead a honor the 15% off discount.

Vicki, your esthetician, who has been at GVDS for 5 years and never had a complaint about timing, confirmed with me that she did do the full 75 minutes but that she started you early because you arrived early.

We strive to make all guests feel as at home as possible and in times of contention, we look to find a solution which makes the most sense for all parties involved. In that spirit we did offer a further discount, which brought the cost down to our 60 minute facial price. It is unfortunate that we were not able to resolve this situation to your satisfaction.

Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    164
    32
    33
    30
See reviews for
202
126
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We traded our 1 bedroom time share, got there and they had us in a studio. Said they were full. Bed was comfy, but room was outdated and cramped. Might have been OK if it was ski season and we were exhausted.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi dhoople,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Grand Timber Lodge. We apologize that you were under the impression you would be in a larger size unit. When utilizing timeshare exchange companies, we counsel our owners to thoroughly investigate what they will be receiving in trade.

Additionally, because we simply enter reservations passed on to us from exchange companies, the responsibility in ensuring the accuracy of said information, ultimately lies with the originating source.

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent a week here (room 6102) on a timeshare trade. Overall, we liked the property and staff, who were friendly and helpful. The pool & hot tubs were great, and the on-site bar/restaurant was good. Lots of activities, and the shuttle to town is a great help, although you can walk into town in 15 minutes. The furniture in the room, especially the couch which wasn't very comfortable, could use some upgrading. We had a first floor room, and we could hear the people upstairs walking around their room. On check-out morning the cleaning staff really rushed us out of our room, starting to clean before we were completely out of the room. We'd come back to this property, but would want a top floor room.

Room Tip: Ask for a top-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Geodyssey,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand Timber Lodge and apologize greatly that you did not entirely enjoy your stay with us. Our company goal is to take personal responsibility to create great vacations, and we are very sorry that you did not experience the wonderful experience that we are accustomed to providing.

We always encourage guests and owners to come to us with comments and complaints, as we truly work to address all concerns. Our ongoing improvements to Grand Timber Lodge should attest to our attention to detail and responding to the feedback we receive.

We hope to see you again in the future and help you enjoy even more of the wonderful sights Breckenridge as to offer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We are owners here and I am surprised the reviews are not high on anyone who has stayed here! The rooms are so clean, beds are like clouds and the pool and hot tubs cannot be beat. The Lodgepole Restaurant has a great Boat Drink on their happy hour and the food is very good. Try their fish sandwich! You get a free shuttle to town from 9am to 10 pm and the drivers are really nice and have lots of great suggestions for happy hour or dinner as does the concierge staff.
There are great hiking trails leading right from this property where there have even been moose sightings. The studios are, of course, smaller than the one bedroom units, so this is the style we usually have or the 2 bedroom, but the studios are quite comfortable when that is all that is available. This is a very popular property and is frequently full so don't rely on a conference person to make your bookings. Full is full. Not a lot anyone can do about that, right.

Room Tip: We happen to love buildings 5 and 6 because we always hit the hot tubs by around 9 pm and these room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi D0ree,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge. We are so pleased to hear that your ownership has enabled you to have great, relaxing vacations. We are glad you enjoyed the hot tubs and the Lodgepole restaurant on property. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Point, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked an Aug. trip here and choose the last week.
The lodge is expansive but not overwhelming. The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful.
The pools two heated and hot tubs all 5 of them were warm and welcoming.
We had a double room, Meaning an apartment with king bedroom (very comfortable bed) bathroom with deep Jacuzzi full kitchen living room and dining area. But at he'd to it is the second room, a queen bed pull out couch kitchenette and bathroom. Being we have teen boys the separation was great.
There's a FREE shuttle into anywhere in town and back. The drivers were a wealth of knowledge.
We loved out stay here and are already talking about a trip back during ski season.

Room Tip: Ay room would be great. But buildings 5 or 6 have a view of both the pool and the ski sloop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hi Mary B,

Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge. Our amenities are truly unmatched with indoor/outdoor pools and hot tubs, a playground, a day spa, an exercise room and fitness classes, and a restaurant on property. We are glad you enjoyed taking advantage of these amenities during your stay. The free shuttle is an excellent amenity Grand Timber Lodge offers that allows guests to take advantage of all that Breckenridge has to offer.

Thank you again for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Our first ever timeshare exchange and what a fantastic choice. 2 bed 2 bath apartment immaculate in every way. A warm welcome from the reception staff, very helpful concierge and a great team organising trips and events. Plenty of free parking, a great pool and a fabulous location. Even a free shuttle bus to town. Very impressed and many thanks to the GTL team.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi Ian504171,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at Grand Timber Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities our property has to offer.

The staff at Grand Timber loves hearing from guests who have truly enjoyed their stay! Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” and we are glad to have exceeded this expectation. We pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide, to the property itself and couldn't be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norcross
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I arrived at the Grand Timber Lodge on Monday, August 19th for a work gathering for my husband. An admin assistant from one of the conferee's companies had made the room reservations. We found out upon entering Breckenridge that the town was to be hosting the USA Pro Cycling event over the next two days; when we asked at check-in for any upgrades, we were told that we were lucky to have a room at all and that nothing could be done, as they were fully booked due to the race. We found that we had a studio - a small room with a board-hard queen size bed, a small, spartan bath that didn't even have soap or shampoo, a mini fridge and a two burner cooktop, a stiff sofa and coffee table, a board attached to the wall that served as desk and eating table, no A/C (not unusual here, of course), and a window overlooking the noisy family pool area. My husband pressed hard to be moved to a better room, offering to pay for the upgrade, but apparently nothing could be done as the property was fully booked. The management did swap out the mattress for a more comfortable one, but is was not a very restful night. The next day, we were transferred to a one bedroom. Wow - what a difference! We had been very unhappy with the GTL up to that point. Our new room featured a large bedroom with a king bed, a portable A/C unit, a separate living room with two large club chairs, a sofa, coffee table, fireplace, and dining table for six; a full, well-stocked kitchen; a washer and dryer; a balcony overlooking the quiet adult pool and the lovely landscaped area surrounding it, a bath with a large whirlpool tub and a double vanity and an adjoining bath with another vanity, toilet and walk-in, large shower. Even the building (main), hallway and parking garage were nicer. To say we were pleased with the upgrade would be a vast understatement. We did pay extra for this upgrade, but it was definitely worth it.

Lesson learned: check carefully what someone else views as a nice accommodation when they're booking for you. Also, we understood that the GTL staff had no options the day we arrived. What bothered my husband was the attitude of the staff, who did not seem eager to help make sure we were happy customers.

I also need to give a shout-out to the shuttle driver, who had to work around road closures with the race in town but did so cheerfully. He also gave us unfailingly good recommendations for restaurants.

This is probably a great place to stay during ski season, right at the lifts and within an easy walk of Main Street. We enjoyed our summertime stay here very much once we were out of the tiny studio.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the one bedroom! Sooooo much better than the studio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi Norcrosstravelgirl,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand Timber. On that note - we would like to apologize greatly that you did not enjoy your first evening with us. As you alluded to, this past week the USA Pro Cycle Challenge was in town, which in part attributed to Grand Timber Lodge being fully booked.

We offer our deepest apologies that the staff's response level did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on being a five star resort and this is not consistent with our standards. We will be passing this along to our resort managers to insure that this will not be a concern for any future guests.

We appreciate all the kind words you had to say about our lodge, amenities and staff. We pride ourselves on creating memorable vacations for our guests and are happy that this ended up being the case. Please come back and visits us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.