We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first timeshare exchange” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Timber Lodge
Save
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Farnham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our first timeshare exchange”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Our first ever timeshare exchange and what a fantastic choice. 2 bed 2 bath apartment immaculate in every way. A warm welcome from the reception staff, very helpful concierge and a great team organising trips and events. Plenty of free parking, a great pool and a fabulous location. Even a free shuttle bus to town. Very impressed and many thanks to the GTL team.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi Ian504171,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience at Grand Timber Lodge. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities our property has to offer.

The staff at Grand Timber loves hearing from guests who have truly enjoyed their stay! Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” and we are glad to have exceeded this expectation. We pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide, to the property itself and couldn't be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    142
    25
    32
    30
See reviews for
183
111
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norcross
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I arrived at the Grand Timber Lodge on Monday, August 19th for a work gathering for my husband. An admin assistant from one of the conferee's companies had made the room reservations. We found out upon entering Breckenridge that the town was to be hosting the USA Pro Cycling event over the next two days; when we asked at check-in for any upgrades, we were told that we were lucky to have a room at all and that nothing could be done, as they were fully booked due to the race. We found that we had a studio - a small room with a board-hard queen size bed, a small, spartan bath that didn't even have soap or shampoo, a mini fridge and a two burner cooktop, a stiff sofa and coffee table, a board attached to the wall that served as desk and eating table, no A/C (not unusual here, of course), and a window overlooking the noisy family pool area. My husband pressed hard to be moved to a better room, offering to pay for the upgrade, but apparently nothing could be done as the property was fully booked. The management did swap out the mattress for a more comfortable one, but is was not a very restful night. The next day, we were transferred to a one bedroom. Wow - what a difference! We had been very unhappy with the GTL up to that point. Our new room featured a large bedroom with a king bed, a portable A/C unit, a separate living room with two large club chairs, a sofa, coffee table, fireplace, and dining table for six; a full, well-stocked kitchen; a washer and dryer; a balcony overlooking the quiet adult pool and the lovely landscaped area surrounding it, a bath with a large whirlpool tub and a double vanity and an adjoining bath with another vanity, toilet and walk-in, large shower. Even the building (main), hallway and parking garage were nicer. To say we were pleased with the upgrade would be a vast understatement. We did pay extra for this upgrade, but it was definitely worth it.

Lesson learned: check carefully what someone else views as a nice accommodation when they're booking for you. Also, we understood that the GTL staff had no options the day we arrived. What bothered my husband was the attitude of the staff, who did not seem eager to help make sure we were happy customers.

I also need to give a shout-out to the shuttle driver, who had to work around road closures with the race in town but did so cheerfully. He also gave us unfailingly good recommendations for restaurants.

This is probably a great place to stay during ski season, right at the lifts and within an easy walk of Main Street. We enjoyed our summertime stay here very much once we were out of the tiny studio.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the one bedroom! Sooooo much better than the studio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi Norcrosstravelgirl,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand Timber. On that note - we would like to apologize greatly that you did not enjoy your first evening with us. As you alluded to, this past week the USA Pro Cycle Challenge was in town, which in part attributed to Grand Timber Lodge being fully booked.

We offer our deepest apologies that the staff's response level did not meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on being a five star resort and this is not consistent with our standards. We will be passing this along to our resort managers to insure that this will not be a concern for any future guests.

We appreciate all the kind words you had to say about our lodge, amenities and staff. We pride ourselves on creating memorable vacations for our guests and are happy that this ended up being the case. Please come back and visits us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Went up for one night and didn't realize this was an hourly rental. Check out is ridiculously early at 10 am. We had hoped to go to breakfast in town and come back and go swimming with the kids. We were told there was no late check out and that once we checked out at 10 am we were no longer welcome! No pool, No parking..bye bye! Never again will we stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi Laura33316,

The staff and management at Grand Timber Lodge would like to deeply apologize for the disappointment regarding your check-out experience. Know that we completely empathize with your frustrations regarding the 10 AM check-out time. However, understand that unlike “regular” hotels, our units are structured as full functioning condominiums. In order to provide the highest standards for every guest who stays with us, it does take additional time for housekeeping and maintenance staff to inspect each room and have them ready to go for check-in at 4 pm.

We do try and allow our guests to use the property as much as possible following their check-out time. However, our resort also accommodates Grand Timber owners who use our facility for “day use” trips to Breckenridge. During high demand periods these "day use" owners arrive at 10 am and begin to fill the occupancy levels for our parking and pool facilities. We are deeply sorry if this was not expressed to you.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Grand Timber Lodge, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We are owners at GTL and this was my first visit back for sometime. I was a little nervous to see what kind of share the property was in. Let me be the first to say it is so refreshing to see how well the place has been maintained. Everything is in perfect condition. I do also need to thank Laura who helped me make the reservation and Rick whose concierge expertise is off the chart. The shuttle driver who worked during the PM on 8/13 (my apologies that I do not know his name) was also excellent when it came to recommendations. We ate at Angel's Hollow on one of our first nights and it was awesome. I will save my review for this for a post on their site but the food was amazing... stay away from the margarita. We ate at the ice cream place called the Kings Crown-- Very good! But back to GTL- I really only have two complaints. #1 is the fact that there is no AC in the rooms. On the first night it was a bit muggy but all of the other nights the temperature dropped to 40 or lower so no AC was needed. My #2 complaint was at times all of the little kids annoyed me. Granted we were there the week before school started, but still, owners keep you kids at home. No one likes a little kid in the pool or running around in the bar at 9PM when I am trying to drink a Macallan. I also should say the Lodgepole Bar and Grill was very good. The prices weren't overpriced. The staff there gets my A+++ (ALL of them because we did have 3 or 4 different ones). I can't say enough about the manager. She was excellent and remembered my name even when she saw me at the business center and this speaks volumes. I have stayed and currently work at a 4Star 4Diamon hotel in Kansas City and it is clear to me why this place is a 5S/5D, not just from an amenity side. It frustrates me to see this place ranked 10 on TripAdvisor. This is ridiculous. I can see no reason why this resort is not in the top 3... People need to stop complaining and start actually rating this 5/5 which is the ONLY accurate rating for this place. I believe luxury properties such as this and the one I currently work in constantly fall victim to 4/5s because they have 'luxury' in their name and if you don't get anything for free then you need to cry about it. I will be back next year and I wish everyone there the best. -Joe D.

Room Tip: rm: 121 was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hi Joeitaliand,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! Thank you also for sharing your positive restaurant experiences with the rest of our guests/owners. We pride ourselves on being a premier location in Breckenridge and are glad that we are meeting your expectations! Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcome you back to the resort again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The kids loved it. We had a two bedroom that slept 8 fairly comfortably. The indoor-outdoor pool and assoociated hot tubs were great. Many activities on site. We were in building 5 which needs refurbishing, but it was still a good stay. The underground garage was a plus. The full kitchen was just that - had everything we could possibly need. Watch the oven - make sure you check to see whether timer must be used in order for the oven to work at the temperature you set. In our room that turned out to be necessary. Avoid the pizza in the bar and grill. The crust was frozen and not tossed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Judgejohnny,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the feedback! We do pride ourselves on being a family friendly resort. We would recommend staying in buildings 1-4, as these buildings have been updated. We will be passing along your feedback in regards to the oven temperature to our maintenance managers to insure that this will not be a concern for any future guests. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the resort again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

We arrived about 5pm and check-in was relatively painless. Garage parking is available under the resort and is secure as you are required to use your key card to open the garage door. Parking can be tight as most were larger SUVs. We arrived late one night and fortunately were able to squeeze in to the very last space as the vehicle next to us didn't have the courtesy to park within the lines. We arrived at our 2 bedroom unit 214 and 214-s. The s unit can be used as a studio so it has its own mini refrigerator, coffee maker, mini dishwasher etc. the s unit looks like it has a queen size bed but also has a pull out sofa sleeper and bathroom. Perfect place for the kids or perhaps another couple. The main living area in 214 was well maintained with newer carpeting, stainless appliances, gas fireplace, flat panel tv. The master bedroom featured two separate bath areas with the first having sink, toilet, shower(with two shower heads). The 2nd master bath having a soaking jetted tub and two double sinks. As others have mentioned there is no AC in the units but there are portable AC units that you can fill with ice and water if necessary. All rooms have ceiling fans too. At this altitude though, it rarely gets hot.

The public areas are well maintained and manicured. The pools and hot tubs were in generally very good condition and working properly. Shuffleboard, fire pits, outdoor grills, outdoor heaters added to the list of nice things to have on site.
Pool hours are reasonable. I believe during our stay that they closed at 10pm and thus quiet period begins.

If I had to nit pick it would be a very short list of things to improve.
- cleaning staff needs to clean tops of refrigerator. It was full of dust.
- our blender had the lid insert missing
- improve security a bit. anyone can walk into the public pool zones. some non guests were using the pool and hot tub facilities one evening. They were smoking and drinking from beer bottles which is forbidden. Good news though is that key cards are required to get into the room buildings.
- Generally the shuttle service to/from the lodge to town center was reliable, drivers were friendly, etc but on one occasion we had to wait about 35 minutes for a ride.

Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and our accommodations. I rated a 4 because a 5 is reserved for the Waldorf-Astoria and the like. This is a nice family lodge and not pretentious in any way.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Keithgk,

We are delighted to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay! We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing time at our resort – making a guest feel at home is always a wonderful compliment to receive. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge, we will pass along your feedback to the appropriate departments. It was a pleasure having you stay at our resort and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Several members of our group have time shares at Gold Point so we stayed at a discount.

Love the closeness to town, pool, hot tubs and poolside bar and restaurant.

Some in our party complained of nighttime noise, uncomfortable beds and outdated decor.

Our rooms were in the front circle and it is a bit busy, but things quiet down later at night.

Personally, I love Grand Timber and hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Public Relations Manager at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi Killingtime1,

Thank you for all the wonderful words about Grand Timber Lodge, our staff and our amenities. We would recommend staying in buildings 1-4. These buildings have been updated and tend to be a little quieter. Thank you again for your review and we hope to create some more unforgettable memories for you and your family in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.