We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great ski vacation location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Timber Lodge
Save
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
ma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“great ski vacation location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We just came back from a week long stay at Grand Timber Lodge(traded through interval international). We stayed in a 2 bedroom/2bath with 8 of us(4 adults and 4 teenagers). There was plenty of room. The kitchen was fully stocked with any pot, pan, utensil or aplliance that was needed(my friend and I were quite impressed). We were on the ground floor of building 6 facing the pool-it was a great location-the kids could walk right out, go down 2 flights of stairs,(to Christies sports)put on skiis and head over to beaver run chairlift. The 1st day that we skiied, there was quite a bit of snow so we could just about ski to the lift. A few days later there wasn't as much snow so we had to take off skiis and walk a little ways. It was so nice to be able to go back to condo and relax for lunch.Building 6 seemed to be the best bldg to be in-close to pool and hot tubs(you didn't even have to go outside to get to them), spa and Lodgepole restaurant are in bldg 6 also. The only complaint that i do have is that it was always so hot. We had thermostat all the way off and we still had to open the windows. We had a beautiful fox that would come and visit us on our patio every evening at dusk. Went to a few good restaurants in Breckenridge-Fatty's and Eric's were both excellent. We went to the O2 bar in town because some of us had altitude sickness. We have been to CO before but have never experienced this -we have also never stayed on the mountain before. Overall, I would highly recommend Grand timber-it's a nice resort in a great location.

Room Tip: building 6 facing pool on ground floor was great for walking in and out of patio to get to christies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you so much for writing this great review on TripAdvisor of Grand Timber Lodge. It brings us great pleasure to hear positive feedback from guests who highly recommend the resort. We are happy you and your party of eight enjoyed our Two Bedroom unit, amenities and great location. We do apologize, however, that you experienced heat issues during your stay – next time you visit us, never hesitate to contact the Front Desk to make your stay as comfortable as possible! It is great you enjoyed the town and found a remedy for altitude sickness at the Oxygen Lounge. We are thrilled that you stayed with us for your first stay in the mountains, and hope we can welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    142
    25
    32
    30
See reviews for
182
111
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Not very convenient ski-in property at all depending on the building you are staying at - ski out is ok. Everything is charged extra like clean towels, room cleaning etc. We were told we would have our room "tidied" up (but no cleaning) daily & it actually happened only 1x in 4 days and my pool towels went missing from our room that day. Sauna was not working nor was the indoor hot tub. Room & furniture seemed really cheap (could hear neighbors clearly) - old style TV. There are so many better properties to stay at in Breck. The worst part was that we went on the tour for the Peak 7 property and the agent did not want to communicate with us at all when we said no to signing a contract for an $83,000 timeshare (or should I call it a deeded property purchase you share with 52 people). Very rude - he valued a 1 bedroom basically at $4 million dollars. This all left us with a bad feeling. The shuttle service was probably the only good thing when staying at this property. I think I've stayed at a so many better places in Breck previously that this just seemed like a step below what other properties offer in Breck.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge and are very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay at our resort. It is always our goal to create great vacations for all of our guests and are truly sorry we did not exceed your expectations. Although you mentioned you enjoyed our shuttle service, we apologize you had a negative experience with the Sales Agent during the tour of Grand Lodge on Peak 7. We always encourage guests to speak with the Front Desk if they ever need anything – such as complimentary towels or extra cleaning services – during their stay. We hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to our resort, and please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay as relaxing and comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights in a Studio Queen Room in Bldg 3. The room was in serious need of updating. Furnishings, bathroom & carpets were outdated and smelly. The room was extraordinarily small too. And, why not put King sized beds in studio rooms? My husband and I were constantly falling off of the bed! (I don't know if it was even a true Queen size.) Our son slept on the fold-out sofa sleeper -- he asked for a foam pad to help soften the mattress but they didn't have one. So, he settled for a a mattress pad with loft which helped a little. He doesn't recommend the sleeper sofa. Also, the heat in the building was overwhelming to the point that we had to prop windows open to get air, even through the nights. The front desk gave us a humidifier to help with dry air that resulted from the overbearing heat (we didn't even run the heater in our own room) but the humidifier didn't help much. Not the most pleasant 3 days we ever had! Despite the closeness, smelliness and uncomfortable bedding of the accommodation, the Lodge's location is nice and is a true skin-in if not a true ski-out (have to take skis off to walk across a road) and does have a few nice amenities -- hot tubs and swimming pools and heated parking garages. Restaurant and sundry shop are only open at lunchtime. Staff was very pleasant and always tried to please.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a Studio Queen or in Building 3 -- ask for the most recently updated room. And be su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge. Whether positive or negative, we use all guest feedback to improve our resort to make your next stay better than the last. While we are happy to know you enjoyed the location, amenities, heated garage and our helpful staff, we are very sorry to hear you did not have an enjoyable stay. It is always our goal to create a memorable vacation for our guests and we always suggest speaking with the Front Desk if you ever need anything. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and create a great vacation for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Grand Timber lodge in Breckenridge is a great location. Needs a bit of furniture and TV updates, but the location and amenities make up for that. Ski slope comes right down to the property, ski rental on property with discounts for those on site, good sports bar and grill and great outdoor hot tubs/pools

We love Breckenridge and Grand Timber has free shuttle to/from anywhere in town...just call

Room Tip: Get third floor in building 7...great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor for Grand Timber Lodge. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location, amenities, shuttle service and the Lodgepole Bar & Grill. We are happy you took advantage of all our resort has to offer, and we welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We spent a week in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath unit at Grand Timber Lodge in late January (timeshare exchange). We loved it! Our room(s) were spacious, clean and comfortable. We had a balcony and a gas fireplace as well as a full kitchen. We were in building 5, which was great-we had a view of the pool & hot tubs-it was nice to have a short walk to the hot tubs as we had very cold weather that week! The free shuttle is a great perk, we took it into Breckenridge most nights for dinner; they drop you wherever you want to go and when you're ready to go back to the lodge, all it takes is a phone call and they will pick you up. We did have a rental car (used mostly to get from Denver to Breckenridge) and did not have the parking problems others have described; yes, the spaces are tight, but we were able to get a space without any trouble when we went in and out. The staff was very pleasant and indeed seemed to go above and beyond the call of duty to help us out. There is also a good restaurant on site (The Lodgepole Barr & Grill), we had a very nice dinner there one night. Also on site is a shop for ski rentals and a spa. All in all, we
had a great time and would consider ourselves lucky to go back the next time we head West for a ski vacation!

Room Tip: Buildings 5 and 6 are near the pool and hot tub..you can get to the indoor/ outdoor pool without hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
It is wonderful to hear you had a great time at Grand Timber Lodge! From the spacious units, to the on-site restaurant and heated parking garage, it is great to know you enjoyed all we have to offer. We appreciate you sharing your recent vacation experience and we considering ourselves lucky to have a happy guest such as yourself. We will see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Canaan, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am an owner that has not been back to the property in many years. Being away makes me appreciate what a true gem that we have. The service has been EXCELLENT and the amenities fantastic. No big deal that you have to walk 100 yards to ski out.....some people call that ...exercise. Ski right in to the back of the property.
I love the place and the town of Breckenridge. We will be back for many years to come!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing these kind words about Grand Timber Lodge over TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review and are so pleased to hear from an owner truly happy with their ownership. We are looking forward to creating you and your family great vacations for years and years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Paid waaaaay too much money to stay in a very average room...Be very careful to not confuse their properties: Grand Timber Lodge and Grand Lodge are VERY different! I agree that it is not a ski in ski out facility. The room was nothing to boast about, for sure, the misleading staff were frustrating, the whole experience put a huge damper on our 5 year anniversary "get away" that we were so excited about!

Room Tip: If you so desire a porch/balcony...you must request a 2+Bedroom Suite...if the information is correc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We truly regret your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We encourage guests to contact our Front Desk during their stay if they need anything to enhance their experience. Our goal is to make your stay as memorable and relaxing as possible. Grand Timber Lodge is within 20-100 yards of a ski lift or trail, depending on which building you are staying in. Our sister resort, Grand Lodge on Peak 7, as you mentioned, is considered slope-side. Again, we are disappointed to hear your stay was not exceptional but we are always grateful for feedback from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.