We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Appointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Timber Lodge
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off This Summer!
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phila Metro Area
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Well Appointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom unit at Grand Timber Lodge in the past via a timeshare exchange. This time we took a budget approach in a studio unit. It was really nice and a good value for the price. The unit was well appointed and quite comfortable. There was room for two people to move around and feel like each still had some space.
In addition, our unit and all the common area we saw was quite clean. I didn't see, dust, discoloration or any non-descript creepy stuff that you often see in corners, etc.
The shuttle staff and servers in the Lodgepole restaurant were personable and made you feel welcome.
I recommended it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Grand Timber Lodge, and recommend us. It is truly great knowing you think our resort is really nice and a good value. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    127
    24
    31
    30
See reviews for
164
97
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We recently stayed at Grand Timber Lodge and had an amazing time! Comfortable accomodations that felt like home! We had a 2 BR condo, and we stayed with our 3 young children (10, 7 and 5). We kept the fire place roaring and enjoyed relaxing meals in the fully stocked kitchen after long days on the slopes. There was great snow, and we really enjoyed the convenient location of the lodge. We also utilized the free shuttle service that brought us into town and over to the ski lift. We did bring a rental car, and I have seen people complain about the parking garage, but our SUV was no problem - parking garages are a tight fit wherever you go! The heated sidewalks and heated parking garage made getting around easy. Our kids enjoyed the heated pool every evening and we used the DVD rental service. Convenient to rent ski and snow boarding equipment for Christie's on site, and received a 20% discount for staying at the hotel. The staff was friendly and we would love to come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 3, which was conveniently located next to the main building and pool. It was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for sharing your vacation experience at the Grand Timber Lodge on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing time at our resort! Thank you so much for your kind words – making a guest feel at home is always a wonderful compliment to receive. It was a pleasure having you stay at our resort and we are looking forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom unit at Grand Timber Lodge in Breckenridge the end of January. Tried to arrange a timeshare exchange, but none was available the week we wanted, so we rented from an owner. This is one of the nicer timeshares we have experienced over the years. The unit was large with a very well-equipped kitchen including full refrigerator, dishwasher, washer/dryer, full stove with oven, and microwave. The lock-off portion has a queen bed, two burner stove, microwave, mini refrigerator, and small dishwasher. The main unit has a king size bed, large tub with jets, shower, gas fireplace and large living space with a pull out sofa. The front desk was very helpful, and the resort had an excellent shuttle bus system – took us to the grocery store and picked us up when finished. The resort has six separate buildings and is located within a short walk or shuttle ride to the base of peak 9 ski area. There are multiple pools and hot tubs, both inside and outside, and robes are available free at the spa. The restaurant was causal and had a reasonable variety of pub offerings including a large pizza and pitcher of beer for $20! The only drawback, which wasn’t a real problem for us, is the lack of air conditioning – typical for Breckenridge. Even though it was -3 to 16 degree weather, the rooms were warm even with the heat shut off! Thus, we had to open windows at night to cool the unit. Ours overlooked the pool/hot tub area which was somewhat noisy. However with the cold weather everyone was inside around 10 pm, but in the summer it could be a problem. Would be a good idea to bring ear plugs! Overall, this is an outstanding resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We are so very glad that your visit to Grand Timber Lodge was great! It brings us pleasure knowing you enjoyed so many aspects of our resort. We do have quiet hours from 10pm to 8am so our guests can get the restful sleep they deserve. Also, we do suggest speaking to our Front Desk if you ever experience anything uncomfortable, such as room temperature or noise. We are delighted that you were happy with your room, the shuttle service, amenities and on-site restaurant & bar. The next time you are looking for a great stay in the mountains, we hope it will be with us! Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review of Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The room itself feels about like what one should expect at a three star hotel. The decorations and fit and finish are a bit cheesy and lodge/cabin themed. (The ceiling fan is one of the ugliest I have ever seen.) But, the theme is fairly typical for a mountain timeshare.

Breckenridge doesn't have many hotels (e.g., like the Hotel Jerome or Little Nell in Aspen) and certainly doesn't have any modern options of which I am aware. So, I give this a four star rating relative to other options in the area. Don't expect an Intercontinental. Expect something that is more family oriented and less service oriented than a full service hotel. For instance, there is no regular maid service, and you have to call for towels. However, most of the staff were friendly and accommodating.

The hotel has garage parking. It looks like it could be limited, but I arrived on a Thursday night and didn't have too much trouble finding a space (though parking spots were tight due to the large number of SUVs onsite).

The indoor-outdoor pool and two pool-sized hot tubs were great Apres Ski locations. They are adjacent to the hotel bar (very reasonable prices) and are serviced by bar staff.

They did have some less desirable qualities at this timeshare. For instance, they charge 50 cents for coffee in the lobby... and I am not one to carry change, so that is a pain. They also require you to get a parking permit from the concierge, who will ask if you want to look at the sister property's timeshare. Even though it wasn't a hard sale, I don't want to be asked to look at a timeshare. The room was also far too hot, even though we didn't use the heater at all. I had to open the windows and put the ceiling fan on high in order to get the room more comfortable. (It was still warm, even after opening the windows.)

The location is good. The property is within comfortable walking distance to town. You can rent ski equipment onsite, and it is a short walk to the lift. (The location is close to some of the green slopes.) The property also had frequent van service that dropped us off at several locations in town, and you may also call for a pick up. The van drivers were all very entertaining and friendly.

I would certainly stay here again, and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Ask for building 5 with a view of the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your review of Grand Timber Lodge - we are very glad that you will certainly stay with us again and recommend us to others! We pride ourselves on being a family-oriented resort, so it is wonderful to hear that you agree. For your next stay, never hesitate to ask the Front Desk for additional cleaning to your room, heat adjustments or for complimentary coffee packets. It is great to hear you enjoyed the location, shuttle service and award-winning amenities. Your feedback is very much appreciated, as we use this information to make improvements to the resort. Thank you again for the time you have taken to share your experience with us and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I took our two adult children on a ski vacation to Breckenridge. We did a timeshare exchange and picked the Grand Timber Lodge. We stayed in a one-bedroom premium (the larger side of the two-bedroom unit). Overall, it was a good stay. We had pretty good skiing, although Breck could use more snow. The unit was spacious, with a nice fireplace and whirlpool tub. There is a pool and hot tubs both inside and outside. You can decide if the air is warm enough to walk 10-15 feet from the pool to the outdoor hot tub (we didn't, as it was -10 at the time).

The shuttle service is reasonably prompt, but the pickup and drop-off points in town are limited. They can't stop anywhere. There are small signs on the street that indicate the stops. It would be nice if the resort had a map that showed exactly where they were, but usually you just needed to say where you were going and the driver knew where to stop.
There is a heated garage under the unit and storage lockers for skis. The lockers were usually full, so we just put our stuff in the car.

The description includes "ski in and ski out" but that is stretching my definition of the term. Taking the shuttle to and from Beaver Run is probably a better choice. Yes, there are marked runs that pass the property, but the Snowflake trail is very flat in several stretches, and you have to pole your way along or walk. Sawmill is a little better, but still rather slow. The ski out requires you to walk across the property to a spot near the pool to join the Sawmill trail. It's right next to the Christy Sports office on the property, but it's pretty inconvenient if you have equipment issues and need to exchange anything. We found Breck Sports to be more conveniently located.

The frying pans in our kitchen were in really good shape for a timeshare. We may have gotten lucky on that, but I always bring a frying pan just in case. There were a lot of cooking utensils, dishes, glassware, and other needs available. I thought there was more stuff than at other timeshare resorts.

A few small downsides: 1) The walls are rather thin. We knew when our neighbors were in their room, as they talked fairly loudly. At least it was not near the bedroom! 2) The rooms seemed a bit chilly, due to heat loss through the windows and cold air coming through the range hood vent. 3) They change the towels once a week for free. Additional changes are expensive. This is not a hotel with daily maid service, so I don't expect daily towel changes. (After all, how often do you change towels at home?) If you want that, then pick a regular hotel room and pay $200-250 per night in high season. 4) There is limited space to hang the winter coats: a 5-hook hanger on the wall. There's no good storage in the unit for bulky stuff like ski boots.

One issue that I reported was a maintenance worker unlocked our door and started to come in without knocking, which is against their policy. This was rather disconcerting, to say the least! They apologized profusely, but it should not have happened.

One other note is that we did not get the hard sell to take the tour of the Grand Lodge and listen to the 90 minute sales pitch. They offered the opportunity once at check-in, and let us decide. No daily reminder calls or other pestering, as at other resorts. The choice was totally up to us (we skipped it).

We'd come back here on our next visit, as it's conveniently located and a nice property. I would also try other resorts if they were available.

Room Tip: You probably don't have a lot of choice as to where they put you. All of the units seem pretty w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
We value all feedback - positive or negative - and appreciate your thorough response regarding your stay at Grand Timber Lodge. It is great to know you had a good stay and enjoyed many aspects of the resort! For your next stay, we suggest speaking to our Front Desk regarding the room temperature and complimentary towel exchanges. We’d love for you come back and visit us again soon and please let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay even better. Again, thank you very much for your review of Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This timeshare resort offers rentals as well, in well appointed, comfortable accommodation that is very well located for mixed-ability ski groups/families as well as for couples who want to be able to walk to the shops and restaurants. It's not true ski-in ski-out (the "out" part involves 20 yards or so of sidewalk) but who cares when there are multiple free shuttle buses at the resort that will take you or fetch you from anywhere in town in minutes?
Close enough to stroll downhill to Main Street in a few minutes, and near to the base of Beaver Run and Snowflake, so you can get around between the peaks easily using this as your base. On site facilities are good - the Lodgepole Restaurant is not the stuff of Michelin stars but they do offer good variety and will happily cope with special dietary needs (e.g. gluten free). Plenty of sun loungers, a great on-site spa for pampering treatments, and programmed activities for families and kids.
Units are well enough equipped if you want to self-cater and have plenty of storage space and comfortable seating.
We've been coming here since the late 1990s and have been impressed with how responsive the management is to suggestions, and how good they are at updating/maintenance. The decor is a little folksy/faux backwoods for our tastes, but then we are European and we don't expect the rest of the world to "get" IKEA. Meanwhile, a moose-shaped coat rack is delightful, so long as there's a comfy bed and a well equipped bathroom.
All round a safe bet for a week and you will quickly feel at home here. Staff are pleasant and courteous and if you need anything fixing (we broke our toilet cistern) they are there within minutes. Terrific service, always clean, great housekeeping.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Timber Lodge during Thanksgiving Week and other than the lack of snow, were very satisfied. We had a large 3 bedroom, 3 bath unit that was clean, well supplied and very comfortable. They also have a shuttle service that takes you into town and will pick you up with a phone call. The pool area is very nice with multiple hot tubs and indoor/outdoor swimming pools. There is also a bar next to the pool area with poolside service which was nice. The property also includes indoor parking, a work-out center and ski-in, ski-out convenience. Timeshare salespeople left us alone as soon as we indicated that we had no interest. I would return to the Grand Timber Lodge, hopefully when the snowpack is a little better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the resort, despite the fact that Mother Nature was not working in our favor! It is great to know you enjoyed your Three Bedroom, and that it was clean, well supplied and very comfortable. As you mentioned, the shuttle service is a convenient way to get around town. It is wonderful that you took advantage of our poolside bar service and that you enjoyed the ski-in ski-out location, indoor parking and workout center. Again, thank you for the response, we would love to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list