We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for Breckenridge shops and food, as well as the slopes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Timber Lodge
Save Saved
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off This Summer!
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Perfect location for Breckenridge shops and food, as well as the slopes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This timeshare resort offers rentals as well, in well appointed, comfortable accommodation that is very well located for mixed-ability ski groups/families as well as for couples who want to be able to walk to the shops and restaurants. It's not true ski-in ski-out (the "out" part involves 20 yards or so of sidewalk) but who cares when there are multiple free shuttle buses at the resort that will take you or fetch you from anywhere in town in minutes?
Close enough to stroll downhill to Main Street in a few minutes, and near to the base of Beaver Run and Snowflake, so you can get around between the peaks easily using this as your base. On site facilities are good - the Lodgepole Restaurant is not the stuff of Michelin stars but they do offer good variety and will happily cope with special dietary needs (e.g. gluten free). Plenty of sun loungers, a great on-site spa for pampering treatments, and programmed activities for families and kids.
Units are well enough equipped if you want to self-cater and have plenty of storage space and comfortable seating.
We've been coming here since the late 1990s and have been impressed with how responsive the management is to suggestions, and how good they are at updating/maintenance. The decor is a little folksy/faux backwoods for our tastes, but then we are European and we don't expect the rest of the world to "get" IKEA. Meanwhile, a moose-shaped coat rack is delightful, so long as there's a comfy bed and a well equipped bathroom.
All round a safe bet for a week and you will quickly feel at home here. Staff are pleasant and courteous and if you need anything fixing (we broke our toilet cistern) they are there within minutes. Terrific service, always clean, great housekeeping.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    131
    24
    31
    30
See reviews for
170
98
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Timber Lodge during Thanksgiving Week and other than the lack of snow, were very satisfied. We had a large 3 bedroom, 3 bath unit that was clean, well supplied and very comfortable. They also have a shuttle service that takes you into town and will pick you up with a phone call. The pool area is very nice with multiple hot tubs and indoor/outdoor swimming pools. There is also a bar next to the pool area with poolside service which was nice. The property also includes indoor parking, a work-out center and ski-in, ski-out convenience. Timeshare salespeople left us alone as soon as we indicated that we had no interest. I would return to the Grand Timber Lodge, hopefully when the snowpack is a little better.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge. We are very happy to hear that you were satisfied with the resort, despite the fact that Mother Nature was not working in our favor! It is great to know you enjoyed your Three Bedroom, and that it was clean, well supplied and very comfortable. As you mentioned, the shuttle service is a convenient way to get around town. It is wonderful that you took advantage of our poolside bar service and that you enjoyed the ski-in ski-out location, indoor parking and workout center. Again, thank you for the response, we would love to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were here last year and decided to use an exchange for a ski week. We have been owners at Gold Point for over 10 years, but usually end up exchanging it. Grand Timber is definitely a newer and has many more amenities than GP. The two bedroom is very comfortable for family and friends who come to visit. Unfortunately, the beginning of our stay was bitterly cold, so the family missed out on a couple of days on the slope. There was plenty of football to watch, and we were able to accommodate 8 of us at the dining table for dinner.
While the family skied, I took advantage of the small work-out facility and had 3 wonderful yoga sessions with Neely. we have found the staff always very helpful and courteous. We love Breckenridge and look forward to more visits.

Room Tip: we have stayed in buildings 6 and 2 and have enjoyed both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Grand Timber Lodge. We are thrilled to hear you truly enjoyed your stay with us, and continue to come back! It is great you kept yourselves entertained, considering the slopes were too cold for your liking. It brings us great pleasure knowing you took advantage of all the fun activities the town and resort have to offer, including our workout studio and yoga classes! In regards to our helpful and courteous staff, we strive to have superior customer service, so it’s wonderful to hear you agree. Again, thank you for sharing your comments and we are also looking forward to your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stay at Grandlodge Timber Lodge in December 2012 the stay was great we had a 3 bedroom 3 bathroom condo. The kitchen and dinning room areas were large and spacious and we loved the fireplace and ammenities. However, we did attend the tour of Grandlodge on Peak 7, the property was newer with beautiful views, but the living areas were much smaller than Grand Timber Lodge and much more expensive. We took our tour and after the presentation
we were asking several questions about the property and our salesman ask us are you interested in buying if not thanks for coming and have a good day. He was ABRUPT, RUDE, ABNOXIOUS AND UNPROFESSIONAL, he didnt give us any other options or offers. I spoke to the manager of sales and she was very professional and apologetic, but the damage was done.
If you dont have $50,000 to 83,000.00 to spend immediately on a timeshare "THAT DAY" beware of the RUDE SALES PEOPLE.

Room Tip: if you have a large group the 3 bedroom was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge – it is wonderful to hear you had a great stay in our three bedroom unit! It is great to know you enjoyed the large kitchen, nice living room with dining room table and all of our award-winning amenities. We are very sorry to hear, however, that the preview tour was disappointing due to your experience with one of our sales agents. Each and every employee is thoroughly trained on our hospitality standards, which include making every guest contact positive. Please note that your concerns have been brought to the attention of our Director of Sales. We appreciate your feedback so that we can continue to improve the vacation experience at our family of resorts. Again, thank you for writing a review of Grand Timber Lodge, we are very happy to hear you had a great vacation and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We used points from Hilton Grand Vacation Club to stay here. Very low value for the points used. Not a true ski in ski out property. We were charged a large resort fee after we left ($238 for five nights). When we called about the charge we were told that it was disclosed to us in our confirmation and when we checked in. Neither is true. We will continue to dispute this charge. Rooms weren't clean (found black mold in master shower and raisins on carpet in main room when we checked in). Parking was underneath the building which was convenient. However, the parking stalls were so small that parking a large SUV was very difficult - and virtually every vehicle was a large SUV. Seems that would have been planned for at a ski resort. Overall, we were very disappointed and would not suggest it to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience staying at Grand Timber Lodge. We use our guest feedback as an opportunity to improve our service in order to ensure that all our guests enjoy a great vacation while staying with us. We apologize that you were disappointed with the point value. The exchange fee is not something that Grand Timber Lodge charges, yet instead the company you exchanged through. This amount would not be quoted by our Front Desk, as they do not have the authorization nor the information on your exchange fees. We would suggest contacting the exchange company you worked with to resolve this issue. Regarding the cleanliness of our units, we sincerely apologize they were not up to your standard. In the future, if you have any concerns with our units, we would suggest contacting our Front Desk immediately, who would be more than happy to assist you with any problems. Also, for parking, we have eight different parking garages and always have enough parking for overnight guests. We are happy to hear however, that you enjoyed the convenience of the location of the garages. Whether positive or negative responses, we do appreciate the feedback and again thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I have stayed at the Grand Timber Lodge several times- the first time in December 2008 and we went twice this summer in June and July 2012. In December it truly is a ski in/ ski out resort and it is very convenient to get to when skiing the mountain; it's the perfect resort for a winter vacation. We've used our timeshare points through Diamond Resorts International each time we visit.

In the summertime the resort is great as well- my favorite time to visit the Breckenridge area. It's just a few minutes away from some scenic hiking trails. We hiked the Spruce Creek Trail to Mohawk Lakes and it's just a 10 minute or less drive away. There are plenty of other hiking trails nearby- you can't go wrong. Other than the fun summertime activities in Breckenridge, the resort has a shuttle that runs conveniently to Main Street in downtown- certainly worth browsing.

Once we arrived the front desk had warm chocolate chip cookies waiting- that was a pleasant surprise after our 2 1/2 hour drive from the Boulder area. The front desk agent was friendly and so was the concierge who gave us our parking pass- both enthusiastic about the area. The resort has planned activities throughout the week and they are prepared with info on Breckenridge events to help you make the most of your stay.

The two bedroom suites are incredibly spacious and simply fantastic. The studio room is much smaller, but it is enough for just a couple of days. It was helpful that even the studio room had a mini kitchenette with a fridge. The couch bed is as comfy as a couch bed can be. The rooms are very clean with a mountain feel to them and the rooms with balconies have nice views. I accidentally left an expensive bracelet and medicine at the hotel and the housekeeping staff sure enough had it labeled and found it for me on our next visit in July a month later when I was there- very much appreciated!

The resort is truly at the top of the mountain and is in a very picturesque location. From the hot tubs you can see the mountains and trees. The pools are pretty big and they have a few of them throughout the 8 buildings.

Overall, I'd definitely return to the Grand Timber Lodge and would recommend it. The accessible location maximize your stay to see the best the Breckenridge, the clean mountain rooms and friendly staff make this place shine above the rest in Breckenridge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge - It is wonderful to hear you have come back to visit us several times! It is great to know you experienced the resort not only in the Winter, but also in the Summer. Having the Rocky Mountains as our backyard offers many activities year round, as it is located in the heart of some of the most stellar hiking and skiing. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in, free shuttle service, friendly staff and our activities department. We are also happy to know you thoroughly enjoyed the rooms! It is great to hear from guests that the rooms are spacious, clean, have a mountainous feel and are overall fantastic. We understand after a long day of skiing or hiking, relaxing in the hot tubs and pools that overlook the trees and mountain is the perfect way to end a day in Breckenridge. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It brings us great pleasure to know you will definitely return and recommend Grand Timber Lodge to others – we are looking forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just got back from a weeklong stay at this resort for New Years. We traded our timeshare through interval international. It was perfect.

The Good-the grounds were nice and the room awesome. We had a 2br/2ba that was huge with 2 master suites and a jacuzzi tub. The living and kitchen area were really big with a table that seats 8 and full kitchen. The jacuzzis, pools, steam room, sauna were great. A couple of jacuzzis were cold because one had a waterfall going into it and the other was indoors and got splashed with pool water. The restaurant looked nice but we didn't eat there. Loved how you could rent ski equipment at Christies on site and could walk right over to Beaver Run Lift. Very convenient. We came back to the room for lunch daily. One thing that was appreciated was the grounds of the resort were heated so there was never any snow when driving or walking. Saw that in previous reviews that people complained about the parking garage but it was standard and plenty of parking. Appreciated that the garage was heated. We had a car but used the shuttle a few times and it was great. The shuttle picked you up at stop at hotel and then you called them to pick you up wherever you are and they'd be there quickly. You don't need a car at all.

The Bad-the size of the tvs. They were all flat screans but tiny. That might be ok in the bedrooms but not for the living room. Couldn't see scores of football games or watch a movie because screen so little. There were 2 jacuzzis that were cold-one because it had waterfall flowing in and the other was indoor and attached to pool so cold water splashed in. Housekeeping was a bit screwy. We had no washclothes in our room and towel/trash service was supposed to be Tuesday but they never came. I called twice and they said just busy so someone finally showed up with towels about 8pm but no one changed the trash bags/cans. We had to do it ourselves. Though they showed up with towels, washclothes this time, they forgot hand towels so had to come back. Also something very strange/concerning happened with housekeeping the day after we checked in. 2 people came by who we don't believe worked for the hotel and asked if we wanted daily cleaning service. Very strange because it's only supposed to be in middle of stay and just towel/trash exchange. Ran into a couple other guests in lobby who were saying same thing about being solicited about daily cleaning day after they checked in. One guy even took advantage of it. The front desk agreed that these people were not related to hotel and wondered how they got in-saying they'd check it out and get back to us. They never did. It's very concerning that strange people got into hotel and were soliciting cleaning business and that Grand Timber didn't seem to care. The concierge wasn't very helpful. I asked 2 different concierges what the prices of the lift tickets were and they said they didn't know. Lastly the timeshare sell was over the top. You check in at front desk then they send you over to concierge to supposedly get parking pass. Oh no this is a way to try and get you to do a timeshare presentation. A big sell and annoying. We did go on the presentation to see what the new building looked like and what the rooms go for. We were interested in a 2 br/2ba for New Years Week which sold for $180K-insane!!! Overall we loved The Grand Timber and plan on staying here yearly. Restaurant recommendations

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge – we are very happy to hear you had a perfect ski-in, ski-out snowy holiday! We are pleased to know you truly enjoyed the spacious rooms, on-site ski rental shop, heated parking garage, free shuttle and convenient location near the ski lifts. We do keep the grounds heated as a courtesy to our guests, so it is great to hear you enjoyed that benefit as well! We apologize, however, that the television screen was smaller than you had expected; we do offer a large screen television in the lobby as well as at the on-site restaurant & bar. Regarding the housecleaning staff; we do take extreme pride and care in the security and privacy of our guests and our property. We were able to look at the history of this reservation, and during the time of your stay, we did have housecleaning temps assisting our maintenance staff. There was some confusion between the studio and master unit, and the lock-off portion to the unit you stayed in was scheduled for a basic clean. Your unit was confused for the lock-off; we are very sorry if this caused you any inconvenience or concern. We also take great pride in providing our guests with superior customer service. Management has been notified regarding the concierge desk not supply you with this standard. Despite this, we are very happy to know you had a great stay here with us at Grand Timber Lodge. Again, we appreciate you writing a response and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.