We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great Lodge" but RUDE/UNPROFESSIONAL TIMESHARE SALEMAN” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Timber Lodge
Save Saved
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"Great Lodge" but RUDE/UNPROFESSIONAL TIMESHARE SALEMAN”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stay at Grandlodge Timber Lodge in December 2012 the stay was great we had a 3 bedroom 3 bathroom condo. The kitchen and dinning room areas were large and spacious and we loved the fireplace and ammenities. However, we did attend the tour of Grandlodge on Peak 7, the property was newer with beautiful views, but the living areas were much smaller than Grand Timber Lodge and much more expensive. We took our tour and after the presentation
we were asking several questions about the property and our salesman ask us are you interested in buying if not thanks for coming and have a good day. He was ABRUPT, RUDE, ABNOXIOUS AND UNPROFESSIONAL, he didnt give us any other options or offers. I spoke to the manager of sales and she was very professional and apologetic, but the damage was done.
If you dont have $50,000 to 83,000.00 to spend immediately on a timeshare "THAT DAY" beware of the RUDE SALES PEOPLE.

Room Tip: if you have a large group the 3 bedroom was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge – it is wonderful to hear you had a great stay in our three bedroom unit! It is great to know you enjoyed the large kitchen, nice living room with dining room table and all of our award-winning amenities. We are very sorry to hear, however, that the preview tour was disappointing due to your experience with one of our sales agents. Each and every employee is thoroughly trained on our hospitality standards, which include making every guest contact positive. Please note that your concerns have been brought to the attention of our Director of Sales. We appreciate your feedback so that we can continue to improve the vacation experience at our family of resorts. Again, thank you for writing a review of Grand Timber Lodge, we are very happy to hear you had a great vacation and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    137
    25
    31
    30
See reviews for
177
105
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We used points from Hilton Grand Vacation Club to stay here. Very low value for the points used. Not a true ski in ski out property. We were charged a large resort fee after we left ($238 for five nights). When we called about the charge we were told that it was disclosed to us in our confirmation and when we checked in. Neither is true. We will continue to dispute this charge. Rooms weren't clean (found black mold in master shower and raisins on carpet in main room when we checked in). Parking was underneath the building which was convenient. However, the parking stalls were so small that parking a large SUV was very difficult - and virtually every vehicle was a large SUV. Seems that would have been planned for at a ski resort. Overall, we were very disappointed and would not suggest it to our friends.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience staying at Grand Timber Lodge. We use our guest feedback as an opportunity to improve our service in order to ensure that all our guests enjoy a great vacation while staying with us. We apologize that you were disappointed with the point value. The exchange fee is not something that Grand Timber Lodge charges, yet instead the company you exchanged through. This amount would not be quoted by our Front Desk, as they do not have the authorization nor the information on your exchange fees. We would suggest contacting the exchange company you worked with to resolve this issue. Regarding the cleanliness of our units, we sincerely apologize they were not up to your standard. In the future, if you have any concerns with our units, we would suggest contacting our Front Desk immediately, who would be more than happy to assist you with any problems. Also, for parking, we have eight different parking garages and always have enough parking for overnight guests. We are happy to hear however, that you enjoyed the convenience of the location of the garages. Whether positive or negative responses, we do appreciate the feedback and again thank you for taking the time to share your recent experiences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I have stayed at the Grand Timber Lodge several times- the first time in December 2008 and we went twice this summer in June and July 2012. In December it truly is a ski in/ ski out resort and it is very convenient to get to when skiing the mountain; it's the perfect resort for a winter vacation. We've used our timeshare points through Diamond Resorts International each time we visit.

In the summertime the resort is great as well- my favorite time to visit the Breckenridge area. It's just a few minutes away from some scenic hiking trails. We hiked the Spruce Creek Trail to Mohawk Lakes and it's just a 10 minute or less drive away. There are plenty of other hiking trails nearby- you can't go wrong. Other than the fun summertime activities in Breckenridge, the resort has a shuttle that runs conveniently to Main Street in downtown- certainly worth browsing.

Once we arrived the front desk had warm chocolate chip cookies waiting- that was a pleasant surprise after our 2 1/2 hour drive from the Boulder area. The front desk agent was friendly and so was the concierge who gave us our parking pass- both enthusiastic about the area. The resort has planned activities throughout the week and they are prepared with info on Breckenridge events to help you make the most of your stay.

The two bedroom suites are incredibly spacious and simply fantastic. The studio room is much smaller, but it is enough for just a couple of days. It was helpful that even the studio room had a mini kitchenette with a fridge. The couch bed is as comfy as a couch bed can be. The rooms are very clean with a mountain feel to them and the rooms with balconies have nice views. I accidentally left an expensive bracelet and medicine at the hotel and the housekeeping staff sure enough had it labeled and found it for me on our next visit in July a month later when I was there- very much appreciated!

The resort is truly at the top of the mountain and is in a very picturesque location. From the hot tubs you can see the mountains and trees. The pools are pretty big and they have a few of them throughout the 8 buildings.

Overall, I'd definitely return to the Grand Timber Lodge and would recommend it. The accessible location maximize your stay to see the best the Breckenridge, the clean mountain rooms and friendly staff make this place shine above the rest in Breckenridge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge - It is wonderful to hear you have come back to visit us several times! It is great to know you experienced the resort not only in the Winter, but also in the Summer. Having the Rocky Mountains as our backyard offers many activities year round, as it is located in the heart of some of the most stellar hiking and skiing. We are pleased to know you enjoyed our warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in, free shuttle service, friendly staff and our activities department. We are also happy to know you thoroughly enjoyed the rooms! It is great to hear from guests that the rooms are spacious, clean, have a mountainous feel and are overall fantastic. We understand after a long day of skiing or hiking, relaxing in the hot tubs and pools that overlook the trees and mountain is the perfect way to end a day in Breckenridge. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It brings us great pleasure to know you will definitely return and recommend Grand Timber Lodge to others – we are looking forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just got back from a weeklong stay at this resort for New Years. We traded our timeshare through interval international. It was perfect.

The Good-the grounds were nice and the room awesome. We had a 2br/2ba that was huge with 2 master suites and a jacuzzi tub. The living and kitchen area were really big with a table that seats 8 and full kitchen. The jacuzzis, pools, steam room, sauna were great. A couple of jacuzzis were cold because one had a waterfall going into it and the other was indoors and got splashed with pool water. The restaurant looked nice but we didn't eat there. Loved how you could rent ski equipment at Christies on site and could walk right over to Beaver Run Lift. Very convenient. We came back to the room for lunch daily. One thing that was appreciated was the grounds of the resort were heated so there was never any snow when driving or walking. Saw that in previous reviews that people complained about the parking garage but it was standard and plenty of parking. Appreciated that the garage was heated. We had a car but used the shuttle a few times and it was great. The shuttle picked you up at stop at hotel and then you called them to pick you up wherever you are and they'd be there quickly. You don't need a car at all.

The Bad-the size of the tvs. They were all flat screans but tiny. That might be ok in the bedrooms but not for the living room. Couldn't see scores of football games or watch a movie because screen so little. There were 2 jacuzzis that were cold-one because it had waterfall flowing in and the other was indoor and attached to pool so cold water splashed in. Housekeeping was a bit screwy. We had no washclothes in our room and towel/trash service was supposed to be Tuesday but they never came. I called twice and they said just busy so someone finally showed up with towels about 8pm but no one changed the trash bags/cans. We had to do it ourselves. Though they showed up with towels, washclothes this time, they forgot hand towels so had to come back. Also something very strange/concerning happened with housekeeping the day after we checked in. 2 people came by who we don't believe worked for the hotel and asked if we wanted daily cleaning service. Very strange because it's only supposed to be in middle of stay and just towel/trash exchange. Ran into a couple other guests in lobby who were saying same thing about being solicited about daily cleaning day after they checked in. One guy even took advantage of it. The front desk agreed that these people were not related to hotel and wondered how they got in-saying they'd check it out and get back to us. They never did. It's very concerning that strange people got into hotel and were soliciting cleaning business and that Grand Timber didn't seem to care. The concierge wasn't very helpful. I asked 2 different concierges what the prices of the lift tickets were and they said they didn't know. Lastly the timeshare sell was over the top. You check in at front desk then they send you over to concierge to supposedly get parking pass. Oh no this is a way to try and get you to do a timeshare presentation. A big sell and annoying. We did go on the presentation to see what the new building looked like and what the rooms go for. We were interested in a 2 br/2ba for New Years Week which sold for $180K-insane!!! Overall we loved The Grand Timber and plan on staying here yearly. Restaurant recommendations

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge – we are very happy to hear you had a perfect ski-in, ski-out snowy holiday! We are pleased to know you truly enjoyed the spacious rooms, on-site ski rental shop, heated parking garage, free shuttle and convenient location near the ski lifts. We do keep the grounds heated as a courtesy to our guests, so it is great to hear you enjoyed that benefit as well! We apologize, however, that the television screen was smaller than you had expected; we do offer a large screen television in the lobby as well as at the on-site restaurant & bar. Regarding the housecleaning staff; we do take extreme pride and care in the security and privacy of our guests and our property. We were able to look at the history of this reservation, and during the time of your stay, we did have housecleaning temps assisting our maintenance staff. There was some confusion between the studio and master unit, and the lock-off portion to the unit you stayed in was scheduled for a basic clean. Your unit was confused for the lock-off; we are very sorry if this caused you any inconvenience or concern. We also take great pride in providing our guests with superior customer service. Management has been notified regarding the concierge desk not supply you with this standard. Despite this, we are very happy to know you had a great stay here with us at Grand Timber Lodge. Again, we appreciate you writing a response and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, CO
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I have been staying in Breckenridge for years, as we live nearby and come frequently to ski. We had an opportunity to stay here at Grand Timber since a friend who owns a time share there offered us a free stay.

Never again. Ugh. What a blight on the city.

Problems began right at check in, with a 20 minute wait simply to check in. Long waits from the front desk would become a trend. We then discovered that we had been moved to a cramped studio instead of the 1 bedroom we booked, and we were offered no apology or opportunity to move. Already doubting the weekend, we went to ski until our room was ready.

They called and told us our room was ready. A few hours later we came, got our key, and went to the room to find it was still being cleaned. We called the front desk and waited for 20 minutes to get somebody on the line - finally I had to call on my own phone and remind them they had my wife on hold.

We moved in to the room, and immediately started a hot shower, only to find the drain wasn't draining. Fine maybe, but if anybody had actually been cleaning the tub, they'd have noticed that the tub didn't drain. Eww. Bigtime.

The list goes on too - loud baseboard heaters, paper thin walls (heard our neighbor discussing their 5th-grader's school troubles...), overcrowded parking, (we were not able to park one night since no spots were left) and so on. Some things are fairly unbelievable, such as a $8 turndown service, and an eye-popping $21 fee for new towels.

In summary, the entire experience was the exact opposite of the relaxing mountain getaway we had hoped for, and regularly find ELSEWHERE in Breck.

We were continually surprised and disappointed at the bald-faced money-saving and money-grubbing measures in effect here.

We've been coming to Breck for years, and this was by far our worst stay in Breckenridge. We won't be back.

Ugh.

Room Tip: Avoid the whole accursed place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge, we truly value your feedback. We apologize that you were disappointed with various aspects of our property and truly appreciate having the opportunity to address the concerns you have shared. We are sorry you experienced difficulties checking-in. Guests arriving to check-in do come in waves, therefore we keep a minimum of four Front Desk Agents available during high-demand check-in times. Please know that we do strive to always give our guests a high level of customer service and that we sincerely apologize for your frustrations at check-in. We are also sincerely sorry if there was miscommunication with your room being cleaned and ready. In regards to being placed in the wrong size unit, we were able to look back at the history of this reservation, and records show the promotion you took advantage of was for a studio unit. We do see that two confirmations were sent verifying this unit size to you on two different occasions, prior to your arrival at the resort.

In addition, we apologize that you experienced maintenance issues during your stay. We encourage any guest who is experiencing any type of issue while staying at Grand Timber Lodge to notify our staff so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. It is our goal to provide an outstanding vacation experience, and we welcome the opportunity to address any issues so that we can ensure that your stay exceeds your expectations. Also, for parking, we have eight different parking garages and always have enough parking for overnight guests. On some occasions, guests do end up needing to park in a building that is different than the building they are staying in, if the parking in a particular building does become full during their stay. In regards to our additional cleaning services, we do not offer a turn-down service, but do offer other cleaning services for a fee. Receiving additional towels and linens are available upon request during your stay and this service is complimentary.

Again, we do apologize for your disappointment. We use the feedback from our guests as an opportunity to improve our property in order to ensure that all our guests enjoy a great vacation experience and we appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Grand Timber is an adorable and accommodating place to stay in Breck. They are one of the few hotels left with a concierge who even helped me find a place to watch the Bears lose on a Sunday while my boyfriend went off to snowboard. The bartender at their restaurant, whose name escapes me, was so sweet, as was the rest of the staff. The food could be better, but that is always the case with restaurant food. They also have a shuttle that makes about 1 million stops in Breck, which is awesome because driving around town can be a bit hectic.

We stayed in a 1BR which was huge, with two bathrooms (kind of) and three sinks, a standing shower with two shower heads and a huge two person bath tub. They have great toiletries which always make me happy.. The living room was cozy, except the couch felt a little cheap, but the fireplace was warm and the balcony looked out on to the pool. The kitchen was beautiful and had anything and everything you could ever need. I tried to wash my clothes in the washing machine and I am pretty sure it didn't work, but the dryer did!

My only issue was with exiting the parking lot under building 3 and 4. It was a very narrow turn and but a slight dent in my car, so be careful when making that tight turn!

If you can stay here, you should. It is quaint and not too hokey and not uptight at all, which is a plus in my book.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for writing a review of Grand Timber Lodge – we are so happy to hear you had a wonderful stay! We pride ourselves on creating great vacations, so it is fantastic to hear about your great stay with us. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed our Concierge desk, the Lodgepole Bar & Grill and our free shuttle service. We are also happy to know you enjoyed our rooms, including the fireplace, balcony, kitchen, shower and bathtub. We apologize you had difficulties with the washer; keep in mind for the future that our Front Desk staff can always help you if anything is not working in the units. We sincerely apologize that you had issues exiting our parking garage. We do encourage our guests to be careful driving into the garage, yet it is standard garage entrance-size, large enough for cars, trucks and delivery vehicles. Thank you again for writing a review or Grand Timber Lodge, we truly value your feedback. We are very pleased to hear you recommend Grand Timber Lodge to other future guests and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the resort during the last week of November and had a good time. We thought there would be more activities and people around but it was pretty quiet. The room was spacious and furnished--we really appreciated the humidifier! The decor definitely needs updating but having lots of space and a kitchen made up for that. All staff members were friendly and helpful. The TV in the living room definitely could have been bigger and we were not too impressed by the bar/restaurant. Overall, it met our vacation needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us! We strive to have superior customer service, so we love to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We are also happy you enjoyed the large room, kitchen and the humidifier provided. Regarding the décor in the units, we do update the units in each building as our HOA budget allows. We are happy to say buildings 1-4 just got a new facelift. We are soon starting to update building 5 & 6 and then building 7 & 8. As far as activities go, we do have an Activities Department on site, open 8:30am – 5pm daily; they can suggest and book activities around town for you. They also host activities Monday-Thursday at the Lodge, such as art and bracelet-making classes as well as wine and beer tastings. We apologize the Lodgepole Bar & Grill did not meet your standards, however we do offer free shuttle service to the many restaurants in town. We are glad that Grand Timber Lodge met your vacation needs, as our company passion statement is “Our Family Commitment Always Great Vacations”. Thank you for writing a review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.