We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Timber Lodge
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off This Summer!
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Breckenridge
St. Paul, MN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the resort during the last week of November and had a good time. We thought there would be more activities and people around but it was pretty quiet. The room was spacious and furnished--we really appreciated the humidifier! The decor definitely needs updating but having lots of space and a kitchen made up for that. All staff members were friendly and helpful. The TV in the living room definitely could have been bigger and we were not too impressed by the bar/restaurant. Overall, it met our vacation needs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us! We strive to have superior customer service, so we love to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We are also happy you enjoyed the large room, kitchen and the humidifier provided. Regarding the décor in the units, we do update the units in each building as our HOA budget allows. We are happy to say buildings 1-4 just got a new facelift. We are soon starting to update building 5 & 6 and then building 7 & 8. As far as activities go, we do have an Activities Department on site, open 8:30am – 5pm daily; they can suggest and book activities around town for you. They also host activities Monday-Thursday at the Lodge, such as art and bracelet-making classes as well as wine and beer tastings. We apologize the Lodgepole Bar & Grill did not meet your standards, however we do offer free shuttle service to the many restaurants in town. We are glad that Grand Timber Lodge met your vacation needs, as our company passion statement is “Our Family Commitment Always Great Vacations”. Thank you for writing a review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    126
    24
    31
    30
See reviews for
163
95
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in December on a timeshare trade, in a 2 bedroom ground level unit. The grounds are beautiful, with multiple outdoor and indoor hot tubs and pools. Although we were ground level, noise was never a problem. The walkways are heated as well as the garage, which is extremely helpful when you get 8 inches of snow overnight like we did. We had to park the car and use the shuttle the last day, which was easy to use. The pickup location is central and they take you anywhere you want to go in town. Then you call for pickup at one of many shuttle stops. Nice! We saw foxes walking through the pool area while we were there... One perched on our patio wall, but did not bother us. The kitchen is very well stocked with everything you need. We enjoyed happy hour at the Lodgepole one evening, with drink and app specials. Our condo was a little warm at times, even set on 60, but with the fans we were fine. Although not completely upscale, it was very nice and modern. Large jacuzzi in master, and separate double shower, with double sinks. Gas fireplace in living room. 2nd bedroom was a studio lockoff with its own mini kitchen. We didn't have daily maid service because it was a timeshare, so the only complaint I have is that the shower needed to be cleaned more thoroughly in the master. Otherwise, all was clean, nice, and well thought out. I would definitely stay here again. One word of caution... It's quite a hike to town in the winter, so just use the shuttle.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for writing a review of Grand Timber Lodge – we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We are pleased to know you enjoyed the beautiful grounds, amenities, the Lodgepole Bar & Grill and our free shuttle service. We pride ourselves on having quiet, spacious and comfortable rooms, so we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the well-stocked kitchen, jacuzzi-tub and fireplace. As you mentioned, we are a timeshare resort, consequently, not every type of reservation has daily housecleaning services yet we do offer additional housecleaning at the guest’s request. We are so happy to hear our resort was clean, nice and well thought-out. Again, thank you so much for writing a review and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here in the off season as a time share exchange, 6- 13 October 2012. An excellent experience. All staff members make you feel like this is your home resort. The exceptional facilities cater to all needs, desires, etc. The main club/bar area equalled and generally surpassed most of the establishments in old town Breckenridge. The rooms and suites were just wonderful. We plan to return here in future retirement years and recommend the same to all others.

Room Tip: Ours was a two-bedroom suite, ground floor, near one of many heated pools. No A/C unit noise, quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
We love to hear from guests who truly enjoyed their stay at the Grand Timber Lodge! We are happy to know you enjoyed our staff, amenities, rooms and the Lodgepole Bar & Grill. Having the Rocky Mountains at our doorstep makes any time of year a great time to visit Breckenridge, even in our off-season. Our company passion statement is “Our Family Commitment: Always Great Vacations”, so it brings us great pleasure to hear about your great vacation. Thank you for writing a review of Grand Timber Lodge, we are looking forward to your future visits with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braselton, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

Our stay this week was incredible. Everyone on staff was friendly and helpful, from check in, to the concierge, to the bartenders and shuttle drivers. Only issue was with Dave at Christy Sports on site, but that's not GTL's fault.
Room was so spacious, updated and nice. We stayed in a 1BR and it was beyond plenty of room for both of us. Next time with the kids we will need more space, but the full kitchen, ss appliances, granite countertops, washer/dryer, gas fireplace, deck/balcony, double head shower and jetted tub were more than expected!
Love the layout of the resort, hot tubs, amenities, etc. Shuttle service into town is a huge plus!
Did the tour for Grand Lodge 7 and it went great until we were an hour past the 90 minutes and said 'not today'...then Steve became extremely rude and condescending.
Aside from that, overall a wonderful winter wonderland trip. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber lodge – we are thrilled to know your stay with us was incredible! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our friendly and helpful staff, top-notch amenities and free shuttle service into town. We are also pleased to know our One-Bedroom Master unit exceeded your expectation. We are truly sorry to hear, however, that the service you received from Christy Sports was not acceptable. We will take your feedback to their management team so that they can work to improve their services for all of their customers. We also apologize that the sales presentation did not end on a positive note. This feedback will also be addressed with the sales team in an effort to improve their practices. Your feedback is greatly appreciated so that we can improve the guest experience for everyone staying with us at the Grand Timber Lodge. Aside from this, we are so glad you had a wonderful Winter-wonderland trip and are looking forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Enjoyed being steps away from the ski area and a shuttle bus ride away from local activities including the movies, ice skating rink and grocery store. Rooms was very spacious and smaller room included a kitchenette and microwave. Loved the granite counters in the kitchen and the flat screen televisions in the living room. Staff wasn't as helpful as I expected when I arrived early for check-in and wouldn't allow me access to my room. Typically would just walk the premises, have lunch and return, but my son accidentally lock the keys to the rental inside of the truck with my purse so we had to spend two hours in the lobby - feeling hungry and upset while we waited for Triple A to create a new lock.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for reviewing Grand Timber Lodge. We are so glad you had a great stay! We are thrilled to know you enjoyed the property, its close proximity to town and its ski-in ski-out location. We are happy you took advantage of all the fun local activities around Breckenridge and utilized our free shuttle service to get to those activities! In regards to our check-in time and your inability to check-in early, please understand that the individual condominiums are more spacious than a standard hotel-room and consequently take longer to get cleaned, stocked and inspected. We pride ourselves in providing clean and orderly accommodations, so the time between check-in and check-out is utilized to the fullest. Again, we appreciate your response and hope to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed two weeks in late September/early October 2012, 2 bed room condo. It was spacious and had everything in it we needed. Rustic style decorations.

We had one minor misunderstanding about when to clean the room but I felt the front desk handled the resolution beautifully. I must say that no matter what time of the day we approached the front desk, they were very friendly and helpful.

The view from our room was ok but what a view when you enjoyed the outdoor pools and hot tubs.

We were pleasantly surprised at how reasonable and tasty the food in the restaurant was.

Oh, and they like for you to keep your bikes locked up outside. However, the bike racks are not attached to anything, so we ended up leaving our bikes locked on the back of the SUV in the garage at night. I would like to see a rack in the garage area that couldn't be carted off.

WIFI was not included and I didn't want to pay for it. They had computers in the common area but oh my goodness, I haven't seen one that old in years! Extremely slow. Other guests advised the paid internet was ok but probably wouldn't work well if you had to upload large files.

This was our third trip to this resort and we will probably be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge – we greatly appreciate your feedback. We are so happy to hear that you were satisfied with the size and décor of the Two Bedroom condo you stayed in, the food at the Lodgepole Bar and Grill, and that you enjoyed the aquatic amenities on property.

We do, however, apologize for any misunderstandings that you encountered in regards to the housekeeping services, but we are happy to hear that the Front Desk staff was able to handle the situation appropriately. We are also sorry to hear that you found the WiFi in the main lobby to be extremely slow. Our IT department is currently in the process of looking to upgrade the speed of the wireless internet connection available to guests at the Grand Timber Lodge.

We appreciate your input on the bike racks at the Grand Timber Lodge – we can see why you would not be comfortable locking up your bikes to these outdoor racks. I will pass along your comments to our Upper-Level Management and Maintenance departments.

Thank you again for submitting this review, and we hope you choose to vacation with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our first visit to Grand Timber Lodge was about 6 years ago. We have been back almost every year. The property has a great location and is very well mainted. The pools are wonderful and offer a heated oasis after a long day on the slopes and the atmosphere is relaxed. The food in the restaurant is good. We reside at sea level, so canned oxygen - "Boost" is a must to avoid being down the first day. We purchase it online and our entire family uses it to eliminate the first day headache from the altitude. It's even better than a cup of coffee in the morning at home if you don't use it all on vacation:) The condos are spacious and have stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. The ski in is fine until April 1st, then it gets muddy and it's more of a walk to the lift than ski. Take the 90 minute tour and get your $100 for town or discounted ski passes. After renting online the first trip we took the tour and were impressed with everything but the purchase price. Instead we bought a 2 bedroom lockout from a private party online for less than 1/2 and enjoy the same benefits as if we paid full price. Last year we couldn't use a week so I rented it for $1000 on craigslist and it sold in a day. I traded a year ago for a the Marriott Ocean club in Aruba and didn't spend a dime. If you are commited to traveling annually, this might be for you.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the mountain and not town. There's nothing like waking up to avalanche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge - we truly appreciate your feedback. We love to hear from guests who truly enjoy their vacation with Breckenridge Grand Vacations, and are so happy to know that you have been vacationing with us for the past six years!

We’re glad that you enjoy the location, atmosphere, room sizes, and appliances at the Grand Timber Lodge, and that you find the property to be very well-maintained. As you mentioned, the pools are a wonderful way to relax (especially after a long day on the slopes).

Your “canned oxygen” tip will be much appreciated by others who are planning to stay at the Grand Timber Lodge and coming from sea level! In addition, we are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the preview tour to learn more about ownership with Breckenridge Grand Vacations. We are sorry that you found the purchase price to be a little higher than you expected, but we’re so glad to hear that you were able to purchase your Two Bedroom unit through a separate party online.

It seems as though you have been very happy with your purchase, whether you use your week, rent it out to try and generate some extra income, or utilize Interval International to exchange with another resort.

Thank you again for your wonderful review of the Grand Timber Lodge, and we look forward to you vacationing with us for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list