We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value property - Rented and decided to buy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Timber Lodge
Save
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Early Season Lodging Deal
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Excelsior, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great value property - Rented and decided to buy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our first visit to Grand Timber Lodge was about 6 years ago. We have been back almost every year. The property has a great location and is very well mainted. The pools are wonderful and offer a heated oasis after a long day on the slopes and the atmosphere is relaxed. The food in the restaurant is good. We reside at sea level, so canned oxygen - "Boost" is a must to avoid being down the first day. We purchase it online and our entire family uses it to eliminate the first day headache from the altitude. It's even better than a cup of coffee in the morning at home if you don't use it all on vacation:) The condos are spacious and have stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. The ski in is fine until April 1st, then it gets muddy and it's more of a walk to the lift than ski. Take the 90 minute tour and get your $100 for town or discounted ski passes. After renting online the first trip we took the tour and were impressed with everything but the purchase price. Instead we bought a 2 bedroom lockout from a private party online for less than 1/2 and enjoy the same benefits as if we paid full price. Last year we couldn't use a week so I rented it for $1000 on craigslist and it sold in a day. I traded a year ago for a the Marriott Ocean club in Aruba and didn't spend a dime. If you are commited to traveling annually, this might be for you.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms facing the mountain and not town. There's nothing like waking up to avalanche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge - we truly appreciate your feedback. We love to hear from guests who truly enjoy their vacation with Breckenridge Grand Vacations, and are so happy to know that you have been vacationing with us for the past six years!

We’re glad that you enjoy the location, atmosphere, room sizes, and appliances at the Grand Timber Lodge, and that you find the property to be very well-maintained. As you mentioned, the pools are a wonderful way to relax (especially after a long day on the slopes).

Your “canned oxygen” tip will be much appreciated by others who are planning to stay at the Grand Timber Lodge and coming from sea level! In addition, we are happy to hear that you were able to take advantage of the preview tour to learn more about ownership with Breckenridge Grand Vacations. We are sorry that you found the purchase price to be a little higher than you expected, but we’re so glad to hear that you were able to purchase your Two Bedroom unit through a separate party online.

It seems as though you have been very happy with your purchase, whether you use your week, rent it out to try and generate some extra income, or utilize Interval International to exchange with another resort.

Thank you again for your wonderful review of the Grand Timber Lodge, and we look forward to you vacationing with us for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    140
    25
    32
    30
See reviews for
181
108
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a week during a down time in Breckenridge. We enjoyed being within walking distance of downtown. We had a studio which was sufficient for the two of us. The kitchenette was small and only had a two burner. It also had only a very small hotel sized refrigerator. There was an extremely small dishwasher, that was kind of neat! We didn't go to any of the events although there were plenty. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to submit this wonderful review – we truly appreciate your feedback. We love to hear about owners who are happy with their ownership with Breckenridge Grand Vacations! Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!”, and we are glad that we have succeeded in providing this type of expectation during your recent vacation with us!

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the resort’s close proximity to downtown Breckenridge, and that the size of the Studio was to your liking. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge, and we look forward to having you as our guest for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My wife & I stayed in a 2 BR unit. We were given a unit over looking the two pools. We should have known this was a mistake but we took it assumming few if any would be in the pool given the 44 degree temps. Wrong!

The noise emanating from the pool by both the people.. who think it is OK to yell and scream the entire time.. as well as the loud music played by the resort made the stay unpleasant. During slow time.. October... few employees with any kind of authority were to be found. When we asked about noise.. they said... "wel, we follow Breck's noise rules and that means 10 PM". 10 PM and yes.. loud music and people screaming. If you are looking for quiet, go elsewhere.

Towel exchange is Wednesday. Towels aree to be placed on the floor inside the door. Do they tell you they do not get around to ir until 2 or 4 PM? No.

The restaurant onsite is OK but.. closed on Wednesdays.. slow time.

Check in was painful as well... as it is with most time shares. You would check in at the front desk and then see Concierge for your 'Parking Pass'.. and the usual harassment for selling you trips, activities and mostly.. to sign you up for a tour. Melody kept saying that we receive free $25 but 'free' means you spend time with very aggressive sales people for a couple hours. We passed and were told 'No one has ever passed before'. Really?

The flat screens are 32 inch.. OK I guess but Marriott give you 42 inches. Carpets are worn, furniture is old but in their defense they get a beating from the ski and snow board crowd. Parking is an issue, even with a pass. The building is much larger than the available spaces so plan on searching for a place. This issue may not eb the same in other buildings so.. avoid building 5.

All the appliances are cheap.. again typical of Breck time shares and the whirlpool tub needed to be caulked. The beds are sagging and provide little support.

The stay was OK but, then goodness the resort was mostly empty as the noise level would most likely be unbearable.

Room Tip: I would look at the mountains before the pool... due to noise. Some units face the street where shut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge - we truly appreciate your feedback. However, we are sincerely sorry that you were disappointed with the level of service you received. Please know that we do strive to always give our owners and guests a high level of customer service. Each employee goes through training on our company’s hospitality standards, regardless of their age or experience. These standards include things like treating everyone with respect, anticipating guest’s needs, making each contact positive, and always being the end of the line. All of these standards are in place to help us try and achieve our company mission statement, which is “Our Family Commitment: Always Great Vacations”.

We apologize that you were dissatisfied with the location of your room. The aquatics area is a very popular resort amenity, and can often get quite busy. Because of this, it is our goal to maintain pool hours between 9am and 10pm and quiet hours between 10pm and 7am, in an effort to make everyone’s vacation experience an enjoyable one. Of course, this does not mean all of our guests abide by these rules, so we do have on-site security to enforce quiet hours at night and to also patrol the pool during the day. Please know that guests can always call our staff before their arrival or during their stay to make special requests regarding their room location or any other situations (including housekeeping services) so that they can be as comfortable as possible during their stay. We make every effort to honor special requests, if they are made.

In regards to your check-in, we are sorry if you felt harassed in any way. By no means are the tours or any other offers that are made mandatory. These offers are simply meant to give owners and guests the option to take advantage of any special deals that are going on, or to potentially receive discounted lodging. While these offers are not required, we always want our owners to be made aware of the deals that are going on at that time.

As far as parking at the Grand Timber Lodge, we apologize if you found it difficult to find a spot for your car(s). With so many other owners coming up for either their owner week, Bonus Time, or just Day Use, parking spaces can sometimes be difficult to find (especially on the weekends). Our Front Desk staff can always direct you to a variety of parking lots in town, where you would be able to take our free shuttle to and from the Grand Timber Lodge.

Lastly, we apologize that you were disappointed with the furniture and appliances. We do have a plan in place where each building will get updates on a schedule. Although we wish we could do more all at once to update all of the buildings at the Grand Timber Lodge, we do have to be fiscally responsible for our owners and to make updates and replacements as necessary.

We truly value this type of feedback so that we know what we can specifically improve upon. Thank you, again, for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge, and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to make your next stay as enjoyable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A few cost savers- check out the DVD machine just past the concierge to see if there are any movies you'd like to check out before purchasing the unlimited pass for your stay for $10. Wireless is $5 a day or $20 for the stay. It is free in the lobby lounge but I found it to be slow. 2 Free computers and a printer to use. Be sure to check out free robes during your stay from the spa. They are very plush. We saved lots by making use of the Walmart in Frisco and filling the fridge. Be sure to buy some cheap tupperware or ziplock bags to transport lunches if you like. Ask for a new humidifier for your other room if you suffer from dryness in the mountains. We also cracked the windows. The pools and spa are nice. A great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and all your support of the Grand Timber Lodge. We truly appreciate your feedback, and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the property and all of its amenities. We are happy that you were able to access our free WIFI in the Grand Room, but we apologize if you found it to be running a little bit slow. We are also glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the DVD rentals, WiFi service, computers, printer, robes, and humidifier. Your cost-saving tips will be much appreciated by others who are planning to stay at the Grand Timber Lodge!

We greatly appreciate your feedback and do hope that you will vacation with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Our recent stay in a studio room at GTL was better than we expected. We purchased the stay through Interval International as a getaway for a great price. Check in was fast and efficient. This is a timeshare resort. At the end of check in they offered us a tour of their newest resort but it was very low pressure. They never approached us again about the tour. Our studio room was located in the main building across the hall from the rec room. We had a large picture window and a patio door window but you couldn't exit the door. It made the room bright but a little less private due to staff working at the pool or people visiting the pool. It really didn't bother us but the resort wasn't crowded. The room was very clean and the kitchenette was well equipped. It was perfect for us to make breakfast and lunch in the room. The bathroom was spotless and while small it was adequate for a couple. The one thing that I think would help is a mirror in the hall/ entry area so you could put on make up. The bathroom isn't big enough for two people to comfortably use so it would allow someone to finish up in the entry area if a mirror was available. The bed was comfortable. There is only one bedside table which is one small drawback. There is a restaurant at the resort but we didn't eat there. We walked into it once and there was no one in it. It looked like a good place to get a meal after skiingi. The pools and hot tubs looked nice. They provide large towels in the room to use at the pool. The rec room has a big screen tv, pool table and has a porch with chairs. The resort has no air conditioning but I'm assuming this is pretty standard. Our room had lots of late afternoon sun so it was generally hot in the room. There was a ceiling fan over the bed and a box fan was also available. We opened windows, ran the ceiling fan and turned the heat off but it tended to be warmer than we would like it. It was fairly cool weather so I'm sure it would be much hotter in this room in the summer. The resort is just a short walk or drive from the town of breckenridge. We used the shuttle over the weekend but honestly most of the time it was quicker to walk. Parking in town might be a problem during peak visiting times but we had no problems as it was a slower season. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitively return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge, we truly appreciate your feedback. We love to hear from guests that truly enjoy their vacation with Breckenridge Grand Vacations! Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are glad we have exceeded this expectation.

We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful visit and that the rooms provided almost everything you needed! We were also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the property, its location and awesome amenities! We will be passing on your feedback about the lack of mirror space in your room.

As you mentioned, very few resorts at 9,700 feet above sea level have air conditioning due to the cool, dry mountain weather we experience all year long. We do offer the following tips to cool off your residence when you are staying on property. We suggest you open all windows and balcony doors, if you have them, and turn on your ceiling fans as the building’s air handling systems are designed to push the cooler air from the hallways through the units to the exterior. We know that this does not solve the heat problem all the time. In this event, we ask you to please contact our Front Desk so that our Engineering Department can assist you. Our Engineering Department has many ways to cool down our residences including portable evaporative coolers and box fans.

Thank you again for the review, we look forward to having you as our guest for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was fabulous! Best way to describe our 'get away' this last week. We have a master bedroom suite and it was just terrific. All of the accommodations and amenities were terrific, but the best of everything was the staff. They really know how to make a guest feel welcome. The concierge gave us great restaurant recommendations. We also loved the shuttle service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge we truly appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the property, your accommodations and the awesome amenities! As you mentioned the free shuttle is a very convenient way to get down to town. We truly pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn’t be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We travel a lot ... to nice destinations, and to beautiful lodgings. While Breckenridge is indeed wonderful -- even in off-season -- the Grand Timber Lodge is to be avoided at all costs.

The 'lodge' is clearly set up for skiing season -- put lots of people in the buildings, and make the rooms small and cramped to accommodate them all. The rooms themselves are poorly appointed and dated, poorly maintained (the first room they put us in had an odd fruity air freshener smell -- but as soon as we arrived, the toilet overflowed -- so the reason for the smell was evident ... this had happened before!), and simply worn out (the carpeting was stained and worn, the baseboard heaters falling apart, etc.). Though it was Fall and the weather cool, the heat worked wonderfully -- to excess, and only then did we discover that the a/c did not work.

There were many other issues -- including a garage door at closed on our car while exiting (the desk clerk said that we had an arrangement between our rental car company and us ... and didn't see how they were involved!). The parking garages were too small for the buildings, so you often needed to stay in another building. And because this is a 'lodge' -- there is no housekeeping.

Need I go on? As a timeshare this might be acceptable, but as a hotel it is not.

The final insult is that we paid over $300/night. This easily rates as one of the worst stays we've had ... ever.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review of Grand Timber Lodge. We value your feedback very much and try to make continual improvements in regards to both our property and our service. We deeply apologize that you were disappointed with various aspects of our property and truly appreciate having the opportunity to address the concerns you have shared.
We would first like to apologize for your disappointment in the décor of your room. We do have a plan in place where each building gets updates on a schedule. Although we wish we could do more all at once we do have a responsibility to be fiscally responsible for our owners and to make updates and replacements as necessary. In addition, we apologize that you experienced maintenance issues during your stay. We encourage any guest who is experiencing any type of issue while staying at Grand Timber Lodge to notify our staff so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. It is our goal to provide an outstanding vacation experience, and we welcome the opportunity to address any issues so that we can ensure that your stay exceeds your expectations.
In addition, as a timeshare property we do differ from standard hotels in several ways. One of the main differences is that we do not offer daily maid service. Our Housekeeping department does offer a variety of different cleaning services that are available for an additional charge, upon request. We are making great strides to ensure this information is included in all confirmations and also quoted over the phone. Also, starting this November daily housekeeping will be included in our nightly rental rates.
In regards to the air conditioning, in an effort to keep the design of the resort as green as possible while eliminating energy costs it was decided that the Grand Timber Lodge would not feature air conditioning. In fact, very few resorts at 9,700 feet above sea level have air conditioning due to the cool, dry mountain weather we experience all year long.
We were able to find out that the Grand Timber Lodge did file an incident report on your behalf with their insurance company regarding the garage doors closing on the back of your vehicle. We also found out that the Front Desk Supervisor assisting you asked if you would like the Resort General Manager to contact you since she would be the best to help you to resolve any issues that may arise with regards to your rental car company and at the time you did not want her to contact you.
We hope that with this information, you will consider coming to stay with us again in the future. Thanks so much again for your feedback and taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.