We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Timber Lodge
Save Saved
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 24 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

A few cost savers- check out the DVD machine just past the concierge to see if there are any movies you'd like to check out before purchasing the unlimited pass for your stay for $10. Wireless is $5 a day or $20 for the stay. It is free in the lobby lounge but I found it to be slow. 2 Free computers and a printer to use. Be sure to check out free robes during your stay from the spa. They are very plush. We saved lots by making use of the Walmart in Frisco and filling the fridge. Be sure to buy some cheap tupperware or ziplock bags to transport lunches if you like. Ask for a new humidifier for your other room if you suffer from dryness in the mountains. We also cracked the windows. The pools and spa are nice. A great stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review and all your support of the Grand Timber Lodge. We truly appreciate your feedback, and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the property and all of its amenities. We are happy that you were able to access our free WIFI in the Grand Room, but we apologize if you found it to be running a little bit slow. We are also glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the DVD rentals, WiFi service, computers, printer, robes, and humidifier. Your cost-saving tips will be much appreciated by others who are planning to stay at the Grand Timber Lodge!

We greatly appreciate your feedback and do hope that you will vacation with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    136
    25
    31
    30
See reviews for
175
104
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Louis
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Our recent stay in a studio room at GTL was better than we expected. We purchased the stay through Interval International as a getaway for a great price. Check in was fast and efficient. This is a timeshare resort. At the end of check in they offered us a tour of their newest resort but it was very low pressure. They never approached us again about the tour. Our studio room was located in the main building across the hall from the rec room. We had a large picture window and a patio door window but you couldn't exit the door. It made the room bright but a little less private due to staff working at the pool or people visiting the pool. It really didn't bother us but the resort wasn't crowded. The room was very clean and the kitchenette was well equipped. It was perfect for us to make breakfast and lunch in the room. The bathroom was spotless and while small it was adequate for a couple. The one thing that I think would help is a mirror in the hall/ entry area so you could put on make up. The bathroom isn't big enough for two people to comfortably use so it would allow someone to finish up in the entry area if a mirror was available. The bed was comfortable. There is only one bedside table which is one small drawback. There is a restaurant at the resort but we didn't eat there. We walked into it once and there was no one in it. It looked like a good place to get a meal after skiingi. The pools and hot tubs looked nice. They provide large towels in the room to use at the pool. The rec room has a big screen tv, pool table and has a porch with chairs. The resort has no air conditioning but I'm assuming this is pretty standard. Our room had lots of late afternoon sun so it was generally hot in the room. There was a ceiling fan over the bed and a box fan was also available. We opened windows, ran the ceiling fan and turned the heat off but it tended to be warmer than we would like it. It was fairly cool weather so I'm sure it would be much hotter in this room in the summer. The resort is just a short walk or drive from the town of breckenridge. We used the shuttle over the weekend but honestly most of the time it was quicker to walk. Parking in town might be a problem during peak visiting times but we had no problems as it was a slower season. We really enjoyed our stay here and would definitively return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge, we truly appreciate your feedback. We love to hear from guests that truly enjoy their vacation with Breckenridge Grand Vacations! Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are glad we have exceeded this expectation.

We are so happy to hear you had a wonderful visit and that the rooms provided almost everything you needed! We were also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the property, its location and awesome amenities! We will be passing on your feedback about the lack of mirror space in your room.

As you mentioned, very few resorts at 9,700 feet above sea level have air conditioning due to the cool, dry mountain weather we experience all year long. We do offer the following tips to cool off your residence when you are staying on property. We suggest you open all windows and balcony doors, if you have them, and turn on your ceiling fans as the building’s air handling systems are designed to push the cooler air from the hallways through the units to the exterior. We know that this does not solve the heat problem all the time. In this event, we ask you to please contact our Front Desk so that our Engineering Department can assist you. Our Engineering Department has many ways to cool down our residences including portable evaporative coolers and box fans.

Thank you again for the review, we look forward to having you as our guest for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was fabulous! Best way to describe our 'get away' this last week. We have a master bedroom suite and it was just terrific. All of the accommodations and amenities were terrific, but the best of everything was the staff. They really know how to make a guest feel welcome. The concierge gave us great restaurant recommendations. We also loved the shuttle service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge we truly appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the property, your accommodations and the awesome amenities! As you mentioned the free shuttle is a very convenient way to get down to town. We truly pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn’t be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We travel a lot ... to nice destinations, and to beautiful lodgings. While Breckenridge is indeed wonderful -- even in off-season -- the Grand Timber Lodge is to be avoided at all costs.

The 'lodge' is clearly set up for skiing season -- put lots of people in the buildings, and make the rooms small and cramped to accommodate them all. The rooms themselves are poorly appointed and dated, poorly maintained (the first room they put us in had an odd fruity air freshener smell -- but as soon as we arrived, the toilet overflowed -- so the reason for the smell was evident ... this had happened before!), and simply worn out (the carpeting was stained and worn, the baseboard heaters falling apart, etc.). Though it was Fall and the weather cool, the heat worked wonderfully -- to excess, and only then did we discover that the a/c did not work.

There were many other issues -- including a garage door at closed on our car while exiting (the desk clerk said that we had an arrangement between our rental car company and us ... and didn't see how they were involved!). The parking garages were too small for the buildings, so you often needed to stay in another building. And because this is a 'lodge' -- there is no housekeeping.

Need I go on? As a timeshare this might be acceptable, but as a hotel it is not.

The final insult is that we paid over $300/night. This easily rates as one of the worst stays we've had ... ever.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review of Grand Timber Lodge. We value your feedback very much and try to make continual improvements in regards to both our property and our service. We deeply apologize that you were disappointed with various aspects of our property and truly appreciate having the opportunity to address the concerns you have shared.
We would first like to apologize for your disappointment in the décor of your room. We do have a plan in place where each building gets updates on a schedule. Although we wish we could do more all at once we do have a responsibility to be fiscally responsible for our owners and to make updates and replacements as necessary. In addition, we apologize that you experienced maintenance issues during your stay. We encourage any guest who is experiencing any type of issue while staying at Grand Timber Lodge to notify our staff so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. It is our goal to provide an outstanding vacation experience, and we welcome the opportunity to address any issues so that we can ensure that your stay exceeds your expectations.
In addition, as a timeshare property we do differ from standard hotels in several ways. One of the main differences is that we do not offer daily maid service. Our Housekeeping department does offer a variety of different cleaning services that are available for an additional charge, upon request. We are making great strides to ensure this information is included in all confirmations and also quoted over the phone. Also, starting this November daily housekeeping will be included in our nightly rental rates.
In regards to the air conditioning, in an effort to keep the design of the resort as green as possible while eliminating energy costs it was decided that the Grand Timber Lodge would not feature air conditioning. In fact, very few resorts at 9,700 feet above sea level have air conditioning due to the cool, dry mountain weather we experience all year long.
We were able to find out that the Grand Timber Lodge did file an incident report on your behalf with their insurance company regarding the garage doors closing on the back of your vehicle. We also found out that the Front Desk Supervisor assisting you asked if you would like the Resort General Manager to contact you since she would be the best to help you to resolve any issues that may arise with regards to your rental car company and at the time you did not want her to contact you.
We hope that with this information, you will consider coming to stay with us again in the future. Thanks so much again for your feedback and taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My family (two daughters 25 and 26 and son in law 28) my husband and myself stayed here Dec. last year. We had a wonderful time. Accomodations were above and beyond our expectations. Kitchen equipped with very nice pot, pans and utensils (we cooked in several meals). The rooms were very clean. The employees who greeted us in the lobby were friendly and resourceful. It was a great experience. We were looking into the timeshare for Grand Lodge on Peak 7. We visited the facility there as well. It was somewhat newer and more up scale but not as "homey" as Grand Timber Lodge or as convenient to town. My husband and I went back this summer to check it out once more. We actually loved Grand Timber Lodge so much we bought into the timeshare! Again, we found consistency with the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the property. We took our vehicle the second visit but preferred traveling via the Lodge Shuttle. Super convenient. Love having the restaurant on property...great food and service. Great location. Look forward to our return! Hot tub has an area for adults as well so that's a huge plus!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge we truly appreciate your feedback. We love to hear from owners that truly enjoy their ownership with Breckenridge Grand Vacations. We are so happy to hear that you feel at home when staying at the Grand Timber Lodge and find the location very convenient. Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are so glad we have exceeded this expectation and we look forward to having you and your family as guests for years to come! Thank you again for your rave review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Spent 6 nights at the Grand Timber Lodge in Breckenridge in September 2012 and I must say they came as close to a 5 star as any resort or hotel I have stayed. Our 2 bedroom condo had every amenity one could ask for. The one gripe I always have is there are never enough hat/coat racks and hooks to hang things on, but not here. Plenty to go around. Comfortable beds and furnishings. Even being on the 1st floor was a plus here as our patio opened up to the beauty of the mountains and we were visited nightly by two foxes. They came right to our door hoping for some sort of a snack, but I did not feed them as I know it is a disservice to the animals, but what a sight! My only complaint was the slatted blinds which let in too much light in the morning. Problem solved with a sleep mask, but I prefer a dark room for sleeping. The restaurant was wonderful, the staff was more than helpful and always cheerful. We have already booked for 2013. One last thing...largest hot tubs I have ever enjoyed. PS Shuttle service into town is provided and was perfect when we didn't want to drive.

Room Tip: We were in building three and I think almost all of the rooms are convenient, but we have asked to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are thrilled to hear from owners that truly enjoy their ownership with Breckenridge Grand Vacations! Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are glad we have exceeded this expectation. We loved to hear that you enjoyed the property, your room, the resorts amenities and the Lodgepole Bar and Grill. As you mentioned, the shuttle service is very convenient to take guests to and from town. Thank you again for your rave review. We look forward to having you as our guest for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Grand Timber Lodge was one of the best time shares we have exchanged into in our 27 years of exchanging with Interval International. We spent two weeks there: 1 week in a one bedroom which was spacious and well appointed; and the second week in a studio as no 1 bedroom units were available during the Labor Day week. The one bedroom unit rooms was outstanding. The studio was typical....nothing unusual. The staff was very friendly. The amenities were great. And Breckenridge is a wonderful place to stay....regardless of whether it is winter or summer. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We love to hear about guests that truly enjoy their stay at the Grand Timber Lodge! Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are glad we have exceeded this expectation. Thank you for your wonderful review and all your support. We pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn’t be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed. We look forward to having you as our guest for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.