We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Grand Timber Lodge
Save Saved
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Ski and Stay Sale!
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

It was fabulous! Best way to describe our 'get away' this last week. We have a master bedroom suite and it was just terrific. All of the accommodations and amenities were terrific, but the best of everything was the staff. They really know how to make a guest feel welcome. The concierge gave us great restaurant recommendations. We also loved the shuttle service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge we truly appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the property, your accommodations and the awesome amenities! As you mentioned the free shuttle is a very convenient way to get down to town. We truly pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn’t be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    139
    25
    32
    30
See reviews for
178
108
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We travel a lot ... to nice destinations, and to beautiful lodgings. While Breckenridge is indeed wonderful -- even in off-season -- the Grand Timber Lodge is to be avoided at all costs.

The 'lodge' is clearly set up for skiing season -- put lots of people in the buildings, and make the rooms small and cramped to accommodate them all. The rooms themselves are poorly appointed and dated, poorly maintained (the first room they put us in had an odd fruity air freshener smell -- but as soon as we arrived, the toilet overflowed -- so the reason for the smell was evident ... this had happened before!), and simply worn out (the carpeting was stained and worn, the baseboard heaters falling apart, etc.). Though it was Fall and the weather cool, the heat worked wonderfully -- to excess, and only then did we discover that the a/c did not work.

There were many other issues -- including a garage door at closed on our car while exiting (the desk clerk said that we had an arrangement between our rental car company and us ... and didn't see how they were involved!). The parking garages were too small for the buildings, so you often needed to stay in another building. And because this is a 'lodge' -- there is no housekeeping.

Need I go on? As a timeshare this might be acceptable, but as a hotel it is not.

The final insult is that we paid over $300/night. This easily rates as one of the worst stays we've had ... ever.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review of Grand Timber Lodge. We value your feedback very much and try to make continual improvements in regards to both our property and our service. We deeply apologize that you were disappointed with various aspects of our property and truly appreciate having the opportunity to address the concerns you have shared.
We would first like to apologize for your disappointment in the décor of your room. We do have a plan in place where each building gets updates on a schedule. Although we wish we could do more all at once we do have a responsibility to be fiscally responsible for our owners and to make updates and replacements as necessary. In addition, we apologize that you experienced maintenance issues during your stay. We encourage any guest who is experiencing any type of issue while staying at Grand Timber Lodge to notify our staff so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. It is our goal to provide an outstanding vacation experience, and we welcome the opportunity to address any issues so that we can ensure that your stay exceeds your expectations.
In addition, as a timeshare property we do differ from standard hotels in several ways. One of the main differences is that we do not offer daily maid service. Our Housekeeping department does offer a variety of different cleaning services that are available for an additional charge, upon request. We are making great strides to ensure this information is included in all confirmations and also quoted over the phone. Also, starting this November daily housekeeping will be included in our nightly rental rates.
In regards to the air conditioning, in an effort to keep the design of the resort as green as possible while eliminating energy costs it was decided that the Grand Timber Lodge would not feature air conditioning. In fact, very few resorts at 9,700 feet above sea level have air conditioning due to the cool, dry mountain weather we experience all year long.
We were able to find out that the Grand Timber Lodge did file an incident report on your behalf with their insurance company regarding the garage doors closing on the back of your vehicle. We also found out that the Front Desk Supervisor assisting you asked if you would like the Resort General Manager to contact you since she would be the best to help you to resolve any issues that may arise with regards to your rental car company and at the time you did not want her to contact you.
We hope that with this information, you will consider coming to stay with us again in the future. Thanks so much again for your feedback and taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My family (two daughters 25 and 26 and son in law 28) my husband and myself stayed here Dec. last year. We had a wonderful time. Accomodations were above and beyond our expectations. Kitchen equipped with very nice pot, pans and utensils (we cooked in several meals). The rooms were very clean. The employees who greeted us in the lobby were friendly and resourceful. It was a great experience. We were looking into the timeshare for Grand Lodge on Peak 7. We visited the facility there as well. It was somewhat newer and more up scale but not as "homey" as Grand Timber Lodge or as convenient to town. My husband and I went back this summer to check it out once more. We actually loved Grand Timber Lodge so much we bought into the timeshare! Again, we found consistency with the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the property. We took our vehicle the second visit but preferred traveling via the Lodge Shuttle. Super convenient. Love having the restaurant on property...great food and service. Great location. Look forward to our return! Hot tub has an area for adults as well so that's a huge plus!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge we truly appreciate your feedback. We love to hear from owners that truly enjoy their ownership with Breckenridge Grand Vacations. We are so happy to hear that you feel at home when staying at the Grand Timber Lodge and find the location very convenient. Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are so glad we have exceeded this expectation and we look forward to having you and your family as guests for years to come! Thank you again for your rave review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Spent 6 nights at the Grand Timber Lodge in Breckenridge in September 2012 and I must say they came as close to a 5 star as any resort or hotel I have stayed. Our 2 bedroom condo had every amenity one could ask for. The one gripe I always have is there are never enough hat/coat racks and hooks to hang things on, but not here. Plenty to go around. Comfortable beds and furnishings. Even being on the 1st floor was a plus here as our patio opened up to the beauty of the mountains and we were visited nightly by two foxes. They came right to our door hoping for some sort of a snack, but I did not feed them as I know it is a disservice to the animals, but what a sight! My only complaint was the slatted blinds which let in too much light in the morning. Problem solved with a sleep mask, but I prefer a dark room for sleeping. The restaurant was wonderful, the staff was more than helpful and always cheerful. We have already booked for 2013. One last thing...largest hot tubs I have ever enjoyed. PS Shuttle service into town is provided and was perfect when we didn't want to drive.

Room Tip: We were in building three and I think almost all of the rooms are convenient, but we have asked to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are thrilled to hear from owners that truly enjoy their ownership with Breckenridge Grand Vacations! Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are glad we have exceeded this expectation. We loved to hear that you enjoyed the property, your room, the resorts amenities and the Lodgepole Bar and Grill. As you mentioned, the shuttle service is very convenient to take guests to and from town. Thank you again for your rave review. We look forward to having you as our guest for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Grand Timber Lodge was one of the best time shares we have exchanged into in our 27 years of exchanging with Interval International. We spent two weeks there: 1 week in a one bedroom which was spacious and well appointed; and the second week in a studio as no 1 bedroom units were available during the Labor Day week. The one bedroom unit rooms was outstanding. The studio was typical....nothing unusual. The staff was very friendly. The amenities were great. And Breckenridge is a wonderful place to stay....regardless of whether it is winter or summer. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We love to hear about guests that truly enjoy their stay at the Grand Timber Lodge! Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are glad we have exceeded this expectation. Thank you for your wonderful review and all your support. We pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn’t be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed. We look forward to having you as our guest for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here 6 nights with my husband. We had a one bedroom suite. The condo was really large with a nice kitchen - everything was provided to cook in the suite.
There was a huge jacuzzi tub and a shower. There were three sinks. Everything was comfortable except our bed. Unfortunately the mattress on the king bed was terrible. It was really hard. I slept on the sofa the last two nights. Needs a mattress "topper" or a new mattress. My parents had a queen bed in a studio suite and their bed was much more comfortable.
We were in building 6 - on the 2nd floor - (which was the 1st). Our deck looked out directly on a meadow. It was beautiful. We had two foxes that came up in the morning and evening. We had chipmunks and birds every day too. We felt secluded and it was quiet and peaceful.
We ate at the restaurant three times. The food was really good.
Friendly front desk staff. Resort is convenient to town with beautiful views of the mountains.


Would stay again; however, would hope for a better mattress..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge , we truly appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your accommodations including the jacuzzi tub, fully stocked kitchen and your views! We are also so happy to hear that you enjoyed dinning at the Lodgepole Bar and Grill.

We are sincerely sorry the beds did not provide you with the comfort you deserve. We encourage any guest who is experiencing any type of issue to notify our staff so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. Keep in mind for the future that our front desk staff can have padding put onto a bed or they can also bring in a brand new bed if that is not sufficient. There is a wide range of preferences on bed firmness or softness and we definitely build on what we have. It truly is our goal to provide an outstanding vacation experience, and we welcome the opportunity to address any issues so that we can ensure that your stay exceeds your expectations! Thank you again for your wonderful review, we look forward to having you as our guest for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria MN
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just spent a week there with family and we each had our own master suite. Staff was great, rooms were also very nice and we had a great view of the mountains. The shuttle was also great, no need to worry about parking or directions and the drivers were fun and informative. The grounds were clean and well maintained with lots of flowers. Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge, we truly appreciate your feedback. Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are glad we have exceeded this expectation. We pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn’t be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed. Thank you again for reviewing the Grand Timber Lodge, it’s much appreciated. We look forward to having you as our guest for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.