We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter or Summer Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Timber Lodge
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
40% off This Summer!
Ranked #10 of 23 hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Winter or Summer Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My family (two daughters 25 and 26 and son in law 28) my husband and myself stayed here Dec. last year. We had a wonderful time. Accomodations were above and beyond our expectations. Kitchen equipped with very nice pot, pans and utensils (we cooked in several meals). The rooms were very clean. The employees who greeted us in the lobby were friendly and resourceful. It was a great experience. We were looking into the timeshare for Grand Lodge on Peak 7. We visited the facility there as well. It was somewhat newer and more up scale but not as "homey" as Grand Timber Lodge or as convenient to town. My husband and I went back this summer to check it out once more. We actually loved Grand Timber Lodge so much we bought into the timeshare! Again, we found consistency with the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the property. We took our vehicle the second visit but preferred traveling via the Lodge Shuttle. Super convenient. Love having the restaurant on property...great food and service. Great location. Look forward to our return! Hot tub has an area for adults as well so that's a huge plus!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge we truly appreciate your feedback. We love to hear from owners that truly enjoy their ownership with Breckenridge Grand Vacations. We are so happy to hear that you feel at home when staying at the Grand Timber Lodge and find the location very convenient. Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are so glad we have exceeded this expectation and we look forward to having you and your family as guests for years to come! Thank you again for your rave review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    153
    128
    24
    31
    30
See reviews for
165
97
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Spent 6 nights at the Grand Timber Lodge in Breckenridge in September 2012 and I must say they came as close to a 5 star as any resort or hotel I have stayed. Our 2 bedroom condo had every amenity one could ask for. The one gripe I always have is there are never enough hat/coat racks and hooks to hang things on, but not here. Plenty to go around. Comfortable beds and furnishings. Even being on the 1st floor was a plus here as our patio opened up to the beauty of the mountains and we were visited nightly by two foxes. They came right to our door hoping for some sort of a snack, but I did not feed them as I know it is a disservice to the animals, but what a sight! My only complaint was the slatted blinds which let in too much light in the morning. Problem solved with a sleep mask, but I prefer a dark room for sleeping. The restaurant was wonderful, the staff was more than helpful and always cheerful. We have already booked for 2013. One last thing...largest hot tubs I have ever enjoyed. PS Shuttle service into town is provided and was perfect when we didn't want to drive.

Room Tip: We were in building three and I think almost all of the rooms are convenient, but we have asked to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We are thrilled to hear from owners that truly enjoy their ownership with Breckenridge Grand Vacations! Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are glad we have exceeded this expectation. We loved to hear that you enjoyed the property, your room, the resorts amenities and the Lodgepole Bar and Grill. As you mentioned, the shuttle service is very convenient to take guests to and from town. Thank you again for your rave review. We look forward to having you as our guest for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Grand Timber Lodge was one of the best time shares we have exchanged into in our 27 years of exchanging with Interval International. We spent two weeks there: 1 week in a one bedroom which was spacious and well appointed; and the second week in a studio as no 1 bedroom units were available during the Labor Day week. The one bedroom unit rooms was outstanding. The studio was typical....nothing unusual. The staff was very friendly. The amenities were great. And Breckenridge is a wonderful place to stay....regardless of whether it is winter or summer. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We love to hear about guests that truly enjoy their stay at the Grand Timber Lodge! Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are glad we have exceeded this expectation. Thank you for your wonderful review and all your support. We pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn’t be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed. We look forward to having you as our guest for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed here 6 nights with my husband. We had a one bedroom suite. The condo was really large with a nice kitchen - everything was provided to cook in the suite.
There was a huge jacuzzi tub and a shower. There were three sinks. Everything was comfortable except our bed. Unfortunately the mattress on the king bed was terrible. It was really hard. I slept on the sofa the last two nights. Needs a mattress "topper" or a new mattress. My parents had a queen bed in a studio suite and their bed was much more comfortable.
We were in building 6 - on the 2nd floor - (which was the 1st). Our deck looked out directly on a meadow. It was beautiful. We had two foxes that came up in the morning and evening. We had chipmunks and birds every day too. We felt secluded and it was quiet and peaceful.
We ate at the restaurant three times. The food was really good.
Friendly front desk staff. Resort is convenient to town with beautiful views of the mountains.


Would stay again; however, would hope for a better mattress..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge , we truly appreciate your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your accommodations including the jacuzzi tub, fully stocked kitchen and your views! We are also so happy to hear that you enjoyed dinning at the Lodgepole Bar and Grill.

We are sincerely sorry the beds did not provide you with the comfort you deserve. We encourage any guest who is experiencing any type of issue to notify our staff so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. Keep in mind for the future that our front desk staff can have padding put onto a bed or they can also bring in a brand new bed if that is not sufficient. There is a wide range of preferences on bed firmness or softness and we definitely build on what we have. It truly is our goal to provide an outstanding vacation experience, and we welcome the opportunity to address any issues so that we can ensure that your stay exceeds your expectations! Thank you again for your wonderful review, we look forward to having you as our guest for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria MN
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Just spent a week there with family and we each had our own master suite. Staff was great, rooms were also very nice and we had a great view of the mountains. The shuttle was also great, no need to worry about parking or directions and the drivers were fun and informative. The grounds were clean and well maintained with lots of flowers. Would love to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge, we truly appreciate your feedback. Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are glad we have exceeded this expectation. We pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn’t be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed. Thank you again for reviewing the Grand Timber Lodge, it’s much appreciated. We look forward to having you as our guest for years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Location, location, location.Looking out over the Rocky Mountains. The hot tub is one of the best. Can walk into town or take the free shuttle.Beautiful land scape!Nice restaurants in town.
Quiet and peaceful. No free WIFI but it is cheap to buy. Would come back! Beds comfortable.Within driving distance over to Aspen for a nice lunch.

Room Tip: Some rooms have fireplaces and some don't. Inquire before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge, we truly value your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed all the great amenities that Grand Timber Lodge has to offer. It truly is a prime location and has unmatched amenities. Please know for the future that we do offer WIFI at no charge in our Grand Room which is furnished with comfy couches and a large cozy fireplace. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay! Thank you again for reviewing the Grand Timber Lodge, it’s much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our family of 5, kids 10, 7, 5, spent last week at the Grand Timber. We had a three bedroom suite overlooking the pool and mountain. The suites are designed so that they can be broken into different configurations so we had two entrances adjacent to each other with both a kitchen and kitchenette. On the whole we found it to be servicable but not more. Here's a breakdown of the positive and negative from our point of view beginning with the positive.

The staff, from reception to maintenance, were friendly responsive. The location was convenient to town. The suite was spacious and the porch with a view of the mountain was very nice. The entire family enjoyed the hot tubs and the kids liked the indoor-outdoor pool configuration. It was nice to have a restaurant option on site. There was a working fireplace but we didn't make much use of it given the time of year. The shuttle service was convenient and the drivers were great.

On the negative side I would have to start with the finishes in the rooms. It would best be described as 1990 vintage bottom of the line Home Depot. Pine lumber cut to length and hit with a coat of poly served as the trim. The furniture, particularly the living room furniture, was badly faded and wasn't much to begin with. The color sceme was classic budget apartment medium brown and white. The restaurant was convenient but very limited and of sports bar quality. The keys never opened the garage or the outer doors as they were supposed to. There is a DVD rental machine for movies with a selection that just covers the bases and one fo the two movies we rented was badly scratched. We found the lack of any kind of hotel service be it bellmen, room service, maid service or on demand TV to be annoying. In fairness we could probably have known there would not be any of these things.

We had a chance to visit several other properties in the area and found them all to be better. Blue Sky across the street was much nicer in finish and furnishings in the common areas as well as the roooms. It probably would not be our choice as it didn't appear to have much in the way of a pool and no restaurant that we saw. It would be a good couples or family with older children choice. One Ski Hill is very convenient to the Fun Park as it is directly in front of it. The common areas were very nice. The Grand Lodge at peak 8, a sister property to Grand Timber, had much nicer common areas, a better pool and a better restaurant. Both One Ski Hill and the Grand Lodge offer the option of taking a shuttle or the gondola into town.

If you are looking for a high quality facility in Breckenridge I would recommend looking elsewhere. If you want a clean, pleasant place, a view and can live with Archie Bunker's recliner this will do fine.

Room Tip: The view to the mountain is nice but you get some noise from the pool in the 8-10 pm range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the property, its close proximity to town and its awesome amenities! We pride ourselves on upholding the highest standard for everything from the customer service we provide to the property itself and couldn’t be happier our efforts have not gone unnoticed.

We apologize that you were disappointed with the décor and the lack of services. That being said, we truly appreciate having the opportunity to address the concerns you have shared. As a timeshare property we do differ from standard hotels in several ways. The main difference is that we do not offer daily maid service. Our Housekeeping department does offer a variety of different cleaning services that are available for an additional charge, upon request. We are making great strides to ensure this information is included in all confirmations and also quoted over the phone. As for the décor, we do have a plan in place where each building gets updates on a schedule. Although we wish we could do more all at once we do have a responsibility to be fiscally responsible for our owners and to make updates and replacements as necessary.
In regards to the issue with your garage and door keys, we encourage any guest who is experiencing any type of issue (maintenance, trouble with keys, DVD’s etc…) to notify our staff so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. It is our goal to provide an outstanding vacation experience, and we welcome the opportunity to address any issues so that we can ensure that your stay exceeds your expectations.

As you mentioned, we do have different properties within the Breckenridge Grand Vacations Family. We have three resorts and each property is different, which allows us to cater to each owners and guests needs. We are thrilled to hear you loved our newest property the Grand Lodge on Peak 7. We do hope you will choose us as your vacation destination in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list