We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This resort was a huge disappointment!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Timber Lodge
Save
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This resort was a huge disappointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

We traded our timeshare for a stay @ Grand Timber Lodge. Unfortunately, we were placed in a studio that accommodates 4 people. There was a queen bed & sofabed. However, the room was smaller than most hotel rooms & doesn't accommodate 4 people. The bathroom had only 1 sink & was extremely small. The showerhead nearly ripped off your skin. There were several lightbulbs out, alarm clock was broken, couch was dirty, old tube tv's & no air conditioning. All rooms have balconies except for the studios. There was a small kitchenette but no dining table. The resort offers a shuttle service which was nice. But it stops running @ 10 pm which we weren't told & had to walk home after our dinner since there were no taxis. The laundry room was microscopic with no area to fold clothes & etc. The pool area was nice & the location was good. We travel all over the world & we will not return to this resort or recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge we truly value your feedback. We use our guest feedback as an opportunity to improve our property in order to ensure that all our guests enjoy a great vacation experience. We apologize that you were disappointed with various aspects of our property and truly appreciate having the opportunity to address the concerns you have shared. The studio is our smallest unit and does accommodate 4 people with a queen bed and a queen sofa sleeper however it can be tight for 4 adults as you mentioned. We do have one, two, and three bedroom options that all have a full kitchen, a larger living area, a fireplace, a washer/dryer and a balcony.
We also apologize that you experienced maintenance issues during your stay. We encourage any guest who is experiencing any type of issue to notify our staff so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. Also, in an effort to keep the design of the resort as green as possible while eliminating energy costs it was decided that the Grand Timber Lodge would not feature air conditioning. In fact, very few resorts at 9,700 feet above sea level have air conditioning due to the cool, dry mountain weather we experience all year long. As for the décor, we do have a plan in place where each building gets updates on a schedule. Although we wish we could do more all at once we do have a responsibility to be fiscally responsible for our owners and to make updates and replacements as necessary. Our complimentary shuttle service runs from 9am to 10pm in the summer season and from 8am to 11pm in the winter season. We can definitely understand the inconvenience of having to walk home after your dinner but luckily the Grand Timber Lodge is only a couple blocks from downtown Breckenridge. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the properties location & amenities but really are sorry you did not enjoy your overall stay. We are disheartened to hear you say you would not return and truly hope a time will come in the future where you would reconsider. A larger room really would have made for a nicer stay so if you ever look into options to exchange into our resort again we would recommend you take nothing smaller than a one bedroom. Thank you again for reviewing the Grand Timber Lodge, we do appreciate you taking the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    142
    25
    32
    30
See reviews for
183
111
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
denver, co
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed here for the week of 4th of July. Two bedroom/studio, so two BR's with a family room that has a pull-out couch. Deck is nice, 5-6 people can sit out there comfortably. Our room faced the inner circle (where cars enter the garage), rather than poolside. Big mistake. There was construction all week, until late in the evening, and the foot traffic in and out was really loud. If you go, DEFINITELY get a room on the interior - poolside. Views are better as well.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge we truly value your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the property, your two bedroom unit and its spacious deck but sincerely apologize that you were disturbed by noisy cars and construction. We have not had any construction going on outside of Grand Timber lodge so it’s possible you may have confused this property with its sister property the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 (a common mix-up). The North building of the Grand Lodge on Peak 7 is currently under construction and we do honor requests to be down at the opposite end or facing poolside. In any event we completely understand and sincerely apologize for the disruption. We do encourage any guest who is experiencing any type of issue (maintenance, noise, housekeeping etc…) to notify our staff immediately so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. In some cases our front desk is able to move guests to a location that better suits their needs. It really is our goal to provide an outstanding vacation experience and we always welcome the opportunity to address any issues. We sincerely hope to have you as our guest in the future. Going forward please feel free to make a room location request on any upcoming reservation which we will do our very best to honor. Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Dated rooms in building 8. Used II for a get away week and was a great deal for that price. Would not pay full price and would think twice prior to trading my week to here. I signed up for a sleeps 2 privately +2 others. Got a studio that was just a hotel room. Nice pool and restaurant. Good location but have stayed at better where people were more humble about their place. Gym was warm for ex and small. Rooms are warm with no a/c. Still a nice place but not great.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge we truly value your feedback. It’s great to hear you enjoyed the Grand Timber Lodge’s location, pool and restaurant but we are sorry to hear that you found the studio to be smaller than anticipated as well as your disappointment in the gym & lack of AC. The studio units are our smallest units and do sleep two privately but there is a sofa sleeper in the room to accommodate two others. We do have one, two, and three bedroom options that all have private bedrooms, full kitchens, a larger living area, a fireplace and a balcony. In an effort to keep the design of the resort as green as possible while eliminating energy costs it was decided that the Grand Timber Lodge would not feature air conditioning. In fact, very few resorts at 9,700 feet above sea level have air conditioning due to the cool, dry mountain weather we experience all year long. It’s certainly true that we take pride in all three of our properties and strive to maintain a high standard in all areas of the business but sincerely apologize it came off in a negative way. We are proud of what we have achieved but certainly don’t want to come off as haughty. We value this type of feedback so we know what we can improve upon. We certainly hope to have you as our guest again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My wife and I had been anxiously anticipating this week-long vacation in the Colorado Rockies, and we were so disappointed, we almost went home early!

Our rental unit was a first floor, in #6108...situated within the inner court, really a bad idea. The continually screaming children were heard all hours day & night. Whenever the wild/unruly children finally went to bed, the noise was replaced by "party animals" up-all-night.

Honestly, my best and most restful sleep was on the plane ride home from Denver!

I really wish the management would've monitored the pool noise as well as the night-time party noise. I will never go back to the Grand Timber Lodge in Breckenridge, Co.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge we truly value your feedback. We are sincerely sorry for the noise you experienced and completely understand. We pride ourselves on making “Great Vacations” so hearing feedback like this is very disheartening. We encourage any guest who is experiencing any type of issue (maintenance, noise, housekeeping etc…) to notify our staff immediately so that we can address the matter as soon as possible. Whether it be talking to the disruptive parties or moving our guests to quieter locations, both are options we would explore. It really is our goal to provide an outstanding vacation experience and we always welcome the opportunity to address any issues. Pool hours are from 9am to 10pm and quiet hours are strictly enforced between 10pm and 7am. Of course this doesn’t mean all of our guests abide by these rules so we do have on site security to enforce quiet hours at night and also to patrol the pool during the day. We sincerely hope to have you as our guest in the future and hope we can make it up to you. If you do return please feel free to request a unit away from the pool areas which would be a lot quieter. Thank you for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge, we do appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Missouri
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We exchanged our usual timeshare for something different this year and are very pleased with our stay at Grand Timber Lodge!

We stayed in a two-bedroom unit, which was a one bedroom connected to an adjoining handicap-accessible suite. There was PLENTY of room for our family of five. The living area of the main unit was spacious and comfortable, with a television, dvd player, couch, chair/ottoman, and bar-stool seating at the large island. The kitchen area was big enough to comfortably cook meals in, and the only issue we had was that the dishwasher racks were difficult to pull out and push back in, which caused dishes to tumble and such...a minor annoyance in the overall scheme.

The Grand Timber property is gorgeous and crews were working on adding more flowers and plants while we were there. Both swimming pools were nice as were the hot tubs. The kids enjoyed the indoor/outdoor main pool most. They also enjoyed the playground and arcade. If you enjoy hiking, there's also a very nice trail that starts at the base of the stairs past the main pool and takes you up to Sawmill Reservoir. The hike isn't too strenuous (our 6-, 4-, and 2-year-old walked much of it themselves) and the scenery is gorgeous.

We didn't try the Lodge Pole Restaurant during this stay, but make sure you swing by the main lobby at 4pm at least once during your stay to pick up a fresh chocolate chip cookie.

The staff at Grand Timber is friendly and professional and during our stay, they did a phenomenal job!

We highly recommend Grand Timber Lodge if you're planning a trip to Breckenridge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge we truly value your feedback. A positive review like yours always reinforces a great sense of pride within our company and we thank you for that. We strive to maintain the highest standard in all aspects of our business including the customer service we provide and the property we maintain. We are truly thrilled to hear our efforts have not gone un-noticed. Grand Timber Lodge has some of the most spacious units and best amenities in the town of Breckenridge. It also sits amidst Mother Nature’s Grandeur as you mentioned and the close by hiking options are wonderfully convenient. We are so pleased to hear you and your family had a great vacation and look forward to having you as our guest again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canon City, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

My husband and I spent the week of May 22, 2012 at the Grand Timber Lodge in one of their two-bedroom units. It was a wonderful space with a full-kitchen, living room/dining room, a master bedroom that was complete with a 2-sinks vanity and whirlpool tub as well as a separate bathroom with a shower/toilet and 3rd sink, and then a studio suite (2nd bedroom) with its own kitchenette (including a dishwasher!) queen bed, sofa bed and full bathroom. The living room had a gas fireplace, 1 of the 3 large screen tvs, plenty of seating (2 reclining chairs as well as sofa bed) and since we were on ground level (Unit 5701) a small patio with a couple of chairs. The dining room table will seat up to 10 people and there are enough kitchenware to make dinners for them too, if desired! While the decor is not luxurious, it is tasteful, comfortable and very clean.

The outdoor pool area is wonderful, clean, and with plenty of hot tub space and lounge chairs. The hot tubs are not really "bubbly" but rather just hot pools of water with great views. The swimming pool is also very good-sized and is connected to the indoor pool via a "swim under) lane/opening. There is a very nice jetted hot tub in the indoor pool area as well. I did not use the indoor facilities (my husband did) it was filled with kids whenever I was there and the noise plus the chemical smell was unpleasant to me. I did greatly enjoy the outdoor pool.

There is a nice play area for the kids and a shuffleboard deck as well in front of the Lodge Pole Restaurant. That was the only disappointment - the restaurant. The food I expected it to be the usual bar food - burgers and fries, for example - was bland, rather tasteless in fact. We only went once and used the kitchen to cook instead.

No alcohol is permitted in the pool area EXCEPT that which is purchased from the on-site restaurant. There is a server who takes orders and of course, you can charge drinks to your room. Prices were reasonable, except the kids' drink prices which I thought were atrocious at (all) over $4.

The hotel staff was courteous and helpful and service was great. We did not use the spa facilities but we were rudely kept waiting by the spa receptionist when we stopped by there to pick up the complimentary (during our stay) bathrobes. Can't say I'd go there again for anything.

The location of the Grand Timber Lodge is great! If you don't want to use the complimentary shuttle into Breckenridge, it's a very short walk into town for shopping, dining and just walking around. Hiking (which is why we were there in the first place) is plentiful and easy to access. The bike paths to Frisco and beyond are just down the road a bit. Checked out the tour of the Breckenridge Distillery - something to definitely see!

We also got a big kick out of the two resident foxes and the raccoon that came around every night we were there looking for hand-outs. However, we DID NOT feed them as required by law!

Great place, great location. We'll be going back this October and are anxious to see the Fall colors!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if possible and facing the back of the Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge we truly value your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the property, its wonderful location and its spacious well stocked units but are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the service you received at the spa and the food you received at the Lodgepole Bar and Grill. The restaurant is meant to provide a casual, family-friendly, convenient option for dining on property. Please rest assured that your comments have been passed on to the management so that they may use your feedback as an opportunity to improve their dishes. Grand Timber Lodge provides all the comforts of home in fully stocked, spacious rooms and we are so pleased to hear your two bedroom condo was comfortable for you and your family. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service to all of our guests and owners. We are very pleased to hear the hotel staff met your expectations but want to sincerely apologize that you were kept waiting at the spa. We certainly hope we will have the pleasure of accommodating you and your family in the future and hope that we will have another opportunity to give you the customer service you deserve in all aspects of our property. Overall it sounds like you had a lovely visit and even got to experience some of the local wildlife. Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge, we look forward to having you as our guest for years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Just returned from some sping skiing and stayed at the Grand Timber Lodge. My family and I had a great time. Very nice place, with all the amenities you'd expect from a ski resort. Friendly staff and a good restaurant on site. My only negative would be that management descibes the GTL as ski-in/ski-out, when in reality there is a fair amount of walking if you want to use the ski-out access - not what you'd typically consider ski-in/ski-out. However, the resort operates its own shuttles and cannot be beat for convenience - they will drop you off and pick you up pretty much anywhere in Breckenridge as part of the complimentary service. So, all in all, this more than makes up for any deficienceis in the ski-in/ski-out access.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge we truly value your feedback. We are thrilled to hear you and your family enjoyed the property, the Lodgepole Bar & Grill and our complimentary shuttle service. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service and are so happy to hear our efforts have not gone unnoticed. As you mentioned the ski in ski out access was a bit of a challenge this year due to the limited snow fall. We certainly understand the inconvenience of walking with all that equipment and sincerely apologize for that. A nice alternative, should this happen in the future, would be to ski in to the base of Beaver Run (which is right down the street) and call for the shuttle to come pick you up. That way you can wait comfortably, avoid a lengthy walk and get dropped off right at your door. Overall it sounds like you had a wonderful time. We hope to have you as our guest for years to come. Thank you again for taking the time to review the Grand Timber Lodge, it’s much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#7 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Number of rooms: 157
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.