We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ski In and Ski Out Lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Timber Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Breckenridge
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Timber Lodge
Save Saved
You added Grand Timber Lodge to your Saves list
75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Breckenridge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Denver
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Ski In and Ski Out Lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

My husband and I recently exchanged our time share for the Grand Timber Lodge. Great location with lots of great amenities. We were in a two-bedroom that was a lock-off and it had all the comforts of home. The kitchen was well-equipped and the beds were very comfortable. I don't ski, so I was able to use the work-out facility which was a bit small, but had the equipment I needed for a basic work-out. I especially enjoyed the yoga class. We had friends visiting with us and they also enjoyed the comforts of home. Recommend this lodge for families.
The only negative was the internet service which was not very reliable. You had to pay $20 for the week and it was extremely slow or not working. I let the front desk know, and they said that it was a third-party and that the contract was up for review.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for reviewing Grand Timber Lodge! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to make all guests feel as at home as possible by providing spacious, fully-stocked units, unmatched amenities, a restaurant on property as well as a free shuttle to downtown. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed the yoga class which is just one example of the activities available through our activities department. We apologize that the internet speed was not up to your standards. Your comments will be passed on to the department in charge of our internet. Thanks again for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    133
    24
    31
    30
See reviews for
171
100
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburg, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I gave this a review of 1 just to emphasize how important it is to employ ethical people regardless of how great your facility presents itself. We stayed here for two nights prior to driving 2 hours to wedding the next day. I left the dress I was going to wear to the wedding and my jacket in the closet and when I called the next day after realizing I had left it there, they were "unable to locate the items". I know one could say that it was my mistake and I misplaced the items, but I can guarantee you 100% they were in the closet. They did nothing to rectify the situation and I thought it was poor business of not only the employees, but also of management that I dealt with. It is too bad this happened because it is a pretty place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge. When guests leave items at our properties our staff does make every effort to locate the missing item and return it. Unfortunately, we are not always able to find every forgotten item. We do have every confidence in the integrity of our staff and sincerely apologize that we were unable to locate you dress. Thanks again for reviewing Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA.USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

We received a "discounted rate" on a studio here. Still was 650$ mid season. The location wasnt as good as surrounding hotels but we werent too worried about that. What made it worse was the hotel staff. The front desk staff was less than helpful rude and frankly disorganized. The hotel phone system is completely worthless. We stayed a weekend and they refused to let us use the parking garage on our last day to ride as well. Kicking us out before 10am. It has a luxury appearance with the service of motel 6. And is way overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience staying at Grand timber Lodge. We use our guest feedback as an opportunity to improve our service in order to ensure that all our guests enjoy a great vacation experience while staying with us. We apologize that you were disappointed with the level of service your received. We pride ourselves in having helpful and happy staff and are disappointed you did not experience this. With respect to our check-out time and your inability to remain parked on property after check-out please understand that, unlike a hotel, our units are more like individual condominiums and thus take quite a bit longer to get cleaned, stocked and inspected greatly reducing our ability to extend check-out times for departing guests. While we can sometimes extend parking privileges on the day of check-out, parking is at a premium on the weekends and can never be guaranteed. Our Front Desk staff can always direct you to a variety of parking lots in town. Thanks again for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We have owned at Grand Timber Lodge for 5 years. We own two floating weeks one in summer and one in winter. Best investment we have made. It is a beautiful Resort nestled in beautiful pine trees. Neither me nor my husband ski. We go for the relaxing and beautiful scenery. Ever sit in a hot tub when it is snowing? So relaxing. The Spa on sight is where we spend a lot of time. Can't beat the variety of services offered. We always love returning to Grand Timber Lodge. The amenites are wonderful and the Lodge itself represents the beautiful of Colorado.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Grand Timber Lodge. Our company passion statement is “Always great vacations!” We are so pleased to hear that your ownership has enabled you to have great, relaxing vacations. Grand Timber Lodge is in a prime location and has unmatched amenities. We are so glad you enjoyed the hot tubs and the Grand Victorian Day Spa on property. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed at GTL week before Christmas. Great facilities with self-contained apartments which are very convenient for family.Nice communal facilities to enjoy with large open fire, pool table and Big screen TV.
Rooms are large and clean and modern - with average decor.
Ski in/out with ski rental facilities in the hotel - all reasonably priced for in house guests.
Main draw back is that it is quite a walk to town - OK going there but uphill cioming back! There is a shuttle from the resort which you can call.
Breck is lovely - more town than resort (like Vail) - next timewe would probably stay at Vail or Aspen for a slightly different experience.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the main building to be close to facilities - not noisy at all - just convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for reviewing Grand Timber Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We strive to make all guests feel as at home as possible by providing spacious, fully-stocked units, unmatched amenities, a restaurant on property as well as a free shuttle to downtown. In addition to being a fantastic property, the resort is located in a prime area. Breckenridge is a great town to vacation in - the shopping, dining, and nightlife, all located right on Main Street, provides plenty of fun and entertainment. Grand Timber Lodge is within walking distance, or you can take the free shuttle to Main Street as well, so it is a great place to stay and enjoy all the town has to offer. Thanks again for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

my wife and I and our 3 small kids just came back from Breckenridge and spent a week as new owners of a fixed week at Christmas at this resort. I bought this fixed week sight unseen and yes that was risky but I scored. This is a fantastic property and has wonderful amenities. I truly enjoyed my stay and my wife and kids did as well. My kids are all under 8 years of age. The pools and other amenities were great. The onsite Lodgepole grill pizza was fabulous. There is a gameroom and multiple downstairs restrooms which are equipped with all of the things one would expect from a resort. The hot tubs were great and there is an onsite gameroom. The resort has a small workout room and an onsite Christy Sports to rent skis and equipment. The staff there was fantastic. The front desk staff was helpful and pleasant. The drivers from the onsite shuttle buses were very good. I wish they had one more bus to deal with peak time demand but this is a small issue. The rooms were spacious and well appointed and I am a demanding type A guy but found them excellent. The two bedroom two bath unit easily would sleep 8. The only thing the resort needs is a Redbox or Blockbuster rental kiosk to make this a perfect place. I understand Redbox turned them down but that is a shame. We will be going back each year as we are owners of a fixed Christmas week. I bought this resort sight unseen as a timeshare earlier in the year (yeah I am a little crazy but I research well) and could not be happier with the choice. It is nice when the wife and kids are all smiles each day! You cannot lose choosing this resort as it has it all!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for reviewing Grand Timber Lodge! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you are pleased with your ownership.
Our amenities are truly unmatched with indoor/outdoor pools and hot tubs, a playground, a day spa, an exercise room and fitness classes, and a restaurant on property. We are glad you enjoyed taking advantage of these amenities during your stay. The free shuttle is an excellent amenity that Grand Timber Lodge offers that allows guests to take advantage of all that Breckenridge has to offer. We strive to make every owner and guest feel like treasured guests in our home by providing spacious, fully stocked units with numerous amenities.
Each unit does have a DVD player. The closest Redbox is located in the City Market grocery store which can be accessed by the free shuttle.
Thanks again for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is a great place to stay for skiing at Breckenridge. Keep in mind you are paying for convenience and proximity to the slopes.

Parking - Parking is very difficult anywhere in Breckenridge and extremely limited everywhere near town. It is much harder to park now than it was a few years ago even. GTL provides heated underground parking for a car during your stay.

Ski in/Ski Out - Early season ski in is a challenge but I don't think that should be surprising to anyone. This year has been short on snow so far. Worst case scenario you can ski down wherever you'd like and call the shuttle. Ski out is relatively easily and there is a nice long lift that takes you up to a short ski down to some of the main lifts and the ticket office. We did ski in and out and had to trek across a couple rocky patches.

Rooms vary quite a bit based on the size you choose to get but even studios even have a kitchenette area and all of the larger rooms have full kitchens. I believe all rooms have a fold out sofa.

The rooms are consistently clean and relatively spacious. The beds are comfortable and the fold outs are about as comfortable as a fold out can be. There are lockers for ski storage near the ski in/ski out areas.

The hot tubs and pools are very nice and I've never had trouble with noise or crowds. We typically use the non main area that is not near the bar and maybe that is why we've never had trouble. But we stay there about 3-4 times a season and have never noticed issues.

The restaurant/bar is average and prices are in line with anything else you would find in Breckenridge. There are better dining options if you want to go into town, but after a day of skiing it can be the perfect retreat. Take your time and relax, service could take a while, but the last time I was there (12/1/11) the service was (surprisingly) top notch.

Room Tip: Studios that are on the corners seemed to have a little extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceDept, Customer Service at Grand Timber Lodge, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review Grand Timber Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Grand Timber Lodge is situated in a prime ski in/ski out location and within walking distance to all the town of Breckenridge has to offer. Breckenridge is having a slow start to the ski season which is making ski in/ski out difficult right now. We are all hoping for more snow soon! Utilizing the free shuttle for easy access to the ski lifts is a wonderful idea!

We strive to make all guests feel as at home as possible by providing spacious, fully-stocked units, and unmatched amenities. We are glad you enjoyed your meal at the Lodgepole Bar and Grill and that you experience great service!

Thanks again for reviewing Grand Timber Lodge!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Timber Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Timber Lodge

Address: 75 Snowflake Drive, Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Breckenridge
#5 Family Hotel in Breckenridge
#9 Romantic Hotel in Breckenridge
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Timber Lodge is a luxury ski-in/out condominium resort offering the largest amenities package in Breckenridge. Our exquisitely appointed luxury condominiums are conveniently located between Peaks 8 and 9 at the world famous Breckenridge Ski Resort. You will also enjoy our close proximity to Breckenridge’s Main Street, indoor/outdoor swimming pools and hot tubs, a fitness center, complimentary shuttle bus, pampering spa and salon services, an on-site ski/bike concierge, a bar and restaurant and much more. At Grand Timber Lodge, you’ll find everything you need for a great vacation: A lovely and private wooded setting, excellent amenities, all of the comforts and convenience of home, and a staff eager to make your vacation simply perfect! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Timber Hotel Breckenridge
Grand Timber Breckenridge
Grand Timber Lodge Breckenridge Colorado

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Timber Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.