We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avenue Q--great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backstage Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Backstage Theatre
121 Ridge St, Breckenridge, CO 80424
(970) 453-0199
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 63 things to do in Breckenridge
Attraction details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
136 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Avenue Q--great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I saw this production off-Broadway two years ago and really liked it. It cost a lot more money to see it there, and as expected it was a fairly big production. In Breck, the setting was intimate/small and the tickets were very affordable. Basically a scaled-down off-off-Broadway production that was very satisfying. The show itself is of course "adults only" and that's exactly right. Nothing terribly off-color, although I could see some were offended. They don't mislead you about adult content--from the very beginning. If you're easily offended, don't go. But you'll miss a very entertaining show. Venue itself has friendly staff, a full bar. Really small bathrooms. They're going to remodel in 2014, we'll see if that changes.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Small, but quaint, excellent performance, lots of fun,
great way to spend a relaxing evening, outstanding acting!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Avenue Q Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Love seeing local theatres when we are on vacation. This was a fun show with very talented cast. Dialogue, sing and control puppets at the same time! We were impressed. Full house, easy parking. Look forward to going back again on our next trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
66 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“as good as any show i've seen in Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

i saw avenue Q and really thought it was terrific. Actors were top notch. Great way to spend the evening if you are not wanting to do too much of the usual touristy stuff.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC UT
Level Contributor
128 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Ave Q - Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

On vacation in Breck. Saw that the local theatre was doing AVENUE Q. Went on a Sunday night, and had such a great time. Really quite a good production for a small town theatre. Congratulations !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backstage Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Backstage Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backstage Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.