We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avenue Q--great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backstage Theatre

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Backstage Theatre
121 Ridge St, Breckenridge, CO 80424
(970) 453-0199
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 69 Activities in Breckenridge
Type: Theaters, Theater & Concerts
Attraction details
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Avenue Q--great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I saw this production off-Broadway two years ago and really liked it. It cost a lot more money to see it there, and as expected it was a fairly big production. In Breck, the setting was intimate/small and the tickets were very affordable. Basically a scaled-down off-off-Broadway production that was very satisfying. The show itself is of course "adults only" and that's exactly right. Nothing terribly off-color, although I could see some were offended. They don't mislead you about adult content--from the very beginning. If you're easily offended, don't go. But you'll miss a very entertaining show. Venue itself has friendly staff, a full bar. Really small bathrooms. They're going to remodel in 2014, we'll see if that changes.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Small, but quaint, excellent performance, lots of fun,
great way to spend a relaxing evening, outstanding acting!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Avenue Q Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Love seeing local theatres when we are on vacation. This was a fun show with very talented cast. Dialogue, sing and control puppets at the same time! We were impressed. Full house, easy parking. Look forward to going back again on our next trip.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“as good as any show i've seen in Colorado”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

i saw avenue Q and really thought it was terrific. Actors were top notch. Great way to spend the evening if you are not wanting to do too much of the usual touristy stuff.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC UT
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Ave Q - Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

On vacation in Breck. Saw that the local theatre was doing AVENUE Q. Went on a Sunday night, and had such a great time. Really quite a good production for a small town theatre. Congratulations !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backstage Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Backstage Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backstage Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.