We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Staff, but Paper Thin Walls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Village Hotel to your Saves list
The Village Hotel
535 South Park Ln., Breckenridge, CO 80424   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
Breckenridge
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Location and Staff, but Paper Thin Walls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The Village Hotel is overall a pretty good place to stay. I've stayed 3 times in building 5, which is also the location of the Park Avenue Pub. The positives of the hotel are the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Being able to walk to the chair lifts is biggest benefit for me, so the location can not be beat. The hot tubs and pools are very clean and the overall cleanliness of the rooms and hotel are excellent. The only issue I have with the hotel is the paper thin walls. I am not sure if this is an issue for all of the buildings, but it is definitely an issue for building 5. I literally could hear anything occurring in our neighboring rooms, and hallways. Normal conversations happening in other rooms could clearly be understood, along with patrons walking and talking in the hallways. Literally, I could hear the clanging of metal as a patron was hanging clothes in a closet, when they closed a door in their room, running of water, turning on of a TV, and other activities I'd prefer to not mention or relive.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank for you for taking the time to write a review on our tripadvisor page. It is great to see you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a great spot to stay to enjoy the lifts, restaurants and everything else that Breck has to offer within walking distance! I do apologize about the thin walls. If you stay with us again, please ask for a corner unit and/or one on a high floor. Hopefully that may help with some of the noise issues you experienced.

Sincerely,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    42
    26
    24
    14
See reviews for
28
57
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, USA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

If you are looking for clean, safe, and walking distance to the lift and places to eat and shop this is the best spot for the money, especially if you can get a Groupon. Heated valet parking is included and the bar downstairs has a good breakfast buffet. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our tripadvisor page! I am so glad you enjoyed our property - both the convenience and the value! The Groupon deal has certainly been a hit! Keep an eye out for the best available rate on breckresorts.com. Hope to see you again this season!

Best,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My son was able to book a last-minute stay through one of the discount sites. It was a good way to "test the waters" and decide if this would be a good destination for an anniversary trip later this month. We would definitely stay there again, if the price is reasonable. Bathrooms are small, but the room was clean, comfortable, and perfect for a short stay. Customer service is exceptional!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our tripadvisor page! We are so glad you decided to come stay with us on your visit to Breckenridge. We hope we get to see you during your anniversary later this month! Please call us at the front desk if you are!

Sincerely,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

The hotel Is beautiful! Our room was super comfortable and spacious. Location is fantastic! Staff is UNBELIEVABLE! Only dislike is the bar in the hotel. Again, staff is friendly but the menu is smallish and limited. The beer/wine menu is very small. They said they were going through a complete makeover so hopefully this problem will be resolved quickly. Otherwise, loved this hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on our tripadvisor page. It is wonderful to see how much you enjoyed the interactions with our staff! We truly believe they set us apart as a property here in Breckenridge. I am so glad you tried out the Pub too! There will be a great new menu and drink options this winter so you must come back!

Sincerely,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The hotel staff was friendly, helpful and there to answer any questions needed. I was pleasantly surprised by the quality, cleanliness and exceptional service. I would definitely make a trip back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our tripadvisor page! It is great to see you enjoyed the property and the service you received from our staff met your expectations!

Hope to see you again in the future!
Sincerely,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

and prefer very nice hotels this is not the one for you, unless you are in your 20's or just there to ski/snowboard and not for pleasure. The rooms are very small, the decor not. The hotel is divided, you have to go through a very creepy garage to get to the main lobby if you are staying in the hotel and not the condos.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our tripadvisor page. I apologize that the hotel did not meet your expectations. The way the buildings are set up at the property, it does require you to walk through the garage. We have plans to paint and add additional lighting to that space this upcoming year.

I hope you still enjoyed all that Breckenridge had to offer while you were visiting!

Sincerely,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We booked the hotel room on price line and it is a total rip off. they charged us and extra $22 for parking for 1 night and wifi both if which were claimed to be free at check in. the bed was super small had to practically sleep on top of each other. I stay in summit county s lot and this hotel is not worth the price. do not book it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia P, Front Office Manager at The Village Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I sincerely apologize that the resort fee was not made clear to you during your online booking nor when you checked in at the front desk. That fee covers parking, wireless internet, access to our health club, shuttle services, and housekeeping services just to name a few amenities. We will be sure to reiterate that we mention the resort fee at check so it doesn't come as a shock at check out. Most third party websites have that information in fine print that is easy to overlook. We will work to be sure we are more consistent so that this doesn't happen in the future.

Sincerely,
Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Hotel

Address: 535 South Park Ln., Breckenridge, CO 80424
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Breckenridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Breckenridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Village Hotel offers all non-smoking accommodations at the base of Breckenridge Ski Resort, adjacent to the Peak 9 Quicksilver Super 6 chair lift. The Village's buildings, from lodging units to taverns and shops, surround a central gazebo and pedestrian plaza. The property includes a ski school, sports equipment rentals/gear shops, an indoor/outdoor heated pool, whirlpools, and an exercise room. Dining options include Breckenridge Cattle and Fish Company, Cafe Breck, The Park Avenue Pub, and The Maggie. The hotel offers Starbucks coffee in the mornings in the lobby, 24-hour guest assistance, a medical center, business center, and gift shops. Standard rooms located inside the Village Hotel feature Starbucks coffee service, telephone, voicemail, satellite TV, clock radio and a mini-fridge. Condo units feature the same amenities, as well as fully equipped kitchens with fireplaces and balconies in the larger suites. Newly renovated hotel rooms offer telephone, voicemail, LCD flat screen TV, and mini fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.